Saucy ads for the Figo lands Ford India in hot soup

Ford-Figo-Print-Ad-Silvio-Berlusconi[3]

What was meant to be a set of lighthearted and humorous print advertisements have landed Ford India in the proverbial hot water. Tagged “Leave your worries behind” and designed to promote the Ford Figo’s spacious boot, the ad campaign distastefully depicts women in demeaning poses with sexual connotations all loaded up into the car’s cargo area.

Former Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi is featured in one the ads, grinning over the trio of bound women in the trunk of the car. Paris Hilton meanwhile winks at a similar situation with the Kardashian sisters. Our favourite however, would be the one with Michael Schumacher giving his signature smirk with Vettel, Hamilton and Alonso all gagged up.

In light of a public query, Ford India has responded to IndianCarsBikes regarding the crude, politically-incorrect ads:

“We deeply regret this incident and agree with our agency partners that it should have never happened. The posters are contrary to the standards of professionalism and decency within Ford and our agency partners. Together with our partners, we are reviewing approval and oversight processes to help ensure nothing like this ever happens again.” – Ford India

Negative connotations aside though, you’d have to admit that it’s a clever, funny and sexy campaign that’s caught in a classic case of being in the wrong place, wrong time. Had the ads been released anywhere else, and not in India with its current sexual crime troubles, they’d be seen in a completely different light. What do you think? Too much?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jinggo on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:56 pm

The girls in yellow figo really sexy & solid..yummy! Anyway, the ads really not suitable in malaysia la..

• They should hv also included Shah Rukh Khan ….

• Silvio berlusconi wont agree to this, becoz he usually has 30 girls at the back of his car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • valjean on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Hahah

The creative guy must have watch the movie “Analyse THis” where Robert DeNiro was saying you can stuffed three bodies in the boot.

Good design. And they have served the purpose already … by got Paul Tan displaying it here and us talking about it. Remember NO PUBLICITY IS BAD PUBLICITY

• Mike Dude on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Berlusconi would need a bus

• black on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:15 pm

i don’t get it..may someone explain to me in the way manner?

• Black Dog on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Sure, raping is very common in India with the recent high profile one involving a few guys raping a girl in a public bus. The girl has since died and a few suspects were caught with one hanged himself in jail. The trial is still progressing.

In India, they treat girls like dirt. Rape, burn alive, torture, you name it. Even foreigners are not spared.

• black on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:00 pm

man, don’t they think this advertisement insult some people and police?..damn ford..try to be funny..btw, i gonna cancel my exchange student program in my uni..

• ben yap on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:12 pm

if Ford Malaysia do this, it’ll get them in hot soup too example Anwar Ibrahim is seen smirking while Najib, Muhyiddin and Rosmah are gaged up behind.

• I think it’s hilarious and creative. Great work.

• Ah Beng on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:33 am

Ford Malaysia don’t do one for the cronies here?

• Joe Radzif on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:33 am

Bad and not sensitive…

• gtmaniac on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:53 pm

They are still selling this Ford model, albeit different name?