GALLERY: 2013 Toyota Vios at the Bangkok show

Toyota Vios

Sawadee krub from Bangkok! Here’s the car of the moment – the 2013 Toyota Vios on the stand at the ongoing Bangkok International Motor Show. J, E, G and S grade variants are on display.

One of the E grade variants in the pictures (in white) is kitted out with Toyota accessories which include fog lamps, a chrome surround lower front grille, chrome body mouldings and various other chrome bits here and there.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for launch report

Automatic air-con and chrome-trimmed interior door handles are amongst the offerings on G and S grades, and electrically-adjustable wing mirrors from E grade on up. Keyless start and entry is offered on the top S grade.

Toyota Vios

As a recap, the new Toyota Vios has a new exterior and interior as well as projector headlamps (G and S grade only). At 4.41 metres long, 1.7 metres wide (including wing mirrors) and 1.475 metres tall, it’s slightly bigger than the outgoing car as well. The familiar 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE soldiers on, as does the four-speed auto ‘box. Click here for the full information and Thai pricing and specs.

Enjoy the video and photos of the car below. More pics are to come, both of the Vios and many other cars as well, so stay tuned!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Antiquated drivetrain, nasty cheap plastics and abysmal safety kit and standard options. Vios drivers must really like cheating themselves (and death).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 18
    • I saw one 1st gen Vios cheated death on the Karak highway just downhill from Genting towards KL on Sunday. his front is crumpled and his rear is lying in the ditch, must have underestimate the sharpness of the curve and his breaks.
      Out of topic, I noticed there is a push-start button in one pic, something that I didn’t knew and in another probably lower spec version, the push-start is gone but there is a button to what looks like turning on/off some front/reverse sensors. The top of the dash looks like stitching on soft-plastic(one of the few things I love about the XV50 Camry). As an improvement over the last car it is, but the competition is far and ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Obama on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Love it or hate it, the interior look exactly like Proton Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 20
        • junjun on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:25 pm

INDEED…INTERIOR EXTERIOR LOOK LIKE PROTON SAGA!!!..ONCE AGAIN: LOOK LIKE PROTON SAGA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 15
          • Saga is the cheapest car in Proton line… and so do this Vios is the cheapest car in Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • Cannot compared with Toyota,coz Toyota is upper class and global brand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 68
      • Sam Loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 129
        • jenab on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Whatever…like we care?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
        • Expatriate VN on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:50 pm

You local staff of Toyota salesman, dream on for 12 month bonus!!!!! No matter how hard you are barking for high RV in this PT blog, it is lucky if you get 2 month!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Paparazzi on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:01 pm

You really L…P….P…..L.

• Shame_Loo on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:48 am

Shame on you….The New Vios just as sucks as you!

• Mat Global on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Yes you are right, Vios got no ESP when global sales they include ESP. Here, just to give crony UMW more money to pocket.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Said whatever you want! together with Almera, this Vios will put final nail in the coffin to above-one-class C Segment of Jaguh Kampung No. 2 global small car – Preve!

All blind supporters can argue this Preve is 5 star ANCAP rating. However, oversea market like the Australia, their life is expensive, but they get 5 star at cheap price. For local consumer, their life cheap but get less star rating with expensive car! Patriotic and National Car konon! Poodahhhhhhh …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
      • thai people life even cheaper given by their japanese master…give cheap car with no or little safety

• expat_suck on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:41 am

preve stil safer with 4 airbags versus 2 in vios, not to mention much more powerful turbocharged engine, paddle shifters, auto lamp, auto wiper, GPS, ESC, EBD, BA and the list goes on versus only cap ayam start stop button and keyless entry in vios

vios is your dream car? funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
        • let’s the market decide….but sadly to say…preve will be another same sad story like savvy. Like it or not, this vios will push Toyota to be no 2 in Malaysia. Just wait until end of this year. Proton..please step aside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • afraid that market domination won’t last long if toyota keeps on doing this. people are getting smarter.

• viosuser on Mar 30, 2013 at 10:41 am

toyota wants to push it with what? archaic engine and 4 gear tranny?

forget it

• OMG…damn nice. i meant the model stand beside the vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Mar 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm

hahaha, now really prove other brands car is look like shit

• kelvin552266 on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:40 pm

disappointed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • Paparazzi on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Toyocar no longer a dream car.
      Toyota no longer a brand but it just a name. Same as Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • As aesthetic goes there is a definite progress there on all ends (yes, IMO, including the rear), It looks sharp and is definitely not boring like past Toyotas, it’s a design quite like the 2014 Lexus IS, polarizing. and with a realization that this will probably fill every nooks and cranny of Malaysian Asphalt, there’s a relief I won’t be staring at the usual dull and dreary design.

As for spec………good luck to those who are seriously considering in buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • skypirate on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:06 pm

agree, it looks very much like the 2014 Lexus IS especially the front bumper and the rear tailights.

• Sam Loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Very nice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 100
    • Medic on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:06 pm

You must have kok eye.It’s the same shit in a different toilet bowl.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
    • Wa Jib on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:39 pm

comission dah keluar toyota salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Beautycontestant on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Very true, the more i look at it, even on paper, the more good looking it gets, a design kinda grows on me, deeper inside, unlike some modern design the opposite is wat i felt, this car on the other hand, really done a great job in the design department. Well done. Bravo! Gonna book one soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
    • jinkalo on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:01 pm

indeed , no matter how many hater here, this going selling hot…and this is fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Paparazzi on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Nice rubbish car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Modern, Elegant, classy. When it will arrive in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 76
    • TapaC on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:58 pm

expected Q4 dis year

• Alex

Agree! see the real car in the picture,actually it looks pretty nice and sporty! performance is a bit old but can last longer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • Robot Boy on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm

the front looks OK but not the best as I believe KIA and Hyundai are far more nicer in design. the rear is ugly and too big like the super ugly Almera. if people buy this car it is only and only because it is a Toyota. nothing special about the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
  • Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Only thing that is better is the design… Besides that, it is rubbish… Old 4AT, old chassis, old engine…. You want space, buy Almera.. You want good handling, buy Swift/Fiesta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
  • miklo on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:07 pm

1st glance lokks like preve….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Jinggo on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:14 pm

I still prefer the current Honda City design. i think the all new Honda City (coming soon) will tapau this new Toyota VIOSaga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • taiko on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:17 pm

i choose the last picture

• toyota vios is dead!! on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:22 pm

if toyota continues to sell cars like this and people still buy them for RV then i got nothing to say to malaysians…there is just 2 airbag and abs..cheaper cars also provide more…and the back omg..almera copy paste and made it worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • abang besar sam loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:30 pm

high rv… a must buy for those seeking brand name… for those sensible buyers. almera, fiesta, is a ood buy..even preve is better(in term of specs, handling).. but somehow i can guarantee this is going to be best seller in b segment..

• Sharu on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:41 pm

High RV….but apply loan for 7-9years or even 10years….
      The govt (future govt) or bank should follow like Singapore banking strategy . High d/p and fix.lower tenure (must be applicable to civil and private staff).

• autodriver on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:33 pm

perfect strategy, same engine and gearbox has been used for more than 10 years. Save so much of R&D meanwhile increase the selling price when “new gen” introduce. Toyota strategy is to earn as much as possible by offering as least as possible to consumer. I will never pay for such an “old tech” car for price over 80k when it launch in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • sonyman on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:36 pm

wah, nice, keyless entry man, first in a toyota. make sure you sell more than 120K ya mr UMW. a lot of rich fans will sure support you. Strip down all the specs and make a new model name model K, below J spec. Spec K=Kosong. No airbag, just plain old engine with manual and 4 simple tires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Ah bu on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:52 pm

I remembered many years ago, when proton iswara was selling like hot cakes. The sales man asked, you nak jimat duit, boleh rim kosong, door visor tak nak, bumper tak ada cat, radio nak? Stereng nak?
      That was the true k spec car.

• Unknown on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Why the accelerator and brake so tiny?
    You got to be kidding me.

• I never liked Toyota low end car’s plastics. Honda wins any given time.

• pomen on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Why toyota whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy???
    lookkk fugly cheap..then when come in to malaysia the price will helllll highhhhhh..bravoo all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • vee-oh on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Dear Jonathan Tan,
    got Mirage sedan or not there?

• Nicholas on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:08 pm

it look nice and it is a toyota~!!! buuuuyyyy~~~ btw, their service centre in Klang is lousy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • PauCharSiew on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

How the hell did this come out of the company that makes the vellfire and 86 is beyond me. Does akio knows his companies makes this piece of s***.

• Dont do like this la toyota to Third world country..come on toyota..then our G will senyum more la putting price aiyoooo..

• how much it gonna cost? same price?

• crank on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Should be the same or a few k higher than the current model. Don’t think it will be lower unless the gov comes out with Toyota Vios 1Malaysia (TV1M).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • crank on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Toyota could have done a lot better with the center console design. It looks Myvi-ish.

• From the photo, the cd player placed is too high, the steering wheel design is uuugghly, but i like the meter cluster wirh nice and sharp blue illumination…

• Toyota is really losing it!

• kentji on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm

the engine bay and box of this 2013 vios is exactly same shit as the 2002 first gen model, TOYOTA, MOVING FORWARD!

• Again, those clowns at Proton must be having marathon meeting on how to counter this car. As usual, dugong la, 4 speed la, Preve is better la, blame the buyers la.
    But hell, there’s nothing you can do?
    Toyota is eating up all your shares. hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • peyno on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:51 am

dont pretend like toyota slaesman like Sam Loo la.. u just a national perodua salesman… Sam Loo the real toyota salesman oso bash perodua

hahahha

• Real Toyota or real Perodua salesman, they are making more money that Proton sales. hahahha
        Launching new car, showroom empty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Edmont on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:38 pm

four speed, two air bags, front looks like Preve.. rear looks like Almera..

come on Toyota.. what happen ?

no more uniqueness for Toyota cars from now on ? first, Camry.. now Vios.. dissapointed..

• Chow 1 on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm

No ESP, VSC, that’s why we see Vios fly up and stuck at hill.

• wauuuu very interested to test drive… I will bring people in my office to test it.. as usual it will be hot topic..after 2 week,every one forget it…huhuhu

• Well, same power & tranny; save it for yourselve !!
    I’ll keep my Dugong….

• Toyota Malaysia better sell this new Vios here asap coz when KIA bring in the new Forte, no one will or should buy this Vios.

I mean still using the same engine, seriously? Is Toyota out of budget or they are just trying to get away with cutting cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:37 am

I rather buy kia or hyundai.maybe mazda 2 is better.

• OMG, no steering wheel mounted controls?

• Sharu on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Rojak blm fl(proton) and almari (nissan) = Vios 2013

Interior looks like proton saga blm….so cheap

Better save some money..and wait for the K3

• i still can accept the exterior of the car at least infront are seems sportly but not for bottom and about interior i can totally vomit!!

• ben yap on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:07 pm

the Japanese engineers in the video was seen discussing at the drawing board. I bet they were discussing which part of the old Vios can be brought over to the new Vios to cheat the customers and make more money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Sazali on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:16 pm

City can look sporty but can’t get in and out easily. Toyoya is well balance so the RV is good. With 9 years loan, who don’t want their to have reliablity and rv. 9 year ago today, 2004 model Toyota Vios is still the most comfortable, reliable and everlasting demanding design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • Finally Toyota realized having the speedor meter at the center was a stupid idea… lolzz…

• Mazda freak on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Looks like preve only.

• the outlook looks sporty,much more better than current one,but interior are sucks,the interior material looks very cheap,and furthermore,”The familiar 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE soldiers on, as does the four-speed auto ‘box”…boring!!!
    But still,this car is expected to have good selling in msia,which i can’t understand

• mustarsh on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm

I’m not a fan of proton nor toyota. But if there’s an only choice between preve and this new vios, I would go for preve instead because of the specs, power and handling. Only a new design but old engine?? I’m fine with the front. But the interior and rear design? naahhh…

• exterior definitely an upgrade no longer look like dugong.. but interior wise really a let down !!

• kaptenkit on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:34 am

The only thing that didn’t hurt my eyes are those boobs

• This will sell like hot cakes and we have candidates of Sam Loo’s customers here – Expat VN and Maserati lol

• Peyno on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:53 am

I think now expart vn n maserati oso butthurt at sam loo… Hahaha padan muka… Expart vn only butthurt at proton… But sam loo bash all… That y i support sam loo
      Prffthhhhh

• Peyno on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:45 am

Toyota salesman= bash all except toyota
    Perodua salesman= praise all except proton

Pity perodua salesman.. Trying hard to be toyota like sam loo… But Sam loo oso bash perodua

Sam Loo .. I support u..

• tgpaan on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:52 am

Looks cheap, drive cheap, cheap to maintain.
    It is a good car indeed..

BUT its bloody expensive for cheap ride.

• Alahai on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:45 am

Front = Preve
    Rim = Preve o Inspira
    Interior = Saga
    Back = Almera

Consclusion: better buy preve.

• mustarsh on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:04 pm

I think even preve or Inspira’s sports rims are more sportier than this. 16″ + 5 hole.

• kah chon on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:21 am

what the…?!! 4 speed…??!!! again???!!! at least 5 speed please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Peyno on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:50 am

4at??? 2 airbags?? No esc?? No paddle shifter??? No rear multilink suspension??? Only no technical knowledge dan nuts about automotive will buy this car… No wonder only old minded ppl n ladies buying this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Musalmah Endut on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:22 pm

exterior boleh tahan la eventhough got preve look from far. but interior tak boleh blah btol. look at fiesta..

• What ever negative comment here..this vios wil outsell honda city, almera, kia forte/k3. Believe me. For me proven old tech much better than a problematic new tech coz they proven reliable.

**for comparison year 2010 car (cheapest car based on mudah.my)
    Forte 1.6 – RM 54,000
    Honda City 1.5 E – RM 63500
    Toyota Vios 1.5 J Auto – RM 56,000

New Price (advertise official price)
    Forte 1.6 – RM 78,800.00
    Honda City – RM 88,103.00
    Toyota Vios J Auto – RM 77,313.50

Lost by percentage
    Forte 1.6 – 14.59%
    Honda City – 13.87%
    Toyota Vios J Auto – 13.80%

Not much different for each model. There’s fact and figure. please don’t talk rubbish here.

• ragu2 on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:51 pm

haiyoo..nissan rebadge?

• Carl Wong on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:38 am

I think Toyota either don’t care about our market, or they’re stuck at a bottleneck for both engine and transmission technology for almost 10 years now for normal cars such as this…??

Their hybrids are so technologically advanced, efficient and safe, why can’t they provide something better for normal ICE cars?? Maybe it’s time to launch a hybrid sedan since they’re better with hybrids and say good bye to Vios lol…

Honda VS Toyota, being neutral and looking at technology & efficiency without looking at sales:

For normal ICE cars, Honda is the winner (mostly).
    For hybrids, Toyota is the winner.

• Alex Poh on Mar 28, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Where’s the dual vvti? Maybe with the facelift so they can maximize profit or maybe no.

• Even for the old model of the Toyota Yaris (known as Vios in Malaysia) in Australia have all the basic safety equipments fitted as standard for all variant.

Anti-Skid Brakes (ABS) – All wheels Standard

Electronic Brake Distribution ( EBD ) Standard

Brake Assist (BA) Standard

Traction Control (TRC) Standard

Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) Standard

Front airbag – driver Standard

Front airbag – passenger Standard

Side airbag – front seats Standard

Side curtain airbag – front and rear Standard

Now that’s what I called a proper car without the need to compromise the safety of their drivers.

http://www.toyota.com.au/yaris/specifications/yrs-4-door-sedan-manual?WT.ac=VHYarisRangeSpecsSedYRS4DoorSpecs

• Vince on Mar 30, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Just one thing in my mind.

Are people buying cars is to drive it with safety, or to sell it in the future like securities.

• Maxgil on Mar 31, 2013 at 11:15 am

The back don’t look nice, the back light sucks, like toyota run out of time and budget when designing the rear of the car

• 27.03.2013 kereta wife saya rosak dalam perjalanan ke kuching…… kereta tempatan….. bila waranty dah abis tukar ke vios baru…. dah serik dgn kerata tempatan…. cam shaft boleh patah….. nasib tak accident….. lepas 2 tahun macam macam masalah timbul…… engineer tak buat reseacrh betul betul…. makan gaji buta….. itulah kalau fully local yang buat…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • lololol on Apr 06, 2013 at 12:55 am

OMG.. Interior even almera can tapau this ugly vios.. look at those cheap back seat.. looks flat.. LOL

• Adakah semua yg made in malaysia teruk ? Even anda pun made in malaysia..

• Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:53 pm

For those that have bought a rotten cabbage, lets face reality. You will be shown the Hilux when you sell.

Its just when. Its like Judgement Day. Its inevitable

• pailang on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:50 pm

how much?

• Consumer on Apr 18, 2013 at 8:13 am

Aaah, just like the “new” Camry 2.0L with old “proven” drivetrain but new price, now we’ve got the “new” Vios with, guess what, old “proven” drivetain, AGAIN!

• pass_by on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:09 pm

No doubt this is one ugly car.

• niuhje on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:51 am

the cabin never ceases to uninspire

• hmm..dissapointing, just too much…the standard 07 model is still better looking..same like the new civic..the old one is the best..