Perodua working on Viva replacement model – A-segment, low cost, low fuel consumption

perodua viva s

The ongoing E-Mobilia World conference in KL, attended by automotive and energy leaders to discuss and exchange views on the energy efficient vehicle (EEV) market, has yieled some interesting news so far. Learning that the first speaker for today is Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, we braved the morning rush hour to Hilton KL to see if there was anything newsworthy.

The P2 boss gave the delegates, many of whom were foreigners, a brief history lesson on Perodua, before talking about the current state of the Malaysian auto market and the impact of EEVs. By the way, the description isn’t just for hybrids and electric vehicles, but also includes small and light “normal” cars with good fuel economy and low emissions.

Aminar said that Perodua’s EEV approach will be focused on improving the basic internal combustion engine (ICE), so don’t expect hybrids from the Daihatsu-linked company anytime soon. “We will still be focusing on the ICE. This is our forte, and there’s still a lot that can be done [in terms of eco tech],” he said.

He further pointed out that only around 20% of energy created by combustion is used to move the car, once one factors in mechanical, cooling and driveline losses, among other leaks. Perodua will work towards cutting losses, making better use of available energy, while reducing weight and rolling resistance.

perodua-new-viva

This led to the most interesting slide, future products. Aminar revealed that an entry-level A-segment family car is currently in development. It will be a low cost vehicle to serve low income households, taking Perodua back to its 90s Kancil roots. “This has been our objective since the establishment of the company,” he said.

The five-door hatchback will have top level fuel consumption and will be able to fit a family of five. It will sit below Perodua’s popular Myvi, and would be a successor to the Perodua Viva, which debut in 2007 as a Kancil/Kelisa replacement. That was six years ago, so it’s the right time for a new model according to the conventional car life cycle.

The Viva replacement model will roll out from a brand new SSC (simple, slim and compact) factory. In December 2012, Perodua announced that it will invest RM790 million to set up a new plant adjacent to its existing factory in Sungai Choh, north of Rawang.

The new plant, which had its first foundation stone laid by Deputy PM Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin earlier this month, is set to add 100,000 units to Perodua’s annual production capacity. 100k is a big number, and it hints at the volumes P2 is targeting for its new model.

No launch date was given today, but we know that the new plant is expected to be operational by mid-2014, so that could be when the Viva replacement model will debut.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Title is very misleading. I would prefer the title be “Perodua rebadging the 7th Gen Daihatsu Mira into Viva – minus the CVT gearbox”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 128
    • Brush up your language before commenting about the title.
      Perodua working on…. working on can mean rebadging, building, copying… anything.
      So how’s your Honda City rebadging progress?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 48
      • Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Yes, a new replacement. So, Perodua have to crawl and beg Toyota to give them another VVTi engine. People here should thank me because I have made aware to everybody that Perodua uses Toyota VVTi and this has boosted the sales of Perodua many times.

Evenhough Perodua rides on the success of Toyota, I am happy that poor people are now able to afford Toyota technology without having to pay full price of a Toyota. This is Toyota’s way of CSR (Corporate Responsibility)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 68
        • You made everyone aware Perodua uses VVTI?
          DVVT = VVTI is known to everyone since the launch of Kembara DVVT. Don’t simply claim credit. You might as well claim you told us that Toyota is Japanese.
          BTW, Perodua sells not because of VVTI, its because Proton sucks and no other cheaper car in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 21
        • Green on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:52 pm

1. Toyota Avanaza 1.5L engine = K3VE

which, Toyota call it VVT-i engine..

2. Perodua Myvi = K3VE
          but, perodua call it DVVT

basically, DVVT = VVT-i.

3. However, Vios, VVT-i, is a more advance, more fuel saving VVT-i model comparing to Avanza’s VVT-i.

#fact = Perodua has been using Toyota VVT-i engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • Correction to your avanza 1.5l spec.. avanza 1.3 using k3ve engine. Avanza 1.5l is using 3sz-ve engine n not k3ve.

• i_swear on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Thanks for stating that your mother is a woman, captain obvious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Shame Lee on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:13 am

I think u really don’t know how to read & write “Shame”.
          Hard to believe got such of people in this world. Which toyota office u working for, keen to see the real person.

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Go make perodua build a turbo hot hatch that could compete the golf GTI then I thank you

• Hello amoi! How’s your Perodua sales result. Must be good right? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawi on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Isn’t it high time Perodua start making engines on their own like Proton? See Proton now don’t have to kipas the backside of Mitsubishi anymore. Perodua so long in the market also still rebadging Daihatsu and Toyota cars in Viva and Myvi. Shame on you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 16
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Better used VVTi Toyota engine, never like our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 making Cam-Tak-Pro engine followed up with many alphabets soup like CFE!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 104
      • Making engine but cannot sell, what’s the use? Shame on you rebadging Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
      • why would u develop ur own engine when u can take other’s engine for a little money/free? perodua is a joint venture between malaysian company and japan company btw. nothing wrong with that? why dont u say the same with the skoda and seat using volkswagon engines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Luqman_HKM on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:38 am

Thats because Skoda and SEAT is owned by Volkswagen Group, just like Chrysler owned by Daimler-Benz group.

• So happy that i can buy this car for pasat pagi and pasat malam!

• wow…someone who wants to buy viva should hold first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:12 pm

A brand new model coming out from a brand new factory, couldn’t ask more from it hehe.

So we will get another small vehicle that fits 5 people….it sure will be cramped in there when u need to balik kampung in it considering it will be smaller than the Myvi.

Maybe this time around we will see better safety tech in it (std dual airbags, ABS, EBD and BA) and a more rigid body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jack Philip Yong on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Perodua Viva rebadge Toyota Aygo or Daihatsu Ayla?

• I guess it would just be another rebadge than working up a whole new model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • viva replacement model same as daihatsu ayla – toyota agya in Indonesia 2012.. Hala VAVI!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Somebody please bring in the turbocharged-Honda N-One! Cute+small+fuel efficient+660cc turbo engine

• if only perodua only change the car badge, not the whole appearance. it’s painful to see people buying half cuts to make their car… look japanese.

• Perodua ,downside engine with Turbocharged please. If you want to compete in car industry ,PlEASE follow the world trend. We are not ORANG KAMPUNG and not suppose to drive a car that made with same material as milo tin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Just because you Proton adopt turbo, you consider it as a trend. You use CVT, then it’s a trend. Padahal using carb engine for until post-2000 when Kelisa already uses EFI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
      • Sharon on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Have you heard about MPI?

• pirlo on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:13 pm

other cars manufacturer have come up with that downsizing engine strategy nowadays, vw, bmw, ford, honda and u name it. if the majority have done it, cant u consider it as a trend?
        cvt is a trend for Japan. In the US is still remaining with AT but with more option gears 6 or 7, Europe remains with MT and DCT is as well increasing there.

• Annoymous on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Weeee… more death trap on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • blackbox on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Low resistance tyre, 2 cylinder turbo charge engine, ABS, 4 air bag, better cabin insulation shall be what they target for. It shouldn’t cost that much to built. They can even consider to buy engine from Fiat.

• pirlo on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

it will cost a lot by sourcing the powetrain from outsiders. it will contradict to their main objective – low cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • blackbox on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Did Perodua ever develop their own engine? They been using Japanese engine most of the time. If the quantity is small it is not justify to develop own engine. Can see from campro, a fail example. Even PSA and BMW need to joint developed an engine.

• Buttner on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:14 pm

Nahh. i dont think so. what they did was localizing the parts.

• AS IF. . . on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Perodua “working” on Viva replacement model. . . .In what terms are they working on? the body chassis?? Engine?? or it’s just Facelift? hermm. . .Makes me wonder. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • What about safety?? Why M’sia national car never emphasize on safety. Every new car shld hv at least ABS, EBD & 2 airbags as min spec n more airbags as optional.

• Katak on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Doesn’t matter the what safety feature they put in. With Malaysian driving car attitude, the only safe car to drive is a tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 49
    • Sharon on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

What’s the point for all the safety features when even the most basic such as lights and indicator, many people didn’t border to use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Oh you Perodua… Why can’t you just say we are working on new bumper and light design for Daihatsu Mira, so naughty!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 0
  • Even though the car is fuel efficient but it totally lack all the important item as safety features. What is more important than safety compare with all those thing. I personally won’t trade my life over the current viva as once crash definitely become tin milo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
  • tenine99 on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Maybe it will base from Daihatsu Move…spacious compartments right?

• Robot Boy on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:50 pm

working on? I believe they import another non selling Japanese car from Daihatsu maybe made in china and re-badge it again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Veneno on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 114
  • mobilo on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Isn’t it high time Perodua start making engines on their own like Proton?
    Don’t u know that Proton still sourcing their Saga BLM engine block from Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 79
    • are you really sure that Perodua supplies BLM engine block to Proton? why does it need to be specific only for BLM? why not other model as well?
      whats the purpose of Proton having casting factory in glenmarie then?

• Robot Boy on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:35 am

total BS. Campro engine architecture is totally different from the engines P2 use. their engines are imported from Chinese Toyota plant… pls get your facts right…

• Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Whatever models come out from this Juara Kampung No. 1 is for local market only. Outside Bolehland, the demand is almost non-existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Peyno on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:30 pm

1st time agree w u.. Perodua only can conn ksmpung ppl in bolehland.. Outside malaysia.. Nobody wanna buy

• passenger space can easily accommodate 5 malnourished adults

• Chris on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Call me crazy, but I’d like to see they rebadge the Mira Cocoa…

• Carlover on Mar 27, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Dont do show like they are developing new car… Just re-badge Daihatsu car and sell… What so special and proud of?

• ericT on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:03 pm

cheaper..more tofu and plastic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • Peyno on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Love to see real toyota salesman fighting with toyota wanabe perodua salesman… Sam loo i support u…

• VivaMY! on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:27 pm

They don’t even mention safety features, must be not be their priority !

• sILVER ARROWS on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:12 pm

they might bring in TOYOTA ETIOS or TOYOTA ETIOS LIVA and name it P2 XxX

• lembu jinni on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:53 pm

its a norm when ppl mention ICE is In-Car-Entertainment.
    here we have perodua using it as Internal-Combustion-Engine…

• Ajo haterzs on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:21 am

Sure ke daihatsu want to give the technology to p2?, heard it since last 2 years but nothing happens. Like NATO, no action talk only.

• Agong on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:50 am

Perodua’s vision: What to be implemented in Malaysia?
    (Copied from above pic)
    New products – ie. Economical, affordable, practical & quality A-segment entry family car.

Low cost – Low cost vehicle affordable for LOW income households.

This contradict the country’s vision to become a HIGH income nation lar…

• I love whenever there is news about PERODUA or PROTON published at Paultan. I love to read the lenghty debates. It shows our concern on local automotive industry and what we’ll expect it become in the future. Our politician should read this more often.

• Peyno on Mar 28, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Proton , daihatsu japan already moved to turbo and cvt gb.. Perodua daihatsu wannabe still using 4AT n old engine timing chain???
    Prffthhhh

• proton using cvt, camprro, cfe, coffee…but still NEW toyota Vios using 4A/T will make sure overall Toyota sales overtake Proton this year. say babai to cvt, campro,cfe,coffee..bla..bla..better put in Muzium Negara beside first proton saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Peyno on Mar 29, 2013 at 5:33 am

Who cares about sales?? We are not salesman.. We are buyer n we need better n latest technoligy that being used in advanced countries… Thank you proton for providing us CVT tech ..atleast we can rasa cvt macam daihatsu pki cvt… And daihatsu dumb thier old tech 4at to malaysia n malaysian ah beng so pround of it.. Prffthhh

• WHY?! on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Then 6 months later… se edition, making edition, 1malaysia edition, abdullah edition, crony edition, and maybe an S-edition? Or ASS-edition? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 93
  • brian on Mar 29, 2013 at 8:39 am

i hope it will not like proton after introduce preve as the replacement persona, price increase. as long as its replacement’s price maintain, more fuel efficiency fine!!! i give it a like!!!

• peyno still alive….

prrrrfffttthhh!!!

• zamrul on Apr 04, 2013 at 8:49 am

To tell you the truth, I don’t care of all your quarrelling, but what I think is there’ll never be a replacement model for viva or any other model after this, because when a new Daihatsu plant finished build beside Perodua plant in Jun 2014, it will produce the same engine that Perodua plant produced. So I ask all of you, why the heck is Daihatsu plant producing the same engine as Perodua, let me tell you what I think, Daihatsu will produce the new next model but the engine will not change, what happened to Perodua, they will stuck with Alza & Myvi. why I knew this, because I was working with Perodua. You want to know other secret about new viva, I tell you the body frame of the car has been reduced its spot weld & bolt by 20 or 30% if I’m not mistaken, if you have the first lauch viva, it is more safe then the newest one. Also myvi & alza was reduced too starting 2010. If you dont believe me, you could pay a visit to Perodua by its back door E9, you have to travel to Bukit Sentosa first, then you could see new plant on construction beside perodua plant, So don’t get all your hopes high, because there’ll be no new model after 2015, because they (Toyota & Daihatsu) will grab all the benefit when AFTA starts…

• YAB DATO N.... on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:16 pm

haha kete ni lagi aku minat dari proton murah dan x mengarut dari proton yang kretanya mcam hampeh hrap cntik tp pkai buang.. perodua sepatutnya jd kereta nasional murah da mampu dibeli berbanding proton yang suka mencanang perodua sbab itu harga viva x sepadan dengan harga sbab AAM x nak proton lingkup..biarla perodua ciplak kereta luar pon tp proton same jgak mcm preve baseline dri kia forte.. neo part yang kecik2 bnyak ambik dri waja..cntoh cermin sisi signal n bla bla.. dor handle dri gen 2..bodohnye proton..baik buat kereta sorong lagi bagus.

• still waiting for my viva bx silver… two months already waiting for the car… and i heard a news that the viva bx silver is already out of stock now nationwide… then, how long i need to wait? till perodua make another batch of these vivas? or until the replacement models roll out the assemble line? deposit already done but don’t know when will i able to sit behind its wheel :(

• rashuk Khan2 on Aug 18, 2013 at 12:51 am

Since 1994 till now P2 only klon Daihatsu car? What a shame….

• Philip Yong on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Expect Perodua Viva replacement will be powered by Toyota 1KR-FE engine (same as Toyota Aygo), instead of old EJ-VE engine.