Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG officially unveiled in NY

Mercedes_CLA_45_AMG_011

We’ve seen it digital form and leaked pictures, and now comes the official debut of the Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG. Affalterbach’s ultimate CLA proves to be more than a worthy extension to the bigger CLS 63 AMG’s legacy, the trendsetter among four-door high-performance coupés.

Characteristic AMG elements mean no one will ever mistake this as a cooking CLA. The twin blade grille and deep front apron gives it an unmistakably AMG look, as do the twin sport tailpipes peeking out of the large diffuser. TURBO AMG lettering on the front fenders and 18-inch wheels are further dead giveaways to the car’s performance capabilities.

The not-so-subtle hints continue inside too, with standard sports seats, red safety belts, AMG sports steering wheel with shift paddles, generous carbonfibre trim panels and the purposeful AMG gear lever. The three important letters adorn the door sills and instrument cluster too, not to mention all the AMG-specific menu selections.

Mercedes_CLA_45_AMG_028

Just like the hottest of hot hatches, A 45 AMG, the super CLA has the most powerful four-cylinder unit in series production, a hand-built 2.0 litre turbocharged motor with 360 hp and 450 Nm of twist force. An AMG SPEEDSHIFT DCT 7-speed sports transmission matched to performance-oriented AMG 4MATIC all-wheel drive makes the best of the engine performance.

Getting out a specific output of 181 hp per litre isn’t easy, and it took all of Stuttgart and Affalterbach’s combined knowhow. A twin-scroll turbocharger with charge pressure of 1.8 bar, spray-guided direct petrol injection via piezo injectors, gravity-die sandcast all-aluminium crankcase, forged steel crankshaft and pistons with friction-optimised piston rings are all called into action. Bits from the SLS AMG supercar are used for cooling.

0-100 km/h takes just 4.6 seconds with the RACE START function, on to a limited top speed of 250 km/h. That sort of supercar matching performance is hard to come by, especially when backed with EU6-meeting emissions and capability of returning as much as 14.5 km per litre on the NEDC combined cycle. The base CLA’s world-best slippery drag efficiency of 0.22 and Merc’s BlueDIRECT technologies no doubt showing their effectiveness here.

Mercedes_CLA_45_AMG_001

As powerful as it may be, 2.0 litres is a very small engine by AMG’s standards. Getting it to sound like a proper AMG took some serious fettling too. An AMG sports exhausts system with multiple active flaps is fitted, giving it a rude bark and tangible aural dynamism but with hallmark Mercedes comfort on long journeys. Still not loud enough for you? There’s the optional AMG Performance exhausts for even more emotional and striking engine sound, otherwise the preserve of engines with more than four cylinders.

On the move, power distribution is fully variable. It can be a fully front-driven car in normal driving, but when the driving dynamics so require, the variable AMG 4MATIC splits the torque between front and rear axle up to a ratio of 50:50 percent. The 3-stage ESP can be turned completely off, perfect for hooning around. When speed and stability matter, ESP SPORT Handling allows some fun at the wheel with less intervention.

The CLA’s entire suspension system has been overhauled to meet AMG’s performance requirements. Sports suspension with specifically tuned spring/damper units and larger stabilisers provides high lateral acceleration and a reduced rolling tendency while Curve Dynamic Assist applies imperceptible braking force on the inside wheels to help turn in and cornering stability.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• grandsavrify on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:09 pm

I wonder how much it would cost

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Cantiq.
    Gaya; mutu; keunggulan.

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Sporty vehicles must come with sunroofs, especially the panoramic ones; cabrio version is even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Joe Radzif on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:32 pm

This is awesome…
    Gorgeous!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Just simply awesome..so much power from just a 2.0 litre engine plus all wheel drive and its drag efficiency…we have a winner here!

I guess not everyone will be able to own one…a stock CLA200 will do just fine for me hehe

• Backside design is not my my liking…prefer the hatchback A class

• droll on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:08 pm

agreed. the rear reminds me of a hunch back.

i think the new C class will also be like that. :( pity since the front is fantabulous.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 28, 2013 at 6:42 pm

and before map fan boy about lancer eve fq.

lets make this clear!!!!

evo fq is a tuned vehicles not official productions vehicle

it were tuned by wrc development in new zealand for ralliart uk(now known as extreme cars uk)
    so sorry evo fq is not the world most powerful 2.0 turbocharge engine in the world….dont think jap engineer have the capabilities to push boundaries like the kraut does

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • The characteristics of a production vehicle or production car are mass-produced identical models, offered for sale to the public, and able to be legally driven on public roads (street legal). – Wikipedia

And this can range from a sane Volkswagen Golf to a insane Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR. All Mitsubishi Evo (I-X) left the factory in Mizushima Plant, Kurashiki with ‘280hp’, according to Japanese Jishu-Kisei or gentlemans agreement, but latter model actually produce a bit more, around 320hp. Because these models are produced straight from a production line in consistence, they are considered mass production fitting the definition of production cars. So 30hp down from the Merc is not really that bad considering their acceleration is about the same(Evo X JDM: 0-100 in 4.5 sec). So one would argue the fact that there’s the UK-only FQ series which in the FQ-400 is at 408hp, that fits your description as a tuner as they are tune up from standard evos from Japan by Mitsubishi UK.

But the way you said “don’t think jap engineer have the capabilities to push boundaries like the kraut does”. They have, the Evo and WRX STI are mechanical wonders, and a GTR is still significantly faster than most Germans of its price and power, and the power with that weight the performance wouldn’t be possible. Japanese engines are still the most capable, withstanding triple the power of its original. When they are serious about making cars, the Japanese can make automotive wonders (skyline GTRs, 350z, LFA). Just a sad thing that now, they prefer to look at fuel efficiently and profits. I mutually respect both German and Japanese cars and culture, they have a lot in common other than their involvement in the war.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:11 pm

One does not simply say Japanese car without the presence of Mazda RX series and Toyota Supra’s indestructible 2JZ-GE. Damn miss the golden age of affordable great Japanese car. Hope GT-R and GT86 will brought back those good’ ol days.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:05 pm

So Evo FQ is not a production vehicle? Tell me more about how AMG engine is being mass produced.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:37 pm

its not mass produce but it’s in production eventhough its hand build it’s still in officials production of the manufacturer.

while fq was tuned by wrc development in kiwi land for ralliart uk and sold by ralliart uk which now known as extreme cars uk.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 28, 2013 at 6:44 pm

360 hp in a single turbocharged 2.0 litre 4 cylinder, how could it possible without blowing off the cylinder head but meet Euro 6 emission?
    Subaru and Mitsubishi, this is how your next generation turbocharged 4 cylinder should be!

• I’ve seen EVOs and Escort RS Cosworth comfortably running on 2.0bars of boost and 400-500hp, or so it says. Although its tune, the concept is feasible. So not really surprise on power but more on the fact that it can still maintain EU6 emission. That’s impressive though I expected the acceleration to be a bit quicker, late 3s or early 4s not mid 4s, but its still quick.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Indeed. Those 400hp mostly are user tuned engine and usually broke down after maybe a thousand kilometers. But this AMG is really a engineering wonders! Like forcing a 8 years old finishing Degree without driving him crazy!

• that back side..uhh..butt hurt is it?

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:05 pm

360hp from turbocharging a 2.0 litre engine. How on earth…? Good job Mercedes Benz!

• NanaWee on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm

OMG….. Out of so many Merces, I luuuuuuuv this one! The hind lamps, beautiful butterfly wings. Aerodynamics, oh so solid….. Adui…. I totally luv this one…. I dunno wat else to say, just jaw drop…. Adui…. I wanna touch n feel the real thing! Adui….. Headache la watching the vid 6times over n over just admiring the beauty. The specs… THE SPECS!!! 4.6secs…. Headache…. Beauty!!!

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:49 pm

It is considered cheap if the price is below E250.

• Johnny on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:33 am

This is one weird looking car. As much as I love the interior, the same can’t be said about the exterior. Wheelbase looks too short and rear design looks abit…Sonata-ish.. Overall, the aesthetics doesn’t work well for me.

• Mohd Masni on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:20 am

Wow..i never liked Merc before…shud i buy A6 3.0 Quattro or wait for this car ….err will it come to Msia??

• teamsleepnine on Mar 29, 2013 at 5:30 pm

a6 and this car different class….and if you can afford a6 or this car i doubt you will be posting your questions here…

• Time to spill my wallet when it comes out … :)

• alan jones on May 01, 2013 at 2:38 am

this cla45 amg looks good. I have heard that merc are pretty conservative on their performance figures.Is this correct. Maybe hit 60mph a bit quicker!!

• Enter your name... on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Yerr wish Malaysia can make this car cheaper leh :((((