2014 Nissan Teana showcased as the Nissan Altima at the 2013 Seoul Motor Show

P3280426

When Nissan unveiled the Nissan Altima in the USA little did we know that it was basically going to be launched as a next generation Teana in China, so we didn’t pay much attention to it.

It was quite a shocker when the Dongfeng-Nissan joint venture launched the car as a Teana in February this year. It would make sense – we can see that Nissan is revamping it’s car line-up to consist of an increasing amount of ‘global cars’ that will allow better economies of scale, and the Teana must be next in line.

P3280488

I took the opportunity to check out this Nissan Altima that was being exhibited at the 2013 Seoul Motor Show this week. This particular car has more similiarities to how our Malaysian market Teana was specced at launch time – with a vast expanse of beige all over the interior, a much more conservative design compared to the sporty black trim of the Dongfeng-Nissan Teana’s studio pix. This particular car is a 2.5 litre model (now using a 4 cylinder instead of a V6) and comes equipped with a Bose sound system.

Interior ergonomics have had a massive improvement. From the interior photos in our gallery you can see that the front door pockets have a much more usable design now, there are more storage areas for the driver, the front cupholders are now better positioned with nice chrome rings around them, and the steering wheel audio buttons are now alot more conventionally positioned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Girl cun, car meh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • Henry Leong on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Yea it looks good. Wonder how’s the performance of the engine. The girl looks friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:38 am

first time cefiros using 4 pot engines… emission thing bla3x

• The steering wheel looks good.

As the object a driver holds every time he/she drives a car, is surprising to see so many ugly and badly designed steering wheel out there including from premium car makers…

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Looks good only, don’t know will make ik ik sounds or not, ask your friends. Gallileo is still forgotten, I presumed, the tech is not there yet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • green on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Waitinf patiently for Nissan Serena Cum Slyphy New Replacement!

Edaran Tan ching, Where is the New slyphy?

• Hmm, quite a nice car. Looks like its a 3-way battle between the M6, Accord and Teana. Finally japanese are kicking it up a noch. Still have to beat the facelifted K5 though. Theres a new T in town, lets forget about the old one.

• seancorr on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Hohoho the next generation Selphy and Teana looks good indeed. Looks like we’re gonna see more Nissans on the road in the future!

Judging at ETCM speed of launching new models I guess we will only see the Selphy in 2014 and Teana in 2015..sigh.

• kentji on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:37 pm

imo the rear looks like kizashi
    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9a/Suzuki_Kizashi_rear_20100717.jpg

• I really like bright coloured interior, it make the car look bigger and more luxurious than dark coloured interior

It would be a nightmare though if you have children since this car is targeted for growing family. if only we had choice to choose interior colour like like in a more developed country

• Much better looking 10/10 for the exterior, should’ve done this on the previous gen.

• frenzy on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:36 am

This car doesn’t looks so ah pek than before. Simple and beauty. Just the interior is too simple, feel a little bit boring.

• BEN BEN on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:39 am

Dafuq… Nissan please stop with the fugly ass full Beige interior…

It even made the muscular Navara looks like a tarp…

Now , G.Livina, Navara etc, all come with dark interior… ppl don’t want this shitty colour scheme… Yucks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Josh Ling on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:32 am

why ditch the V6 engine?? that’s one very strong reason for people to buy teana over anything else in the first place!

• beatnik on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:36 am

Can’t help it but the girl is more attractive than the car.

Btw this Teana looks better than the outgoing model..

• kereta_lembu on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:53 am

The exterior of the car looks good and sporty. Nissan has been lacking in the looks department for quite some time, so this is a good redemption for them. The interior though is just so-so for me. It doesn’t really stand out in terms of being futuristic, nor does it have a very premium and European feel to it. To the very best, it just looks pleasant. Maybe a different color theme interior might make it look better. Beige just doesn’t work for me…too uncle-ish.

• hey sexy layydayy….. :-D

• I like this car, I like Teana more than Camry or Accord.

• is this nissan sylphy??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • hadi75 on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Read first la…..don’t just look at the picture….

• i knew la they just looks identical,what a nice, sporty, modern looking car but for sure it will kick ass ugly, boxy, cartoon looks toyota camry……..i wonder when this beauty will arrive here, why TC motor always sell outdated nissan?? if they bring here 4sure their sales gonna be good

• Finally..they ditched the uncle’s design…Thank God.

• arefix on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:30 pm

The rear seems like mercedes CLS and suzuki kizashi..prefer 2012 rear

• think i driving this car alone cant get such pretty super model

• kenot on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:45 pm

why nissan always like beige color for interior??

• gOOsh on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:51 am

more handsome compared to current sylphy & teana…

• blacktop on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:05 am

wat a wonderful life to have this

• Jump23 on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Girl in red nice,
    Waiting for New Slyphy.
    Hopefully bring in Slyphy SR edition as well :)