New Peugeot 208 all set for mid-April Malaysian launch

Peugeot_208_2

UPDATE: The Peugeot 208 has been launched in Malaysia. Click to read more about prices and specs.

When it comes it pours! Another local news has popped up to distract you from all the glitz and glamour of Seoul and New York, this time from Nasim who has just confirmed that the Peugeot 208 will make its way to Malaysia in time for a mid-April launch.

There’s nothing much to add to what we already know, as regular visitors of this site have seen plenty of the car already from various spyshots and leaked internal previews. Both three-door and five-door body styles will be available in 1.6 litre 120 VTi guise, with 122 PS and 160 Nm of torque to play with. Claimed fuel economy is 15 km per litre on the combined cycle.

To those interested here’s confirmation on the inclusion of front and rear LED lights, 7-inch touchscreen system, colour instrument panel display, dual zone air con, Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivity and Arkamys 3D audio set up. On the safety front, six airbags, ABS, EBA, EBD, ESP, DSC and ASR are all standard.

The order books for the Peugeot 208 have been opened since two weeks ago. Also, the new model will be making its way around Kuala Lumpur leading up to its launch. Check Peugeot Malaysia’s Facebook page and the 208’s www.letyourbodydrive.com.my microsite for details.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• mambo on Mar 28, 2013 at 1:47 pm

I want one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • ArtistImpression201 on Mar 28, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 113
      • Bongcs on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Not everyone like to eat sushi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
        • tikus on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Origin is sushi but somehow cook with tom yam.Then the quality of the fish become sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • WHT?? Vios more responsive? Vios 109PS vs 208 122 PS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
        • Green on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Noobs.

u havent try driving it, side by side. u wont know.

Toyota, having High Torque performance at Low rpm, will give u instant boost, feeling got power and oomph.

while the PS, will only bring u a higher acceleration + maximum speed.

I only can say, u are 1 of the BLIND WEB’s TREND FOLLOWER = BWTF.

U dun judge thing, on how much info u have gather from online, how u like to be such extrimist and keep on criticize other.

instead, go try it yourself, feel it.

of course, Peugeot, will give u a better ride and handling. for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 54
          • High torque at low rpm.. Oh wait, you’ve mistaken Ford Fiesta Ecoboost as Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
          • Who is the noob?
            Vios comes with 141Nm at 4200rpm
            208 = 120hp VTI = 160Nm at 4000 rpm

Therefore = Lower rpm and higher torque

Who havent driven a vios? It the same car for 3 generation. Its was fun at first but now its boring, its handling is plastic and its a milo tin.

I dun know who u are Green. U may be a toyota salesman or a proud modified Vios owner. But please do your respect other, start thinking and start reading facts.

No offence to Toyota. They know how to milk from their cash cows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
          • who is the noob? Vios hits higher torque at lower rpm?

208 hits 160 Nm at 4000rpm
            Vios hits 141 Nm at 4200rpm

Im not sure if ur a toyota salesman or a proud heavily modified vios owner.

But Green . YOu need to have respect, read more and use ur brain. Yes i have driven a vios, plenty of times in fact. Never love it. Prefer better handling Japs or Contis. The vios use to be a fun car at first gen but now its a old drivetrain, tacky, plastic handling, milo tin.

No offence to Toyota. They know how to milk their cash cow model.

P.S. Just to clarifyu to some noob. No Green, i didnt call u a cow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • okay thats your opinion but this is mine, the new vios looks like a butt ugly sag of shit on wheels. also, i fail to understand how a car with prehistoric gearbox and less power is “more sluggish in comparison” to a 1.6 with more power?
        you should be comparing the 208 with its main rivals, the fiesta, mazda2 & polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • ahmad loy on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:09 pm

..sorry, please NA to NA engine not NA compared to turbo..and also the gearboxes..DCT to DCT not DCT against non-DCT..the answered should be Peu 208 vs. KIA Rio not Ford Fiesta/VW Polo..mind your fact!

• sudonano on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:02 pm

LED Headlights also??

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Their microsite is really bad. So messy and not much info.

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Welcome our new friend. Are you happy with your cars with automatic up-down in all the windows?
      BTW, the most cantiq part of a female face is the eyes. One thing that Saga beats Sylphy is the ‘eyes’.
      This 208 beats Sylphy’s eyes as well.

• KIA Rio’s competitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • Kia Rio Drivetrain is bad. no oomph.. laggy.
      I would choose this premium b-sgement 208.

more powerful, better handling. comfort, not sure.. must test first. at least peugeot if famous with good ride and handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • contender for Fiesta XTR ! nicer than fiesta but not sure the gearbox !

• Green on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:07 pm

drivetrain, is not about the gearbox only.

drivetrain = anything in the system, that make u able to drive the car.

usually = engine + gearbox that give u significant difference.

Kia Rio = laggy engine + Wrong Ratio of Gearbox

try it yourself. :)

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:13 pm

I will say that fiesta is a more fun car to drive and handles better. 208 is a all round package deal. Handling is a bit numb due to electric power steering, feels like a VW ride and handling ,very sedated and disconnected. The GTi version hopefully will solve this numb feeling.

• Kia Rio is contender for Chevy Sonic

• So cute, looks like a squashed purple Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • sepul on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Now we need to know the price for the full spec car. My only gripe is the small glovebox due to the fuse box occupy it

• Only can keep Smart Tag, i think. http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/peugeot/208/61555/peugeot-208-first-report-pictures/page/5/0

• Oh those typical french designers. ;)

• Roger Tan on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Thats tiny!

Initially thought it was the driver’s side till I noticed the lack of a steering!

• Not unique to Nasim, but most of the car brands in Malaysia! The pics are always those from the West, based on a full spec car, then the tiny asterik will say “Nasim reserve the right to amend the specifications as and when deemed necessary, without prior notice”

I’m OK if the exact spec is available but if not, why can’t they just pics relevant to our market? Duh………….!

• I agree with you. All advertising are based on full spec but Nasim’s advertisement is not so really misleading compare to VW. I once almost cheated to the VW advertisement of Jetta. Jetta’s Brochure vs actual model is 2 different things.

Note: This message is not condemning any brand. Just share of thought.

• the above full spec rite?

• 208 price range from RM90 – 100K, same price range with the current 308 1.6Vti. Peugeot Malaysia ? Whats wrong with you people ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • I usually don’t like to comment on price, but the RM90k-RM100k listed at the OTO.com on the side worries me

• Well for a start, 208 is fully CBU while 308 VTI is locally assembled. Not to mention the 208 has a full list of features as compared to the VTI which is less equipped.

• unforgiven on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:33 pm

308vti is giving rm8k discount now..

• i am no fan of Peugeot design but this one really hard to resist

• nice looking car…..I just don’t like the AL4 gearbox. Its an AL4 right?

• Fahmi on Mar 28, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Should be lower than RM90k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Carlover on Mar 28, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Nice car.. Nice design…Hopefully selling at reasonable price…Made Malaysian got better and more various choices beside car from Kampong Juara 1 n 2..

• medium rich uncle will buy this car for his son coz RM90 – 100K its very overprice eventhough lots of gadjet.

• joe slayer on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:23 pm

nice car…i saw in peugeot blue box in kota damansara…damn nice car…

• raoul on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:51 pm

After seeing the 308 used car pricing, I would not even dare to get the new 208.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
    • Buy bicycle..you wont regret..not even dare to lose anything…you can keep it forever in your house !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Specialized on Mar 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm

bicycle nowadays cost more than kapcai… especially road bike…

• Don’t buy any means of transport then. Go and use public transport instead.

• kereta_lembu on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:04 am

I think the problem with Resale Value is Malaysian Mentality. I cannot understand the logic where for example a Peugeot 308 which drives better, has more power, looks better, higher spec and safer can somehow cost probably less than a Toyota Vios after a few years. It’ll be a real treat for those who buy 2nd hand Conti cars as they are paying less for so much more. Those under spec Jap cars that people are paying over the top for, somehow gets better resale value. I guess that’s the most important thing. Your years of driving pleasure, the safety of your family or yourself can be compromised, so that after you’re done with the car, you get a few bucks more in your bank. That’s just sad.

• Wa Jib on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:27 am

Mana Sam Loo “the Toyota Salesman” RV statement??

• Cosmos on Apr 03, 2013 at 5:20 pm

he’s not here to mindlessly bash? betterlah… he sounds like a broken record anyway.

• Very sad 1.0 turbo 3cylinder not coming, u can get 4.3l per 100km for these version. I think 1.6 version is premium version…..very sad!!!!

• 1.0 turbo? are you sure you’re referring to the 208 and its range of engines?

i think this is the engine range for the model and the only turbo petrol is the thp156 for now with the upcoming turbocharged gti having 200hp.

Engine 1.0 VTi 68 hp
      1.2 VTi 82 hp
      1.4 VTi 95 hp
      1.6 VTi 120 hp
      1.6 THP 156 hp
      1.4 e-HDi 70 hp
      1.6 HDi 92 hp
      1.6 HDi 115 hp

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:21 pm

You must be lost, 1.0 turbo 3cylinder is ecoboost from ford

• thanks for bloody gov tax

• JackeyDeck on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:45 pm

is…… it…… reliable…… ?

• K-Man on Mar 29, 2013 at 5:34 pm

yes….. it….. is….. !

• Halo Patrons,

Just buy what u like la

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:30 pm

here’s an interesting fact for those looking to own 1. The body shell for 3 door and 5 door are designed differently. The kinks and curves are very different on both model. The vti engine is very peppy with 120bhp at 6000rpm and peak torque of 160Nm at 4200 rpm, 88% peak torque available at 2000rpm

• ruuder on Apr 02, 2013 at 9:55 pm

88% peak torque at 2000rpm is about 140nm It’s like 4g18 engine in waja. The only plus point are it’s better power-weight ratio and better hp that contributes to better top speed and more fuel-saving

• Very dispointed, naza management change 3s for peugeot in juru and give to 3 party to run the business in bagan ajam which the spare part price really “potong kepala” compare to juru recently. Why price diff from juru under naza mgmt.
    Seem naza at beginning do grand promote, when people give trust by buying peugeot….. naza”lepas tangan”. Who loss here.. the buyer laa.
    Juru centre will change to citroen later
    Come on la Naza, dont think only make fast money…. now day rakyat not to tipu easy lo. Boikot naza product in penang

• Bagan ajam? Why not go to the new outlet in Butterworth?

• it is just business. if there is a price difference, it could only mean that the french have revised it. no such thing as constant pricing and the only constant is change. holding too many branches has higher overheads leading to reduced profits and tell me which company does business for free? best to let a strong partner handle where it matters. if you are proud of your car. just handle it and don’t complain. can’t handle it? go look for other brands.

• Abg Long on Apr 08, 2013 at 12:23 pm

puchong show room said 5 door 208 will b priced below 90k :)

• kentji on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:34 pm

just checked out some photos on google, 5 doors 208 are pretty fugly

• Abg Long on Apr 09, 2013 at 11:39 am

Peugeot Glenmerie already confirm the price!! 5 door 208 RM85,888.00 OTR!!

• Cosmos on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:34 pm

any news on the 3-door?

• Pug Fan on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:04 am

3 door price confirmed at RM95, 888.00 OTR+insurance
    5 door price confirmed at RM85, 888.00 OTR+insurance

Source: Blue Box Kota Damansara and Glenmarie and now roadshow in One Utama new wing.

• Cosmos on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:41 am

competitive prices with high specs and quality. let the sales race start! it drove pretty well too. thanks to the light body.

• hello bro in here…are peugeot car use timing belt or timing chain…can anyone tell me…..tq