Nissan March facelift marches in at the Bangkok show

Nissan March facelift

You recently saw spyshots of the car in the Thai capital; now the Nissan March facelift enjoys its official reveal (in March!) at the ongoing Bangkok show. Five variants – E MT, E CVT, EL CVT, V CVT and VL CVT – go on sale in the Kingdom, priced between 444k and 555k baht (RM47k-59k).

The facelifted Nissan March looks altogether bolder and more confident, with a honeycomb grille incorporating the Nissan emblem between V-shaped chrome slats. The fog lamp housings are now triangular and pushed to the edges of the front bumper, which is also new. Headlamps and rear bumper are new, too.

Nissan March facelift

The sole engine choice is a 1.2 litre twin-cam HR12DE three-cylinder unit with C-VTC that produces 79 hp at 6,000 rpm and 106 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm – no changes there. Regardless of variant, ABS, BA, EBD, electric power steering, LED rear lamps and a rear spoiler with integrated LED third brake light are present, and the driver and front passenger get an airbag each.

Available on the top two variants are new 15-inch alloys, wrapped in 175/60 tyres, as well as a centre console trimmed in a new piano black, a new beige interior and steering wheel audio controls, amongst others.

Nissan March facelift

You’ll note the interior shares more than a few similarities with that of the Nissan Almera – down to the dashboard, air-con controls (circular automatic air-con cluster on V and VL variants), interior door handles and air vents. Hardly surprising as the March and Almera share the same V platform.

Also on the stand is an example garnished with a loud bodykit, wheelarch extensions and some snazzy red sports wheels – look out for it in the gallery.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Musalmah Endut on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:28 am

wide bodykit looks nice!

• Green on Mar 28, 2013 at 9:47 am

What about Malaysia’s market.
    Tan chong, bring it on.
    RM60k auto, side by side with the Mitsu Mirage.
    Boss, malaysia would have choose March, not like the Thai market. where u see mirage has higher sales.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:37 am

Selling at RM47k-59k, this car if bring to Malaysia with this price range will smoke MyVi in “less than 10 s” in 100 day in term of sales volume.

Never-the-less, we will see the light at the end of tunnel post GE 13 if PR march to Putrajaya! And of course Rafizi Ramli in the driver seat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • RakyatMalaysia7 on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm

I think, u forgot about the excise duties,that’s what slit Malaysians’ throats..at current state,the price should be at least rm47K x 2,which is around 100% of the actual price..wonder when is this going to end……

• Peter on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:00 am

Interior: … like Almera.
    I wonder how it should position itself in Thailand b’cse Almera Thailand is also using the same engine, same dashboard … etc.

Malaysia? You won see this coming … It should have existed earlier if it could doesn’t it? Should it happen, just add a 10 – 12k to the Thai price (apply also on other Thai vehicle).

• but most of those cars(the cheapest one) most of time less2 spec than bolehland..just browse any thai car maker website n compare spec with boleh

• sulu march on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:00 pm

I bet if bring in blehland, price will over 100k,
    few years ago my friend bought already $114k, make ur dream on TC will price it below 100k.

• onli crazi people would price march more 100k since there are more , better n exciting car range in 70-100k

• nissan steering wheel is ugly..

• underskinned on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Bring dem Nissan March and Honda Brio here and compete with Mitsu Mirage and Suzuki Alto!

• vote for pakatan for reduce tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
  • Suzuki on Mar 28, 2013 at 4:56 pm

If TC going to import March to Malaysia, it will going to kill Perodua Myvi, but I bet March will be more expensive than Myvi, unless March CKD in Malaysia.

Interior is so-so, because i am using Almera too, nothing much different. Hope this car comes with CVT transmission.

• gOOsh on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:12 pm

habis lar mirage…

• Bongcs on Mar 28, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Each time i see this steering wheel, it reminds me of Mickey Mouse

• kucing on Mar 28, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Look like a frog

• Sam Loo on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:41 pm

As long as it’s not a kimchi, you will be right

• zanggief on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:45 am

TC should bring in this model fast to complete the almera family range…this is a good challenger for P2 myvi…

• Jack Philip Yong on May 28, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Hope Nissan March will be launched in Malaysia soon.