Nissan Pulsar five-door hatch on the Bangkok stand

Nissan Pulsar

Following its recent launch into the Thai market, the Nissan Pulsar turns up at the ongoing Bangkok show, drawing lots of attention from showgoers. The C-segment five-door hatchback is priced between 776k and 976k baht (RM82k-103k) in the Kingdom.

The Pulsar is essentially a hatchback version of the new Nissan Sylphy, but is 320 mm shorter in overall length – although it has the same 2,700 mm wheelbase. Two engines are offered – a 1.6 litre HR16DE with 116 PS and 154 Nm of torque, and a 1.8 litre MRA8DE with 131 PS and 174 Nm of torque. Both engines come with Nissan’s Twin C-VTC tech, and transmission is handled exclusively by a CVT.

You’ve also seen the Nissan Pulsar at AIMS 2012 in Sydney – there, a sporty SSS variant and a six-speed manual gearbox option are offered.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• frenzy on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:16 am

Looks much much way better than the almera in terms of exterior and interior. It offer more than what ETCM gave us in the fugly almera, 1.8 litre, CVT etc…

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:01 am

Light-year better than Jaguh Kampung No. 2 but-less currently on the road test Pr*v*!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • consf on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:30 pm

in what sense? have to wait until the camo lifted up entirely, for now i hold my view

• 776k and 976k baht (RM82k-103k)

did anyone notice?

Ringgit Malaysia getting cheaper compare to Thailand Baht.

Yet some people still proud our economy one of the best in the world but this is reality.

that what you get: hari-hari eat and sleep with TV3 and Utusan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Ononimos on Mar 29, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Are you serious? I can’t really understand the way you have made the comparison.

Do enlighten me please.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Indeed damn cheap at the followings: –
      Refer to XE website:
      1) 1.00 SGD = 2.49754 MYR
      2) 9.4639 THB = 1.00 MYR

Look at the above exchange rate, not only our life is cheap on the road, but our Ringgit also become cheaper by the day compare to our northern Tom Yam Land and southern Kiasu Land neighbor!

• Expatriate JP on Mar 29, 2013 at 3:45 pm

So what the problem? thai people more cheaper than bolehland just compare their lowest spec car n boleh spec car with price

• the prob is we dont buy in baht..we buy in usd

• Mayonaise on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:21 am

Finally, the Pulsar name plate is back in ASEAN. I really do like this car. The big question now is, will the conservative Edaran Tan Chong Motor introduce this new Pulsar to the Malaysian market along with the new Sylphy?

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:17 am

“Hardly” because look at their current Serena, now behind 2 generation!

• Heskey on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:21 am

Car prices have gone up in thailand. They need to change their government now

• Xefron on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:35 am

it will be a dream to have this around 80K region in Malaysia.

• storin on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:38 am

At what rpm the hp and torque max out ? Seems rather low for 1.6… is it come earlier ?

• faraway on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:00 am

When it enters Malaysia, it has downgraded the gear from CVT to normal auto 4 speed gear. Same like the almera

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:08 am

Yes, correct, correct, correct, …….
      &
      Listen x 18 ……..

We have: –
      -1st world infrastructure (i.e. read highway),
      -3rd world mentality (i.e. read reckless driver)
      -5th world car product (i.e. read Jaguh Kampung No. 2)!!!!!

For Almera it is 4 speed gear because it is B segment entry level car like City or Vios. I think they will still use CVT for this C-segment car!

• veloo on Mar 29, 2013 at 4:17 pm

5 star ANCAP car also a 5th world car product? That’s insane. Ditch 2 airbags to 4 , it can still achieve at least 4 stars asean ncap. Is that so bad, or you are the one who didn’t read at all?

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 5:07 pm

OK to be more specific I refer to local market: –

Local market – 5th world car product at inflated price.

Export market – Is true 5 Star ANCAP + 6 airbag 1st world car product at cheapest price.

• interior & exterior look much more better than vios, however still have worry in their engine & tranmission

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:10 am

How to compare with entry level sedan Vios? this pulsar is C-segment Hatch, at least compare with Yaris (also B-segment)!

• Expatriate VN on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:02 am

This car look beautiful exterior but I am not interested! I am interested and waiting for Serena new model to come to Malaysia!

• LimPek on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:58 am

this car already launched in China on 2011.

NISSAN TIIDA

• c14man on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:11 am

The current Nissan design language is not really of my taste. While most car manufacturers are going towards more muscular prominent lines, Nissan seems to be moving towards more curvy ones. To me, the current generation of latio looks more muscular. Compare the Almera vs upcoming Vios, Slyphy vs upcoming Altis, Teana vs Avalon (though avalon is one segment bigger).
    But beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.