Subaru WRX Concept – NYC showcar hints at next gen

DSC04897

Here’s a jaw dropper from New York, the Subaru WRX Concept that hints at the design language of the next generation WRX. It appears that for the first time, looks will be part of the fabled WRX package – let’s face it, we love the hot Impreza, but not for how it looks.

The Subaru WRX Concept is 4,521 mm long, about the same length as the current WRX STI saloon, although it’s nearly 100 mm wider at 1,889 mm and much lower than today’s car (1,389 mm v 1,470 mm), explaining the athletic stance.

Design highlights include a new grille design is larger and bolder, a must-have WRX hood scoop, a pronounced powerbulge and sharp “hawk-eye” headlights. The face has some similarities with the Viziv Concept from Geneva – it’s clear that you don’t have to be its mother to love this face!

DSC04952

The rear design echoes the hexagonal design motif from the front grille and features a curved trunk lid that also acts as a rear spoiler. The wide rear bumper is off-set by large quad tailpipes and an aggressive rear diffuser. There’s also a carbon fibre roof to lower the car’s center of gravity and reduce weight.

It has to be in blue, but the hue is actually an updated “WR Blue Pearl III” paint with fluorescent yellow as an accent on the WRX badge, brake calipers and exhaust tip finishers. Rounding off the highlights are those sexy BBS “RI-D” One Piece Forged Duralumin wheels with 245/40 Dunlops. But why aren’t they in gold?

No technical details were given because this is just a design concept to whet your appetite.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This impress.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
    • Jisus99 on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:10 pm

my favourite color on my favourite car!! steam man!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • BMW Fanboi on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:26 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 177
        • babal on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:50 pm

can u compare preve r3 with bugati?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 38
        • wrx RB5 on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:55 pm

preve not even worthy be a door handle on WRX concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 39
        • Flash on Mar 30, 2013 at 2:24 pm

U r either retarded or posses some kind of personality disorder everytime u come up with the same statement each time u visit this blog. FYI, we r sick of it and u should go n fly kites somewhere around the shithole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • yahooo on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Please dun feed this troll, later he will evolve to fatter troll hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • He’s want to get more thumbs up and down for his comment but i never did!

• WRX Sti on Mar 31, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Nice and aggressive design, really good to look at. Unlike the current Subaru WRX which looks like a toilet bowl.

• Mat Global on Apr 01, 2013 at 11:49 am

This car is so cheap overseas but in Malaysia, it will become about RM500k. More expensive than BMW. Only a fool will spend that amount of money on a jap.

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Wow, who said Subaru couldn’t design good-looking car?
      From the pics, this car is cantiq front/rear/side.
      Like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Nice ass. I’ve never seen an ass like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • the best from subaru yet…not only subaru fans are excited, PDRM too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • This one looks fierce and masculine, I like it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • frenzyaustin on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm

The design is so Japanese! The front looks like Gundam! But this car is too low to go rallying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • jilbaber on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:13 pm

you think so, the head lamp probably from its old adversary (LanEvo)…but it’s look totally Korean to me..especially the grill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 90
      • wrx RB5 on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:57 pm

it feels at a glance like a kia forte koup? strange feeling but then Subaru design has always been more miss than hit.

• Kelvin on Mar 29, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Love the ever built muscle looking, innovative headlamp! Awesome!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • special looking rear, however felt like benz SL class siblings when looking the front..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • ahchai69 on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Rear headroom looks tight n normally has very limited rear view but must see real car first..

• wud trade a cayman for this one

• I will paint my wheels gold if I get it….
    Nice job, the next scooby looks great

• yamaha sikoru on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:41 pm

PR plz win in the GE, im sure this my next car in reasonable price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
    • i hate poor people who always ask for handouts. study harder get a better paying job la. if poor then buy viva la. why the if this and if that. internet should be made more expensive to filter out the lower class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
      • wrx RB5 on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:58 pm

better paying job also can only afford viva, so how?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • capati on Mar 30, 2013 at 11:12 pm

handouts like the APs handed to cronies AP holders?
        study hard and get a phd and how much they’re paying phd holders now? study hard and still AP king get all the easy money.

internet is cheap in malaysia. broadband is cheap. so that information, real information could trickle down to the average rakyat.

• kambinganas on Apr 01, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Balik2 komen bodoh macam ni.

I guess people like you don’t mind working themselves to the bone every time our lazy yet greedy govt keep asking us to ubah gaya hidup.

• Ban87 on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Just WOW! Great design would love to park 1 at my backyard !

• I never thought that Subaru is capable of such great design. Than again most never thought the Koreans are capable at that half a decade ago. This Is still distinctively Japanese and Subaru, with those sharp lines, Subaru trademark BBS rims and giant bonnet scoop, but it looks awesome! The only problem is that rims should be gold and the neon green details should be gone.
    Now someone please threaten Subaru to put it in production 90% unchanged, it will be a great mistake if they don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • crank on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:04 am

Well its still a concept so we’ve yet to see the variants once it goes to production. I’m pretty sure they will come with the gold rims. WRX STI perhaps.

• crank on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:41 pm

MOTHER OF GOD!!! Mitsubishi better be coming up with something that is as brutal as this MONSTER!!

• jilbaber on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:53 am

In contrary Mitsu should be proud..the eagle eyes is originated from their design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Lewis Lee on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:06 am

This car is so hot, it will melts your eyes

• NeoLover on Mar 30, 2013 at 12:55 am

Dear Subaru,
    Please make this car into production. Do not change the exterior even one bit. if Range Rover Evoque can do it. I’m sure you can as well. Do not make the mistake as Proton made when they changed Tuah into Preve. Thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 401 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Mar 30, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Yes, to be gentle, we should say, Proton guys can be smarter and more intelligent if they maintain the original Tuah design.
      We avoid disgusting words as far as possible.
      Subaru, don’t change ya, this is very good-looking design.

• bentley on Mar 30, 2013 at 6:48 pm

this is conceptual design. when it goes to production it’ll be toned down. kizashi once has very futuristic design but ends up with camry look alike production version.

• KuinosanNick on Mar 30, 2013 at 8:52 am

Now, this design is worthy of a true WRX. Subaru should put this into production in Rally and GT spec close to 99% unchanged as it is. Subaru, you got the right design philosophy now so put it into practical use!

• put that wrx ass onto the brz would be awesome

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:19 am

What a design! The Scooby hasn’t been a dream car since the days of Colin McRae but if they put this into production, they’ll have a whole new generation of fans.

• Luiey on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:23 am

This is what I call awesome..

• Polo Saga on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:54 am

Impressive, esp. the unique headlamp, very Subraru-look. Awesome!!!

• Leo23 on Mar 30, 2013 at 11:30 am

Sweet~~

• ini semua merapu on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:17 pm

looks like a proper muscle car.. =3

• E Gosling on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm

never been a Subaru fan before, due to the not so pretty designs of the previous and existing models.

but, this concept car really is a looker.

btw, to those hardcore preve lovers, if preve even looks 50% like this concept, then I would agree with your comments. :)

• GarryOoi on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:40 pm

IF i dont get Audi RS, i ll get this sexy bab!

• cecibo on Mar 30, 2013 at 1:48 pm

it’s just concept, later there will be editing, altering, throw some of stuff raised the roff, increasing the heights, etc2… Remember evo 10, the concept was stunning, and finally came out, inspira… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • wow it seems you know everything about car, i don’t mind if you say kancil is production car from lambo aventador concept

• Ash Menon on Mar 30, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Oh man, that is gorgeous. And I’m not even a Subaru fan!

• Veneno on Mar 30, 2013 at 2:31 pm

wow.. recent Scooby’s concept cars look really awesome.. this wrx looks powwerfull, muscular..

• First the skyline, now the wrx. Where the hell is the evolution?

• yahooo on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:13 pm

The ‘evolution’ need more time to evolve for the evolution

• wrx RB5 on Mar 30, 2013 at 6:06 pm

problem spotted, rear roofline could be a problem for tall passengers in the back. they be hitting their heads if the driver wants to be rally hero!

• amigos on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Love it…one of the best concept this year…!!

• bomoh on Mar 31, 2013 at 9:57 am

How much ? Went will this boy get in production line? I would like to start my saving!!

• black on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:27 pm

those rims are ugly enuff, what size izzit?..