Subaru XV now available with new self-clean function

Subaru has introduced the world’s first vehicle self-cleaning function on the Subaru XV. Available in the UK from April 1, the company’s AF Self-Cleaning Technology can be specified as an option for £1,412 (RM6,644), excluding VAT.

Developed with some of the world’s leading electrical engineers, AF Self-Cleaning Technology works as such: at the push of a button on the key fob, nanogenerators convert energy present in the environment into electrical energy, which activates harmless low-voltage currents on the car’s outer body surface.

These currents then flow in precise, overlapping patterns to agitate and dissolve micro-attachments on the body surface, such as dirt and dust, without using a drop of water.

Focus groups have revealed that Subaru drivers are active people who lead active lives, who don’t want to waste their time washing their car at the weekend. The team has developed the technology bearing this in mind, to make their customers’ lives that little bit easier.

Subaru hasn’t yet said if other models in their range will receive the AF Self-Cleaning Technology; our guess is it’ll only be a matter of time. It’ll be a pretty handy convenience on rally Imprezas, we think.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• SonnyT on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:52 pm

An April Fool’s joke?

• devan on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:54 pm

april fool loh

• Semut on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Reported by Loof Lirpa……

• as stated in youtube : Thank you for watching, we hope you enjoyed our 2012 April Fool’s

• David on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Definitely an April fool prank!

• Trying to beat out Honda’s in-built vacume cleaner eh?

• jilbaber on Apr 01, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Damn it !! I’ve been so cautious the whole days not to fall to any AF prank…

• policeman on Apr 01, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Wow! Can install it on my car?

• “because you will be busy with your sundays”

(If you know what I mean)

• tHe^CuLpRit on Apr 01, 2013 at 9:03 pm

this is true guys… My dad’s brother’s neighbour’s nephew works for Motor Image, confirms it will be a standard feature on all M’sian XV at no additional cost.

I for one am sold.

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Wish this tech, in polished version, available in luxury vehicles.

• Honda Power on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Ha ha! It’s an April Fool joke. Don’t be fooled by this article and the Youtube advertisement because it’s an April Fool prank for car enthusiasts. Today is 1st April!

• AlexK on Apr 01, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Did anyone realise the price is £1412? 1st April 2012. Hahahaha. =D

• budlee on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:09 am

LOL!!!

• Motorhead on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Really gave all the cuci kereta guys a heart attack. Lol