Volkswagen Golf Mk7 is World Car of The Year 2013

volkswagen golf mk7 coty

Ah, in the midst of all that show frenzy last week from Bangkok, Seoul and NYC is the story of another gong for the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 – the Typ 5G has added the World Car of the Year 2013 title to its 2013 European Car of The Year award, making for a much-vaunted double win. The award was presented to this year’s champion at the New York show.

The Golf Mk7 pipped the likes of the Mercedes-Benz W176 A-Class, Porsche Boxster/Cayman and Toyota GT-86/Subaru BRZ to the title, with the jury of 66 motoring journalists from 23 countries placing it first ahead of the pack. It’s the second World Car of The Year title for the Golf in the nine-year old awards, following the previous incarnation’s victory in 2009.

In all, VW has won four WCOTY titles (the Polo in 2010 and up! last year), making it the most successful marque in the awards. The Golf Mk7’s European COTY win was also made the Golf a repeat winner, joining the Renault Clio as two-time titleist in the coveted award’s 50-year run. Do you think the Golf Mk7 is a deserving double winner?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mat Global on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:09 pm

No doubt it is a good car but VW has not really addressed the DSG gearbox failures. VW China has done so and they have given longer warranties on just the DSG gearbox. When will VW Malaysia extend their warranty specifically on the DSG gearbox? ALready we feel cheated as we buy German cars for problem free driving. Going in and out of the VW service centre because of breakdowns is not what we bargained for.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 10
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 01, 2013 at 3:08 pm

You know why got so many complaints about the service centre being so slow? It is because they are too busy handling large amounts of volume of cars with DSG problems. So, it takes a lot of time to open the whole engine to change gearbox. That is why most other customers go in for normal service is neglected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:55 pm

The whole world is blind except us, maybe I should include me myself into the ‘us’.
        The whole automobile world is blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:17 am

One in every 3 DSG boxes are lemons in Malaysia. Just ask the service centre personnel or ask people who are sending their cars for repair whilst you wait for your car!

• Rik C on Apr 01, 2013 at 3:15 pm

There’s already 5 years warranty? Longer warranty means?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Used Panties Sniffer on Apr 01, 2013 at 3:37 pm

VW in the whole world sama taraf as Proton in Malaysia. But in Malaysia, VW Malaysia market it as if it is a Rolls Royce. Malaysians are April Fools joke everyday of the year lah into believing it is a prestige brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Loo on Apr 02, 2013 at 12:08 pm

VW owners in Malaysia cannot accept that they were cheated. When you tell them VW is a normal car in Europe, they go on the defence and say that people say such things because they cannot afford the VW in the first place.

You think if Proton is sold in Europe and marketed as a luxury brand can sell? It won’t because Mat Salleh is more clever than that. But we Asians, just love to worship the Mat Salleh for anything their produce and are blinded even when they give us faulty and inherently defective products. Wake up Malaysians!. Wake up and stop worshipping the white man. Not all things they produce are perfect in quality. Infact, many car enthusiast will go one step further to say even a Proton is hundred times more reliable than your VW that is knows at BOTY- Breakdown of the Year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • At least is high performance and popular P1 in the whole world! VW is not premium but very confused the kosong spec of Touareg price is very close to BMW,Merc or Audi SUV,luxury spec is expensive than those premium brands SUV!

• Do you guys know VW only give 2 years warranty? The other 3 is the extended warranty?

• Sam Loo on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:53 am

Cannot lah COTY.Look at VW Facebook, people maki and hantam VW maximum. And they are proud owners. So many of them have to go in like 10 times in a year just to fix their DSG problems. Yes VW, cover all you want but the whole world got Internet and we can do all the research.

• akrys on Apr 04, 2013 at 1:44 pm

May I know how many bashers here actually own or have driven a Golf before? I own one and yes, the DSG konked and VW fixed it in 2 days. But, even with that problem, I think it’s well worth the trouble cuz no car out there at that price level can afford the power and ride. And yes, I have tried the Camry, Accord and Mazda 3 2.0. And no, I don’t sell VW’s.

• I own a Golf and I’m in the process of selling it to buy a Ford Focus. The ride is of course unbeatable for the price, but the car is a ticking time bomb. It may have only taken you 2 days, but for some people it takes months. Good for you if you’re willing to take the risk in the long run, I’m not!

• KNNSamLoo_Dog on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Car of the year….hahahaa YES. Car of the year for less reliability. DSG take it all. Well done VW.

Seriously, Honda CRZ look much sexier and better. This one look like some capati where nobody is going to look or even hotel car park jockey won’t even allow you to park at the front. They will chase you off thinking it’s Citroen car. After breakdown, sui luck for hotel :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 70
    • 1 Malaysia on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Check out VW 5 years mobility program. they give u hotel stay in case ur VW breakdown. they give drive + 4 pax (max 3d/2n) which means u get a total of 5 rooms for 3d/2n per breakdown (which breakdown happen 100km from ur point of origin).

No worries :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • takori on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Sure or not. U goto their vw facebook, so many people curse and swear. This is getting worst than alfa silispeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Compared with CRZ? that thing is not very good looking! yes DSG is terrible but that’s ok coz the new DSG is safe now…

• regarding DSG problem, its a legend in the making of similar power window problem with proton unless they fix it quickly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • golf for life on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Maybe but the spec they give to Malaysian sucks…double standard!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Who on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:20 pm

With all the DSG problems and we have got a WINNER.
    Who is fooling who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:57 pm

The whole world is blind.

• The selection here unfortunately did not include ‘reliability’. Judges on tried out the car without taking after sales into consideration.

• Black Dog on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Just had a short drive on my friend’s new Golf yesterday.

It was solidly built. Quite effortless to accelerate to 180 kph on the Kesas but very loud wind noise coming in after 160 kph. Can’t go any faster due to the evening traffic. My friend said performance-wise, it lose to the much cheaper twin-charged Jetta (his sister has one).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
    • lithium on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Driving 180kph at Kesas – do you have a brain? Why are you endangering other road users. If you want to test how fast you can push the car go to a race track. You may not value your life but others do!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Enthu on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:43 pm

wait till the “twin-charged” supercharger go down then you know…

• kopi panas on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:22 pm

overrated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
    • truer words have never been spoken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Makan suap, do you mean somebody is giving kopi O ?
        Do you mean VW waited for all his haters to go travelling during school holidays and he set the voting date for this WCOTY so that only his supporters are voting?

• Polo Saga on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Seriously??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Really not surprised with the results. The Boxster/Cayman also napped performance car COTY and the F-type napping beauty COTY. Do I think the golf deserve it? It’s a good car all-round and really difficult to fault it as a car, but it looks bland compared to the last and there’s not much automotive innovation other than that MQB platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Most people in UK prefer the 6 speed manual version of Golf. Too bad we only have DSG in Malaysia. By paying over 150k for a car, we deserved to have more selection on the transmission !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Chow 1 on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:00 pm

With such price, there are many other options in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Motorhead on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:05 pm

And overpriced too. Well at least in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • blah blah blah on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:08 pm

the fact that this wcoty award is bestowed on a car which has only been on the market for less than a year means long term reliability is not one of the selection criteria.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • blah blah blah on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:16 pm

wait…

ha ha ha!

anthony, u got me!

I forget that today is the 1st of april…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Confused on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Hahaha nice april fool’s joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Shame_Loo on Apr 01, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Yeah…April Fool……The author, please tell us this is a Hoax…..

• Jacky C on Apr 01, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Conspiracy
    I don’t a reason why it got it
    Having same the same design language with mk6,
    You budget and time were spent on engineering improvement over Mk6, so if you couldn’t improve over mk6 on mk7, it’s big joke. However, if u done it, it should be no much of surprise.

World car of the year is full of conspiracy, take VW up! as example, this car is not available worldwide until today, how could it won world car of the year?

VW backing the association

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Makan suap, do you mean somebody is giving kopi O ?
      Do you mean VW waited for all his haters to go travelling during school holidays and he set the voting date for this WCOTY so that only his supporters are voting?
      Yes, and the whole world is blind, they cannot see it. They cannot see the conspiracy.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 01, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Camry is better than this!…..in terms of reliability only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:08 pm

So everyday, there must be thousands of cars from many Western marques being towed or breaking down by the roadsides, causing traffic jams.
      Remember, there are so many European cars running around everyday in European roads, and they are more chinchai than us. Only Malaysians scrutinise cars for their reliability, congrats, we are No 1 again.
      The most popular cars in Europe are made by Toyota, I know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Rik C on Apr 01, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I really wonder how many of you owns or owned a Golf or even drove one before. Fair enough if you had a Golf WITH DSG problem (please, am sure every manufacturer had a few lemons out of a thousand cars) but overall, as a MK6 owner myself, it is a fairly ‘balanced’ car. Owners will know what ‘balanced’ here means.

1. DSG failure – Maybe mine is not a lemon but through hearsay, DSG failure is a rarity. Whatever the concern is, there’s a 5 years warranty.

2. Service center issues – Blame the service centers not the car.

3. Specs – Blame the distributors not the car.

4. Overpriced – Blame the tax structure not the car.

5. Styling – This is such a subjective thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 01, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Agreed my 1.4 roc has never given me any problem with the dsg……however my hilux’s clutch has snapped twice in 3 years, does that mean Toyota is worse off?

People are just commenting based on hearsay and jealousy…grow up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Pat San on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Do some research before you comment…..the DSG is not a hearsay….your problem might come only just after your warranty is over….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • VW Freak on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:31 pm

oi brader, itu saja ka lu tau, BASED ON COMMENT BASED ON COMMENT BASED ON COMMENT.. wtf? driving proton but still care to read VW forum ? grow up bro.. as he say his golf also didnt have any dsg problem, my gti mk6 also until now ALHAMDULILAH still got no dsg prob even though already accident 1 time.. so many jelousy in this thread haiyaa.. ask people to grow up they(the one that ask) should grow up..

• vwsucks on Apr 02, 2013 at 3:43 pm

I can see your dsg is failing very soon. hahahaha

• Pat San on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Do some reading before you comment…..DSG problem is a fact not a hearsay…..try to own your Mk6 for more than 5 years…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Vw Freak on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Owning for more than 5 years? Ok i try if got problem can trade in the car for bently already not like u that still driving proton more than 5 years, 10 years, 50 years..

• Enthu on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:54 pm

To be exact, there is 2(ONLY!) years warranty. Another 3 they passed to Allianz. Directly passing the risk to an insurer. Don’t even tell me you have no clue whatsoever why they did that.

Can’t believe you bought that 5 year warranty shit.

• hancocok on Apr 01, 2013 at 4:17 pm

WTF …2013 not even half way,
    VW is claimed mk7 is best of the year 2013 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Golfstream on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:11 pm

In 1988 Citroen AX @ Tiara came in a close second place for that years COTY award. So, still go for this stuff?

• sammistress on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:34 pm

This car ah….cannot pakai wan. If I buy ah, people think I drive a 1980 car. Boh gaya. Some more price at rm200k….my datin friends all will laugh at me if I buy this fridge car.

Now with rm200k, if I buy lexus ct200, all my datin frens will see me up. Even the car jockey rush to my aid to park my car. At least wor, sam loo also can boast to his friend. See, my mistress can drive lexus instead if 4 door fridge.

5 years down the road, all the used car dealer still welcome me with open arms as they know, lexus sure damn reliable wan. If I buy vw, not only used car shut their door, my tatler datin frens also outcast me.

Worst, sam loo might dump me too. Yeah life can be cruel sometines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Drving E-class is so so only. Come on lah.

• No brands can still compete with the Beemers and Benz in mid end luxury cars

• Lexuss ct200? what is that? that thing looks like the tissue box! just another overprice Toyotas what so premium yea?

• nones on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Golf are specially made for four season country.That’s why its won europe car of the year.Alas, tropic country like Malaysia will explode their dsg. So no point to buy this car with upcoming problems and overrated. My questions is, why actual golf sport rim for Malaysia market are differ than golf look on VW Malaysia website frontpage? We hate cheater..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • VW Freak on Apr 02, 2013 at 2:13 pm

yup, my 2010 golf gti mk6 also come with 17′ Denver rim instead of 18′ Detroit rim.. They cut cut budget.. supposed to get those 18′ rim..

• kentji on Apr 01, 2013 at 6:33 pm

dsg dsg dsg, haters gonna hate man

• LimPek on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:00 pm

DSG gearbox replacement cost in China is between 3,000~10,000Yen.
    but while in Malaysia is RM30,000~ RM40,000.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-20/volkswagen-recalls-384-181-vehicles-in-china-for-gearbox-faults.html

• Ah Beng on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:33 pm

The best in the world.

• tuahbeng on Apr 01, 2013 at 9:13 pm

This one ah, I am sure all the vw pr folks must hv grease kow kow all this journalist to lobby vw to become coty. They cannot lose face to samurai or kimchi. Then again, a slap to their vw arrogant face when they get sued left and right not only in china but Europe too with their problematic dsg. One word sum it all…..VW SUCKS just like proton with their forever power window issue.

• TopGear on Apr 01, 2013 at 9:40 pm

is the new Golf MK7 still using DSG ?

• Sam Loo on Apr 01, 2013 at 9:51 pm

RV suddenly gone up 100%.

• Sazali on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Still Japanese is better.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0vDnPz80-A

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Readers, please use your brain and analyse whatever movies/advertisements etc presented to you.

What is there and what is not there.

Who are the critics?

Anything else?

Come on le, why is this thing here? Motives?

Internet war, in facebook, possible? Avatarss, yeah.

VW please fire all your VW engineers and appoint your Bentley/Porsche/Audi divisions’ engineers, come on.

• Sazali on Apr 01, 2013 at 10:30 pm

For that price, go for Toyota Camry 2.0G.
    More car, more comfortable, reliable, RV, Presentable, stll presentable after 10 years, compny car, can look like boss sitting rear, more space for children and adult, can be weddings car etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
    • dugong on Apr 02, 2013 at 12:34 am

Then you should buy hilux and not camry. HILUX got more metal, more cargo space, bigger, tougher and surely more lasting than camry.
      Fool not everyone like to drive an ugly bulky jap car. Quality > quantity.

• David D on Apr 02, 2013 at 8:56 am

Dear Sazali, do you want a Camry that could kill you in an accident with poor crash survivability as proven with the small overlap crash test, low levels of safety kit, and best of all, old technology and ridiculous pricing? I’m sure you would, since you are such a blind Toyota supporter.

Please buy more Camrys, as I’d like to see the look on your face when you skid and crash badly in a crash due to the lack of ESP stability control, which most other cars in its class have. At which point, resale value is not even worth anything for your pile of wrecked metal. As for the rest of us educated consumers, we would look at you with pity with our loaded Mazda 6’s, Peugeot 508s, Kia K5’s, and Passats for their full safety system would help us prevent an accident like yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Lots of favoritism and lobbying for VW from the journalist, i do wonder why. It may have been awarded the COTY but less face it, its just a peoples’s car in Europe and that equates to P1/P2 in malaysia. Its an ordinary car for ordinary people but malaysians think its the ultimate machine. VW china gave 10 years warranty on the DSG to keep them quiet because its the largest market in the world. Come on blind VW owners open your eyes and do some research before buying

• PassatOwner on Apr 02, 2013 at 6:01 pm

For a car packed with so many safety features and performance wise top notch or at least far better than many offerings from the Japs and Koreans, it will be a big surprise if it did not win Car of The Year Award. I wished it was the Passat winning it. I was driving my Passat last Saturday afternoon and it was raining. I was following an Inspira modifed as the Lancer. In front there was a very slow moving truck. Safe to overtake, i switched to S Mode, and suddenly, the Inspira turn towards me and even me honking that fella, he continued to also want to overtake, until i made a quick decision to move to the right more, and the Inspira could came knocking my side, i held on to the steering, revved, the car was steady, it sped forward, cos my family was in the car, and i thought if it was my old Civic 2.0, i am not sure whether the car will survive as i probably knocked straight into some kelapa sawit plantation, that Inspira did apologize but either u are blasting your stupid loud music or just being ignorant. There goes the power of stability, traction control, electronic differential lock system at play and i believe i was travelling at around 100 km / hr just trying to overtake, ok my bad, the Inspira plus slow moving truck. But that experience was scary. Congrats VW for making the People’s Car to be so reliable and likable and feel so safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 7:23 pm

VW reliable? have you not visited VGM facebook site? Lets be honest most decent car could have maneuvered out of that situation

• learn the power of proton-lotus rnh. it’s not meant to replace all the safety gadget out there but it does give good stability on winding and wet road, fun driving too.

• MasakRoti on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:33 pm

That just shows how bad your anticipation judgement.

You will get yourself killed one day.

Go register advance driving course.

• Enthu on Feb 13, 2014 at 5:57 pm

wait till that dsg of yours fails at the same time you tries so hard to overtake, and see if you can still post any comments here.

If you value your family’s life, get a “better” car, seriously.

• I am the VW blind driver here. I bought 2 VW cost nearly half a mil, but also in my passed I hv driven a lot of proton cars. From megavalve to Wira was the last model. Even driven the rare model Wira 1.8L.
    Both cars has pro n con. I won’t go back for proton cars now, not because of the quality and not because of VW. The reason is I buy what I want to buy, I nvr critize my friends buying an accord or camry or others car. We are spending our own money and no one have rights to tell which car you should buy or you are blind in buying what kind of cars. We can’t compare cars to other countries. We can’t compare VW Msia and VW China. VW China produce VW cars from everything, even the dsg made in china. VW Msia imported cars from others country in the world, except imported VW cars from China. Imagine if you are a car maker will you provide more than 5 yrs warranty in Msia? For me, I think 5 yrs warranty is good enough. By the way, which car did not have a problem? No matter is gearbox, engine, external, internal, electronics it is a problem. Shall we all stop buying a car because of there is a problem? Shall I stop someone to buy a car because of the car has problem?
    Sorry for my broken English.

FYI, VW now is giving 3 yrs warranty + 2 yrs insurance warranty. Unlike last time was 2 yrs VW warranty + 3 yrs insurance warranty.

Let say, when asking me will I buy another VW? My answer is no. Not because VW always/forever has DSG problem, the real answer is I am wishing to spend my money to experience others maker car. Maybe Peugot, Lexus, or Toyota. These car also hv problem right? But I will still buy one.

• Chillum T on Apr 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

WCOTY! nice one VW. I was so close to buying a GTS Scirocco, however the Golf is a more practicable choice for the moment ;-)

• John Smith on Sep 15, 2013 at 8:26 am

This is my car of the year:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhrse0tsNCU

because you will not see this in english speaking media:
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hoO7xt3npE
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jqkTHeSqtg
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3JisrFRX3k
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uXF0PcsQAo
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ShnLJY9FDY

VW is a shit. It pays “journalists” to do this:
    Example 1:
    Top Gear s20 ep5. Clarkson “tests” various “smaller” SUVs. It appears that he’s sponsored by VW, although he tries to disguise it. First he had chosen to disqualify Peugeot 3008 (the biggest competitor of monopolistic VW), stating a lie that its capable of towing only 500kg.

I’ve check the specs. First if you want to compare cars get comparable engines! Peugeot 2.0 HDi is capable of towing 1500kg trailer with brakes, and 750kg without brakes. Perfect for towing a big trailer. Second you can buy “grip control” system, which is awesome and can pull the car out of mud very nicely. I’ve seen it on Peugeot 2008. Just check their youtube account and see for yourself.

You should also check ride quality because lower than 2000kg towing capability is a result of more advanced rear suspension that is much safer on the road and gives you quality ride.

But Clarkson disqualified Peugeot 3008 on the ground of towing capabilities, which is a blatant LIE. Maybe there’s a hybrid version of 3008 with additional electric engine at the back, but it should not be compared. VW marketing does it all the time with Peugeot or Citroen (like comparing 3 cylinder engines with 4 cylinder turbo VW engines or a car with semi-sleeks with Michelin Fuel Savers; and by the way that Mazda 2.2 engine is PSA Peugeot Citroen engine, that with two turbos is installed in Peugeot 508 GT!).

Example 2:
    Fith Gear Season 21 ep. 8:

Video (starts at 15:10):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ydf77bz1HLk

1. They said that Peugeot 208 is “dull”, standing in front of the car that is just gorgeus.

2. They said there’s cheap plastic inside. There’s none. Even 207 had top-notch materials. Been driving in one- 207 was bigger than VW Golf mark IV, and 208 has more room inside than 207; four, 6ft people culd comfortably sit in 207, so how about 208?:

3. It has more room for passengers than others in class (Polo)- enough and comfortable for 6ft people, yet they said its only for children.

4. They slammed handbrake at 70mph on complete wet, with four adult passengers on board. No drama at all. Granma could handle the car.

5. Vicki tried to do something stupid with handling at high speed in the complete wet, with ESP off. She failed. The car is smarter than she (Thank you high IQ engineers!). PS. The manouver looked like the famous elk/moose test.

6. They said VW Polo is better. If the “review” was honest they wouldn’t be even mentioning VW Polo. Its a clear sign that VW had their hand in it. Even previous model 207 put VW into shame (materials, engines- the same valvetronic as in BMW Mini, perfect handling and huge sharp brakes- I was astonished! and TOP NOTCH interior!). 208, has even better handling (GTi), better safety, including active safety and looks absolutely gorgeus. With their Polo, VW looks like a prehistoric shit.

Video (starts at 15:10):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ydf77bz1HLk

Complete Lies.

• John Smith on Sep 15, 2013 at 8:41 am

One more thing, for people not being able to distinguish between German an French cars:

Renault/Nissan/Dacia is NOT the same company as PSA Peugeot Citroen. And BMW, Daimler is not the same as VAG. VAG, ie Volkswagen AktienGesellshaft owns the following brands: VW, Audi, Ducatti, Porsche, Skoda, Seat, MAN, Lamborhini,… THEY ALL ARE THE SAME S..IT.

Examples of esign failures by VW (all VAG brands):
    -DSG
    -TDi (that shitty pumps made stubbornly for 20yrs insead of common rail, that sounded by the way as tractor)
    -TFSi (engine failures, broken heads)
    -two mass wheels of diesel engines failing EVERY 3 000 km.
    – ABS and brakes made for many many years like a shit (compare to Peugeot 406 brakes which had each wheel measured individually! and Passat was even worse then Peugeot 405. TODAYS Passat has the technologies that Peugeot had years before!)
    – ….

Examples of design failure by PSA Peugeot Citroen:
    – indicators got broken after 10 years (last years of Peugeot 406 for examle: so called BSI needs to be exchaneged: cost: about: 350 Euro).Period. Absolutely perfetc cars.

• John Smith on Sep 15, 2013 at 9:18 am

Car of The Year. Who voted? Journalist. What journalist?. The one that work in car magazines acrooss Europe. You mean the ones that are all (there aren’t any others) owned by Motor Presse Stuttgart. Heheh COTY a big joke!