Kia Carens launched in South Korea at Seoul 2013

P3280741

The Kia Carens was one of the highlights of the Kia stand at the 2013 Seoul Motor Show as the compact MPV was domestically launched at the event, unveiled alongside the Kia Cub Concept that we covered earlier. The Carens is built as both a 5-seater and a 7-seater, and it may look compact but it actually has a pretty long 2,750 mm wheelbase, making it a C-segment MPV.

Four engines are specified for the European market, two diesel and two petrol units. The oil burner is a 1.7L lump, with two tunes, 115 PS and 260 Nm in the lower tune, and 136 PS and 330 Nm in the higher tune. The petrol engines use gasoline direct injection, producing 135 PS and 165 Nm from a 1.6 litre GDI as seen in the Sportage and also on new cee’d, and a 2.0 litre mill with 177 PS and 211 Nm.

These engine choices will vary with different markets, for example don’t expect any of the normally aspirated GDI engines to make their way here – they will probably be replaced with MPI units instead due to fuel quality issues. If we’re lucky, the 1.7L diesel might appear though.

Kia Malaysia has the Malaysian introduction of the Kia Carens in the pipeline, but it will probably only come sometime later in the year or even next year, as the car next in line to be launched after the Rio is the Kia Forte K3. We have already spotted a heavily disguised unit at a port though! The previous generation Carens was launched in Malaysia with a pretty long name – the Naza Citra II Rondo. We expect the new Carens to be launched as a Kia, not a Naza.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Now every Kia looks almost the same..xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
    • Vader on Apr 02, 2013 at 7:36 am

Normally people call it family face.
      Concept is the same for Audi, every1 will know what car brand is it once look at the car font design.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
      • Kailord on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:15 am

While I agree on the ‘family face’ concept, but personally I think they’re to similar.

It’s like seeing the same face but on different sized vehicles. The front lack some kind of a unique styling that distinguishes between models but still maintains the ‘family face’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Looser on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:28 am

still the same applies to Audi, BMW and other manufacturers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:24 am

What solid looking girl. I don’t know why I am still with my fat old wife. I should migrate to Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • SamLoo_maid on Apr 02, 2013 at 12:15 pm

If you are muslim, you have 3 additional slots to fill up. So, either you convert and migrate or just get a mistress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • kadajawi on Apr 02, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Haiya. Fake reply to fake. Can the imposter at least refrain from posting rubbish under my name?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • hadi75 on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:22 am

Ya…so does bmw, audi, merc, vw, porsche, bentley, range rover, jaguar, rr and proton…..oooppppssss proton got no family face for their car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • SamLoo_maid on Apr 02, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Proton got Thundercat logo….Thunder, Thunder, ……Thunder Cat !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • gtwing on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:00 pm

got la, the wing shape chrome on the grill and slanted sharp shoulder on higher segments. some charateristics on design also derived from previous ones example muscular fender, boxy headlamp, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…DAMN NICE…

• Sam Loo on May 12, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Since the first Kia was introduced, every one has been the same. They all have very low Trade-In and Re-Sale Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Ah Beng on Apr 02, 2013 at 2:00 am

5 GT copycat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
    • Shame Lee on Apr 02, 2013 at 7:38 am

Come on, this is a typical compact MPV.
      5GT is a crossover!
      It is very clear that both car is different category! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Its good that the KIA name is being used…..Still don’t understd why the need to use “NAZA”. Does it make the car cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • youbodok on Apr 02, 2013 at 5:50 am

boring coz almost kia cars have similar faces. why don’t they make it family faces with slight different design? if proton does this sure kena bash kaw kaw especially from vietnamese.

wait, viatnamese? why the hell is he complaining? and why the hell malaysians should listen to him, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
  • Only 2 childs or dog are capable to occupy last row, ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Fagly on Apr 02, 2013 at 8:26 am

Exora now officially outdated obsolete antique and higly endangered speciment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
  • It’s true all along, Korean car look never last. This car already looks dated before it even hit the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
  • fendy on Apr 02, 2013 at 8:49 am

i would buy this carens (Citra 2 Rondo 2)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Apr 02, 2013 at 9:05 am

The is more in my eyes rather than this bling2 car which expensive to buy and got no resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • tessa on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:31 am

i wish our p1 car design direction like KIA. they really know how to transform the old one to nowdays looks.

• no need to wish anything, every steps proton makes will be bashed like there’s no tomorrow even it’s a good one

• Sam Loo on May 12, 2013 at 12:38 pm

I wish all cars have great resale and trade-in value like Toyota and Honda

• kadajawi on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:12 am

That rear end is very Ford-like. Look at the Ford Galaxy or S-Max.

• been waiting for this car like forever. i tried to test drive the current rondo, and gosh, the 3rd row seats are really spacious.

i really hope that this latest one, will be as spacious as the previous one.

exora is my 2nd choice, but with exora bold, the price that i pay quite worth the value that it offers.

let’s hope this car reach our shore soon and really eager to find out if it’s less than RM100k.

• matrxe on Apr 02, 2013 at 12:37 pm

This is how you do reasonably priced people carrier. Proper looking dashboard, not cartoon-ish over simplify as if taken from previous gen myvi. (yes i mean exora). chrome window trim to boot as well. Price below 100K and job well done. The koreans do give more value for money. if you slap a VW badge on this thing the price will easily north of 150K.

• thedarkside on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:24 pm

got rear aircond vent…good2…hope the price will still be below 100K. Kemon NAZA..fast2 clear Rondo stocks and please bring this MPV in asap!!!

• kimchi on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:39 pm

K3 is launching in Jun, this new Kia caren should be either August/September, facelifted Kia Optima is the 4th quarter. ;)

• Hyundai Tucson’s back?

• cosmothegod on Apr 02, 2013 at 5:35 pm

No Carnival? Large MPV better mah. A family of six will need a large MPV at least until the kids are form 5. Teenagers these days are huge! Compact MPVs really doesn’t work in the current Malaysian nuclear family of two adults and four kids. IMHO.

• Exora bold on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Since Im expecting my second child I’m looking for a decent mpv. Did some research and found that the exora provides the best value, performance and space for the price. If this new model is priced < 110k for full specs it will be great! Just hope it arrives at our shores this year.

• Sam Loo on May 12, 2013 at 12:39 pm

If you want a great deal, get a used Kia or Hyundai. Save tonnes of money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • satay on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:24 pm

When will this MPV sell in M’sia?