Hyundai mulling over introducing a pickup in the US?

hyundai pickup kia kcv-4 mojave

It may have come about on April 1, but doesn’t sound like a prank – a report indicates that Hyundai is mulling over introducing a pickup in the United States. Automotive News says that the Korean automaker is studying the option, as well as what size truck would serve it best if it were to come up with one.

Lee In-cheol, Hyundai’s head of international sales was said that the company wasn’t rushing the process. “A pickup truck is important, but it’s not a big priority for our company. But we have to consider how to respond. It is under study,” he told AN. “Is it a big-size pickup truck like in the United States or a small kind of pickup truck? We don’t know yet which market would be the first,” he added.

Hyundai and its sister company Kia doesn’t have a pickup in its stable, and it has previously said it had no plans to introduce one, but in light of dealers in the US and other countries clamouring for one, it’s now considering coming up with such an option. No timeline for a decision was offered.

A few years ago, Hyundai and Kia were toying with the idea of a unibody, front-wheel-drive mid-sized pickup, but that never came to be, with the advent of the global economic crisis. In any case, if the company is aiming to introduce a pickup in the States, it may decide to wait until the 25% tariff on imported light-duty trucks and vans set by the US half a century ago is finally phased out by 2021.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• koochai on Apr 03, 2013 at 4:02 pm

can’t believe the so-called champion of free trade still got that kind of high tariff for 50+ years

• lonelyobserve on Apr 03, 2013 at 4:51 pm

But there is loop hole to be exploited. Import the trucks by spare parts and assembled there like CKD in Boleh Land. Then the truck is free from the tariff.

• Sam Loo on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:37 am

This looks like something by our BN government. Doesn’t it remind you of Proton Jumback? Big failure at the expense of tax payers money.

• Vishnu on Apr 03, 2013 at 4:44 pm

I don’t care WTF they do, but if any of their trucks come out looking like that picture. American trucks got nothing to worry about..

• Nice sport rims !!

• Kalun on Apr 03, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Looks so ugly for a pickup truck.
    A pickup truck should be rugged and has a strong and musculine looks.

Oh well, Sam Loo. Now you can bash this. Hilux /Dmax/ Triton/ Colorado/ Ranger has better resale value than this junk. :)

• Gokul on Apr 03, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Looks like a Chinese truck..

• Diamler on Apr 03, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Korean = China Quality with the European Designer styling + features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • JackeyDeck on Apr 04, 2013 at 12:45 am

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/hyundai-kia-recalling-nearly-1-9-million-vehicles-121915452–finance.html

Since we are on Hyundai… I just read this news at Yahoo, air-bag, brake-light, cruise-control possible failure ? Oh boy, HyuKia, u guys got a big shit up ahead…

HyuKia, come on… U got a good thing going on here… Dont make me sticking my ass to boring yet reliable japy (except Mazda6, love it)

• Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:52 pm

This type of cold door pick-up kimchi will lose 75% of its value within a year