Honda Amaze launching soon in India – Brio Sedan gets 1.5 i-DTEC, 200 Nm and 25.8 km/l economy

honda-amaze-india

Honda will be introducing its first diesel-powered car in India with the Amaze, which is just a few days away from its official launch. The Honda Amaze is of course the sedan version of the Brio hatchback that is called Brio Amaze in Thailand, where the car was launched in late 2012.

But while the Brio Amaze gets a 1.2 litre petrol engine in Thailand to keep it within eco car boundaries, Honda will be launching the sedan with a 1.5 litre diesel engine in India. The brand new i-DTEC engine, part of Honda’s new Earth Dreams Technology family, is a variant of the 1.6 i-DTEC used the the Honda Civic Euro, with a shorter stroke.

Vital stats include max power of 100 PS, max torque of 200 Nm and headline grabbing 25.8 km/l economy. The stunning Indian Driving Cycle FC figure makes it the country’s most fuel efficient car, and the 200 Nm on tap (10 Nm more than a Honda CR-V 2.0) from 1,750 rpm means it won’t be a slouch either.

brio amaze

The diesel is paired to a five-speed manual gearbox. Indians who want a self-shifting Amaze will have to opt for the 1.2L petrol (88 PS/109 Nm), which is also available with a five-speed automatic gearbox, unlike the CVT-equipped Thai Brio Amaze. The i-VTEC’s best FC is recorded with the manual gearbox – 18 km/l.

Our Anthony Lim has driven this diesel-powered Honda Amaze last year in Japan – click here to read his report. More pics of the Brio Amaze, snapped during its Thai launch, can be had here and here.

Unfortunately, the i-DTEC won’t be coming here anytime soon – it’s a Euro 4 engine. A small car with a modern diesel, that’s a motoring experience many Malaysians will never know, unfortunately.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sepul on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Yep, it is a sad fact here. People were amused with hybrids and EVs, but never knew the wonders of new diesel engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Better thank our Government. They want us to use more fuel and support Petronas. If we have clean diesel, everyone of us will have at least a couple of hundred or even a thousand ringgit more per month to give our children better food and vitamins. Vote wisely for a better government.

• Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Government owns Petronas. They don’t want to invest money into machinery to bring Euro 4 or Euro 5. “Why do it for the stupid people”, they say. We can reap more profits and sell more petrol.

• gavin on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:08 pm

India got clean diesel, hence the nice engine options

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • jun jun on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:11 pm

WOW THE SIDE VIEW VERY THE PROTON SAGA DESIGN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
  • this car with it’s specs will put the toyota etios to shame in india…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • shame on malaysia too, with it’s low standard diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Government cant bring clean diesel in… coz later Proton will die… Everybody will buy small displacement diesel car then who will buy Saga and Preve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • Mat Global on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:25 am

Knowing exactly what Preve can give in terms of secured ride and handling,supreme comfort and safety, i wonder why choose not to buy Proton Preve.
        Driving dynamics wise, i would say Honda should learn from Proton Lotus and not the other way round.
        Design wise also the Brio looks rather dull.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Peyno on Apr 06, 2013 at 4:31 am

If small displacement diesel engine here.. Will impact perodua viva , myvi… Why u dont mention perodua??
        Prffthhhh

• tokmoh on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia, harga minyak masih murah, syukurlah janji ditepati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 54
    • Hadi75 on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Memang la murah….minyak kualiti zaman tok kadok….org lain dah guna euro4 @ euro5 kita masih lagi euro2….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • presna on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:50 am

cheap for how long? the only reason the government stopped increasing the price of RON95 fuel closer to market every 6 months is just for the election….

wait till the election is over…. then we’ll see if its still murah….

• tokmoh on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:23 am

Petronas has performed well, so well their staffs get rm1,000 bonus, syukurlah… BN menepati janji, harga minyak masih murah, syukurlah…

AP king club’s chairman say our car price is cheap, syukurlah…

Road tax is cheap, syukurlah…

insurans is cheap, syukurlah…

If at this point you people still can’t see what I’m implying in above comment… then we truly deserve our current govt. Syukurlah…

• tungguu on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:50 pm

yeah, betul syukurla. syukurla minyak kita low quality. syukurla minyak kita yang berquality tinggi dijual, dan kita diberikan minyak low quality.

syukurla jikalau kita nak beli kereta yang berjimat, seperti kereta diesel baru (yang amat menjimatkan), kereta hybrid atau electric, harganya amat mahal. minimum RM100,000. Syukurrrrrr

• hadi75 on Apr 07, 2013 at 12:59 am

Sarcasm rupanya….

• protonsucks on Apr 06, 2013 at 1:03 am

dont blame ppl if they dunno u r being sarcastic or not coz nobody cant hear the way u speak.

• I’am trying hard to swallow the numbers: 1.5l I-DTEC, 200Nm at 1750rpm, 25.8 km/l, and the manual is just a bonus. Those numbers is easily enough for me to forgive that ugly ass and love this car.

BTW, back in the ‘extension of F.I.T’ article, a commentor by the name of stuart said why can’t we have clean diesel in place of hybrids, the last sentence pretty much sums it up. Euro 2, conceived in Oct ’96 in Europe,is our current highest quality diesel, which we adopted in ’09, 13 years too late! Singapore adopted Euro 2 at the turn of the millennium! As much as I like it, hack I adore it, of us whizzing around in Diesel car, at the rate we are going as far as progress in diesel is concern, it’s still quite a far cry away, unless a miracle.

BUT there is still hope for clean vehicle, latest report shows that torquier and more fuel-efficient gasoline engines and cheapening hybrid technology are cutting into what had been perceived as the advantages of diesel drive trains….glimmer of hope? and than there is a gruesome disadvantage of Diesel cars, though producing less CO2 and lead pollution, it produce more noxious gases and significantly more minute particles.(http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2013/mar/19/uk-air-pollution-health-crisis)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Anyways, I’am trying hard to swallow the numbers: 1.5l I-DTEC, 200Nm at 1750rpm, 25.8 km/l, and the manual is just a bonus. Those numbers is easily enough for me to forgive that ugly ass and love this car.

BTW, back in the ‘extension of F.I.T’ article, a commentor by the name of stuart said why can’t we have clean diesel in place of hybrids, the last sentence pretty much sums it up. Euro 2, conceived in Oct ’96 in Europe,is our current highest quality diesel, which we adopted in ’09, 13 years too late! Singapore adopted Euro 2 at the turn of the millennium! As much as I like it, hack I adore it, of us whizzing around in Diesel car, at the rate we are going as far as progress in diesel is concern, it’s still quite a far cry away, unless a miracle.

BUT there is still hope for clean vehicle, latest report shows that torquier and more fuel-efficient gasoline engines and cheapening hybrid technology are cutting into what had been perceived as the advantages of diesel drive trains….glimmer of hope? and than there is a gruesome disadvantage of Diesel cars, though producing less CO2 and lead pollution, it produce more noxious gases and significantly more minute particles.(http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2013/mar/19/uk-air-pollution-health-crisis)

Damn Wifi connection

• jammer on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:35 pm

sorry i cannot get what you mean with that. is malaysian govn does not implement higher diesel standard here because it’s side defect namely more minute particles?

• The Government is slow, and next to completely uninterested in improving our Diesel Fuel quality. In ANOTHER topic, although Diesel fuel has it’s benefits, it’s side effects are that it produces more noxious gases and significantly more minute particles compared to gasoline engine. I posted an article from the UK stating that Diesel is a major, but not the sole, contribution to air pollution in the UK.

• tokmoh on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:32 am

At this price range and target market, looks is secondary to running cost of the car.

25.8km/l… Dayum. Ini semua salah anwar!

• sompua on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:49 pm

that’s the way to go..
    diesel or turbo diesel

• mostly indian opt diesel car for cheaper diesel price.

• Design is terrible… Uglier than Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • Dr Cooper on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:09 pm

If it sells here..I’m so buying it just to piss of my sister who just bought Honda City last month and keep bragging about how fuel saving her car is!

• Lol, yeah if it sells here with the manual, I’ll forgive its ugly arse and buy and drive more than the city, the city has quite an impressively low fuel consumption, it drinks less than the Alza or a myvi 1.5, but that torque converter auto is awful everywhere but the highway.

• green on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Perodua Car makan minyak, comparing Cars which are larger and same engine capacity with more hp and torque.

Myvi,Alza <<loose to << Vios, City, New Swift, Almera.
        it's only more fuel saving then proton.

• I see didn’t know that, I always though P2 was the benchmark for Fuel sipping ICE car.
          Learn something today.

• john ree on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:35 pm

yeap agree. I drive the myvi 1.5 (A)…minyak mmg cepat habis..rasanya 1 liter can cover roughly 9km saja.

• 1 liter for 9KM only? Sure or not… My Honda Accord 2.0 consume 1 liter for 11KM and yet i still dislike the fuel efficiency..

• amoi_suck on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:38 pm

you said myvi 1.5A only can do 9km/l then there will be someone called ‘amoi’ will bash you soon lol. another thing, what’s the average speed you travel with it? if it’s 40-50km/h, i’m not surprised

• sammyloo on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:34 pm

if it comes here, all the hybrids can go back holand.

• Tommy on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:45 pm

This car is the ugliest shit ever!! Soooo uly!!! OMG!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 29
  • renter on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:41 pm

This is the right contender for saga in A segment. If proton can continue its Y engine family / NFE, i believe the engine will be as fuel saving as this one

• 200nm from 1,700rpm which is 10nm more than the CRV 2.0 which only produce the 190nm at above 4,000rpm. aiyoo, the CRV with his high weight …no wonder most of the owner mentioned how underpowered it is & drinks lots of petrol!

• hybrid? on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:27 pm

better still, put this little engine to the new CRV…that will solve the 2.0 ivtec prob of having no low down torque and high FC…this little BRIO 1.3 diesel can churn out 200nm (which is more than a 2.0 liter CRV) at very low 1,700rpm. no need to rev it all the way above 4,000rpm for the 2.0 crv to achieve onli 190nm (will help save fuel by not revving)

btw,its more frugal than the more complicated hybrid Jazz & insight

• zanggief on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:17 am

Honda should bring in this model to open the a segment sedan market…this will give the p1 saga good competition…

• mohan on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:12 pm

plz tell me the full name of “i-DTEC”

• saransh agrawal on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Plz tell full form of i-DTEC