New 1.5 litre EcoBoost 3-cyl debuts on Ford Mondeo

ford mondeo

Ford introduced its fifth-generation Mondeo in China earlier in the week, and while the advent of the Blue Oval’s flagship in the republic isn’t big news, the announcement of what powers it is – a 1.5 litre EcoBoost engine makes its debut on the car, making the Ford Mondeo the first car in its segment to be powered by an engine of such displacement.

The 1.5 litre is a three-cylinder derivative of the 1.0 litre EcoBoost unit, and is the fifth and latest member to join Ford’s global family of EcoBoost turbocharged engines, which also includes 1.6 and 2.0 litre four-cylinder units as well as a 3.5 litre V6 variant, which is available in two output tunes.

ford 1.0 ecoboost 02

It’s at the upper threshold of the three-pot’s design displacement limit, which has a maximum capacity of 500 cc per cylinder. The 1.5 litre EcoBoost offers 177 hp at 6,000 rpm and peak torque of 240 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. The unit includes an integrated intake manifold and water-cooled charge air cooler, which allows for a more efficient feed of air into the engine, as well as a clutch-controlled water pump.

Other than the new 1.5 litre job, the Mondeo will also get the 2.0 litre EcoBoost unit for the Chinese market, though the unit has a slightly detuned power output of 228 hp at 5,500 rpm and 340 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tan sari on Apr 04, 2013 at 4:57 pm

wish we also can get this 1.5 ecoboost, wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Is Ford Mondeo == Ford Fusion??

• yes… the ford fusion is for american market whilst the mondeo… you get the point…

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Sime Darby will never be allowed to bring this engine in. Despite being a GLC, Syed Mokhtar’s DRB hicom and Proton are more important. Yes, amongst cronies, there are rankings as well. Some are more important than others. But of course, the least important is the rakyat. Let the rakyat suffer with less fuel efficient cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Ford can come out with best cars but our local Ford is so lembap. Yes, you have to wait 3 months for most parts. And that is the truth. Unless you got a few cars at home, be careful. If the part that kongs makes your car undrivable, you have to park your car in the workshop or house for 3 months

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Yeah, this is where RV takes a nose dive, coz you will not be able to use the car.

Just imagine your colleague or friend asks why are you taking the taxi or LRT? When you say your car kwai tai at the SC, word of mouth takes the repo of the car down the drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • glaze on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:05 pm

yeah this engine is great! hope to get it not only on mondeo but the focus too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Good luck to the owner if there is a problem with the engine. This is one heck of a complex unit and I doubt if there are any mechanics that can service it except Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 91
    • Perhaps you should drive a Saga, any mechanic under coconut tree can service your car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 6
    • what do you want dude? people give good tech you say too complex. People give NA no vvt engine i guess you’ll said ancient and rubbish. Seriously? WE should ask the mechanics go to learn how, not the other way round.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
      • frenzy on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Or why not both? Simple yet economy engine. Benefits both of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Colin Wong on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:01 pm

This is the funniest comment for a long time. I suppose the car you drive does not have an ECU. That’s complex as well. How about ABS? We want sound and thinking comments here. Yours does not fall into this category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • sure… I just bought a new ford and I would need to service the car at some pomen cause I never knew what the warranty was for…

• Itu mcm kalu pegi naik kereta lembu la.. itu enjin rosak, kasi potong sama dia..

• vee-oh on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:09 pm

driving a Mondeo with 3 cylinders engine sound…sleepy already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 59
    • Oh friend, Seems like u r still living in the stone age thinking of Kancil with 3 cylinders…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Veneno on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:07 pm

maybe u live under the rock for all these years ha..

• Wonderful looking car with a wonderful little engine
    …..but UK is having problems with their RHD version, causing it to be delayed to 2014, wonder how long will we see it on Malaysian soil?

• Sam Loo on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 133
    • Syahrover on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:06 pm

I think cars with highly refined and advanced technologies and safety features like this are not meant for people who buy cars with the next owner in mind… if you think about resale value, you can’t be thinking of enjoying the car itself because it is mutually exclusive… when friends ajak roadtrip pun takmau because takmau mileage naik tinggi, because takut resale value jatuh…

buyers with that mentality don’t need to read car reviews… just buy monotonous run-off-the-mill cars with drum brakes at the rear, standard 4-speed auto, halogen headlights, no autocruise, cheap seats and lousy ergonomics but at relatively sky-high prices… and watch the mileage!! high mileage cars attract lower resale value… ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
    • Sam, for sure your almighty Camry will last forever bcos even the newest coming models ACV60, ACV70,ACV80 will be still using the same NA engine matching with the 4 speeder auto. Even the mechanics under the coconut tree also can repair your Camry as the same engine has been fixed under the hood for more than a decade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • tan sari on Apr 04, 2013 at 8:30 pm

more so when they use the same engine, but prices up. Toyota here is a ripped off. resale value high but u also paid high for a low spec car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Colin Wong on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Hi Sam, I drive a Camry. Why? Because of lower cost of maintenance. When a car with more advanced design and technology whizzes past me, I am reminded that people make different choices for different reasons. Learn to appreciate other cars for reasons other than just resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • curry mee on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:30 am

gorgeous bro! havent buy already think to sell… u really a “fortune teller”!

• puiii

• Veneno on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:09 pm

when I saw your name here, I saw “toyota” word.. do you only know toyota as a carmaker ha..?? toyota worshiper..

• Akira on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:17 pm

As usual, Sam Loo’s shamelessness knows no boundaries. Legendary.

• sepul on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Design wise, it is not as complicated as VW engines since VW uses plenty of electronics to improve the engine’s performance while Ford relies on the engine design itself for the same purpose.

Still, regular workshops should be avoided if anyone is driving Ford with these engines. Or any other new Fords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • KingPin on Apr 04, 2013 at 5:51 pm

beautiful car with an amazing engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • TaibLansi on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:08 pm

I see the ecoboost engine is running on timing belt instead of timing chain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • nighttrain on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Like, WOW! 1.5l turbo with 177hp and 240Nm torque? Is SkyActive better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Skyactive whatever active is no use lar. Turbo is known to be more efficient than NA. Moreover Turbo is more power and you pay lower lower roadtax in Malaysia for small cc with big cc power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Skyactiv is just marketing blabla. Their new design philosophy.

However Mazda did develop a modern engine with larger displacement, and the results are good. It is actually pretty efficient, in tests it did better than similar offers from VW/Skoda (using their TSI engines).

Then again, the Ford 3 cylinders were apparently designed from the ground up to be turbocharged and modern, so they could directly address issues introduced by using a 3 cylinder and a turbo (unlike VW or Proton who added a turbo, tweaked it here and there and called it a day). We shall see how it performs.

• frenzy on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Skyactiv achieve what turbo engine can do without turbo. If skyactiv slapped on a turbo, it definitely the best. In the end, no one’s better.
      N/A = consume more fuel, less headache, possible workout on it yourself.
      Complicated German Forced Induction = More power, less fuel, more headache, charged kao kao by some “expert” mechanic, work it out yourself isn’t that possible.
      So, decide yourself.

• kadajawi on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Renault 5 Turbo Maxi. 1.3 liter engine. 300-400 hp. Very small car. Rear wheel drive. Engine behind the driver.

Ah, the 80s…

(Of course that wasn’t the most reliable engine ever…)

• Julian Lee on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Not bad but BMW still better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • frenzy on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Looks nice, but dislike it for the Aston Martin wannabe on this car. But engine is great tough. If swapped this 1.5 turbo into a 1.6 bay of fiesta…. POWWWWAAAAHH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • ahlee bin ahtan on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:04 pm

missed my daddy ford escort larr

• crank on Apr 04, 2013 at 7:13 pm

WOW!!!. It has a lil trace of the Aston Martin front grill which looks absolutely fantastic and I’m pretty sure that this is the only car that can compete with Mazda 6 for now. Honda, Toyota, Hyundai, and Kia gotta come up with something better or as good as these two.

• http://news.consumerreports.org/cars/2013/02/consumer-reports-finds-small-turbo-engines-dont-deliver-on-fuel-economy-claims.html

• sepul on Apr 04, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Americans love big NA engines like V8 and V6. This may be just a gimmick. But I don’t rule out the possibility.

• Kalun on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:37 pm

That article is bullsh*t. It just want to inflame on the small turbocharge cars.

I tell you one thing. Koenigsegg Agera R with 5.0 V8 weighs only at 1200kg and the engine block weigh at 140kg. Whereas for Buggati Veyron, 8.0 W16 engine weighs at 2000kg. The engine itself is heavy.

Why Koenigsegg don’t use big V12 engine. Their answer is simple, V12 engine add weights and doesn’t give advantages to the top speed and accelerations.

Oil guzzling V8 vs a 1.0 3 cylinder engine with the same output horsepower. It’s not worth it. Power to weight ratio is important. How the power is put the ground and the weight to balance off the hp. That’s why Mazda create Skyactiv Chassis or Ford create EcoBoost engine or Fiat create 2 cylinder TwinAir engine.
      Because of power to weight ratio.

• The main point of mondeo with small engine is because of fuel consumption not top speed and acceleration and it fails to deliver. Who cares about super cars? They are impractical and only serve few purposes. Comparing a super car with an everyday car? You must be outright smart.

• Kalun on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:18 pm

I was pointing at the Koenigsegg 5.0 V8 engine. A small engine can be extracted to produce a high output HP like the old Honda K20A engine.
          That’s what ford is trying to do now.

Small engine = Low CO2 = Less Carbon Tax/Free From tax.

• pmohd on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Ford is big name but msia’dealer spoil the brand because service after sales not meet buyer need, only to make “untung only”

• Yoko Ono on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:18 pm

when is this new mondeo coming to Msia anyway?

• it’s strange how people kept saying that maintenance is a big issue… this car won’t come to malaysian soils for some time but when it does and people start buying it, in a few months, it is still a new car… and you don’t send your new car to pomens cause it is still under warranty… after 3-5 years there would be a newer car and logically by then there would be pomens who can work with complicated engines such as these… and for those who kept yapping about their toyotas being easy to fix and everything… do tell me how new your engine is… do tell me how the engines in your camry or vios is a brand new engine developed just a year before it was fitted in your cars…

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 04, 2013 at 11:56 pm

WOW! 177hp from a 1.5. Ford have really upped their game. I can’t think of a segment where they don’t have the best car in its class. If they bring this to Malaysia, I’ll be counting my pennies again.

• blacktop on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:17 am

astonishing drivetrain

• Robot Boy on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:01 am

the car sort of looks like Audi A7. Also it is good for you all to know that Ford never sell engine to any other OEM if they intend to do mass production as they are considered as their competitor. only if one has very low volume production they will assist.

• vincent on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:16 am

Toyota is not cheap if you send it back to dealer for fixing, my friends who bought Toyota got a slap at their face when the repair bill came up to be rm2-3k. For their 4-6 yrs old car, Toyota cheap? Lol!

• zanggief on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:43 am

RM90 for road tax with d segment size…unfortunately can get it here…

• TanSriPKFZ@NFC on Apr 05, 2013 at 12:53 pm

good engine, good tech. shame this brand/model doesn’t get recognition in malaysia and msians in general will prefer to get stuck using dinosaur tech, i.e. toyota and honda