Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 – orders begin in Europe

volkswagen golf gti mk7

The order books have opened for the Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 in Europe, and with that, more details about the car have also come about. As is already known, the car is available from the factory in two power output levels from its 2.0 TSI turbo mill – a standard 220 PS GTI and a 230 PS GTI Performance version, which also adds larger brake discs and a front limited-slip differential to things. Transmission choices are a six-speed manual gearbox or six-speed DSG unit.

The Stage 2 GTI Performance pack adds uprated brakes, with the ventilated front brake discs increasing in size to 340 x 30 mm from the standard 312 x 25 mm rotors. The rear rotors also get upsized, with the stock 300 x 12 mm solid discs on the standard GTI being replaced with 310 x 22 mm ventilated discs.

As for the front differential, the VAQ system consists of a multi-plate coupler between the differential cage and right driveshaft, which controls locking torque electro-hydraulically. Benefits include offering a more neutral and agile driving behaviour and allows higher speeds to be carried through curves. Visually, vehicles with the Performance pack are distinguished solely by ‘GTI’ lettering on the red brake callipers.

Both versions feature a Stop/Start system, bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights and a touchscreen infotainment system with DAB digital radio, Bluetooth and iPod connectivity as standard. In the UK, the 18-inch Austin replaces the 17-inch Brooklyn GTI alloys stated for the car as standard fitment, though the tyre profile remains 225/45s.

Optional equipment includes 19-inch Santiago alloy wheels, Vienna leather upholstery, keyless entry, High Beam Assist, Lane Assist, Park Assist, a rear view camera, ACC Adaptive Chassis Control, touchscreen satellite navigation and a 10-channel amplifier/eight-speaker Dynaudio sound system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 1stcomment on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:48 pm

wow.. how much it will cost here in M’sia..? and when..?

• hindo on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:47 pm

probably after General Election…Price DOWN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • BMW Fanboi on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 60
        • Ilikevw on Apr 06, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Your comment “preve is still a better car” is getting boring and lame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 134
          • AntiProtectedProton on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:18 pm

They gave u thumbs down cos it has been mentioned a thousand times. Prevee is one of the ugliest design around. So unapproportionate. And to those stoopid fellas who keep giving the same lame comments, just like the coming big day, pls at least use your bart hole to think! I agree with you! Lame farks!!

• VW Technician on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:47 am

I am a VW technician. I can confirm with you, the DSG is NOT sorted out. It still gives so much headache to us tecnicians. VW must sue B Warner for this nonsense instead of still using their same faulty gearboxes. Heard the contract till 2016

• Actual VW Owners on Apr 06, 2013 at 10:17 am

Myself including 2 of my brothers bought 2 Passats and 1 Golf last year. All 3 cars EACH have broken down at least 4 or 5 times the last year including this year. All three of the cars on every occasion we tow the car to VW for repair, it is the DSG problem. And they take weeks to repair or ganti the DSG. So, everyone can say this happens to dry or wet and all that cerita, when you buy A rm160K car, you don’t expect all this trauma and hassles. We might as well have bought Proton or some Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
        • I recommend you a vios. Legendary reliability, it’ll be the last car you’ll ever need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
          • AiyoGG on Apr 30, 2013 at 4:54 pm

yeah my poor vios has blown all GTi away in small paths, and all holy shit bolehland bumpy roads…who cares, im just that poor to drive in such non-euro-condition roads

• Malaysia Boleh on Apr 06, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Who ask you to buy VW? If you’re rich, better buy proton and donate the rest of your money to good cause.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
        • Ilikevw on Apr 06, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Huh?? Really…??? I have 12 colleagues and 5 relatives who drives VW of various makes… No prob at all.. Except for battery change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
        • Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:36 pm

This story is not kwa cheong at all. I know of Genting kaki’s that has endured 3 breakdowns going up the hill with their Polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Btw what is kwa cheong yea? really don understand ur Toyotata words lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • AntiBashers on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Did not know you have friends who actually drive VW? Pls tell them don’t blow all their money at Genting! Stop gambling and at least spend some money for engine oil for their poor VW? Which model is this? Must have been left unserviced. Tsk tsk tsk. Stoopid friends u have.

• Peugeot Owner on Apr 07, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Actually I have a VW now for the last two years. It does not give me any problems at all. My Peugeot 308 gives me countless problems with the car electronics just dying and car cannot even be towed. I swear, I will never buy a Peugeot again. But my VW experience is fantastic. In fact two of my expat colleagues also bought two ‘dry clutch’ VW’s from here. None of them have problems since 2010. I dont know what the fuss is all about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • Siao Lang on Apr 07, 2013 at 9:18 pm

You don’t have to say you are what what owner. We all know you are Toyota sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • I drove my Passat CC under hot sun everyday. Been up to Koh Samui, KL, Penang, Alor Star, Cameron… Driving it hard and touch wood no problem. Max speed tried 230km/h, smooth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Lucky on Apr 08, 2013 at 1:25 pm

You and your family must be the most unlucky fellas around! You belong to the DSG Basher Family.

• Malaysians Rethink! on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:30 am

What is heights of stupidity? It is paying RM180,000 for a car, thinking it is a German car and problem free and then getting breakdown and breakdown.

The problem with Malaysians, they just want to show off. Just get a Japanese car and no issues after that. Even if you are multimillionaire and got loads of money, why bother with the hassles of continuous breakdowns?

1) Do you have the time to sit and wait for your car to get repaired every month (excluding service)?

2) Do you like waiting for tow trucks in the hot sun with your kids in the back of the car?

3) Most of the time, the AAM or Tow Truck comes few hours later. What to do then? What if it is in the Karak highway at 3am in the morning?

Worse still, the car also does not give you the status and gaya if you are looking for status. Lets face it, if you are looking for that, go for BMW or Mercedes or Ferrari or Porsche. Otherwise a good Japanese or even our faithful Proton and Perodua will do the job.

I was about to buy a Passat but after reading all the crap and the duel clutch problems in Ford and VW, I am asking myself, is it really worth the hassle and money? Malaysains must rethink carefully what they want in life.

By the way Paul Tan, can you give us a list of all the cars in Malaysia having
        1) Dry Clutch
        2) Dual Clutch

Thank you.

• Sam Loo on Apr 08, 2013 at 8:23 pm

That’s exactly how VW Malaysia positions their kwai tai vehicles, as a German marque that is above the rest.

In reality, its not different than Proton Perdana, with the famous Gearbox kaput syndrome

• UStupid on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Which car did u get for yourself eventually? Let me guess, errr, a 10 year old Camry? Congrats!!! Hearsay u stoopid fark!

• 1 Malaysia on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:46 am

too many here keyboard warriors whom are just kids and miskin/no money..
      hence type all crap here..

all manufacturer(s) has their own defects..
      eg:
      VW/Audi/Skoda/Seat issues with 7speed dry DSG
      Ford issues with 6speed dry PS
      BM issues with seats for new 3 and 1 series
      and so does other brands with their own issues.

anyway 6speed wet DSG hardly gives issues unless its has been excessive abused..
      but then again all car will have issues if been abused..

if u have money and like the brand offer; then buy
      if not seek around for other opportunity that fits your budget/income/requirement and needs..

willing seller; willing buyer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 30
      • Actual VW Owners on Apr 06, 2013 at 10:21 am

This is so sad. You sound like a VW owner like myself but don’t want to face reality. I don’t know why but whenever people give constructive criticism, VW salesman or owners come in and say that people give negative statements because they are miskin and cannot afford a VW. How immature can one be? Yes, there are too many VW salesman and owners who are keyboard warriors who cannot admit facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
        • AntiNajib on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:32 pm

The only fact I know is u have not driven one. Maybe when u are taking a crap that u dream about having to have driven one!

• Henry on Apr 06, 2013 at 6:19 pm

FYI, Ford’s DSG6 (Powershift) is the wet type. This gearbox first appear in the Focus TDCi which has 320 to 340 nm of torque. The gearbox developed problems when some TDCi owners modded and re-chipped the cars for a higher PS and torque.

Left alone, the Ford gearbox will have no problem. I am not sure whether the same manufacturer also supplies to VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • JackeyDeck on Apr 07, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Not entirely true, sir.
          No Offense , and with all due respect.

Unfortunately, Ford’s the duel-clutch powershift gearbox ain’t exactly problem free. It share the same miserable fate as the VW’s DSG.

here some ref:
          http://www.lemonlaw.com/wordpress/ford-focus-transmission-problem/
          http://www.dailytech.com/Consumers+Not+Fond+of+MyFord+Touch+PowerShift+DualClutch+Auto+Transmission/article21954.htm
          http://wheels.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/10/26/transmission-woes-addressed-by-ford-but-too-late-for-consumer-reports/
          http://news.consumerreports.org/cars/2012/10/video-japanese-brands-tops-in-consumer-reports-2012-car-reliability-survey-ford-continues-fall.html

If one pay constant visit to Malaysia Ford Focus & Fiesta facebook comments page often, one can notice that there are numbers of complaints regarding the jerking & over-heat issue as the VW’s DSG does. However, i must say, most of the case ain’t as devastating as the VW’s DSG does…

i test-drove the ford focus before… love the duel-clutch and the handling. A great fun-to-drive & love-to-own car with an affordable price (kinda sporty too). I was, in fact, considering getting one but dropped the idea bcoz of the duel-clutch. Seriously, i don’t want to buy a car that require to drive-with-care or “hei, don’t push it.” kinda car.

i don’t have a friend that own a focus… but one of friend is driving the fiesta (also with powershift). and recently he just log a complaint to ford malaysia regarding his transmission over-heat issue which happened rapidly and also the problem where hill-assist failed to engage.

So, think twice before buying a duel clutch car. Unless the pocket is deep.

• Jr Driver on Apr 07, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Ford/Volvo wet powershift no issue much.
          BUT Ford dry powershift got issue.
          Dry is installed on 1.6L engine not the 2L…
          Go check on fiesta…
          See how many break apart..

• JackeyDeck on Apr 08, 2013 at 1:06 am

wrote a very lengthy reply to this post c/w reference on the web (consumer report, daily tech, & other news channel) about the complaints on ford focus n fiesta (especially fiesta) poor duel-clutch powershift performance & failure… but it seem like my lengthy reply just disappear into the black hole. lol. nvr mind.

yes. agree with JR driver. i got a friend who own a fiesta and recently he just log a complaint to ford malaysia regarding the over-heat warning sign constantly appearing in the display warning the driver to shut off the engine, and the usual jerk-jerk-jerk-jerk gearbox that keep on happening whenever he got stuck in the rush hour.

for the time being… i will try to avoid any vehicle that equiped with DSG / duel-clutch… love it… but will only consider to own whenever it is 99% problem-free ~

• MercedesBenz Fanboi on Apr 07, 2013 at 11:20 pm

All the Mercedes models are still better cars.no problem at all :D

• Passat Lover (Ex) on Apr 06, 2013 at 11:30 am

I have a 2012 Passat. The car has kong so many times that I have the tow truck on my speed dial. Just my luck, my car always kaput in city jam and I am now used to curses and swears by other drivers. VW can even give 20 years warranty also, to me, the embarrassment of being stuck in city jam is the worst feeling ever and I feel cheated. Yes, every year they will say that DSG problems was 2010 and 2011 all okey. Now they say DSG 2012 ok but how come my car can kong so many times?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
      • stick shift on Apr 06, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Guess its time to bring the manual gearbox back to the people. better fuel consumption, cheaper to buy but gotta sacrifice the left leg for the heavy clutch.

• kadajawi on Apr 07, 2013 at 8:48 pm

I don’t find that the clutches of contis make you sacrifice your left leg. Maybe Japanese cars and old Protons were bad… But most of Europe drives manual and has no issue with that. Besides, with auto gearbox your left foot is underutilized.

I’d welcome a manual option, though I think DSG problems are overrated (a first gen Touran that was tested for 100000 km broke down countless times, so much so that the testers put up a tent in front of the workshop. But the one thing that did not break was the DSG gearbox. Everything else that could (or couldn’t) did break.)

• ahmad loy on Apr 06, 2013 at 11:20 pm

..don’t be frustrated!You, “similarly” has first experience on turbo engine with very advanced gearbox to date..dual clutch “DSG”..I believe there are many driver has been experienced on turbo engine with ordinary automatic g/box e.g. Audi/TFSi/FSi..but not the g/box with double clutching..how lucky are you or affordable persons having drove it..to manage your first “frustrated”, please do your personal homework on “what the machines how about (the car with turbo+dual clutch)..how the “pedal” working on various conditions..city driving/highway.

• UrFullOfCrap on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:37 pm

U r such an unbelievable story teller! Where in the world
        U get 20 years warranty? And which freaking VW u hate so much that always kaput in traffic jam? Were u sitting on paper VW car meant for those who have passed on bcos they lie so much?

• Henry on Apr 06, 2013 at 12:57 pm

About 220k with insurance.

• Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Yes, buy this car and give it 3 months before your DSG gearbox kaputs. And then console yourself you got 5 year warranty. Spend 1 week in the service centre to replace it, then 2 months later, again your car stalls in the middle of traffic. Console yourself again that you have 5 year waaranty. Spend another 1 week in the service centre and get it replaced again. 4 months later, again your DSG gearbox kongs, console yourself again that you got 5 year warranty….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 47
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:20 pm

There must be a reason why VW Facebook page is filled with stinking comments about the DSG failure and the horrible service centre service standards. Eventhough I own a VW, I have to admit, VW has too many lemons around and it is generally stinking up VW’s name. Every post I read has horrible comments about the DSG failures, 1 in every 3 I hear.

I am glad my Golf is problem free!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
      • JackeyDeck on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:33 pm

sir, mind sharing with us how you drive the car ?

for some office white collar… where they drive the car in early morning when going to work… and leaving the office evening 7pm/8pm… and, most of the time they drive the car during night time… this kinda people usually face less trouble in VW DSG issue.

but my friends who most of the time driving the car under hot sun… stuck in the traffic all the time… and their VW DSG does kapuk or jerking quite often.

the traffic JAM under a hot sun is what cause the DSG to malfunction as the switching between N-G1-G2 is too rapid and so does the switching of the clucthes, and hence seriously heat up & damage the gearbox eventually.

and that… is just the DSG… there are more in others… the turbo engine & etc……………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
        • ahmad loy on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:40 pm

..that why the expert said “drive the turbo+double clutching g/box car on weekend and weekday for NA+automatic g/box”!

• hey bro what you say is actually quite true cause I usually drive my polo at night and in the morning,not during rush hours and so far from my experience I’ve never experience jerks and dsg malfuction.

• kadajawi on Apr 07, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Changing from N to D while the car is rolling seems to be deadly for the DSG. Do avoid that, DSG will automatically disengage and engage the clutch, and it knows when to do so, unlike normal auto gearboxes.

• Yup, heard abt the dsg prob…but so far both my golf tsi & cross touran are prob free…same goes to my sis golf tsi, my friends GTI, Scirocco, Passat,polo..etc.. eh? why so far non of my friends/relatives have any dsg issues? both dsg 6 & dsg 7..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Just a matter of time before you start to curse at Ta Chung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • VW Driver on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Sounds like you are driving a TSI like a GTI…

Have completely no problems with my Stage 2 MK6 GTI :D

DSG Gearbox still working perfectly after 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
      • VW suck on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:53 pm

my DSG gearbox just problem last week…when transmission engage, it sound cocking..GTi Sign ><

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • U can just trade ur VW GTI or TSI for a Myvi Extreme which is so ok…4 speed transmission with empty 1.5 Engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
        • Sam Loo on Apr 07, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Trade in the Ta Chung with a Fung Tien or a used kimchi.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Enough! Everyone in the world already know DSG has problem so enough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • another vw driver on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:57 pm

driving vw jetta with the LEGENDARY dsg 7 speeds
      its been 1 year with chipped and it is still working perfectly smooth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:39 pm

1 year is a short time for the lifespan of a vehicle in bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Hello lah GTI with 6 speed DSG is ok ‘ frind own a GTI so far so good ‘ and i think they solve the problem of the new DSG already! again i know previous DSG is terrible coz i own a 1.2TSI with 7 speed DSG ‘ break down experience ‘ but i still really like the VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Don’t say something which you don’t even know about.
      Yes, DSG gearbox is unreliable, but that’s just DSG 7 Speed Dry Clutch. GTI has always been using DSG 6 Speed Wet Clutch, which doesn’t have the problem of the 7 Speed.

Then again, I give you the benefit of the doubt you are driving Golf TSI. Should have gotten GTI instead, totally a different world of driving.

Sincerely,
      PGTI owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Pat San on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:31 pm

This one uses the older 6 speed “wet” DSG and not the current 7 speed “dry” DSG. You should not have any problem with this but not the models which uses the 7 speed “dry” DSG Gearboxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • HyundaiKaput on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Did you know that Hyundai owners also have many problems with their cars? The same goes for Kia’s. Also Toyota’s, BMW and Merc? Not just VW. In fact for your information guys, i found out the DSG problem is software related and can be fixed if you bring your car to a service centre. Besides, if you have the particular DSG software problem, it is normally noticeable within the first few months after buying your car. So it is covered by the 5 years warranty and the problem is resolved for free. How I know? I have a VW with the same problem. By the way, the new VW Golf Mark 7 does not have the DSG problems because it uses an upgraded software problem. Besides the problem is a Borg Wagner problem and not VW problem. Therefore it affects all car makes that uses that type of DSG units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
      • Actual VW Owners on Apr 06, 2013 at 10:26 am

Yes lah the Mk7 also got the same problems. Its the same DSG box. To answer your question, yes other cars also got problems but other cars are not RM180k. Toyota and Honda and Hyundai are much cheaper and to be honest, no problems. VW on the hand claim to be Das German quality and all that but it is a misrepresentation and lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
        • Dun want DSG problems? Order the 6MT version.

• Henry on Apr 06, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Don’t think they will bring in MT. It’s marketing decision.

• ahmad loy on Apr 06, 2013 at 11:48 pm

..”Das Auto” or “the people’s car” means..offer the auto advanced technology to ordinary people with “affordable” price..the other word: the drivetrain features on e.g:Golf 1.4 TSi MK6/7 or Passat 1.8 TSi below RM200K or Polo 1.2 TSi MK5 below RM120K “similarly” or “closer” to premium cars likes Audi with TFSi/S’tronic or Merc with CGi/AMG or BMW with Vanos/PowerShift or Toyota’s premium brand Lexus GS/IS 250..so what do you expert..want all the VW drivers returned back to NA engines + ordinary g/boxes (actualy the price is “high”) because of this DSG problem?

• WrongAnalysis on Apr 07, 2013 at 12:03 pm

“Actual VW Owner” -Do you own the Mrk 7 Golf? The earlier writer is correct. The problem has been resolved. How i know? Its indicated in the report about the China recall problems. Yes, the problem is a Borg Warner problem that also effects other cars that use the same system.

• stick shift on Apr 06, 2013 at 5:22 pm

My late Benz w124 had no problems for the past 24 years. no engine, gearbox or steering problems. mileage on the was 650,000 km. i crashed head-on with a Hilux at 60km/hr when i drove past a oily patch on the road. the car was a total wreck but it saved my life. i walked away with just minor bruises. Today You can get a similar car for around RM 15K. Thats how cars should be built.

• AnotherSohaiU! on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:41 pm

That frequency of breakdown must be similar to your problem having to believe what your parents told you about when mum was not at home and dad was away and your mum came home late cos her engine was at the workshop!! What else?? For servicing !! LOL!!

• Volkswagen have to make good and deliver. I seriously want to buy VW GTi but after listening to various complains and advise. I may not plunge into a nightmare in VW street.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • rally_fan on Apr 08, 2013 at 8:16 am

you should do more research.. the GTI with the 6 speed wet clutch DSG is not known to have any problems. other than that.. i have a jetta with the 7spd.. not 1 single issue so far. hope nothing crops up. coming up to 1 year now, with about 30k mileage. my backup is an old 3 series with a traditional h-pattern manual gearbox.

• Just because you didnt have any issues doesnt mean others dont. I have owned a mk5 gti, a scirroco and my family has another gti. scirocco GB replaced under warranty at 10k km, after it died on way from cameron.

The 6 speed DSG also has mechatronic issues, not as bad as the 7 speed, but its there.

VW had a huge DSG recall in China due to customer complaints and lawsuits

• Davinnci on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:37 pm

I take A250 over this, anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:34 pm

The only problem is the A250 that is coming to us soon will cost quite a sum compared to the GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Henry Leong on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:41 pm

In China they giving 10 years warranty or 160,000 km.

Why here half only?

http://www.chinacartimes.com/2012/05/vw-offers-10-year-160000km-warranty-dsg-gearboxes/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Actual VW Owners on Apr 06, 2013 at 10:23 am

VW Malaysia also should give 10 years warranty, after all 1 in every 3 cars have DSG breakdowns. And that is not one off. It happens continuously until you sell your car!

• Henry on Apr 06, 2013 at 2:23 pm

I know four VW owners. Three with the 1.4 TSi and one owns the Passat. All the cars have the dry DSG7. All of them have the legendary gearbox problem.

Another friend owns the Passat CC 2.0 with the wet DSG6 and have no problems in his more than 1 year of ownership.

I believe the latest Passat CC 1.8 is also using the dry DSG7. Correct me if I’m wrong here.

• Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 2:54 pm

I think its more like 95 out of 100 VW cars have gearbox nightmares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • AsIfUWill on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:44 pm

As if u will or can afford or have the balls to own and drive VW when they give u 10 years warranty? My behind u will. Stop suggesting for the sake of talking cock!!

• boring design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
    • blacktop on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:53 pm

people who dont afford this said like juan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
      • Who are you to think ppl can’t afford? I m one of many who can afford to buy this car cash but I think the look is far too boring. Also there is no big deal buying this car cash, many can afford it now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
        • Stop pretending! if boring why d u came here to view that car? just click the car that u think is not boring and cant afford but only can see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • You are really immature. Do you eat only your favorite foods? Do you only do what you like and refuse to do anything you don’t like for example taking bitter medicine? Just because its boring doesn’t mean I don’t have to read. I like cars and it’s about getting to know more. I never like Skoda but I still read their new development. Anything wrong? Pretending? To prove to people like you that i m rich over few text i typed here? Grow up little fellow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • Ya u r so rich and mature! congratulation yea… wow this GTI is so sporty and beautiful,and i want one!

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Wait until one day maybe you will be fond of VW designs. I found most of VW cars cantiq: Toureg, Sharan, Touran, Passat, Jetta, Golf, Scirocco and the King — Beetle.
      The not so cantiq, not ugly ya, ones are Tiguan and Polo Sedan perhaps Eos in certain angles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • differentpeopledifferenttaste on Apr 06, 2013 at 12:30 am

When i first saw Vw in paper, nah…. korean has better design. then i saw one on the road. Mmm nice….went to show room to have a closer look, cut the story short, now there is a Golf in my car porch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Yeah, now it’s in your porch….. But soon it will be in workshop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • YourFace on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:45 pm

As boring your as your face!!

• People should differentiate between the wet and dry DSG gearboxes. It’s the dry DSG gearboxes that are problematic. VW is switching the supplier for the new dry gearboxes for their new cars so the new Golf TSIs will have these newer ones. The wet DSG gearboxes as found on cars such as the GTI and CC are generally quite reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • the wet 6 speed dsg are for those having more than 260nm torque if i’m not mistaken….hence all those with high torque like the GTI and vw’s diesel TDI engine are using the wet 6 speeds dsg

• ahmadjohnson on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:03 pm

I hope VW Malaysia will bring manual version of Golf in near future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • lonelyobserve on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:19 pm

For comparison between manual transmission and DSG equipped Golf, here is the link to Volkswagen UK:

http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/new/golf-vii/which-model/engines/overview

Remember, the engine used in Boleh Land is same as the 122ps version of 1.4L TSI engine in UK.

Basically not much to choose from between conventional and DSG due to DSG has 7-speed, which has little more advantage in terms of fuel consumption and CO2 emission. Unless you do not want the problem given by DSG then manual transmission is the alternate choice.

• Unforgiven on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Dont think the price will go down, BN already said no reduction in car prices

• Rocket on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Vote wisely for the affordable people’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • salambangi on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:26 pm

If this had happened to Proton, Amoi, Sam loo or Vn would have cursed the company incessantly. This proves that they are racist. They have said nothing good about Proton and its products.

They are actually only armchair car experts cum congenital Proton bashers. They are worthless paper tigers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • To minimize the DSG failure problem, pls make sure u do not accelerate to max until the temperature of engine hits above 80C. It’s my experience and so far it works fine after twice failure of DSG

• SillyBasterdU on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:47 pm

What crap are u talking about? U might as well eat your words.,,

• Mike0987 on Apr 06, 2013 at 3:33 pm

To minimize the DSG failure problem, pls make sure u do not accelerate to max until the temperature of engine hits above 80C. It’s my experience and so far it works fine after twice failure of DSG ..

• TopGear on Apr 06, 2013 at 9:21 pm

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/bizchina/motoring/2013-03/20/content_16323553.htm

• No to need post China DSG recall lah..everyone know that already lah! so boring of that…if dun like ur car,u can trade it for the other coz no need force u and me to buy a VW.

• foxtrot on Apr 07, 2013 at 2:52 am

HOLY CRAP PLATE LSD like the megane !!!!!!!!

• i see people bitchin about gearbox everywhere, the fact is that its your fault for not getting a faultless manual.

• loenlyobserve on Apr 07, 2013 at 10:00 am

Most people will blame traffic jam and left foot is suffering for depressing clutch pedal on crawling roads and for some hard-headed people manual transmission is already outdated.

But the fact is that manual transmission still yields the best fuel economy for the vehicle while having lower maintenance cost due to the less complex mechanical design than automatic or dual clutch transmission (both gearboxes have the same number of gears).

• JackeyDeck on Apr 07, 2013 at 2:24 pm

and… not to mentioned that manual transmission is usually 5k cheaper ~ lol.

yes, with the correct way of driving, manual transmission does provide the best saving in fuel economy. But, sadly, i have a back-ache… having my left feet pressing & releasing the clutch paddle rapidly give me a hell of a back-ache…

but, still… on the weekend, or whenever i am driving in the highway… i sure do love a manual car accompanying me.

• kadajawi on Apr 07, 2013 at 8:58 pm

You can’t generalize. The manual gearboxes from VW are typically easy to use, though maybe not so rewarding. The clutch is a bit lifeless, doesn’t give any feedback when it is going to bite. My Renault had more feedback, so does the Citroen, and the Fords I drove were like that too.

BTW IIRC DSG is a 8k option over manual gearboxes. Usually at least.

• Mrhukaka on Apr 07, 2013 at 2:11 pm

my 1st car it’s a 15th years old nissan sunny 130Y
    drive for 3 years only the 1st time when brought change engine to 1.5.(no problem at all only regular services)sold to change wira.
    second car 1 new wira 1.4 mt drive for a 3 years also no problem at all(maybe my luck)one time broke down in middle of road it’s just because after i went to EON services they drain my clutch oil and forgot to refuel back so make me cannot shift my gear(so this it’s a issue traditional Proton Services.)sold to change Proton Satria 1.3 MT.
    satria also no problem driving for 3 years out side services also no problem fast and convenient.
    4th car was a 5 years old waja giving from my father and i was drive for another 4 years cause married need a salon car,after many years drive has some gearbox coil seal problem(oil leaking)
    and driver side power window fail change to metal inner part no problem at all.
    then now driving a new Ssang yong stavic for two years,some minor defect from plastic part spoil easily and the brake pad not last then small cars.
    air condition it’s not cooler then proton.
    but the road noise it’s much better then proton.
    the above story it’s true and i just want to share with other.
    cause recently want to upgrade to Germany tech car but after listen lot of negative feedback and mostly car having problem i don’t want to waste my hard earn money for some exclusive look car either just stick back with proton,maybe lot of people will say that i talk rubbish or orang miskin,but i try before i spend half day to services my Ssang yong,and 1 hour express services a proton car at abeng shop it will save lot of my time.and some parts need to order from korea it’s really take your time and wait.and you need to park your car in the services center to wait and wait and wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • I used to drive 2 models of proton. Satria 1.6xli and wira 1.8 , both were auto cars. Anyone of u ever driven this car b4? The gb failure at around 180000km. My friends all facing this problem and even perdana v6 also have this problem. In early days nobody repair the gearbox, until recently there are some ppl repairing it. B4 that u only can replace it from half cut shop and maybe only can get 1 week warranty.

• Sam Loo on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:43 am

Actually, PV6 GB (F4A23) is a slightly modded version of Wira 1.6/1.8 GB (F4A22).

Both needs ATF cooler, which is found in Japanese Mitsubishi Eterna and Lancer. These were omitted by the Einsteins working in Proton

• my car tsi 2 years already,no problem so far.Club members all no problem. dont know why so many toyota, honda users keep say vw have many problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • I think its because VW sales grew three fold from 2011 to 2012. VW is already the best selling European car brand in Malaysia now. At the rate their cars are selling, they could beat both Toyota and Honda sales in Malaysia by 2014!

So, most Toyota and Honda lovers are genuinely concerned.

• pisang on Apr 08, 2013 at 12:41 pm

I have the last manual transmission polo Gti from VWM http://paultan.org/2008/11/26/volkswagen-polo-gti-18t-test-drive-review/ , still a joy to drive until now.
    I guess it is time for VWM to reconsider bring back the manual transmission before DSG problem kill all the fun. But I think VWM is not that smart, all their top management sit in coconut shell everyday with their head in the sand. DSG problem? What problem? China and Taiwan recall so what? We are in boleh land.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 08, 2013 at 2:19 pm

ar ~~~ those were the good old days yea ~~~ really do envy u have one and still enjoying it ~

• Sparcov on Apr 08, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Thinking to buy Vw golf.

Is the DSG issue only happened to recond unit? or new unit from Vw Malaysia?

• amirad on Apr 08, 2013 at 9:11 pm

With all these DSG hoohaas, suddenly a Focus ST seems like a better proposition. Got power and torque, and no double clucthing gearbox to worry about.

• OnlyIfUCan on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Only if u can afford one. The ST I mean. It will be rare
      on our soil and I will congratulate u!

• Segaraga on Apr 09, 2013 at 6:48 am

Ford Focus has ergonomics problem. The centre console takes up a lot of space that my left leg has no free movement. Would be tiring for long driving. Wonder how the mat salleh with long legs drive it. Go and test drive yourself. Apart from that, it’s ok.

• Maserati on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Buy Italian Rusty jalopy better than this VW.

My italian ride will bungkus this car left right up and down.