Nissan Juke n-tec – gadget-laden design-led UK model

Nissan_Juke_n-tec_20

Nissan lucked in to a winner with the bizarrely styled Juke crossover when it coincided with the recent hipster phenomenon. Weird is now cool and by extension, so is the Juke. Now, UK’s cool kids can bug their parents for a new top of the range gadget-laden, design-focused model: the Nissan Juke n-tec.

The headlining addition is the Nissan Connect system with Google’s Send-To-Car-Technology. It’s an advanced route planning system that allows owners to send satnav instructions from their smartphone or laptop to their car. Also available through the 5.8-inch colour touchscreen are Google’s Points of Interest (POI) database, weather forecasts, local fuel prices and flight information (why?).

On the outside, the n-tec rides on unique 18-inch wheels and has black detailing on the B-pillars, door mirrors and bonnet light strips. Black centre console and door trims complete the visual changes inside. Opt for the range-topping 190 hp/240 Nm 1.6 litre DIG-T engine (choice of 2WD manual or 4WD CVT) and you get black interior headliner and a dual exit exhaust finisher too.

The Nissan Juke n-tec sits above the current Acenta Premium grade, and is expected to be the best-selling model in the UK Juke line-up. Of course it will be. Hipsters wouldn’t be caught dead driving anything else.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Although being hopelessly Ugly, I really like the Juke. It’s quirky and funny, It has character. That aside, when is it going to be launch here Tan Chong? I remember all the hype when it was displayed at the KLIMS ’10

• start-a-figt on Apr 08, 2013 at 4:47 pm

replace the nissan with Proton logo… u will bash till the last drop of blood.

• As I typed this at a local cafe, the car I came in is parked nearby, a 90′ Proton Saga 1.5 manual, I find that car has more character than most car I’ve driven(very few), I don’t know weather is it because it’s mechanically honest or the fact I’ve been with it since my I was a Fetus…But it never fails you and always delivers. Truth is I never had a problem with proton cars, my dad had 2 previously, the Saga and the Wira 1.5 Auto that made way for a City, beside the fact it was slow, the Wira never really gave problems. Admittedly both were Mitsubishi-era Protons but I actually have no problems with their product, Tiara and Arena aside.

I hate Proton for their management and the fact that after 20 odd years, the progress is mediocre. The fact that politics and our car price is so involved with them. And their Service Centers sucks. To be honest, I actually like the design of the loaf of bread that is the Juara, is the source of my laughter. Design wise, honestly none of them has no character, the may be bad and some may be ugly, but they are not dull.

But stereotypes will always be there to hate Proton and other car brands, replace the new CRV with a Kia badge and you will see a rather handsome SUV, replace the Elantra with a Toyota and you would see a rather reliable car.

• Dru-Zod on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:07 am

You were not around when we Malaysians actually could buy the cars that we wanted. In the 70s and early 80s, Datsuns (Nissans) and Toyotas sold a lot of cars. The Nissan Sunny was the true people’s car here. It was frugal and cheap to maintain. There were so many Ford running as well such as the Escorts, Cortinas, Lasers etc . If you speak to your dads, uncles and granddads, the cars that came to Malaysia at that time were the same cars that the rest of the world was driving as well. No restrictions.
          Then the Proton menace came. All other cars’ prices were systematically increased so that we had no choice to buy only Proton’s to enrich a few cronies who dominated the parts industry here. We were stuck with lousy cars and missed out on so many models to protect Proton.

• frenzy on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:08 pm

The most funny is Nissan Europe decided to GT-R-ied the Juke to become Juke-R, a fugly little fastest SUV ever made

• start-a-figt on Apr 08, 2013 at 4:47 pm

juke? more like puke!

• JackeyDeck on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Yeah… TanChong… dah lama tunggu ni ~ Bila bawa masuk Malaysia ??

I was browsing the OTO.com the other day, and found that recon Juke doesn’t come cheap !!! 1.6 DirectInjection Turbo Engine Type-V cost around RM175k – RM195k !?!? That is too much !!! Too damn much !!! didn’t expect the price to be as such…

When i was working in Pakistan… i saw this car was sold as re-con here in paki land. I encounter 2… both doesn’t equiped with turbo engine (surprisingly)… and the price is around RM90k to RM110k depend on the year. Good condition. Too bad didn’t have the chance to test drive it ~

So, i guess, when Juke is introduce in Malaysia… the chances are that the turbo engine won’t be making it’s way here… the same fate as the hyundai veloster does… and For sure, Tan Chong going to charge this bad boy Tinggi-Tinggi at the range of…. say RM150k and above ? with no turbo engine, i bet. Time will tell… let’s wait and see ~

some might say this car is way ugly for anyone to drive or sit in it… for me, i find that this fatty chubby bad boy kinda good looking. Convert it to the bat-mobile version, add some “wings” at the rear as the type-R does… it could be very eye-catchy ~ love the hidden rear-door-handle (just like the veloster) which make the juke look like a sweet fatty coupe ~

And… That is just the exterior. I personally don’t like the interior of the model which i saw in pakistan. it look girlish. The combination of coloured plastic (which usually applied at those round-round area) and dark tone dashboard really look kinda… well, let’s just say i don’t like it. However, the one shown in this blog pictures look quite acceptable.

The driver n front passenger seat was ok… but i find that the rear seat is quite cramp… and seriously , having 3 adults seating at the rear is not at all comfortable (well, just like any recent nissan car). Being a mid-size SUV… the boot space is rather disappointing…

• JackeyDeck on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:27 pm

oo yeah… almera has a good leg room… but, again, poor width to accommodate 3 adults.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:29 pm

http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/49376/recond-2012-nissan-juke-type-v-1.6l-selangor

http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/41416/recond-2011-nissan-juke-1.6-turbo-a-selangor

forgot to insert the link in previous comment. dah tua dah.

• kentji on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:56 pm

the awkward moment when the fog lights are almost bigger than the headlights.

• sepul on Apr 08, 2013 at 6:22 pm

On the contrary. The lamp on the hood is just the signal indicator and daytime light. The actual headlamp is the big rounded ones sandwiching the grille. The fog light is lower down, the smaller round ones.

To me the design is, well.. Quirky but not to the point of being ugly. Maybe the rear, yes.

• The headlights are split into two, the secondary headlight on top, and the main one is the two large circles are the main units. The fog lights are the two very small one all the way down at besides the lower circular air inlet.

• Harvey Hanson on Apr 08, 2013 at 6:00 pm

So does this come above or below the Tekna, article says above Acenta but the Tekna is higher than the Acenta, but the Tekna has only 17″ alloys, so would likely be a lesser model than NTEC?

• tikus on Apr 08, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Tan Chong when this beauty will be in Bolehland???

• The rear passenger doors, punyalah kecil. Like the size of the perodua kembara doors. But much more narrower….

• KingPin on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:03 am

Just cause its nissan doesnt make this car any nicer, replace nissan with citroen ppl will start bashing it. Lets be honest even citroen doesnt design something as ugly as this.

• Dru-Zod on Apr 09, 2013 at 8:51 am

If I could meet the design chief, I want to ask him what was his inspiration for the Juke’s face? a Japanese toad?