Next Audi A4 to get big revamp, lose around 100 kg?

Audi A4 B8 facelift

We have some new details on the 2014 Audi A4, courtesy of Autobild. The compact exec is said to be in line for a major redesign, which should include improved technology and features, a more luxurious interior and an updated MMI infotainment system with two separate screens.

Apart from that, the extended use of aluminum, magnesium and plastic parts means the new B9 could tip the scales at about 1.33 tonnes – around 100 kg lighter than the current B8 (pictured here).

The engine menu reportedly includes a 1.4 TSI with 150 hp and 250 Nm of torque, 2.0 TFSIs in 175 hp/300 Nm and 225 hp/350 Nm versions, 2.0 TDIs in 120 hp/270 Nm, 136 hp/320 Nm, 148 hp/320 Nm and 190 hp/400 Nm forms and 3.0 V6 TDIs in 218 hp/400 Nm and 268 hp/600 Nm guises.

2015 should see the introduction of a plug-in hybrid variant that combines the 225 hp 2.0 TFSI with a 54 hp electric motor at the front axle and a 82 hp electric motor on the rear axle, according to Autobild. A 12 kWh lithium-ion battery makes possible an electric-only range of 50 km.

Read Paul’s comprehensive review of the 1.8 TFSI-engined Audi A4 B8 facelift here. The A4 is no longer Audi’s smallest sedan – the A3 Sedan was unveiled at the recent New York Auto Show.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BMW Fanboi on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:13 pm

BMW is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 63
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 135
    • BMWisBad on Apr 09, 2013 at 6:21 pm

BMW sure triumph other brands in maintenance cost !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
    • Ryan.C on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:16 am

Actually Audi maintainance very high also.
      3 years, major service is about 4k. even normal service cost about 400-500.

Audi has DSG and engine oil leak issue. especially those 2.0 above. Euromobil lacks of tech to check the car, everytime need to wait germany send engineer to come n check it.

For BMW, not so sure on this. So far my friends have given good feedback and current design is okay compare with previous gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • ABTguy on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Hope they bring in the 1.4 TSI model, then price it at Pasat CKD level !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • i agree we need more variants here, but i highly doubt the A4 will drop to passat money.

• how nice looking at other country auto industry development. seems like they have line ups for next 10-15 years ready in their pipeline now.

meanwhile here, should we keep hoping? someone need to draw the line i guess. we are lagging behind, terribly.

give an ultimatum. malaysian style. we are capable, but need a push. korean served us reminder. china should be able to put the final nail.

• micheal on Apr 09, 2013 at 5:16 pm

boringggggggggg…..all audi look the SAME except for TT & R8. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:32 pm

I found most Audis elegant and cantiq, just like VW.
      But I am not interested in A4. Q7 maybe le, quite cheap.

• seancorr on Apr 09, 2013 at 5:27 pm

New design from inside out and a lighter body, looks like Audi wants to up the game between its major rivals. Hopefully it does not give Euromobil a reason to hike the price too!

Next year should be an interesting year with the launch of the all new A4, C Class and even the new Passat will be unveiled.

• MAS OOL on Apr 09, 2013 at 7:13 pm

This is all crap la. Most of the reduced weight will be removed soundproofing. Luxury cars no longer feel luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • glaze on Apr 09, 2013 at 7:56 pm

what kind of soundproof that cost u 100kg? It is the materials used on the chasis/body of the car that reduced the weight, if u see what has been done on the mk7 Golf, its not removing sound proof that does the 100kg magic.

• kudajawee on Apr 09, 2013 at 7:41 pm

The look no different. My french renault kangoo look much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • The look ‘no different’ because the photo is of the current B8! The article is describing the upcoming B9 which doesn’t have photos yet. Did you attempt to actually read the article??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Someone actually bought a renault kangoo? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • I remember a frequent commenter has a Kangoo, I think it was the username Kadajawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:44 pm

It is not shameful at all if you are able to buy a Kangoo before the age of 30, better than those owing Lambo but sell heroin or lend money sharkly. I own Proton before; but now I will look down on you if your Mercedes is bought using corrupted money. Project makan duit rakyat, bakar rumah rampas tanah halau-halau baru dapat beli kereta mewah oi datuk, shameful le; all Mercedes must be in white colour ok. This is not a sour grape comment; same goes to Toureg hybrid(no vision).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • Fahmi on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Why no change?? Look closer, thats a B8, the article describing about coming B9…Don’t bash blindly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • kadajawi on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Nope. I don’t drive Renault. I drive Toyota and is Sam Loo Bitch :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Multipla on Apr 09, 2013 at 11:11 pm

I think my Fiat Multipla look more unique and nicer than Audi. At least even it’s ugly, it still turn head where ever i go. Drive audi, nobody even turn their head. Just like driving benz or bimmer.

So, please don’t underestimate the power of desire….Fiat Multipla !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Henry Leong on Apr 10, 2013 at 12:21 am

Gonna wait for the 2.0 Hybrid version. Hehe. Maybe RM210k?

• paparadzi on Apr 10, 2013 at 2:08 am

Will be considered when the excise tax is gradually lowered and finally removed.

• Joe Radzif on Apr 10, 2013 at 8:04 am

prefer B7…

huhuhu

• cybermaster98 on Apr 10, 2013 at 9:45 am

If u have tested & researched cars as extensively i have (more than 50 test drives in 5 months), you would see that no other car in the RM140-190K range outguns the Optima K5 in terms of specs, value for money & safety. But keep in mind that there is no such thing as a perfect car. The A3 is a good car it seems, but none better than a 140k k5..

• i like audi but the maintenance cost make me crying

• Dr Alban on Apr 10, 2013 at 3:42 pm

If u could not afford the maintenance cost, then u should buy the car that fits your pocket. It is as simple as that. ;)

• Sam Loo on Apr 10, 2013 at 4:31 pm

You will cry even louder and more when your DSG kaput!!!