Interesting oto.my find – Nissan Juke 1.6 DIG-Turbo

Nissan Juke oto-10

Now here’s a way to stand out. The Nissan Juke, with its oddball design, looks like nothing else on the road – and since it’s not sold by Edaran Tan Chong officially in Malaysia, the Juke driver will be part of a very exclusive club.

We found this Nissan Juke on our sister site oto.my, the ad put up by one of the many recond car dealers in PJ. This red car is a 2011 unit from Japan, and it’s equipped with the MR16DDT 1.6 litre DIG-Turbo engine with 188 hp and 240 Nm, paired to a CVT gearbox.

And since this is the Turbo, it should have Nissan’s All-Mode 4X4-i electronic system with lateral torque vectoring. This not only splits torque between axles, but from side-to-side across the rear axle as well. The system counts wheel speed, steering angle, yaw rate and lateral G to distribute torque, and works to reduce understeer.

The cabin’s highlight is the red painted centre console, but this isn’t the highest spec on offer – note the lack of steering controls and the basic head unit that CKD Latio and Grand Livina owners will be familiar with.

The dealer is asking RM175,000 for this unregistered Juke, which sounds like a lot of money for a small car, although there’s decent performance on tap. But the main draw has to be the Juke’s out of the world looks – you might get more attention than a supercar in this!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• EZ Wong on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:49 pm

This car is being sold in Jakarta for only RM80k+ (after conversion)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • rajahGlobal on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:43 pm

well, it ain’t the turbo version…

• EZ Wong on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:00 am

The one in jakarta was the topspec turbo variant with all the bells and whistle. even in Taiwan my cousin just bought his for about that price as well.
        nice ride and handling for the car that height and size, but drawbacks are the interior space & somewhat some plasticky feel at certain parts

• OMG….Ugly like sxxx especially interior. expensive like hxxx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • you just said shit and hell. just say it, we’re not in a kindergarten or something.
        but i still agree with your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Pimp Daddy on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Aiyah, Paul Tan & Co…

Why don’t you just write a review about the car or something la??

Don’t just sit there and report on whats available on your sister site ?? :)

• u buy u support open AP car market…..for those who dislike AP la

• jalan54 on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:52 pm

RM175k, seriously? The interior design especially the steering is damn ungly!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • crank on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:55 pm

I would rather go for a Mazda 3 MPS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Black Dog on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:59 pm

The Joker is finally here…

• Ah Beng on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Preve still sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
  • Jab, Strong, Fierce! on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:04 pm

I wonder if ETC will honor and service this car if the owner send the Juke to them?

• Amarjie on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:05 pm

The audio unit seems out of place for a RM 175K car…

• Henry Leong on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:22 pm

If Tan Choong can bring it in below RM130k then okay la. RM185k for a 2 year old recon? No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • sepuct9a on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Hopefully can get cheaper grey imported car when public AP auction when implimented soon.

• underskinned on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Looks very basic for a RM175k car.

• 1btgnaik on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:20 pm

I drove the diesel version of the Juke for a week in france. The exterior looks weird, the seats are quite cramped, more or less legroom like the vios or almera, small boot and the lack of proper refinement. Pluses are the engine is pretty good for an oil burner and surely this turbo unit will be better, funky infometer with eco-function/g-meter in the centre and very nimble handling which makes it easy to drive in the city

• Dr Alban on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Ugly, overpriced & small.

• ayooyoo on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:05 pm

I see red frog..

• _xXx_ on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:28 pm

175k…so, this is the juke of the April month? oops, joke…

• cosmothegod on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:59 pm

The idiot who sell(scam artist) and the idioter whackjob who buys this at RM175K are two of a kind.

• Is this a Japan / UK / Aus spec…can this car survive with local fuel grade without any tuning..? The price is close to new A-class compare this 2 yr recon….

• SUV lover on Apr 09, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Looks like a car designed by a 6 year old

• TopGear on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:33 pm

i have seen Nissan Juke on the road few times…

• Mohammad on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Those rims look familiar..Kia Forte EX model

• anak malaya.. on Apr 10, 2013 at 1:29 am

the interior suck..are kindding 175k for this kind of interior…

• Vendetta on Apr 10, 2013 at 7:47 am

For the price I rather buy Mazda 6 or Suzuki Swift Sport for hot hatch car

• kelvin552266 on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:19 am

this must be a JOKE !

• SamTowTruck on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:59 am

Holy Frog Face. I thought citroen design ugly car, this one can claim 2nd place.

I will do favour to the owner when i tow the car, i will tow it to Rosmah residence.

• Alvin on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:27 pm

I have a Singaporean friend driving this model. Tan Chong Singapore has been selling this model for more than 3 years. All CBU direct from Japan. This turboengine has no problem using RON95. The price in Malaysia although look high actually cheaper than in Singapore which sell around SGD135k including the COE cost so you do the math. Those living in JB shouldn’t have issue to own this car if they concern about Service. Its only few km drive to several Tan Chong Singapore service centers like in Bukit Timah as well as one in Jurong, easy access from 2Link then drive along AYE and you wont miss Nissan outlet on your left before you reach Jurong Birdpark.Some of you also think this car is cheap in Indonesia. This car is also visible and aplenty in Batam, Indonesia even. But that model is not Turbo. Nissan has assembly plant in Indonesia for non-Turbo model so that’s why its cheaper there but Turbo model is CBU direct from Japan. You can only appreciate the turbo once you drive more than 100kmph, feels like fighter jet so its not a usual Joker that you think of.

• May I know Nissan Juke easy to get spare part in Malaysia?
    anyone have a experience feel free reply me.

Thank you very much