Brilliance using BMW N20 engines for its new MPV?

BMW_N20_Brilliance

BMW and its Chinese partner Brilliance Auto looks set to upset the convention by joint-developing a high-end MPV for the local Chinese market as reported by China Car Times. To be badged as a Jinbei (a Brilliance Auto-owned budget MPV brand), the said luxurious people carrier will be built around BMW’s N20 2.0 litre turbo four engine – the same motor found in the base 3 Series, 5 Series, X1, X3 and Z4 models.

The Chinese premium MPV segment is an obvious but curiously untapped market, with even Audi, the predominant German luxury automaker in China yet to introduce such vehicles. The only new entry to the class is the Taiwanese Luxgen MPV with its Renault-based platform and self developed engine. An upmarket Brilliance MPV with technical assistance and premium directive from BMW will fill that void just nicely.

Here in Malaysia, the Jinbei brand is sold under the Berjaya Brilliance Auto (BBA) umbrella, offering licensed (previous generation) Toyota Hiace-based budget commercial vans. BBA also holds the rights to assemble, distribute and export Jinbei products to South East Asia.

A BMW-powered Chinese-built premium MPV – there will be no questioning its technical legibility then. But what about its brand appeal; would you be interested in one?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• unforgiven on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:48 am

For the same price, are you going for China n20 or Proton Exora cfe? Approx rm 70k

• frenzyaustin on Apr 10, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Definitely China!
      China: Good Engine, sh*tty quality.
      Proton: Sh*tty Engine, Sh*tty quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Jimmy on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Exora is probably safer, chemically and mechanically.
        I don’t know if a ‘Made in China’ BMW is still truly 5-star in crash test. What confuses me the most is that there may not be any cancer-inducing materials outside the China cars.

• unforgiven on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:29 pm

If we aim for 5 stars crash test, then it’ll probably be those fully imported from Japan or Europe (Example, Toyota MPV, VW, Peug, etc)

• Josh Ling on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:51 am

jinbei?? really??

• gOOsh on Apr 10, 2013 at 4:30 pm

that’s good about partnership… it’s a win-win situation…

• Jimmy on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Their authorities must scrutinise the quality and safety of every of their ‘Made in China’ products. Why don’t they just do businessess ethically?

• hamid on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:53 am

Ya and where do they manufacture the i-phones and
    i-pads?? Q1’13 alone, Apple has sold 47mil phones and 29mil i-pads. Wouldn’t the world be afraid if
    these cancer causing materials has spread to the entire world?
    Get a life Jimmy , don’t display your low EQ here.

• Good & Bad on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:10 am

there are good quality and low quality product in china.
    Not all in bad quality. Actually base on buyers capability and strength in purchasing.
    Quality product made in china such as lenovo, Mi, apple, Huawei, etc…

In malaysia market, we seen many cheapo China made product. It’s not because of China only produce poor quality product. It’s because of importer want high profit margin. N consumer need cheaper price.

If you stay in China, you may know the truth.
    Grade A product, selling in China, export to 1st world market.

Low grade product, imported by 3rd world country.

I m telling the truth , dun attack me ya.
    Malaysia, need better governance.
    China open market just 20 years, grow and improve swiftly.
    Malaysia independance 60 yeaers, but moving backward.
    Similar to UMW Toyota Malaysia,
    “MOVING FORWARD” to history, SELLING MOVING COFFIN, WRAPPED BY TWIN AIRBAG, WITHOUT ESP.