SPYSHOT: Hyundai Santa Fe – third-gen DM in Msia

santa-fe-spyshot
Click to enlarge pic

Here’s a spyshot of a car we know is coming soon, thanks to reader Edward Yap, who was alert to spot the SUV with taped-up badges. No, it’s not an Audi but the third-generation Hyundai Santa Fe, which has already starred in ads on our sister classifieds site oto.my.

UPDATE: The new Hyundai Santa Fe is now launched in Malaysia. Click here for our launch report and pics.

You might have read about a long-wheelbase Santa Fe with three rows of seats, but this is not it. Malaysia will get the standard (2,700 mm wheelbase, same as the current car) DM, although this variant can also be specified with a third row of two seats.

The car we see here is likely to be a high-spec unit with the bells, whistles and sizable wheels. Hyundai-Sime Darby will be bringing in the 2.2 litre R-series diesel engine, which has proved to be popular with second-gen Santa Fe buyers. The VGT-equipped oil burner boasts 197 hp and 436 Nm of torque, and will be paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox. It’s likely that HSDM will specify the on-demand 4WD system.

According to the oto.my ad, the kit list could include HID headlamps with cornering lights, LED rear lamps, reverse camera, electronic parking brake, ESC and Hill Start Assist. All yet to be confirmed, of course.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• theanswer on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:30 am

that’s a nice suv. something good compared to the previous one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 34
    • altimaguy on Apr 10, 2013 at 3:33 pm

This car is underpowered somehow. drive it n u would know what i mean. dun jus look at the spec sheet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
      • the previous one got nice pulling power. good enough to push you back to your seat. at least for me lah. i’m not used to high power vehicle.

anyway thanks for the insight. will go have a testdrive, when available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Harriz izwan on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:01 pm

lol da heck underpowered? its overpower if u asked me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • tishaban on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:01 pm

I have driven the old 2.2 diesel Santa Fe and the new 2.2 R-series diesel Santa Fe. The old 2.2 diesel didn’t feel powerful, but the 2.2 R-series can push you in your seat with the torque and the car picks up pace quickly. It’s no BMW diesel but it’s not underpowered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Paul Tan on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm

You must be kidding, altimaguy. Our company has a white Santa 2.2 R-Diesel and it’s seriously torquey. Harriz is right, feels almost overpowered compared to its handling prowess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
      • amalee77 on Apr 10, 2013 at 6:56 pm

who say underpowered..u r wrong altimaguy..with diesel turbo..is totally different..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • dugong on Apr 10, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Underpower my foot! 430+ Nm torque. Are you high on drugs? Or you comparing to ferrari?
        Fortuner 2.5L turbodiesel has only 260Nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Not bad…hope the price of this car is reasonable!

• Brandon Tee on Dec 05, 2013 at 8:31 pm

This is just like the US-model “Santa Fe Sport”. The long-wheelbase “Santa Fe” model carries over with a 3.3-liter Lambda V-6 as found in the Hyundai Azera and the KIA Cadenza with the 3.3

• Smart jugak .. agak2 dalam brape rm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • thedarkside on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:44 am

awesome torqueee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Far better than The New Sorento…thinking to trade in if price below rm180k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Josh Ling on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:55 am

thank goodness is the standard wheelbase version, the long wheelbase one is just so…..uncool. the design of the standard wheelbase is much sportier and youthful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:27 pm

2700 for 7 persons, good luck ya owners.
      You buy 190 this shows that you are brave, if you believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:00 am

200 ribu je, bang…maaf, ringgit ye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • trinitrotoluene on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:15 am

Will these be launched after election? or before?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Dr Cooper on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:24 am

Good car, best in its class, it just need a nice pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • RM168,888

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on May 13, 2013 at 12:43 am

1 year later, the owner will be lucky if it can be traded in for RM68,888

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • new sorento 2014 only cost you 158888
      ..hmm..which one better?

• anonymous on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:57 am

Cool only if the price is right. Knowing SD, they will most likely make a daylight killing of this thing.

• kadajawee on Apr 10, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Ugly looking kimchi. French have more flair design. Of course, resale value no good and thus, i have to keep it for life or sam loo is nice enough to give me good trade in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 55
    • Sam Loo on Apr 10, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Why are you pushing your french to me ? I told you folks i prefer japanese 2nd hand car. Easier to sell.

I scare i put your car in my yard for sale, I die also it can’t sell lar. I wish i could help you brader, but since if you really need to sell, my best offer is RM100. Amacam, ok or not ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo on May 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Fake fella

You can tell by the Pua Chu Kang type english these immitators posts

• hondalover on Apr 10, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Honda crv is better deal. This car is iver priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 57
  • Hope its known as HYUNDAI, and not dicky INOKOM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • Allen on Apr 10, 2013 at 12:27 pm

The price will exceed 190k for the highest specs, source from SimeDarby HQ sales team.

Still, hope for the premium variant to be around RM170k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • i hope its free better deal…basic need should be free..lol

• Jimmy on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:34 pm

NB kawans hope everything is free into their own pockets, example PA.
        Makan gaji siapa, cakap untuk siapa le.
        Saya tak makan gaji rakyat, tetapi saya harap rakyat bagus.
        Saya tak minat Toyota, tetapi saya harap Toyota selamat untuk pembeli2 umum, itu sebab saya nak mereka improve. Mana hati nurani/naluri(don’t know which word) kita?

• frenzyaustin on Apr 10, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Great looking SUV. Looks is better than the VW but performance…. you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr on Apr 10, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Hmm the Koreans are putting a high price tag for their SUV models…but a diesel is better than a petrol engine for such a car like this.

So…a diesel high spec Korean SUV or a 2.4 petrol high spec Japanese SUV? Choices for the mass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Gavin on Apr 10, 2013 at 1:51 pm

we are lucky in a way hyundai gives the 2.2 as a standard option instead of a higher cost model like the rest of the world, with the cheaper diesel price and also longer mileage it’s a win win situation

• RedLine on Apr 10, 2013 at 2:19 pm

When is the new Sante going to be launched in Malaysia?

• some will say good looking only but lousy engine…i would say if they can design and produce a good looking exterior i believe the inner machine will not be bad.

• what to do some people are just full of shit.

malaysian or korean cars are good/reliable enough for daily usage.

enthusiast will look somewhere else for more “involving” motoring experience.

• why lousy engine? any proof?

some just like to simply complain without facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Danny on Apr 10, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Overpriced car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • SamTowTruck on Apr 10, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Yes. Kimchi engine not reliable. Toyota is world no. 1 most reliable engine.

If you care not to be stranded in Chow Kit Road, please buy Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
    • Jimmy on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Engine wise, isn’t Nissan the most reliable among Jap?
      BTW I rarely saw any Hondas mati di tepi jalans also, why hor?

• It is either Nissan or Toyota for most reliable power train. Honda on the other hand, though I am quite the supporter, doesn’t hold up its reliability against those two. Always, before getting hold of a City, I hear people saying after 5/6 years, a lot can go wrong with Honda, mostly electronics as that Alvin guy found out.

• This car is awesome n fun to drive at least for first 5 years…..but after nightmare is coming for asking bad RV..lot things need to be replace…n so on…just buy it without all thought…else dun if u consider these aspect such as RV, maintenance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Apr 10, 2013 at 6:38 pm

At first sight I thought the rear lights looked a bit like Ford Kuga

• Man_inspira84 on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Prefer the 7 seater version….Maybe uncool for some people, but it will become handy when necessary….agree with me anyone?

Maybe it will sell better than the 5 seater?

• Elvin on Apr 10, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Toyota Vios can use 15 years plus.

• Arise on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:58 am

How reliable is the Korean cars ? How long can the diesel engine and gearbox last compares with Japanese ? Is the CRV a better buy ?

• Sam Loo on May 25, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Kimchi cars are like paper plates and cups. Its meant to be disposable

• SamTowTruck on Apr 11, 2013 at 9:44 am

Just buy anything besides Sushi made, i need more business for my towing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • considering our living style(balik kg , banyak bawak barang , keluarga ramai ) , i think they should bring the long wheel base ver.

• Kyrill on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:59 am

Just an observation. Diesel cars (Hyundai’s included) usually has the exhaust facing downwards but not the one in the photo.

Could this be a 2.4 Petrol unit?

• apamau on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:59 pm

honda CRV have their highest ever record for honda malaysia with today more than 3000 units been book.. so, the brand still got too many followers. though the specs sheet for the CRV is not spectacular, but still sell well, it’s hard for Santa fe to break into this market, CRV still rules and for RM190k, it’s even harder

• Jeff Wong on Apr 12, 2013 at 8:50 am

buy what you like… it is a good looking SUV….CRV no fight in appearance! Agree ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Ahmed Zareer on May 16, 2013 at 1:04 pm

I bought a 2008 santafe from Sime Darby and drove this fantastic vehicle clocking 120k plus without any problems. The comfort and power is astounding, believe me I drive a lot of vehicles including Beemer sevens.
    Those who criticise Hyundai,s would be better off criticising about life on Mars…..as they simply have no experience. For those interested in depreciation….I just sold the car back at a value of 83K as I am leaving Malaysia. The perception of people changes at a much slower rate than the advancement of quality, technology and comfort achieved by Hyundai. Hey it’s your loss,,,,,

• fourwheeler on May 21, 2013 at 2:05 am

…try first before make any comment,,2.2 diesel power is really awesome .

• Johan Abdul Razak on May 29, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Hey, those look like 19″ rims! Must be top spec.

• Aaron L on May 30, 2013 at 12:33 pm

I bought this 2013 Santa Fe (Highlander model) in March in Aust…. all I can say is its awesome and the built quality for the Australian version really exceeded my expectation of a Korean car. Being fairly light compared to other 4WD, it even successfully navigated through sand dunes in Perth while others got stuck and its has very useable torque definitely not underpowered even when during towing.