SPIED: Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG spotted in Malaysia

G63-AMG-01

Another day, another spyshot. But this time, instead of a mass market SUV, we have a rare classic 4X4. Say hello to the Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG, the AMG version of today’s G-Wagen.

The original W460/W461 G-Wagen dates back to 1979. It was offered in two wheelbases and three body styles – two-door short-wheelbase convertible, two-door short-wheelbase wagon, and a long-wheelbase four-door wagon. Popular with military and offroad enthusiasts, Mercedes built more than 50,000 units in the first decade.

This black and shiny G63 AMG is powered by a 5.5 litre V8 biturbo engine with 544 hp and 760 Nm of torque, enough to push the brick from 0 to 100 km/h in just 5.4 seconds. Top speed is electronically limited to 210 km/h. This direct injection powerhouse is mated to the AMG Speedshift Plus 7G-Tronic gearbox.

G63-AMG-03

By the way, there’s an even crazier G65 AMG model billed as the world’s most powerful production off-road vehicle. An AMG 6.0 litre V12 biturbo engine is responsible for 612 hp and 1,000 Nm. Mad.

So what does this local sighting in a Mercedes-Benz Malaysia yard mean? MBM’s AMG car list on its website has everything from an E 63 AMG Estate to the SLS AMG, but no G, so this could be their next low volume offering. Or it could be just a one-off special order for a wealthy and showy big shot.

You can find other models of the Mercedes-Benz G-Class for sale on oto.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Unfortunate on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:30 am

I wouldn’t even be able to afford the tires!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Confused on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:56 am

Not a big fan. Gone the bling road like the range rover.

• CarGuy on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:19 am

Putting a V8 into this new-old car is plain stupid. And pointless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
  • classic design with modern interior. wonder how powerful is d engine V12 biturbo engine

• TaibYouHamJi on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:44 am

Taib from sarawak can afford, probably a few!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
    • syok sendiri on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm

..he can even buy the entire Daimler AG company if he want to… He very rich woo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • sepul on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:51 am

They should have just keep the off roading ability of the SUV, not bling-ed it.

• Hanzo on Apr 11, 2013 at 12:54 pm

if i have a drug cartel sure i will have this

• SamTowTruck on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:15 pm

I thought i saw a Tata Mahindra with 3 stars logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Diamler on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:34 pm

I have been dreaming this few days..
    lol

In fact, have been thinking of buying 1 Landrover Defender, and change the logo to become Benz..:D
    holla~!

• Billy Saw on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:12 pm

this is probably for the Sepang event this weekend, organised by a Mercedes Benz dealer…

• Good for wade through KL flash floods! :p

• frenzy on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:14 pm

SLS AMG owner would cry and complaining about sharing the same engine with a SUV from the 70’s

• Ahmadfaris93 on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:05 pm

The G-Wagen is legendary I cant believe it’s in Malaysia. Nice !

• paparadzi on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:24 pm

How much is the road tax?

• Ever tailed this monster at north south highway when pushing 170kmh in my Benz. Thought to push this lousy 4×4 aside and move forward (those days I have no idea what’s inside this ugly beast). Finally, it blew me away just a sec!!! and the unforgettable muscle sounds…