SPYSHOTS: All-electric BMW i3 hatch caught testing – suicide doors to reach production, no Hofmeister kink

BMW-i3-2

Our legions of spies, both local and abroad are out on the prowl lately! This latest set of shots nabbed by our European spy photographers CarPix shows the upcoming BMW i3 electric vehicle out and about. It’s thoroughly camouflaged but there’s a fair bit of insight to be uncovered here.

First up, the i3 concept car’s forward-opening suicide rear doors are present on the near-final test mule, though they are considerably shorter than before with the slim C-pillar pushed ahead of the rear wheels. That’s a taste of a Rolls-Royce for you (or Mazda RX-8 if you must). Cabin space looks promising too – you can just about see the top of the rear seats placed a long way back from the driver.

Also surviving the productionisation process is the unique wraparound glasshouse. A more traditional belt line is used but the ‘undercut’ feature has been revised to fit the smaller rear doors. With a detached, floating roof design there is no Hofmeister kink to be seen, making the i3 the first modern BMW to not feature the long-standing signature element.

BMW-i3-5

A fully covered BMW kidney grille can be seen through the camouflage wrap, but as this is an all-electric vehicle, it no longer acts as an air intake. The small opening in the front bumper provides sufficient cooling airflow for the rear-mounted electric motor.

Other notable features are the large, presumably lightweight wheels with a wind cheating design shod with ultra narrow tyres to cut back rolling resistance and aid efficiency. There appears to be some kind of under-body aerodynamic witchery too – note the turning vanes just aft of the front tyres and the clean rear under tray.

Full technical details are still kept under wraps. So far, we’ve only been informed of its all-electric range of between 130 and 160 km, or up to 300 km if fitted with the optional petrol range-extender. The BMW i3 is scheduled for a Frankfurt debut in September.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• tokmoh on Apr 11, 2013 at 6:40 pm

No Hofmeister kink? Heresy!

i could’ve mistaken it for a Citroen

• What's the Big Deal? on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:17 am

I think most people don’t even notice and probably don’t even care about the “Hofmeister kink”. Again … what’s the big deal?

• BMWengileer on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:51 am

The Wolfmesser kink not in the design because this is not a RWD configuration, the kink is supposed to denote RWD.

• What's the Big Deal? on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Understand that fully. But the point I was trying to make to the previous commenter was … so what? Is he not going to buy a BMW because the kink is not there? C’mon, get real, people. Or better, get a life!

• frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Blue and White logo with a product named i3, Intel, is that you?

• fresco on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:21 pm

First look at the article title, and I thought ‘a BMW was caught testing, resulting in the suicide of Mr. Hofmeister’.

I guess I’m too sleepy to read.

• For the record, I think BMW has the most beautiful decal for disguising their cars :)

• Ah Beng on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:33 am

Time to replace my myvi. Cheaper and better.

• TurboBeng on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:49 am

Time for ahbeng to upgrade to drive Honda with Super Kow VTEK TEK. Myvi for boh lui loser beng lar. Ah lian see you also boh hew. How to fight with those ploton pervert beng ? So, buy honda, power of super vtek dream. Si beh Fast, Si beh Song, Si beh RELIABLE and Si BEH Good RESALE VALUE.

• chimre on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:05 am

why u jealous? Honda is having iDtec.
        having above 25km/L for sedan..

about hybrid fuel consumption.

• azrai on Apr 12, 2013 at 8:39 am

Maybe the underpinning exactly like those BMW’s Mini Cooper?

• I think BMW are way behind in electrical car technology/history compare to Japanese competitor.

• Kinky on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:05 pm

The first without the kink, Hafriz? I guess you should take another closer look at X1 and X3… Anyway, I would suggest that they make the roof to look floating altogether.

• Meisterbator on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:09 pm

The BMW SUVs have a Hoffmeister kink. Just that it’s a very big one because of the larger glass area of SUVs.

• Huh? Screw the kink! on Apr 13, 2013 at 12:47 am

Guys, why all the hoo-ha about this kink!? To ordinary car owners (like me and most other folks), kink or no kink, the BMW i3 is a great step in the right direction – environmentally friendly, stylish, etc. I will definitely buy one if it’s available here later (if the price is reasonable, of course).

You guys sound like a bunch of sissies trying to show off your good grasp of little-known facts about BMWs. Sad, but true.

• Kinkong on May 27, 2013 at 10:28 am

I like Lexus kink better..