New Range Rover is here – RM950k to RM1.09 million; 4th-gen is lighter, faster and more luxurious than ever

New_Range_Rover_Launch_050

The Range Rover has always been marketed as a premium product over its 40-year history, but never has it been truly accepted into the upper echelons of the luxury car market. Until now that is, with the fourth-generation Range Rover, codenamed L405. Lavishly appointed and beautifully finished inside and out, it’s a properly super premium SUV, this, with prices to match too.

Launched in Malaysia within six months of its international debut in Paris last year, the new Range Rover is available with two engine choices: either an SDV8 diesel or a V8 Supercharged petrol. The former goes for RM949,888 while the top of the range model breaks the seven figure barrier at RM1,089,888 (on the road prices, excluding insurance). The base 3.0 litre V6 turbodiesel engine is unavailable at launch.

Before you cry foul of the considerable price hikes – the third-gen Range Rover TDV8 and 5.0 V8 Supercharged were priced at RM730,000 and RM798,888 respectively – remember that in its home market, the latest model carries a significant 15% price premium over its predecessor. Factor in the compound tax increase and higher standard kit and it starts to look less exorbitant.

New_Range_Rover_Launch_002

The SDV8 model uses an updated 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8 diesel with 339 hp (26 more than before) at 3,500 rpm and 700 Nm of torque at 1,750-3,000 rpm. 0-100 km/h sprint takes 6.9 seconds (previously 7.8), on to a top speed of 218 km/h. Fuel economy is rated at a respectable 11.5 km per litre, an improvement of 9% over the outgoing TDV8.

Get the 5.0 litre supercharged V8 petrol and you’ll have 510 hp at your disposal from 6,000 to 6,500 rpm, with 625 Nm at 2,500-5,500 rpm. The century sprint is over in 5.4 seconds, 0.8 seconds quicker than before, with a top speed of 225 km/h or 250 km/h when specified with 22-inch wheels. A litre of petrol only returns 7.4 km, which is also 9% better than its predecessor. Range is never an issue with a 105 litre fuel tank.

Both engines are mated to the same eight-speed automatic transmission with steering mounted paddle shifters, a first for a V8 Supercharged Range Rover. The Jaguar-sourced rotary gear selector is retained here, while the just-unveiled new Range Rover Sport gets a traditional gear lever (but in turn loses out on paddle shifts).

Improvements in both performance and efficiency owe very little to the minor mechanical updates, but more to the new all-aluminium monocoque chassis – a world-first in an SUV. It’s 39% lighter than the steel item it replaces, and contributes to the massive 350 kg model-for-model weight saving.

It wouldn’t be a proper Range Rover without real go-anywhere ability, and this latest model wears its name with pride. In off-road mode, it has a ground clearance of 295.5 mm, maximum wading depth of 900 mm (200 mm deeper now), plus enhanced and highly capable approach, ramp and departure angles.

Both local models are kitted in Vogue trim – the lowest of three lines available elsewhere. They’re far from being spartan however – there’s no such thing as a poverty-spec Range Rover – and the options and customisation levels available are only limited by your wallet depth.

New_Range_Rover_Launch_030

Active air suspension (with variable ride height) and a host of driver aids (roll stability, traction, hill descent, cornering brake and dynamic stability controls all inclusive) are standard across the range. The petrol variant gets the latest Terrain Response 2 system with an Auto mode, an option on the TR1-equipped TDV8. An active rear differential lock is optional for both models.

Included in the extensive standard equipment list are xenons, LED DRLs and rear lamps, 20-inch wheels (21s pictured here), cruise control (adaptive feature is an option), surround camera system, three-zone climate control, touchscreen GPS, voice control, Bluetooth connectivity and oxford leather upholstery. A panoply of airbags are present too, as are keyless entry, vacuum doors and powered split tailgate for the 909 litre boot.

A four-seat configuration, rear seat entertainment system, dual view screen, panoramic roof, adaptive headlamps with high beam assist, towbar and a full size spare wheel are all cost options. Other extras include auto park, wade sensing feature and a 825W Meridian surround audio system that replaces the standard 380W item.

The new Range Rover is more capable on and off the road, uses less fuel, looks more modern than ever and is oh so sumptuous inside. So what do you think – this, or an S-Class?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Retep on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:31 am

DAT PRICE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Mat Global on Apr 13, 2013 at 11:17 am

This car is for the BN politician. Kerja kerani also but you got BN political position, you will have a fleet of these cars. That is the reality of Malaysia. Lets face facts. Vote wisely this election to ensure an honest government who will give us cheaper cars. This is absurd, car only 80k in US, but here RM1 million. Isn’t the tax maximum 130%? So how it become 1 million?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
      • maserhead on Apr 13, 2013 at 7:45 pm

the base price of the vogue 4.4 td is gbp80k, with minimal options, so how could you say in us only usd80k too? remember, this new RR is pricier than the previous model, however i think it is justified by the improvements given ( new chassis, better nvh and so on)

I do agree the tax is too high though. Straight rate exchange would mean this car could be in high Rm4xxK range w/o tax. still expensive but iinm this is the only one of its type in this class, no?

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Why people are getting excited? The Range Rover is voted as the Most Unreliable car in the UK by so many warranty companies, survey bodies and safety bodies. In fact, in a list of over 100 cars, Range Rover came out last in terms of reliability. It always breakdown. Infact, it is known as the King of Breakdowns in the UK. Google it and see for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Ezwan on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:09 am

car for BN? I dont think so. This car is more for people who is not cheap. Come on…dont link any politics view here in automotive world. If you can’t afford it, dont blame others

• 4agze on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:34 am

Overfinch it and it will be a much better car and look

• Idania on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:37 am

pricy!

• 7 figure?!! i rather buy cayenne

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • _xXx_ on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:51 pm

did u forget to say “….if I have the $.”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • cayenne is a good car but its doesn’t match the RR offroad.
      and while its cheaper, you fail to mention this is porsche we’re talking about here, they would make you pay extras for “painted” door mirrors.
      im surprised the doors on the car isn’t an optional extra.
      also, if you go for the base cayenne it has the same amount of standard equipment as an oxcart, not to mention it looks like one as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Matkoolkawanku on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:40 am

Haiyaaa I can afford to buy those girls but not this car………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:35 pm

The proper lowest cost of a 2nd wife/mistress is RM4Million, nothing less than this. If the total amount of money that you are willing to give her is less than this, you please don’t touch her, you are cheating her or bullying her.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • haiiiiyyaaaa…u think the girls would be interested in u? are u planning to take bank loan to “buy” them?

• Gokul on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:47 am

Jeremy Clarksson sure gonna jizz all over this car.. BTW, the price.. Damn it!!.. though some anak Dato will just swipe their credit card to get one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • They are really capable on off-road like the pick up trucks. However for the price, I wonder would anyone bring this Luxury SUV off-road, I would seriously respect them

• WHY?! on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:41 am

Why respect the person who can buy one? They’ll probably be another corrupted crony…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 41
      • munkay on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:51 pm

hey there sour grape, go gripe somewhere else and leave us car guys in peace to admire what ever car we like

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • just being rich u label people corrupt?…can i say u r corrupt people when u rich?….ayo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Who said?

Range Rovers are possessed by many rich people who are possessing absolutely clean money.

• Ezwan on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:17 am

I always saw chinese driving a RRS…chinese are a good and daredevil when u talk about business…so, if they are successfull businessman and can afford to buy a RRS, how can u say he is corrupted? Dont judge a person just because he is rich.

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:16 pm

I work hard every single day from dawn till midnight for my business. As an owner of Range Rover and enthusiast you hurt my feeling :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • skibornea on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:47 pm

you’re nothing but negative

• When Land Rover launched the Sport version in New York, we have only started receiving this model.

• armandd on Apr 12, 2013 at 10:51 am

Range Rovers are always classier than S-Class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:49 pm

If you are purely looking forward to buying a luxurious saloon, you won’t say this.
      RR & RR are very prestigeous vehicles.
      Rich people buy the vehicles that they love.
      Don’t be surprised if you see a Beetle or Mini in a big detached bungalow, the milage per year is very low.

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Probably it’s classier due to its much rarer on the road no doubt! LOL

• vwowner on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:23 am

Would not buy it even if i can afford it….seriously. i have no idea how the sports version will cost when it comes to Msia……or it will not be sold here???

• Henry Leong on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:23 am

The previous model seems like a steal now

• Kereta Man on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:25 am

Range Rover and S-Class? 2 diffrent segments… Why not ask Paul Tan his preference? Range Rover or S-Class….

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:19 pm

yes. 2 different segment. Both are in luxury category but you cant actually drive an S-class into the oil palm or even into dusun durian off road.

I have both and personally for secure feeling I take RR anyday, however the S-class is much more frugal with fuel no doubt!

• alldisc on Apr 13, 2013 at 8:55 am

as they say it, Range Rover is an S-Class in the jungle.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:38 am

This car is too uncle. I rather get the Evoque which looks nicer and much much cheaper. The Evoque is a quite capable off road and a definitely eye magnet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Have you seen & sat in the Evoque? How do you feel?

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:21 pm

young people and yuppies buy Evoque. My kid bro who’s just graduated bought one since the RRS and Vogue is just too big.

For old people like me with kids and alot of junk a full size RR suits me better than evoque. Pls compare apple with apple, not grape with nangka pls!

• WHY?! on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:44 am

I’d rather buy a Bentley which is 1/3 cheaper, and spend the rest on something more productive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Matthew on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Which Bentley do you plan on buying brand new for less than Rm1m?????

• what are you talking about? you need to add another 700k for the cheapest bentley. dont compare new car with recon la smart ass. if like that then might aswell buy a 5 series than a camry. common sense x boleh pakai

• Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:51 pm

How young are you, may we know?

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Bentley currently have no SUV in their range of models, but I have to say the Flying Spur is almost on par with RR in terms of comfort.

• Sharif on Jun 14, 2017 at 3:26 pm

They do ! You’re just not up to date . And it’s called Bentayga

• Robert on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:47 am

I’d buy one of these if I lived in places where oil is abundant and car taxes are low or non existant, like the UAE or Saudi Arabia. Plus, over in those countries there’s no tax excise on vehicles so a fully loaded RR would cost around RM500K max. If In Malaysia, I’d rather just stick with RM600K S-class or for same price as RR buy BMW M5 better, if can afford lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm

To rich people, vehicles taxes are soup-soup water especially compared to some other taxes that they paid.

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Robert,

I suggest u drive the 5.0 Supercharged and you will be amazed by the comfort and speed this 2 tonne plus SUV have! No doubt your choice is good but when you need a fast comfortable SUV, this is the best. M5 is very2 uncomfortable for long distance drive mind you!

• Black Dog on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:57 am

After placing booking for this car, I need to plan for a road trip from KL crossing to Thailand, then Burma, Vietnam and all the way to the Silk Road, China…oh well…

• it’s not that kind of car lah. for that you want a Defender. lol

• Wait after Pakatan Rakyat becomes central government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 32
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:59 pm

While I support whoever that sayang our rakyats, I don’t think common people should start thinking about buying Merc/BM/Rr/RR after PR get into PJy.
      Even if this Rr is RM450k, a lot of people still cannot afford.

• Errrr how much this car in UK ah? Beli Toyota Landcruiser saja lah. I am sure Sam Loo will agree RV better kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Land cruiser is a good reliable car but abit utilitarian and not as comfortable. The engine is also quite lethargic as it’s 4.7 V8 normally aspirated only.

Brand new in UK the 5.0 Supercharged will set you back almost £100,000 with options. With taxes and margins the price here in Malaysia is almost right.

• dugong on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Please la. Range Rover is like Rolls Royce of 4×4 / SUV. Pls don’t compare with junk like landcruiser. Though I have seen 2nd hand landcruisers selling at RM500k and LX570 at RM900k. Super ridiculous asking price for recond cars. Only idiot would buy recond LX when you can get brand new RR for the same price.

• Dude Range Rover maybe the King of the SUV, but if I’am going into some difficult terrains for months on ends, I’ll need something reliable and easy to fix and nothing still comes close to that of a Land Cruiser. There is a reason why Arabs dune taxis and UN forces still use Land Cruisers. I have a huge respect for the Range Rover, but the Land Cruiser isn’t junk, stuck in the rain forest with a Rangie and you will realize that, not that I have been in that situation, just sayin. On the side note, it is ridiculous to buy an LX 570 at that price when it is just an up-market Land Cruiser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • dugong on Apr 13, 2013 at 2:07 am

you got the hummer to do that job. there’s a reason the US army uses that. The rich normally buys RR for comfort. Landcruiser is too uncomfortable….more like a workhorse comparable to hilux.

• Ezwan on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:21 am

I had to agree…there is no such thing as ‘junk’ in car…they have their own specialty in their ways…thats what make people buy them

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:17 pm

I hope one day when i become a person who can easily afford this car (hope lah, don’t bash, let me dream a bit la) , i will still remain as a humble person that the most expensive car that i will ever buy will not be more than RM250k. I hope lah. i hope.

BTW… the price is outrageous !!! Gila punya harga !!! tambah sikit-sikit duit, sudah boleh beli every-girl-scream-&-faint-once-look-at-it type of sport car liao leh ~

• seancorr on Apr 12, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Haha I think the Nissan GTR is more than enough for me too but yeah every time I see one of these on the road I tell myself how lucky the person is to be able to own one of these.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 3:37 pm

i saw one. on plus highway’s R&R. A malay (45 maybe) & his wife. handphone is RM6XXX Blackberry Porsche design.

damn…….. the roaring sound when the GTR making his way to the highway is just so….. breath-taking.

then i said to myself… be patient… one day u will get there… let’s start with the 86.

• dewaSemut on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Quite a detail observation there.. are you racing side by side the GTR to see all these? heheh :)

Erm… how sure are you that the lady beside him is his wife? He show you the kad nikah ker? hhehehe :P

• Johnny on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Because JackeyDeck now owns a RM6XXX Blackberry Porsche design.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:02 pm

They were makan at the R&R before they took off to the plus highway. Saw him holding the Porsche-design Blackberry while makan.

As for whether the lady is his wife or girlfriend… trying to be nice… i sort of agree with my wife to stick with the idea where the lady is his wife.

BTW… if i m racing side by side to him… and he is driving the car real fast, looking at the phone rather than “paying” some attention to me… i feel insulted. lol.

• Ezwan on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:23 am

My friend is thinking to sell off his GTR just because he is in love with the new RRS 5.0

• Jimmy on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Years ago I have the same feeling.
      C-class is good enough, no need to go beyong that, wasting money.
      Trust me, when you reach there, you will buy something at least 3 times more expensive.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:27 pm

I am working in the construction field. In malaysia… construction & property industries is all about “appearance” & “how u look” & “how u talk & entertain” . How about Doing a good job? Please… many others can do it.

yes… when one reach there, one NEED that. because, sadly, that is how the “potential” client judge you.

“what? driving an almera? please….”
        “driving a civic? try to get an accord / camry la at least…”

“come, come, sir, let me give u ride to ur office with my meserati to discuss further…”
        “What? u need to do an inspection at site? No problem. i will sent my driver with the cayanne to fetch u.”

please………

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Sorry… now I read back my post. Somehow it sound like an offense to your post. It is hard to deliver “tone” in words.

Yes, sir. Perhaps u r right. But in my field, it seem to be inevitable. I trying my best not to be like that one day.

C180 or a 86. Good enough. (^.^)
        Hope I achive it and hope it stays that way.

• keluangman on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:25 pm

If you remember your humble beginnings and where you come from, even you drive a Bugatti you will still be humble.

• bmw efficient dynamic on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:12 pm

well.. if i can afford to drive this car, why should i bother how other ppl look at it?

• Will the V6 TDI be coming in anytime soon??

• mr. potato on Apr 12, 2013 at 3:10 pm

usd $84k only…. RM250K…

• barisan nasional on Apr 12, 2013 at 3:42 pm

im rather get merz benz g63 amg with those price.

• Sazali on Apr 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm

US85K

• sound like malaysian have to pay a lot lot more then those american ???

• Johnny on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:36 pm

It’s a moving Bungalow. But only thing is you can’t cook in it, bathe in it nor play hide and seek in it. All it does is get you from one place to another…and probably play some DVDs.

• Bungalow? 1M can’t get bungalow la especially in urban area. A condo or link hse is more likely. All we can blame is the tax. Rich ppl can afford that. If a person can not afford it, then go for other car that you can afford. Just like one travel in 1st class while other travel in Economy class….

• gerald on Apr 13, 2013 at 4:24 pm

dreaming of the day I can buy these knd of price range. our income so low yet goods so pricey, need a change……

• Sam Loo on Apr 14, 2013 at 7:55 am

WoW. sat that price tag,RV not an issue

• What? 7 figures? No thanks. I’ll stick with my “Bumblebee” wannabe from P2. Why? That is because I can’t afford anything higher than RM100K. Thanks government. I luv you laaa.