Toyota GT86 CS-V3 for the Nürburgring VLN series

GT86 CS-V3-01

More pics and full details of the Toyota GT86 CS-V3 race car has been released. Created by Toyota Motorsport GmbH (TMG), the CS-V3 has been refined and packaged as an entry-level race car for easy maintenance, low running costs and great fun, following a successful development period, during which it won its class in the Nürburgring 24 Hours.

The GT86 CS-V3 has been developed specifically for the V3 class of the Nürburgring-based VLN series and homologation from the Deutsche Motor Sport Bund provides a chance to race in many other production-based championships as well.

Same 200 hp/205 Nm from the boxer-four and six-speed manual, but TMG has stiffened the chassis and optimised weight distribution for motorsport while installing racing exhaust, suspension and brakes, plus racing slicks.

GT86 CS-V3-08

Race car safety kit includes an FIA-approved roll cage, racing seat, six-point safety harness and an electronic fire extinguisher system.

The price of the Toyota GT86 CS-V3 is €38,500 excluding tax or €45,815 including German VAT. That’s cheaper than the stock Toyota 86 sold in Malaysia despite all the racing goodies by TMG. Europeans who want the CS-V3 look without going to track can opt for the Toyota GT86 Cup Edition, which is limited to 86 units and includes two tickets to a VIP customer event at the ‘Ring.

So far, we’ve also seen race cars from Team Toyota GB and GPRM, a UK-based motorsport company. Also see the interesting 330 hp GRMN Sports FR Concept Platinum by Gazoo Racing here.

\

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:41 am

“That’s cheaper than the stock Toyota 86 sold in Malaysia despite all the racing goodies by TMG”
    What happened to UMW and Toyota Thailand? This 2 country sold the most expensive GT86 in the world! I can’t see a single one on the road in Malaysia but saw a few everyday in Melbourne.

• I see it almost everyday at the Sunway area, one red and one white…..but sad thing is for some reason the buyers opted the slower, more expensive Auto version, which tells you a lot about Malaysian buyers, even the CRZ manual only accounts 10% of all CRZ sold.

• Buy for show, not go. Show off they can afford to give the government 100k tax.

• Universal Car Fan on Apr 12, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Dunno bout Langkawi but here in Labuan there’s been a steady increment of 86,seems to pop out more everyday..most in manual trans.. RM143k made it,i dunno,kinda affordable??correct me if i’m wrong..

• Relatively la, but UMW is making a lot of profit from its models. 86 in brunei is only 45k dollars.
            The problem is labuan no road to play. And I heard from my labuan friend need 5 years before can ship out.

• frenzy on Apr 13, 2013 at 6:04 pm

If I am UMW, I will sell GT86 MT at RM150-170K and AT at RM300K! This car is for driving enthusiasm, not for showing off.

• That’s why this 5th of May is important. We gonna vote AP system out of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Ah Beng on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Better than CRZ.

• dRSam on Apr 12, 2013 at 4:28 pm

I like their steering, because the steering direct and full of feedback, allowing us to place the GT 86 on the road with pinpoint accuracy

• crank on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:33 pm

This car could actually be the most basic and fun to drive “boy racer” car in Malaysia something like the Neo R3, Satria GTi or even Putra but unfortunately the price in RM made its presence in Malaysian roads extremely rare like its super exclusive.