Proton could re-enter Chile market this year

proton preve thailand

Proton cars are likely to make a re-entry into Chile this year following the effectiveness of the Malaysia-Chile Free Trade Agreement (FTA), ambassador of Chile to Malaysia Christian Rehren has told Bernama. The FTA came into force early last year.

According to the report, the national carmaker was in the republic in the 1990s, but it is not known exactly when it exited the market. Models that were sold there included the early Wira and Satria.

Bernama quotes Rehren as saying the Chilean car market had become one of Latin America’s most sophisticated, and that it “could be a good option (for Proton) to return,” since the carmaker was already well-known there.

Chile drives on the right of the road, and so if this were to indeed happen this year, it could mark the first LHD exports of the current generation of Proton products, which include the Prevé and Exora. We’ve seen LHD Prevés undergoing on-road tests, so perhaps this doesn’t come as a big surprise.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sub_zero on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:45 pm

waiting for basher to kambing!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • Peyno on Apr 16, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Proton basher= perodua n japs entry level fanboy/salesman je

Prffthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
      • sureornot on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:05 am

i see most proton basher in paultan are those of korean car driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
        • Jimmy on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:52 am

Proton cannot even sort their poor quality in Malaysia, they want to stink up Malaysia’s name overseas?

Never learn lesson kah? Past 20 years failed miserably in every single overseas market. Oh btw, Malaysian buyers are reaaly bodoh cause in SAUDI, all Proton models are sold half the price compared to its own rakyat in Malaysia. Pandai BN tipu its own rakyat. Summore Arabs are so much richer than us but get our car for half the price. Still want to undi BN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
          • dont think proton owner the only real bodoh coz been cheated by gov, coz other car oso same, got duty excise.. hahahaha.. some kena AP sumore. Conclusion, all malaysian car owner has been cheated by gov.

Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Same like perodua kan. Sell cheaper in UK , mauritius.. In mesia sonexpensive for tin milo level

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Proton basher=cheapo perodua n japs entry level
          Korean basher= cheapo japs entry level

• There is a fine line between bashing and stating the facts about Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • exactly. But so long those “facts” are + points, so it will keep the fangirls happy.

• DRB-HICOM, where is the turnaround plan that you promised to reveal in March??????????????

• Expatriate VN on Apr 16, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Here got one diehard blind supporter ‘kerbau’!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • so, good luck then???

• Vader on Apr 16, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Already well-known at there?
      Wait and see..

• driver on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:40 am

Credit when it’s due. Good effort P1. Make us proud, good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 9:48 am

Are you from Australia?
        Yes, Australian should be proud and give credit to Jaguh Kampung No. 2 for giving them 6 airbag and 5 star ANCAP rating!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • driver on Apr 18, 2013 at 1:08 am

Credit = entering Chile, which is the topic of this posting.

P1 giving less airbag = bad bad move!, which should be fought for. But this’s not the topic we’re discussing now.

Wake up!

• Chile, not bad, quite a big country, good market potential, and buffed up suspension Protons (Chile roads looked horrible)can do well. But Proton has been more talk than action (Emas concept, Detroit Electric tie up…etc,etc)so until there’s a solid plan, I’ll take this with a pinch of salt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • isn’t that country has ethanol as alternative fuel?

• peyno on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:13 pm

don’t forget BEZZA and Kedidi concept car

prrrrtfhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:13 pm

You must be sore loser from Jaguh Kampung No. 2 car owner! Only dare to mentioned small/compact car from other brands!

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:28 pm

See.. So touching ,sensitive n protective when rakyat talk about perodua

Prffthhhh

• darker marker on Apr 16, 2013 at 7:11 pm

why being re-entered?

You mean last time Proton was shown to the door (rejected)? Any reason why?

Proton, is it very hard to tell the fact, the whole fact to our dear Malaysian?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Proton used to sell cars in Europe (including automobile-savvy Germany), the Caribbean, South America and Russia during the mid 1990s till early 2000s. Most of the exported Protons during this period were Wira, Putra, Satria and GTi units. Unfortunately, the 1997 Asian Financial Crisis struck and Proton felt it really hard. There is not much evidence available to explain why Proton withdrew from so many of their export markets. They actually did quite well in Germany and some Latin American countries. If you go to Germany today, you will see quite a few Protons. You can even check on Google Earth, and even the used car listings online.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • I made this map a while ago for Wikipedia, it shows all of Proton’s current and former export markets;

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_(automobile)#Global operations

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Bongcs on Apr 17, 2013 at 8:28 am

Brilliant comment

• unforgiven on Apr 16, 2013 at 7:14 pm

It’s always a good idea, since the rakyat is so rich to keep sponsor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Proton ,jangan pergi memalukan maruah Malaysia ok~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Expatriate VN on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:30 pm

For export market our Jaguh Kampung No 2 sure good one, or best of the best. They will give 6 airbag and 5 star ANCAP rating car. Also selling at cheap price. Where in Bolehland we get this offer since our consumers life is cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
    • With 6 airbag and 5 star ANCAP is good,,,actually they know what car is this? or just watch Top Gear show?

• Ya Preve is 5 star but lousy engine n cant match with its problematic CVT la.
        P1 export to where is non of our biz since all of us not holding its shares o working w them. just lower down our car price then we will surely buy u. else u pay RM40k for a crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • jatco-cvt on Apr 18, 2013 at 2:03 am

problematic CVT is the least heard. The famous wrong perception is ‘enjin bocor’ from proton basher, anyway many problems had been rectified already.

• Peyno on Apr 18, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Never heard so called problematic cvt.. Preve basher just wanna spread wrong info n know nuts

• hey mister, fyi, we do get a 5 star ancap rated preve. dont just bash blindly. zzz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Expatriate VN on Apr 16, 2013 at 10:49 pm

anon, OK, OK, OK dude ……. The fact is Saga BLM come with 1 star at most 2 airbag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • Peyno on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:31 pm

See… I told u guys.. No comment about perodua.. Only talk about proton…. Jenis2 tu jee
          Prfffthhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 9:52 am

When Juara Kampung No. 1 topic come, then that is another target to hit!

This topic is about our Jaguh Kampung No. 2! So, I focus this one first!!!!

• tokmoh on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:48 pm

by this time, i think almost everyone forgot about mou with honda.

now talk abt go to chile? convince me this is not another tkss session to goreng drb share price up again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Last year said to announce turn around plan on Nov 12, then postpone to March 2013. Now mid of the April 13, talk cock about export to Chile.

After few weeks this news cooooooool down. May be next month may announce revived planned to export to USA! !@#$%^&* ……

• nones on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Proton must prove itself as number#1 car for Malaysia market first. Its not only develop basic car but cover all segment like kia and hyundai do. Otherwise..its rubbish

• Peyno on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Jaguh kampung for what?? Look at perodua.. Out of kampung land mesia .. Nobody wanna buy

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:06 am

That is why both also Jaguh Kampung only! Preve global small car konon!

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Bash proton n no comment about perodua.. See jenis2 tu je.. Real jdm, conti, korean car owner wudnt act like this
          Prffthhh

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Proton’s car owner sore loser! You feel the embarrassment and “kecil hati” when you find out perhaps your hard earn $$$$ with 9 year car loan to own crap P1 car is the best you can do, yet the truth out there is there are so many in PT have -ve perception on your crap-triotic local product!

• ron97 on Apr 18, 2013 at 2:10 am

I read most hatred proton comments are only from expat vn and several others, not so many in PT

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Bash proton wudnt make u soooo jdm… Rakyat know u just a jdm n conti lover but cant afford it.. Prffthhh

Real jdm n conti owner will bash all or dint care at all about proton.
          U must be ah beng who believe without nap u can own bmw or gtr.. Prfffttthhh work harder n earn more money

• that day I went to the show room and sit into Preve (back sit), I still feel the same shit!

I am a Persona owner!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • sepul on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:47 pm

What kind of shit? Care to explain?

• The interior and the rubber around the door! If without heavy tax on city, probably both city n preve price the same BUT why city build quality especialy interior is pass or good i would say?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Mat Rempit on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:37 am

The smelly kind?

• why Preve no overprice car??

• Green on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:19 am

Preve is considered overpriced car.
      If you compare it to cars at American.

Preve cost is higer then most famous C-segment car at US.
      such as Honda Civic, Altis, Elantra.
      these 3 are relative cheaper then RM65k for 2000cc.

It seems that Malaysia have high cost production?
      Pure Ripped off?
      Proton Should Really Consider about this.

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:11 pm

the only way proton can reduce its high cost of production is by increasing is economies of scale.

unfortunately that is yet to happen since they were focusing only on domestic market. their supposedly hot hatch is only lukewarm, they have no diesel engines or a reasonably good hatchback for european market (both gen2 and savvy failed miserably in UK)

• banshee on Apr 18, 2013 at 2:13 am

Thailand is better comparison. New sentra is easily more expensive than preve while it doesn’t get much tax and under specced summore.

Preve is not overpriced

• Ah Beng on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:00 am

Preve still sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • Ah Beng on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:11 am

Why the G enters other country on Free Trade Act but don’t honor them in own country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 9:54 am

Own country give NAP to rakyat. So that to allow cronies and AP King milk until dry the consumers.

• Rakyat on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:00 pm

This is called “janji ditepati”. Janji to cronies to milk the rakyat.

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:24 pm

FTA is mean for helping elite cronies and AP King only. You the rakyat, have to bear with NAP to support and enrich them in the name of crap-triotic and national car!

Good luck to those die-hard supporters, go and vote for BN come 5 May 2013, so that this eco-system can maintain at least for another 5 years if BN come into power again!

• Ah Beng on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:18 am

Is P1

• Ah Beng on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:23 am

Is P1 going to oblivion?

• Ah Beng on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:33 am

Is P1 going to oblivion? …and never return to bolehland?

• Sam Loo on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:51 am

Let chile have this rubbish. Power windows problem? Send back to Tanjung Malim!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:03 am

Export market where got rubbish! 6 airbag and 5 star ANCAP rating! Rubbish for local market only!

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:10 am

6 airbags for overseas.. 4 airbags for local

Japs entry level
        12 airbags for overseas… 1 or 2 airbags for local

Perodua
        Nobody wanna buy in overseas
        1 airbag fir local

Prffthhh

• Concerned on Apr 17, 2013 at 8:13 am

As much as I like the Preve and new Exora CFE. I also have had seen many units of problematic issues such as various faulty sensors, cars jerking, die off at reverse, limping CVT. Why so many issues when the units sold are just a fraction in what the market offers ?

• Fredo on Apr 17, 2013 at 8:52 am

ermm….i’m wondering how many of u guys have test-driven the preve before making any statement here…none? No offense but please dont just read guys, go see and feel for yourself.
    I’m not a P1 supporter nor basher, just a plain car enthusiast.
    I’ve driven both Preve versions (before and after ecu re-map due to reports that they were sluggish especially during take off). Apart from the engine/transmission noise, i’m actually happy with the overall performance and there’s a noticeable improvement between the 2 versions in terms of pick-up/ acceleration. The later didnt feel too sluggish anymore.
    Yes, the fit and finish is still below industry standard but the overall package is good while the handling is almost great, comparable to Pug 308, only the power delivery is not as smooth as the 308.
    If the car uses something else’s badge, it would sell like a hot cake, considering the package, 1.6L turbo with ESC, navigation system and 5 star ANCAP crash rating among many others, you just cant get one below 100K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:00 am

You are “mentally retard” car enthusiast! If you want to have fair comment, neither basher nor supporter, then comments at least under Langkawi car price environment! And the best under US car market environment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • zapruder on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:53 pm

why have to comment under those circumstances? It’s not like he will be buying car in us or langkawi if he live in kl.
        Don’t simply call others retarded, boy.

• junaidi on Apr 17, 2013 at 5:08 pm

If you’re soo confident of preve, why not liberalise the market and compete fairly…I’m sure you’re not stoopid enuff to know that the sub-100k price advantage is gained purely by increasing your competitors pricing. Agree???

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Whose competitor u referred to?? Toyota vios?? City??? Ford fieasta n kia can offwr better spec for vios price.. Who to blame??
        Yess.. Jazz, swift , polo compact car price up becoz of perodua rite??
        Prffthhhh

• Dru-Zod on Apr 19, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Fredo,
      My bro-in-law bought one of the earliest units of Preve last year. So, he had to go through the remap and then have 3 of the power window motors (except the driver’s side) replaced during the re-call. His both front lights just blew a month ago. There are other minor issue like the brackets holding the exhaust piping rusting badly etc. This is all before the car is 1 years old.
      I understand some people’s reasoning is that they are looking value for money i.e. pay 72k but get all this extra stuff that the Contis, Japs and Korean won’t offer for the same amount of money.
      Honestly after seeing the headache he goes through, I would rather just pay extra and get the foreign car for a peace of mind.
      And why didn’t Proton go for the EuroNCAP like they used to for their other models. Are they scared they will FAIL EuroNCAP, so they went for the “kacang putih” ones??
      PS: Read the Preve owners facebook page and you will get a clearer picture.

• Setakat 30 biji or 50 biji, tak payah la.

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:02 am

But cerita ma, bapa Jaguh Kampung No. 2 ni cakap nak bagi tau biz plan last Nov 12, lepas to March 13, tapi sekarang buat cerita pi Chile in April, May mungkin buat cerita baru pulak sign MOU sini, sign MOU sana …..

• mr_3m on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:47 am

MoU is cheap, have no value whatsoever… just a memo so if forget can just throw into dustbin… so sign as many as you want but nothing much may materialise out of it… semua kena CONNNNN!!!! Hahahaha…

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:17 pm

See… Jenis perodua salesman je over… Sam loo real toyota salesman must be laughing at toyota wannabe salesman ni
      Prffthhhhh

• Blacktop on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:52 am

Sian proton.. X paham2.. Org marah kan proton sebab kualiti yg d beri x sepatutnya dengan harga.. Member veli persona basic plat WWW.. Smpai skg ada prob.. The latest 1 skg, 3 tgkap x leh turun ( depan kiri kanan n blkg kiri) + bunyi berdesing bila gerak.. Makin slow makin kiat bunyinya.. Pergi sc shah alam.. Jawapannya diorg kata tayar bengkak.. HAHAHAHA.. Pls.. Im also owner of persona M ( 2nd hand) tnpa ada problem apa2.. Just bumbung bocor masuk air..Hahahaha.. Plat kete WQL.. Funny la u proton..

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Cuba google cerita problem perodua n entry level celup jepun asean made car pulak… Yg tu senyap2 dah laa
      Prggfftyythhh

• John F Kennedy on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

Just give Pakatan Rakyat to win the election and we can see Proton K.O.Proton dont give a f*** about their car here why should they care about other country’s market??Bodoh punye Ceo proton

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Proton , perodua, cronies umw, tan chongn honda melaka rite??? Ppl want real japs car.. Not cellup one
      Prffthhhh

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:36 pm

My best wishful thinking for Juara Kampung No. 2 is like AirAsia, transfer their Kilang and HQ to other country within Asean region (i.e. Indon), and sale Tg Malim plant to VW.

Thereafter our market become P1 export market. Then P1 will treat us like Australian by giving us 6 airbag and 5 star ANCAP rating car at dirt cheap price.

• Peyno on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Agree.. Lets cronies comp like proton , perodua, umw, tan choong clise factory in mslaysia n concentrate factory in thai n indon… If we can get better assembly n cheaper toyota from thai… Why we need umw toyota here?

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 8:32 pm

This one, I am 100% agreed with you!

• jellybean on Apr 18, 2013 at 2:21 am

why so buthurt with proton, your 20 years old car kena smoked by preve turbo everyday kah?

• 023455 on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:53 pm

FYI,,,malaysian policy for foreign company is to merge with local company if they want do business here….many developing country adapt this policy…that is why the price is expensive than developed nation like US(their dealer is Original Equipment Manufacturer OEM),…that why toyota merge with UMW and build plant here in malaysia…if not …you wont see any toyota car in malaysia..

• Nieko on Apr 22, 2013 at 12:11 pm

fyi the proton preve has been awarded ancap 5 stars ,yes it is the australian sppec but structure wise all car is the same ,for any country

• Nieko on Apr 22, 2013 at 12:13 pm

hey did you guys know that in the USA there is one Satria GTI and Two Impians ,,haa haa bet you guys didn’t know