Schumacher to partner Mercedes beyond motorsports

Schumacher_Mercedes

While Little Schumi Sebastian Vettel is playing engineer with Infiniti, the brand that wants to be Mercedes-Benz, Michael Schumacher proper is jumping head first with the real deal. The pair announced a long-term partnership that will extend far beyond motorsports and Formula 1.

Fresh off his second retirement from the sport (after a disappointing three-year stint with Mercedes GP), Schumacher will be actively involved in the development of Mercedes-Benz road cars, particularly the brand’s future safety and comfort systems called ‘Intelligent Drive’. Part of his duties will be fine-tuning Mercedes’ driver assistance systems.

“During my Formula 1 time I was very often able to rely on the help of all the technologies available to me in the car and use them to my advantage. That is why I am a declared supporter of driving assistance systems both in the racing car and in the road-going car”, said Schumacher of his new undertaking.

Well then. Will we be seeing a hidden ‘Option 13’ feature in future Mercedes cars? That will be quite a nifty trick, having traction control completely ‘off’ but still allowing you to look like a hero in everybody else’s eyes. Or maybe a ‘team order’ button with which you can overtake other Mercs with ease even. Any other suggestions?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Confused on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Recurrence of ferrari incident. So i presume 3 years later come out of retirement join proton f1, perform badly, gets replaced by an f1 ex champion trying desperately to win another championship after screwing his life with a sort of hot singer older than him, ultimately making michael deep in development with proton cars. A proton persona that drives awesome. Sounds greAt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • i think u refering the wrong team…shumi never with proton f1 but petronas f1 team

• kadajawi on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Schumi look so sexy. I wish I could touch his muscular body. So macho.

• KakRosmah on Apr 16, 2013 at 5:13 pm

How dare you ? Wah take my contract balak, now gatal with Schumi. Jantan Sial…..

• kadajawi on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Now butthurt Toyota fans want to make me look gay. Seriously? How mature.

(And thanks to the PT staff for approving those sort of postings.)

Anyway, I’d rather have him more involved in working on the handling…

• You might want to get a Gravatar to make an identity for yourself in PaulTan and some other site’s comment section
          https://en.gravatar.com/
          takes a while(a week?) for it to take effect

• Hi all, i am AVH…Anti Vehicle Honda.
            Proton Rules.
            Resale value also Bagus. Maintenance also kacang Putih. Price also cheap.
            Death also easy once get into accident.
            No need to pay high hospital bill.
            That’s why i love my Proton Pervert.

• AhJib on Apr 16, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Damn. I thought my contract balak went to Ichibawasan (Japan). How the hell it end up with french gays ?

Sigh, i think i should ask our MITI to ban kow all this french gays car.

• tokmoh on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:39 pm

da dpt lcw tu cukup aa… siap duduk sebelah dia time wedding dia lg, ish.

pi la tlg pak jib g election lg baik

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Does Schumacher know MB got really bad RV in Malaysia? E250 is RM400,000 brand new. Now 2012 model want to sell for RM280,000 also susah. Imagine, losing RM120,000 in one year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawi on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:24 pm

So what. A brand new Camry also loses a lot in the first year. It’s common in D segment and above cars, not just in Malaysia. Also I doubt he will care, it’s not like he doesn’t have any money.

• venven81 on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:33 pm

what does RV have to do with Schumi? weird that we always have such comment that is so irrelevant…

• MrCounterstrike on Apr 23, 2013 at 1:44 am

Who cares if Mercedes Benz has bad RV. People who buy MB don’t care about RV, They buy Mercedes so that they can enjoy the performance, as well as having a host of safety features, comfortable and luxury interiors and having the latest tech in the car.

• Would be great if there is more of the Hakkinen/Schumacher commercials.

Like this one:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSMQM4ASGRg

• haha!
    all those driver aids did not stop stop from driving into Villenuve in 1997. so will there be a Schumi sport mode that drives the car into the ah beng next to you if he pisses you off?