VIDEO: Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak fully revealed

Yesterday, we showed you teaser images of the Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak, which will compete in the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb in June. Now we have a video and pics of the fully revealed racer. The monster 208 will be driven by none other than living rally legend Sébastien Loeb in the event’s top level Unlimited class.

This year marks the French team’s return to the classic American event after memorable victories there in 1988 and 1989. A winged Peugeot 405 T16 was terrorising the Colorado hill back then, with Ari Vatanen and Robby Unser respectively winning behind the wheel.

The 156-corner “Race to the Clouds” 20 km route is now entirely asphalt. The start line is located at an altitude of 2,800 metres, which means that competitors face an altitude difference of some 1,500 metres.

Peugeot 405-T16

Meanwhile, the lack of oxygen is a challenge not only for the car engines – which can lose up to 30% of their power – but also for the drivers who must remained fully focused. Rhys Millen won last year’s climb in his Hyundai Genesis Coupe.

No specs of the 208 T16 were released, but among the details we can pick out are a carbon-fibre body with flared wheelarches, side exhaust, roof scoop and a big rear wing. The stripped-out, roll-caged, no-nonsense interior houses a carbon-fibre racing seat, a steering wheel flanked by shift paddles and a digital readout.

We were lucky to have covered the event live last year – read our Pikes Peak coverage here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Veneno on Apr 16, 2013 at 3:24 pm

the wing..!!! the wing..!!!

• That fake front and rear light stickers!!!!

• Jimmy on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:30 pm

The French are only good in French Kissing. This car is not cantiq at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Lousy car with bad RV. Peugeot cars in Malaysia has not only bad RV but totally cannot sell. Try selling a Peugeot, its like selling a Saab. Nobody wants it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • who say, i want

• 1 idiot talking about RV on a racing car post,
            another idiot talking about how a racing car looks.
            Dumbass, you morons probably never even heard of pikes peak, this car isnt for looks, function<form
            you two just stick to driving your vios/city with fart exhaust and TRD/type R stickers.
            this will blow you away like how your mother blowed your dad's best friends.

• @ben,

I guess you never heard of *Sarcasm*

• war_ant on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Wah!….Malaysian car industry expert speaking! Everybody pay attention please. He knows it doesn’t sell, thats why they keep releasing new Peugot models. And it must be all foreigners buying up the cars!….respect bro!…u the man!

• lmao, your comment is as invalid as your brains. Peugeot sales are rocketing regardless of wherever it is, the 208 is arguably the best selling supermini in the uk and nasim is receiving loads of booking,
            and learn how to spell “peugeot” you sodomized anus.
            And thanks but no thanks i dont need respect from idiots, it doesn’t make any difference to my reputation.

• war_ant on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:11 am

Aiyaaah Ben! The comment was directed at Hyundai De la Junk and it was supposed to be sarcastic! Get it?
          Yeah, sorry about the ‘peugot’ spelling.Not so educated and articulate as you.

• Dr Cooper on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:03 pm

that is one hell of a spoilers..wonder how many ah beng gonna accept the challenge

• kadajawi on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:04 pm

The French are lousy at making cars. They should just stick to making their overpriced Louis Vutton bags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • sebastian loeb and peugeot motorsport.
    these names don’t understand losing.

• this is a monster

• kentji on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

sick beast with some overkill spoiler and diffuser

• Kudajawee on Apr 16, 2013 at 5:10 pm

2 naked men in a french car racing to the bare back mountain ? Sure a hit movie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • The car has such a short wheel base. Would be very twitchy, but I’m sure it is easily handled by Seb’s incredible skills.

Oh yes…
    Rhys Millen – watch and learn how a REAL rally driver does it.

• See how amateur rally driver, i.e. Monster Tajima, destroy REAL rally driver through sheer hardwork and practice.

• First of all, Nobuhiro Tajima is not an amateur rally driver. He has competed in countless of Pikes Peak races, ran a world rally team, compete in junior rally competitions, among others.

Secondly, I was comparing Rhys Millen (the Formula drift driver and hill climb wannabe) to Seb.

Get your facts straight, Mate!

• To me, Tajima doesn’t qualify as a REAL rally driver as his experience in WRC is not that much in comparison to Seb. If he had to run in WRC now, he’d be much pwn hard by Seb for sure. Everyone has different opinion on how to judge a person is amateur.

But Pikes Peak, that’s his backyard playground. Seb and other REAL rally driver does not have a chance against him (and his crazy suzuki).

And I wasn’t comparing Rhys Millen to Seb. I was just pointing out that Seb will lose to Tajima just because Tajima is much more experienced in Pikes Peak.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:03 pm

First time Peugeot enter pikes peak they got 2nd, 3rd and 4th place… second time they win… third time they win…

• cant wait to see seb racing on Pikes Peaks.

• Maserati on Apr 17, 2013 at 9:39 am

Maybe those french rally drivers are scare to win mah. They see Tajima face also they wanna puke. What’s more with Monster Tajima name….they must be thinking he got huge *censored* ahem.

• laluan sehala on Apr 29, 2013 at 3:18 pm

tajima has a really funny looking 86 for this year’s challenge. it will be great to see who comes out tops. seems honda will also be challenging for top honours. wonder if we will get to watch the race on tv.