Nissan X-Trail facelift now on sale – 2.0 2WD RM149k

X-Trail main

A refreshed Nissan X-Trail is now on sale, and it appears to be the facelifted version of the second-generation X-Trail that was launched locally in July 2010. The sole powertrain available here is a 2.0L CVT 2WD with 139 PS and 198 Nm of torque, with drive going to the front wheels.

Compared to the original second-gen X-Trail that starred in our five-car SUV shootout, this updated model’s exterior gets a reprofiled bumper, a slightly different grille, new 17-inch wheels and new tail lamps with LEDs. Speaking of LEDs, the front projector Xenons are joined by the white diodes in an L-shape.

Inside, the 2013 car gets a new dark interior tone and multimedia navigation system with six-inch touchscreen, reverse camera and iPod/Bluetooth connectivity. The 2-DIN unit is joined by a Fine Vision Meter with a larger square multi-info display between the dials. These help make the X-Trail dashboard look a little less spartan than before.

X-Trail rear

Also, the steering, gear knob and handbrake lever are now leather wrapped. Other amenities include Nissan’s Intelligent Key and powered front seats. Nissan also highlights a retractable rear drink holder with cooling function and a glovebox with cooling/heating function.

Now available in Solid White, the 2013 Nissan X-Trail is priced at RM148,800 on the road, which is around RM700 lower than the original sticker price.

This should be the first and last update we’ll see of this X-Trail, a curvy new one based on the Hi-Cross concept is on the way – view it here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kentji on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:52 pm

bored looking exterior, meh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
  • Samuraisan on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Ugly ler. Seriously, who would buy such an ugly suv ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Nobody, and then i didn’t realize this car anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • _xXx_ on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:00 pm

It wasn’t ugly 12 years ago….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Fukuoka on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Well, the Japanese do, seriously. Here in Japan, the X-Trail is no.3 behind Mazda CX5 and Subaru Forester in the SUV sales chart right now.

Looks is subjective then, isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Mat Global on Apr 17, 2013 at 5:10 pm

In Australia too. The practical buyers there placed Nissan X-Trail second to Toyota Prado in 2012.
        And if combined with Nissan Dualis/Qashqai, Nissan is by far the most popular 4wd suv in Aus.

Maybe we have to bring the kangaroos here then only the buying patterns changed.

• Indeed,in japan it list top sale chart, funny is people who say ugly himself driving uglier cars

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:54 pm

This is for the macho & hardcore SUV lover, No hairdresser sissy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Apr 17, 2013 at 5:43 pm

??
        Small size, just like a CRV.
        2WD FWD only.
        SUV without telescopic steering.
        No strong points, unless the price is RM128,888 under current ruler.

Jimmy, Mr.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Nissan is for old uncles. Yes, the old uncles or the apek contractor. No real gentleman will dare to be seen in one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • _xXx_ on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I think I saw this car more than 10 years ago? How about a 120Y facelift???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • JUN JUN on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:27 pm

sorry not our taste…

better buy santa fe or crv or coming soon all new ford escape

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Well at least they added some goodies for the same price but seriously….no steering controls? I dun see any cruise control or VSC available on this model too.

Try harder Nissan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • why is this thing still alive? throw poo at it and burn it with fire!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Mat Global on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:59 pm

If i can’ t afford a Range Rover, i will settle with Nissan X-Trail for its sheer pleasure high driving which other suvs can match. However this 2 wheel drive does not excite me.
    The older X-Trail with 4 wheel drive and its ever classic and rugged looks with cvt and superb handling and comfort is a vehicle i won’t part with, no matter how ancient it appears.
    Mind you this a car which scored 4 stars and when it becomes second hand used it obtained 5 full stars by What Car u.k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
  • Berann on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Haha this year is 2013 but Nissan still living in year 2000…I cant find anything from this car is better than CX-5. Please give us new model rather than facelift the outdated dinosaur model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • TC always bring in all outdated design NISSAN to Bolehland.
    Don’t think of malaysian is stupid.
    We want Qashqai instead of this boxy suv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • greedy tan-chong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • ThePolygon on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Rowwrrr… what’s that sound? Oh no it’s a dinosaur… awww.. comeon… Nissan you can do better than that.

If Nissan is so holding on to this model, why not just price it way lower at RM98k and maybe construction companies will get them all as company vehicle. I mean seriously… we r in 2013.

• too boxy!

• ThePoor on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Clear stock in Japan

• Come on! TC, please look at your global website and there are MUCH BETTER models you guys can sell to us!

• Ugly….and speechless…

• Expatriate VN on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Still face lift here and there, second only to our Juara Kampung No. 1. Why face lift and not bring in new model TC?

Why you don’t Ah Beng face-liftyour current Serena? TC should bring in latest Serena. I am waiting for this car, which already in other market for around 2 years. This pathetic TC attitude …….

• BrianXYZ on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:03 pm

What? No Traction Control?
    With the Japanese YEN depreciating now, I think more safety features can be offered.

• 2013 facelift but still look like boring 1st gen interior. Manual aircond and no steering audio wheel control

• Aduh…sakitnya mata ku!!

• Petrol on SUV? no thx…

• nones on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:41 pm

This philosophy is old fashioned laahh..

• lelong-lelong on Apr 17, 2013 at 5:30 pm

what the hell ! price still so cheap since lauched 10 years ago

• boyke on Apr 17, 2013 at 6:20 pm

As horribly specced as it is, it’s actually a pretty good car to drive.

I happen to own one in Jakarta, to take the kids to school (my family lives there). It’s a 2.5 CVT in highest spec (leather seats, steering switches, hyper roof rails).

In Malaysia, a CRV 2.0 may be 148k, a CX-5 may be 154k, and this overpriced car is 149k. But here in Jakarta, the X-Trail is actually the bargain.

A CRV 2.0 costs RM 117k, a CX-5 Sport costs RM 118k, but a 2.0 X-Trail is actually RM 110k, and even a mid-range 2.5 is RM 115k.

Tan Chong really needs to lower the price or make the car more competitive, because there’s no way people are going to buy an expensive, badly specced car, ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Trust me no matter which Nissan branch you enter the salesman will offer you a new Nissan X-Trail for RM138k. RM149k is just the retail price.

• Malaysian on Apr 17, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Where is the Traction Control System?

• Josh Ling on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:57 pm

errr, only solid white colour available for the new x-trail now?

• Better go for CX5..

• TC place a lousy spec for this good car…from the oversea motor blog, you can find not bad comment on this model with the full spec inplace however look at this one offered is no way people will give good comment…even the classic model which still on sale is better than this low spec model…

• Joe Lye on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:50 am

No comment at all ….nothing special about this SUV..design slightly different compare previous model.

• LeJohn on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:56 am

2 facelifts and almost no change what so ever. Nissan clearly thinks that people would rather buy this over the Korean rivals who give better specs , better engine and gearbox. They are just not improving anymore….

• Mat Global on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:13 pm

my friend,i can agree with better specs but better engine and gearbox still a lot to catch up with Nissan.