SPYSHOTS: Subaru Impreza WRX STI at the ‘Ring

subaru wrx spy-04

Remember the stunning Subaru WRX Concept from the recent 2013 New York Auto Show? That car previews the next-gen Subaru Impreza WRX (could be just called WRX), but running test mules have been spotted testing on the world’s most famous circuit, the Nurburgring.

As expected, the disguised test mule here looks less dramatic than the NYC concept car. That new hexagonal grille is present, as is the must-have WRX hood scoop, but the concept’s showy “hawk eye” headlamps and foglamps have been toned down for production. The rear end follows the trend – conventional tail lamp clusters have been ordered.

What it does have over the WRX Concept is a traditional big spoiler, handle-style. Look closely at the grille, and you’ll find a taped-up emblem on the bottom right corner. While the concept car had a WRX badge here, the outline of the italicised emblem here leads us to believe it’s an STI logo underneath.

It’s clear that this car’s stance is more athletic than before. The concept is 4,521 mm long, about the same length as the current WRX STI sedan, although it’s nearly 100 mm wider at 1,889 mm and much lower than today’s car (1,389 mm v 1,470 mm).

Looks like the next chapter in the WRX STI story will be coming soon. Click here for more pics of the WRX Concept and here to watch a video of it.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kadajawi on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:14 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 104
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:31 am

Those are just rich man show-off car. A lot of them can’t even drive a stick shift. Some of them can’t even tell what’s the difference between I6 and V6.
      At least those wannabe know what’s inside their car. Those Ah Beng know what to fit inside their car. Turbo, remap ECU….etc, they know what to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
      • frenzyaustin on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Have to elaborate further. Its just not a rich man show off car, its an ah beng car. No class at all. Most of the owners here can’t even speak a word of English and are Ah Beng to the core. Malu lah to even be seen in one of these cars.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 17, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Why this car got pimples on it? What kind of paint is that? Look like Chicken pox. Paint also don’t know how to do well, how to sell to the gentleman consumer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • ae101 on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:38 am

Bro, wrx and mitsu evo are consider sport sedan. After modified, you can bring the car to any kind of motor sports and even beat lambo. No point compare supercar where owner only can drive it on tarmac because too exclusive. Problem here is the driver and not the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • HakimR on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:38 am

Different people, different interest Kadajawi sir.
      “Real Sports Cars” (i didn’t know if there’s such thing as a fake sports car though) is just too expensive in Malaysia and not all can afford such luxury. Subaru is based and inspired by WRC, and the car is great for any speed demons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • crzSupercharger on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:08 pm

U didn’t know there is such thing as a fake sports car? Shhzzz, come closer ur ear, i tell u now, there is one, very famous one, 3 alphabet name one, shhzzz quiet.. C..R…Z..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • HakimR on Apr 17, 2013 at 6:27 pm

So i guess you must like your ‘fake sports car’ very much since your name is crzSupercharger. =)

ps: if you do own a supercharged crz, please let me know as i would like to experience being in your “fake sports car” (not being sarcastic). cheers!

• noob kadajawi on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:45 am

Hahaha kadajawi must be damn rich folk. gtr with great engineering also consider crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • frenzyaustin on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Maybe to him, a Vios rebadge to Ferrari become best sedan in the world. Camry rebadged to Mercedes become most over engineered car in the world. Scion iQ rebadged to an Aston Martin suddenly worth the tripled price because of the badge. Is it?

• myvi and vios is a true sport car in malaysia..there’re from a different breed, very fast on the road..can compare with lambo and ferrari..

kadajawi should consider these 2 car if he cannot afford those exotic ferrari and lambo..

• Super noob kad on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:11 pm

wow, u taruk a brand based on the driver? LOL.
      Pls la, ur lansi act pro comment usually can be seen in lowyat.net, damn funny keyboard warrior.

• vee-oh on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:50 pm

ceh so lansi…GTR will bury these euro machines alive anyday

• Petrolhead on Apr 17, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Where is the next generation Evo, its evil twin brother?

• Evo10 selling exp in Msia. Till now no news fr Mitshu when they will launch new engine…..

• evo 10 will be last evo, no more evo

• Hey u! even tot i love Euro sport cars, but Japanese cars r not crap! they r affordable and reliable! Euro sport r overpriced!

• Veneno on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:15 am

yeah, I admit that Ferrari, Porsche, and Lambo are the real sport that.. but, hey dumb.. that are for super rich man, most of us don’t even afford to buy the bodykit.. think wisely, dickhead.. I also love Lambo but I have to think wisely.. GTR a crap..?? what are u driving right now..?? all-mighty vios with bolt-on turbo..??

• Confused on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:29 am

No frameless doors again…. Sad… Everything looks disappointing compared to the concept wrx.

• cecibo on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:33 am

HAH!!!! Tolljaa….

• frenzy on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:38 am

From the looks, feels like it doesn’t resembled so much from the concept. Quite disappointed.

• sepul on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Subaru’s styling usually downgrade so much from the concept. Their interior design is the most disappointing. At least for me.

Only Mitsubishi and Subaru are still going with the good old fast sedans over hot hatchbacks of the continentals. :D

• looks like honda city with spoiler..sad

• langit hitam on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:35 pm

i found below driver quite arrogant OTR:

VW
    Toyota
    Honda
    BMW

Please correct me if I’m wrong.

• shibby on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:41 pm

the worst drivers are souped-up myvi owners and white vx40 camrys with trd body kit, they seem to drive like complete a’hole everywhere

• dugong on Apr 17, 2013 at 12:55 pm

No you are wrong!
      1. Perodua (myvi)
      2. Toyota
      3. VW
      4. Honda
      5. Lexus

• koochai on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:16 pm

i never ever come across bmw & merc driver who know how to use right/left signal/indicator light…if u know what i mean…

• koochai on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

most arrogant of the lot should be those 1990-s vtec (ef/eg/eh/ej/ek whatever)…

• he probably confused with the wiper stalk since he last car was a wira. haha

• Saganian on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Should be:
        1 > Hino
        2 >> Pagani
        3 >>> Tata
        4 >>>> Metrobus
        5 >>>>> Intrakota

• frenzyaustin on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Depends on car model actually.
        Myvi (big exhaust, racing rim)
        Toyota (Camry, Vios, very lansi, others still ok)
        VW (Passat, CC, Golf mk7)
        Honda (erm…. ex5)
        Lexus (So far so good, just once encountered a 20 inch rims IS250 driver stop at the middle of the road to fight a Myvi driver because he honked him for dangerous driving)
        Mercedes Benz (A fat SLK driver put his leg on a chair and sitting on the other chair while waiting for his SLK to be washed. That time, A mother and daughter have to shared a chair.)
        BMW ( So far so good too)

• shibby on Apr 17, 2013 at 1:08 pm

hood scoop + huge wing , it cud only be 1 thing…
    nice to see its back in d ring….

• Blacktop on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Hate myvi.. Slalu laju d lebuh raya.. Tp bila nek bukit mcm siput..

• vee-oh on Apr 17, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Mitsubishi still quiet about new Evo

• sandy on Apr 18, 2013 at 1:29 am

WTF this is about wrx, not about lansi drivers on road. the thread is derailed terribly

• Sad scooby on Apr 18, 2013 at 8:26 am

Actually theres no need to heavily mask the car. There’s already an impreza sedan in the states. I have no idea why we are all lying to ourselves its gonna be a special one of model like the concept. Sighs. Interior gonna be like the xv.

• 1st I need to say, don’t compare those exclusive german with this J4PAN made cars, especially impreza.
    You might do well in a Semi-Auto BMW that loaded with tech but in impreza, a stick shift, all you need is good skill to rev it up. And it’s practical, not as fragile as german stuff, looks cool.
    Ah Beng!? C’mon….. people who can buy impreza is ah beng!? kidding….
    They’ll smoke your BMW/benz/lambo/ferrari with their mod knowledge on board while those rich showy guys know nothing but right foot down. =P

• Wong Sen Kiat on Apr 19, 2013 at 5:21 pm

I resent the remark about the kind of drivers that drive Japanese sports sedans. I drive a WRX, and *SURPRISE* I speak English. Yes, it has the wheels, wings, lips, scoops, etc. But I’d like to think they’re functional, cos with all my added aero mods, the car is extremely stable at 200km/h, more so than a Vios or Myvi at 120km/h. It’s extremely judgmental to label us all “ah bengs”. My colleague next to me drives an Evo 9, and guess what. He speaks English, too. In fact, we both write English for a living. Ah Bengs we are not. I will fully admit to being a “Car Beng”, though, cos I love cars and all the oily bits underneath.

Anyway, I digress. I think you’re all getting worked up about the exterior not matching the concept car. But I believe this is a mule with the new WRX running gear underneath. This is the “current” shape Impreza (chassis code GP, GJ) in the USA and elsewhere, the model that came AFTER the Version 10 (chassis GR, GV). I don’t think the mule in these pics is a representation of the WRX concept at all. New running gear in an “old” disguised chassis.