Perodua starts 2013 strongly, Q1 sales up by 4.4%

perodua s series

First quarter results are out at Perodua, and it appears that the Rawang-based national carmaker has started 2013 strongly. Perodua sold 46,700 units in the first four months of 2013, 4.4% more than in the same quarter of 2012. Based on the Q1 estimated total industry volume of about 156,500 vehicles, Perodua is expected to maintain its 30% share of the Malaysian market.

This is a good result, especially when many car buyers are adopting a “wait and see” stance in view of the upcoming general elections. Lowering car prices is part of the Pakatan Rakyat manifesto, while the current government reiterated that import duties for cars from Japan and Australia will be gradually reduced to zero by 2016. This FTA-based import duty reduction is not new, and has been happening for some years. On the other hand, excise duty has been steadily creeping up.

In response, Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh has this to say: “We believe that if there is any reduction, the process will take time as the players need time to adjust to any changes. In addition, any sharp decrease in vehicle prices will have a negative impact to both players and consumers as prices of used vehicle will plummet. We kindly advise consumers not to wait on their purchases as change will likely be gradual.”

The recently launched Perodua S-Series cars comprising the Viva S, Myvi 1.3 SE and Alza S are doing well, with bookings reaching 14,000 units, with a total of 8,000 units registered since the cars were launched on March 13. At the S-Series launch, Perodua also announced that all its cars (not just the S-Series) now come with three years of free service.

Meanwhile, Perodua’s after sales division saw an increase in vehicle intake by 3% to 454,900 vehicles in Q1 2013. The compact carmaker’s parts sales also saw a 5.8% increase with over RM58.3 million worth of parts sold in the period.

Full info on what the Perodua S-Series is all about, specs and pricing can be found here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hway de cruz on Apr 18, 2013 at 10:17 am

good performance, let’s see p2 take it to a higher level, hybrids comingin? how abt ev? time to upgrade safety features to minimum 4 airbags and 6 speeder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Lol.. their next level is to come up with the new Viva.

Hybrids? Who need hybrids when you have a home advantage.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:40 am

P2 is just a bloody car assembler that assembles car using el-cheap parts while charging cut-throat prices for its imitation k-cars… They don’t even have proper R&D department – and you expect hybrids and 6-speeders…? They probably give you unreliable battery packs and faulty trannies. Just look at the Alza’s 4-speed tranny…Countless repairs, speechless CSes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Mat Global on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:59 am

I agree with Sam Hailat Loo. Perodua is just another crony company given a free ride like Proton. In real world terms, if it was a free market, Perodua will be bankrupt by now. Miti and MIDA controls pricing of all other cars. Honda and Toyota want to price their cars far cheaper but our government ties their hands protecting crony Perodua and Proton. Such a disgrace. 20 over years still want pertolongan kerajaan.

• najib tun on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:41 am

y need hybrid when pakatan offer to lower the petrol price..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Hybrids are already without tax, and specs are the same as foreign version (except for local-assembled Jazz Hybrid). More attractive for possible buyers.

Pakatan’s promise of cheaper cars will be done in stages within 5 years, with 20% tax reduction each year. As an example, for a RM42k Myvi, actual price is RM21k and tax is RM21k. There will be a price slash of RM4000 this year, the Myvi price would become RM38k only.

Assume that Pakatan will win, and fuel price is RM1.50/L.
        Fuel consumption of a Prius is 4.6L/100km, = RM6.90.
        while Myvi is 6.2L/100km = RM9.30.

Therefore, lower petrol price means much lower fuel cost for hybrid owners out there.

• Tax free cars:
          Toyota Prius C = 90k
          Perodua Myvi = 21k
          Difference = 69k

Fuel consumption difference – Myvi uses RM2.40 more (according to your calculation).

Assuming 20,000km mileage each year for 5 years period = 100,000km.

20,000km * RM2.40 / 100km = RM480 extra for Myvi user.

Over a 5 years use, Myvi user uses a total RM2,400 more than Prius user.

Total money that a future tax free Myvi for 5 years will save in comparison to a Prius C:
          RM69,000 – RM2,400 = RM66,600

Protip of the day, if you’re looking for total cost (running + purchase) vehicle. Buy something cheap.

* Do correct my calculation if I am wrong. A bit sleepy now.

• Abg Long on Apr 18, 2013 at 4:40 pm

manifesto not promise maaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • 4 airbags? lol even dugong comes with 2 airbags

• Robot Boy on Apr 18, 2013 at 2:39 pm

P2 can not do anything la. they do only what Daihatsu tell them and assemble what they give them. they only CKD re badge.

• Good car, cheap to run and reliable. i need it for pasat pagi and pasat malam!

• B END on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:44 am

huge old stock 1.3, come out siri S to tipu rakyat like BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • Well well well.. “like BN”? Look at the photo above, it is run “by BN”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • WHY?! on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:51 am

People should stop buying our shitty p2 and proton cars, let them go bankrupt… Only then our import duties on cars will be zero! This means that our dream cars wouldnt be that far away from us!Use your brains people, ultimately, it’s you who can change what’s happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 18, 2013 at 12:14 pm

By that time, more and more angry MyVis and Alzas will be replaced by more and more angry Beemers and Golfers. What’s the point of driving better cars when you have these idiots Rempit-ing on the roads…?

• WHY?! on Apr 18, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Who cares about them? Ultimately its the individuals choice. We want to enjoy our cars we dream of, let us lah!

• Dont you fear that when you stop buying their cars they will demand imports to shoot up their price? and malaysians will have no options but to buy their cars huhu~

• yes..why? on Apr 18, 2013 at 12:19 pm

IF you use your brain you’ll know that..
    1. cars ARE liabilities.
    2. you won’t stop people from buying what’s within their budget based on your opinion alone.
    3. you need to read about import duties again and come out with better logic.

• WHY?! on Apr 18, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Yeah, but if we just pause for a month or two, they’ll definitely go bankrupt… tax will then be reduces immediately… let’s hope.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Apr 18, 2013 at 12:21 pm

“We kindly advise consumers not to wait on their purchases as change will likely be gradual.”

Hahaha….. They think we are fool? Then why they reduce official price of myvi and offer free service for 3 years?

Stop buying P2 and raise cash from now till 2016 for JDM new or 2nd hand car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Abg Long on Apr 18, 2013 at 1:28 pm

i need a car now. so this myvi s series 3 yrs free service is on my list.. it is the only car in my list hahaha.. 208? fiesta? ayoo mahal. ok mau p itu booking nice number hehe.

• mickey83 on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm

you like or not, p2 is listed as 30 most trusted brand in malaysia.. u see people now know that p2 is at least a better choice and control 30% of car industries…

• mickey83 on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:23 pm

you like or not, p2 is listed as 30 most trusted brand in malaysia.. u see people now know that p2 is at least a better choice

• Peyno on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:00 am

Better choice?? Ah soo n girly are forced to buy small car perodua by gomen.. If jazz, swift polo , i 10, other compact cars are same price as perodua.. Nobody wanna buy perodua
      Prffthhh

• Expatriate VN on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Another smiling faces from cronies, AP King and the ilks!

Be it Juara Kampung No. 1 or Jaguh Kampung No. 2, they are definitely gravy train to the above elite group.

Come 5 May 2013, we choose PR, let Rafizi Ramli clean out the dirt (read NAP) from our auto eco-system.

Our gov very good in signing so many FTA with so many countries in the world, but these FTA only reserved for elite to import car at lowest cost, and selling at the highest prices at local market with less specs with the help of NAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Expatriate VN on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:59 pm

In addition, any sharp decrease in vehicle prices will have a negative impact to both players and consumers as prices of used vehicle will plummet.

– Look at the above irresponsible statement! If used vehicle is plummet, then there should stimulate demand for used vehicles.

If new car price drop to Langkawi level, many new owner will take loan for half of what they do now. either they pay half the installment for the same vehicles for same year of loan, or the loan tenure can be reduce half from 9 year to 4 – 5 year for the same amount of installment.

Being cronies and AP King, they are get used to super luxury comfort zone created by NAP. They are out of sync with the free market and consumers right to fair price under open market. What in their mind is to continue with NAP so that they can own big bungalow, line their garage with Ferrari, BMW, Merzs, etc come with 4 wives + undeclared mistresses!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Expatriate VN on Apr 18, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Who ever form gov after 5 May 2013, if what PR claim of copycat manifesto by BN is true. Then it is no harm to us as rakyat, as people-centric policies will take place. The only thing is PR are in better position and more serious to implement this agenda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Apr 18, 2013 at 5:01 pm

bn also say gonna reduce car price but hahahaha, cows will have condo before that. oh wait.

• Expatriate VN on Apr 18, 2013 at 4:05 pm

This Juara Kampung No. 1, if open market implement by Rafizi Ramli, next year market share will plummet from 30% to 3%. That why they are damn worry about removal of NAP! But pretend to concern about 2nd hand car value for consumers!

• mickey83 on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:16 pm

just comment about the car,, u dont have to “insert” your politics view here

• Good job Perodua,

Love your cars….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Peyno on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Hv u ever heard perodua announce thier profit or loss ??? Sakes figure annoynce just to covet 20years never made profit company with 2billions insentive given by gomen( duit rakyat) to pay japs salary n bonus??

Wait n see ah beng jepun wannabe appear n comment
    Prffthhhh

• mickey83 on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:38 pm

why does the profit or loss of p2 is ur concern? does it really matter? did it effect your life spend on earth? make a life bro…

• Peyno on Apr 19, 2013 at 6:04 am

Perodua is our national car.. Protected by gomen.. 2 billions incentive from rakyat .. If ciz we want to know conpt profit or loss.. If no use rakyat money… We dont care

Prgfthhttnj

• mickey83 on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:01 pm

u make no point at all… if the p2 is protected by the government then what? at least we can still afford to buy.. all the comments here only represent not even 1% of p2 buyer but yet still some of them buying the p2 products. like i said before, there is no benefit to you at all about p2 loss and profit. let them settle it. u have extra money buy toyota, cannot afford toyota go for daihatsu, cannot afford get a perodua, cant afford a car, use the public transport. as easy as that. no need for u to get your head mess up this economic matter.. GET A LIFE BRO

• Peyno on Apr 20, 2013 at 12:40 am

We dont allow gomen use our money to never profit company

• mickey83 on Apr 20, 2013 at 10:33 pm

peyno, if they dont make any profit then what? u want to close their business? what kind of person are you? u say “we” im also malaysian do i look like i care? come on like i said, u can afford a car buy it, cannot afford dont buy!! how many “we” do u get to say that “we” dont allow?

• transformer on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:57 pm

i am hoping to see our PM to sit in FLX+ doing a 60km Frontal Impact test at MIROS…. Or he would choose to sit in a Honda City / Toyota Vios ?

MUST ABOLISH ALL DUTIES AND TAX!!! and let RAKYAT CHOOSE THEIR OWN RIDE!!!

• Peyno on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Why no talk about perodua model ?? Or u tot flx is perodua ?? Or u so typical ah beng perodua jepun wannabe?

• starcck on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:16 am

I am one that is not so keen on the myvi body kit fitted to the new S series. Therefore I hope Perodua can do a model without the body kit but with interior features identical to the S series. To me this is more elegant and would cater to more matured buyers.
    It does not matter that the price remains as it is.

• thinking on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:35 am

is the volume sold to buyer or most of it still with the dealer yet to be sold. think……

• John-Paul Dowse on Apr 30, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I work for a Perodua Dealer in the UK and I am trying to find a point of contact in Malaysia in regards to Perodua sales, parts and accessories. Please email me at [email protected]