Teksi 1Malaysia Proton Exora NGV – design unveiled

DSC_0136b

We were at Proton’s Centre of Excellence this afternoon, where the carmaker and Suruhanjaya Pengangkutan Awam Darat (SPAD) unveiled the Teksi 1Malaysia. As revealed last month (click here to read more about the taxi revamp), the 1Malaysia taxi is a Proton Exora MPV with a factory-fitted NGV system and tank.

The NGV tank is situated inside the car, behind the second row of seats. Since this modified Exora is meant to be a five-seat “budget taxi” (with RM3 starting fare, as opposed to the executive types) the third row of seats have been removed to create a big boot, which can swallow up quite a few large trolley bags, as demonstrated below.

DSC_0134b

Available as a manual or automatic, pure petrol or NGV-equipped (up to the driver, although most will opt for gas), the 1Malaysia taxi comes with two airbags, ABS, EBD leather seats and special cab accessories such as a taxi meter and credit/debit card reader. Yes, you can now pay cab fares electronically, like in Singaporean taxis.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar explained that the taxi’s price is around RM64,000, before a RM5,000 government grant disbursed by the 1Malaysia Development Board (1MDB). This 1Malaysia taxi is for individual drivers, who can get special loans from Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN) of up to nine years. The daily cost is around RM28.50 for the driver, payable monthly like regular HP loans, journalists were told.

Deliveries of the 1,000 units of the Proton Exora NGV 1Malaysia taxi will start in June this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Oh God!!… enough with the 1Malaysia name!! … are we that boring that everything has to be named 1Malaysia??

what’s next? 1Malaysia Public Toilet??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 29
    • 1Malaysia Public Toilet..Thanks for the idea. I’ll ask Najib for the budjet

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 17
      • do'oh on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:05 am

yeah PT1M (Public Toilet 1Malaysia) good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Mat Global on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:46 am

Why come out with all these designs and benefit for our rude taxi drivers? We must first teach our taxi drivers to be decent. Nearly ever Malaysian teksi driver is a part time pimp. Any single guy goes into their car, they ask whether you want woman or not. Somemore, they can tell you they got Malay, Chinese, Indian, Mat Salleh etc etc girls.

Yes, these are the kind of teksi drivers we are harbouring in our country. We call ourselves Muslim country but the moment one lands in Malaysia and enters the teksi, if you are a single man, they offer their part time commission based pimping services.

And yet our teksi drivers can protest and demand more pay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
        • agreed.
          yesterday board a taxi, driver immediately say surcharge extra RM2!

• Female Taxi Passanger on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Malaysian teksi drivers are pervert to the max. They love to talk sex and filthy things. I am a lady and I often face this kind of “sexual harrassment”. I take cabs everyday to and fro from work and at least in a week, I encounter 2 or 3 taxi drivers indulging in filthy talk. I think they think it turns women on and they might have some luck on the passenger by talking dirty. I thought it was just me but when I asked all my female friends, they told me the same thing. The teksi drivers just love to talk dirty things. And yes, it is true, my boyfriend and many others in my office now confirm it, whenever a single male passenger goes into the teksi, he is asked whether he wants “massage”. I think for every client they bring, the brothel give them a cut.

• HirumaKecil on Jul 30, 2013 at 6:19 am

agree.. so diff with taxi driver outside kl and selangor.. most of the taxi driver in kedah and perlis is pak aji.. they put ceramah agama caswsete and cd in their taxi.. huhu..

• KiaLover on Apr 23, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Is the part “they ask whether you want woman or not” true ? Wow I think gonna start taking cabs

• Fark Me on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Big enough for gay far. Me @wilsonrock95 want to taste man….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 35
    • unforgiven on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:20 pm

9 years loan, 108 months, what a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
    • You better watch how you talk about him.
      SIR Najib carefully thought it through, after two cups of teh tarik at pelita.
      Do not question his GENIUS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 26
    • I so agree with you. Malaysia is starting to be like a mofo communist state.

• Joseph on Apr 18, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Something good for taxi industry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
    • again, this scheme will be abused, benefits certain numbers of people..and probably those who applied must also commit to voting certain political parties in the election…USELESS..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 54
  • sudonano on Apr 18, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Looks like the LMST fender signal indicator lives on! Wonder why they put that when there is already the wing mirror mounted indicator…

• DickKing on Apr 18, 2013 at 6:17 pm

crap..Reduce tambang taxi la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
  • more of this!!!!!kill the saga taxi now!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • its april already, where is the plan? forgot eh? as expected for DRB-HICOM..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • blackbox on Apr 18, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Why every da*n thing have to be related to 1 Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • So RM1 per ride?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Sick&tired on Apr 18, 2013 at 6:46 pm

goverment use rm70 million of our money to pay Apco to develop & promote 1malaysia. Najis said that 1malaysia is not political and is for all malaysians regardless of their political belief. Yesterday I saw a “undi 1 barisan nasional” banner.

Btw this whole ploy is to help clear stock of unsold exoras. And also as a token of appreciation to the biggest crony, owner of drb hicom, al bukhary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 49
  • Lets see how many 1 malaysia franchise? ok i am totally countless but there are more than 100! lets change to the new government UBAH! condemn all 1 malaysia franchise! is our freaking tax payers money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 31
    • ahlee bin ahtan on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:09 pm

don’t like 1 msia feel free to migrate tqvm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 69
      • dirtyoldmen on Apr 19, 2013 at 10:36 am

amazing. that’s the same logic of sharifah zohra. are you two related?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • mr_em on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:36 pm

So have to accept everything “bulat-bulat”?? Malaysia will be bankrupt if everyone have a mentality like you… Even if not financially bankrupt, but MORALLY bankrupt for sure…

• nabil on Apr 19, 2013 at 5:43 pm

You mean to say they offer Migrate 1 Malaysia (M1M) program?

• diamjer on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:23 am

i’m also a tax payer, and i say why should i listen to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • mr_em on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Diamjer,

Even if people like you may be ‘infatuated’ with 1Malaysia, what is wrong for ‘jin’ to voice his opinion?

Did he asked you to listen to him in the first place?
        Its a democratic country so there is more than 1Opinion/View etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • What engine NA 1.6 ?? Normal Saga 1.3 or Waja 1.6 NGV Struggle to climb small hill. Ini Exora 1.6 NGV & put lot of luguage at the back mana ader POWER!!! Put in at least 2.0 turbo diesel or 2.0 NGV la into taxi. Need that pulling power. Taxi in europe mostly diesel…. Nanti kalau Customer mau buang wang pergi Genting …lain kira lo bcoz using petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Brother. This one is not the old engine. U know how to complain only. Ppl want to go genting won’t just get into any cab and say Genting. Asses, live in real world pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Present your MyKad and get a free ride !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Just make sure it has a system to ensure the drivers are using the meter.

• transformer on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Taxi should be in RED or WHITE….. but why Bronze(Gold) ??? very confusing and hard to be seen…. UBAH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
  • You will hear many people missed their flight once this crap is out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
  • Hadi75 on Apr 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Barisan nasional is now known as barisan 1 malaysia….
    From BN TO BM/B1M…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Satumii on Apr 18, 2013 at 8:52 pm

We have 2 large suitcase when we landed at KLIA. We booked a budget taxi because its the most economical. The driver refused to take us citing his taxi cannot take in 2 suitcase at the booth. I suggested he put the suitcase at the front passenger seat. He told me that the suitcase will tear the seat. We changed to premier taxi. The driver threw one of my suitcase to the front of the passenger seat without a blink of an eye. The problem with our taxi driver is one of arrogance, pampered and plain rude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Hiroshi on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:05 am

I really wish G built a MRT or public transport trough Airport, cuz is freaking expensive & inconvenient compare other country which Easy access to airport by public transport

• never heard of KLIA Express eh?

• But damn expensive as well lol almost same cost self ride, it not connect to LCCT yie

• start-a-figt on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:24 am

it is call ERL for KLIA.. where u from man?

• diamjer on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:28 am

sudah ada maa… its called KLIA Express

you can even do check-in in KL Sentral. which is better compared to the other country

• How much is the ERL fare from KL Sentral to KLIA? It’s RM35 dude, freaking expensive.

Moreover, you guys should consider about our friends in Negri Sembilan. They struggled to find transport to the airport nearby to their state. The MRT/LRT suggestion should be praised as that can be a convenience for people living nearby the airport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Daniel on Apr 18, 2013 at 8:58 pm

I think Innova is better than Exora alot… since price are the same… 1 Malaysia Taxi sounds like shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 52
    • komeng on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:27 pm

wow where can i buy innova cheaper than exora,
      in your dream right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • Daniel on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Lol, sry lor.. the price I meant is the taxi fares… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • engress on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:39 am

Innova has lorry suspension lor, gud luck in long journey. Exora is much more comfortable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • start-a-figt on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:26 am

rode innova taxi in vietnam recently… sit at the back.. feel awefully like a truck bouncing here and there.. u still think thats better? kamon la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • _xXx_ on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:04 pm

how come taxi customers in Bolehland are ill-treated???

• diamjer on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:30 am

blind accusation.

if you have a case, report them. Else stop spreading lies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • mr_em on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:22 pm

U pernah naik teksi ker, Diamjer?
        I don’t use taxi a lot but I’ve been declined a few times because the taxi drivers prefer ‘money-making’ route – e.g. no jam, longer journey, avoid peak hours etc etc….

So if complain pun tak guna, have you actually use any hotline before?… All got standard SOP answer what, we will investigate but then nothing happens even after a few months… U think here they want to suspend taxi drivers licence easily ker?… Taxi drivers also have valid complain how to cari makan if KL road congestions etc etc… so pusing2, back to square one… everybody blame each other, problem tak selesai pun…

Why makes you think people want to spread lies? Just because you never experienced it?

• mr_em on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Diamjer,

Is this news also a lie?
        Are you pretending to be blind to this piece of news?

“Cabbie charged with raping American woman now charged with kidnapping Korean student”
        http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2013/4/19/nation/20130419162955&sec=nation

• Student on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:55 pm

nice.
    because:
    1.factory instillation NGV system. easy to say that there would be no issue of vehicle side effect like outside NGV installer.the engine maybe more durable to withstand the higher octane number for the gas
    2.there are lots more of space if u have many of luggage
    3.the price are not to expensive to compare with other luxury taxi such as naza ria,innova and etc. plus that vehicle need to be installed with NGV system.so the price would increased more
    p/s: if i’m wrong i’m sorry..still learning

• Not very sure but factory fit doesn’t mean much. It could be subcon to “outside NGV installer”. But it does come with factory warranty unlike those on outside.

Subcon subcon, it’s a norm here.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Apr 18, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Ok…. we had read plenty of bad thing. How about good thing? what benefit can we get? Come on…. be fair

• Expatriate VN on Apr 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

1) Clear old stock
    2) Old wine in new bottle
    3) Still Cam-Tak-Pro engine
    4) Need akujanji to vote certain party if they can get this taxi
    5) RM 5K rebate for last year stock
    6) 1Malaysia – tak pakai come 6 May 13.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
    • sudonano on Apr 19, 2013 at 6:30 am

Speaking of the “awesome” Cam-Tak-Pro engine, I wonder how is this gonna go up a flyover also. A loaded Exora CPS cannot go up a slope unless you off the A/C. Experienced it. But this one, NGV power is less also. Redline to go up a slope?

SO PRO!

• Hadi75 on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:19 am

That no 4…a certain leader did said that when he launch taxi permit for individual…..

• diamjer on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:32 am

some day your hatred will consume you, your family and whoever close to you.

amin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • mr_em on Apr 19, 2013 at 4:33 pm

its a bit weird making a wish like this on other people in this paultan automotive forum,

don’t you realise that expatriate VN could even be your relative? You are making a wish that could fall back on you!!!

You are really showing a lack of maturity if you cannot accept other people’s view that is difference from you…

• ah seng on Apr 18, 2013 at 10:40 pm

oh my god.. after i have view the comment’s voting “like” or “dislike”..

the result is worrying..
    1 barisan hired a lot of keyboard warriors to dislike critics post..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 23
    • diamjer on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:38 am

i feel sorry for you,
      you think whenever people like the goverment effort they is a paid cyber trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • are you “been hired” to post this kind of comment? lolz

• come on!! please start using the meter to bill as SOP! otherwise, all the fancy accessories are for dressing purpose only, meaningless!!

• Could make Exora like the Black London teksi with passenger seats facing each other and for Kuala Lumpur and other big cities?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Ok, interesting specs like dual airbags, etc. But one question, got meter or not?

• Gavin on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:44 am

Good, give them bigger cars to protest and block kl with no repercussions

Gangsters

• I thought they will come out new design vehicle for taxi. Better modify that Nissan …

• Taxi is taxi la…why must put 1 Malaysia on its name?

• perodua on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:10 am

The luggage height is above the window baseline……will kena saman?

• intermilan on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:12 am

Some existing taxis (just a few i believe) have been accepting payment by Touch n Go card.

Since the article mentioned this 1Malaysia taxi accept payment by credit or debit cars, does it accept payment by Touch n Go card too?

If not, since its not mentioned in the article, why this 1Malaysia taxi program developer do not take into consideration to accept payment from Touch n Go card?

Touch n Go card, is the widely use payment card in transport sector. So seems rather short-sighted, if not a major oversight if it was left out (they didn’t include Touch n Go card as accepted payment mode when they cater for credit and debit cards).

• g-mey on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:19 am

Signage TEKSI macam biasa sudah la.. bagi orang confuse je nanti…

• Why this taxi can get leather seats while Preve don’t come with it. really disappointed with the color ,it should be red and white.People will think this is a family MPV

• diamjer on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:39 am

they should, the other premium taxi already do that

• Abg Long on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:42 am

this is a good move. i support it. good for our taxi industry. good for taxi drivers. but the taxi shud b white n red lorr.. bcoz it is a taxi maaa..

• badang on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

Agree with you, standardised the colour of the taxi please, don’t confuse others. but the current red and white exora taxi looks not boring, need to redesign

• Adli Mohd on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm

The 1 Malaysia slogan thrown at everything everywhere makes me sick.

• imran on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Good, nice plan to give individual permit
    Good exora design. white n gold is fine. no issue for colors as u can find many type of taxis around nowadays.

dissapointed.
    passenger limited to 5 person. i think its better to put NGV tank under rear bonnet like innova taxi.
    Keep the foldable seats. just make it flexible to take 5person + many luggage or 7 person with few luggage.

And more disappointing is the name TAKS1M .. no….. please..

• why didt they make a parcel shelf on top of the ngv tank? more practical to put light items such as umbrella.

• presna on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:56 pm

heck if they can convert all the current taxis to Evora…. that would be quite good, I know the taxi driver has to be able to afford it….

but for consumer’s side this is a good deal right? same charges as a normal taxi…. but you get lotsa room….

about the 1Malaysia thingy, hello election year…. BN has to milk every opportunity they can get…. so why bother…

• This is how they dispose unsold units. biasala bila yard is full.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • amoi_suck on Apr 19, 2013 at 11:28 pm

sama je, perodua lagi macam-macam version ada, stock clearance jugak kan?

• Nieko on Apr 22, 2013 at 1:13 pm

aa the Exora a very good candedate for a texi cab umm i mite want a ride

• heeho on May 14, 2013 at 12:50 pm

where’s the fukken GPS?

• did all of u realize any off this exora taxi on the road? there none of 1 on the road this program had been out since last year end but until now gov had not approved any taxis exora, y so slow is after election and may coming june half a year!! and the only bank loan is from BSN and car must purchase from proton. is realy political…

• taxiexecutive@sord87 on May 30, 2013 at 10:31 am

I do not have a curiosity on Proton Exora design even when they made it as a taxi but the problem is the maintenance of Proton Exora taxi is much higher than other taxi model. The problem still goes to taxi driver ,the authorize party should be more concerned on this before they declared Proton Exora taxi.

• anonymous90 on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:57 am

Totally agreed with the other commentator. To put it in a nutshell, TAXI DRIVER DID NOT DO THEIR JOB WELL.