Toyota hybrid sales reaches 5 million unit milestone

prius-range

Toyota Motor Corp (TMC), the main promoter of hybrid cars, announced yesterday that cumulative global sales of its hybrid vehicles topped the five million unit mark as of March 31, 2013, reaching 5.125 million units.

Last year, hybrids accounted for 14% of Toyota’s global vehicle sales and 40% of all its sales in Japan. As of this month, TMC sells 19 hybrid passenger car models and one plug-in hybrid model in approximately 80 countries around the world. Between now and December 2015, TMC will launch a total of 18 new hybrids worldwide, besides increasing the number of markets where it sells hybrid vehicles.

TMC calculates that as of March 31, TMC’s hybrids have resulted in approximately 34 million fewer tons of CO2 emissions than would have been emitted by gasoline-powered vehicles of similar size and driving performance. The company also estimates that its hybrid vehicles have saved approximately 12 million kiloliters of gasoline compared to gasoline-powered vehicles of a similar size.

hybrid synergy drive

“We developed the first-generation Prius with the aim of making it a car for the 21st century and as an indication of Toyota’s response to environmental issues. We had to develop a hybrid system from scratch, making our task extremely difficult. Nevertheless, we took on the challenge,” said TMC vice chairman Takeshi Uchiyamada, who was responsible for development of the original Prius.

“The launch of the first-gen Prius had effects beyond our expectations, with the vehicle increasing consumer environmental awareness and raising hybrid vehicle expectations. The understanding of consumers at launch time laid the foundation for the widespread adoption, and, since then, consumers have continued to support Toyota hybrid vehicles. For this, I am extremely grateful,” he added.

In Malaysia, UMW Toyota Motor sells the Prius and its compact Prius c sibling.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• michelin on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:14 pm

please bring in Prius v to Malaya, UMW..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng Kia on Apr 18, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Airbag can work properly or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Mat Global on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:52 am

Toyota got such a good reputation overseas but here in Malaysia, UMW has stinkked up their name by taking out many basic safety features that are so critical in saving our lives. Yes, UMW has taken out the VSC or ESP from their Camry just to save cost with complete disregard as to how many lives will be lost just because they want to make more profit. Read Paul Tan’s article to see how important ESP is and you will never ever buy a car without this basic features ever again.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

• momok5900 on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm

It is time for local makers to adopt hybrid as well. Maybe the price cant beat TMC or Honda which sold globally and we stuck in Malaysia only, but we can request goverment to subsidize(as usual).

• b sensible on Apr 18, 2013 at 4:58 pm

it’s a no go for hybrid…tech very complicated…huge development cost…
      but better hv alternative fuel like cng / diesel. as cng is a low cost fuel efficiency, the problem is that petrol subsidy has put aside cng usage.
      one thing for local car manufacturer why not focus on making fuel efficiency engine that is powered by cng or even clean diesel?
      or else can the local oil co. come out with fuel that go for hundred miles without refueling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • turbo diesel actually can hav low fuel consumption but our diesel quality is d lowest one. so no point P1 & P2 develop such engine. P1 rumours to develop hybrid car but till now no news.

• comrade on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm

quality always sell!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • And the local Honda boast about getting 3000 booking for CRV. Booking only, excluding cancellation…..Wonder where they pluck the figure 3000..

• DSAI vs Bijan on Apr 18, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Make sure airbag can work properly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Apr 19, 2013 at 7:58 am

Full Jap import CBU’s quality will always be above par compared with those assembled in Thai, Indo or Philli, but still much better that local assembled.

Those CKD ones in bolehland uses export rejected parts. That’s why we need to be smart when buying. Furthermore, the tidak apa attitude of the workers makes things far worse.

We need to change

• Expatriate VN on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Bring in sub-compact car 1.0 cc or below as well, let we get real JDM, not “hybrid” name in the form of Juara Kampung No. 1.

• and they r celebrating with this nice MV:
    http://www.toyota-global.com/innovation/environmental_technology/hv5m/

• sagadevan1 on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Emas May u R.I.P.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Great job! Now can start to develop Hybrid Synergy Drive 2, maybe paired with a Forced Induction engine or Diesel (D-4D).
    Most importantly, design better, quite disappointing after I saw the difference between Prius C and it’s concept.

• Fukuoka on Apr 18, 2013 at 3:58 pm

I’m not surprised with the news since the Japanese love Toyota hybrids. Here in Japan, Toyota Aqua (aka Prius C) and Toyota Prius have been conquering the sales chart by being no.1 and no.2 for the last 12 months.

Apart from the normal Prius, also available here are the Prius Alpha and Prius PHV.

I noticed that the Japanese are somewhat obsessed with the ‘fuel consumption’ thing. In almost every car advert in TV, its fuel consumption rating will be highlighted. To the extend that I’ve heard stories about some non-hybrid car owners who installed a speed limiter in their car.

For your info, fuel price is affordable and normally people will opt for lower grade petrol which is good enough.

• alldisc on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:12 am

even though fuel is affordable but cost of living is just too high. human will do anything to save on one area so they can enjoy in others.

• fairuladilla on Apr 18, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Prius V looks good…

• SamLoo dad on Apr 18, 2013 at 4:40 pm

But hybrid car got no second value :(
    Couldn’t sell my 09 hybrid ….
    Please guys ! Hybrid car battery will not fail la !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • ben yap on Apr 18, 2013 at 5:36 pm

when will SamLoo grandma comment? I’m waiting for her.

• Sam Loo on Apr 19, 2013 at 8:02 am

When petrol in Malaysia hits the worldwide float price at RM4-RM5 per liter, Hybrids will be the most sought after cars by car theives. And there is only Toyota Prius, Prius C (Plus some ultra expensive Lexus H) & A6 being full Hybrids. The rest are mild Hybrids

• Carl Wong on Apr 18, 2013 at 5:28 pm

I drove my new partner, the Honda Insight Hybrid Facelift back home, went to a few other places (almost no highways) and had a fuel efficiency of 19.9 km/L. I’m an extremely happy & proud owner and today my dream come true :]:)!!!

Work hard toward your dream and one day it will come true for you……!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • sounds like u hvnt got a real girl friend…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • 19.9km/l? Please la. If you want to exaggerate try something more realistic. This car consumption is no different with Honda City!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Moores on Apr 18, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Honda, The power to make people dream. Daylight dream….

• Enthu on Apr 18, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Well done Toyota. Your HSD Technology has set the trend for even the likes of BMW and SportCars Brands. Hybrid is the thing now, who knows what is next, EV should take some time to realise.

• Though it was Ferdinand Porsche was the one who pioneered the tech. Thou no Porsche until the Panamera bear the tech, but Mr Porsche did make some development vehicles and tanks back before/during WW2 with hybrid power-train. What Toyota did was made Hybrid popular and mainstream with HSD tech, which is quite an achievement by itself.

• Sam Loo, how many tons of CO2 emission & petrols you’ve cut down to save the earth by driving almighty HILUX + VIOS? :D :p

• Agree with the hybrid car is damn good, but not agreeable on the way UMW sell to us. Overprice Prius at RM140k+ and i dun think most of us can save petrol of RM40k for few years, not to mention the bank interest to be factor in.
    Prius C is so compact but also selling at 90k+? Damn UMW for selling expensive.
    Anyway Toyota is better than Honda coz Jazz Hybrid after CKD, the spec become worst.