Volkswagen CrossBlue Coupe concept for Shanghai

volkswagen_crossblue_coupe_concept_9

Shanghai crossover frenzy! Preparing for a debut there are the BMW X4, Mercedes GLA and Citroen DS Wild Rubis – the latest to cross over the Bund is the MQB-based Volkswagen CrossBlue Coupe concept, which as its name suggests, is a ‘coupe’ version of the Volkswagen CrossBlue concept that debuted in Detroit in January.

Looking significantly more athletic and less boxy than its big seven-seater sister, the Volkswagen CrossBlue Coupe concept packs a turbocharged V6 that’s assisted by two electric motors. A combined 415 hp output results in a sub-six second century sprint time. The car can return 3.0 litres of fuel per 100 km, and travel up to 33 km on electricity alone.

The original CrossBlue concept was said to hint at a production high-rider that will slot in between the Tiguan and the Touareg. Like the CC is to the Passat sedan, we guess this handsome coupe-crossover will be positioned a little higher than the regular car. That’s if both become production realities, of course.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• blue-traveler on Apr 19, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Love the design, but can’t help feeling that from the side profile, it made me think of R.R. Evoque, maybe because of the slimlines from windows to hood.

• Jimmy on Apr 19, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Wait till the DSG breakdown then you will start to cry. Yes got warranty but when you have to send it in to re-replace the DSG 2nd, 3rd, 4th time, you will really cry

Jimmy, Mr.

• Most DSG problems r the previous version of the Golf MK6,Polo 6R and Passat B7…Golf MK7 is pretty safe now.

• Jimmy on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Yang cantiq buang, yang tak cantiq retain, this is Nissan.
    This is a complement.

Jimmy, Mr.

• kentji on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:36 pm

tiguan, sharan, touran, touareg, why veedub always add those fugly racks?!

• The meter and steering combine together looks like 2 eyes, a big nose and a weird mouth

• vwpassatowner on Apr 19, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Well this is nice….great job VW….not every woman i know think brad pitt is handsome….n not all men think taylor swift is a hottie either, but those two celebrities have their own followers n got really great talent…..u know what i mean??

• designerpotong on Apr 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

seriously it looks like range rover evoque. what happened to car manufacture these day?