Shanghai 2013: Ford Mondeo makes show debut

ford-mondeo-7

The fifth-generation Ford Mondeo was introduced in China earlier this month and was on display in Shanghai. Not much to report on the Blue Oval’s flagship for the market, the big news being the global debut of the new four-cylinder 1.5 litre EcoBoost engine with the sedan in China.

The engine is set to go into the Fusion sedan in North America and also the European Mondeo. With 177 hp and 240 Nm to be seen in the Chinese-market Mondeo, the output is very close to the company’s current 1.6 litre EcoBoost lump (which has 180 hp and 250 Nm), but promises improved fuel economy and lower CO2 emissions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• skypirate on Apr 23, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I’d take this over a passat anytime anyday anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
  • hvannees on Apr 23, 2013 at 1:25 pm

fuyyyoooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 23, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Shame on you Ford for copying KIA K5 & Santa Fe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 65
      • BeemerFreak on Apr 23, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Since when did you even care about Korean brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • quasimodo on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm

nowadays all car makers cut n paste their car…its normal but what ford have revamp their brand to new level is their ecoboost..really good engine…NA is not more efficient nowadays…but the price is so ridiculus. i think prcing issue comes from sime darby…really cekik darah one…its sad that other people could expereince good cars…as we in malaysia force to buy proton and perodua…cheap but in terms of car technology….ice age…

• I like its’ new outlook.
    Clean, Sharp, Simple and Understated.

• Radin on Apr 23, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Very handsome sedan

• I’m owning a Mondeo 2.0 Ecoboost 240ps. Undoubtedly, Mondeo is a well balanced & excellent car in all round however its’ price tag is slightly at the high side due to Europe import. If SDAC could bring in the new 1.6 Ecoboost model with the price set around RM160k, by then Mondeo should be able to penetrate the market more effectively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Davin Tan on Apr 23, 2013 at 2:01 pm

I hope the car very fast

• Kimi_ on Apr 23, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Aston Martin wannabe =.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • James Bond on Apr 23, 2013 at 3:27 pm

well considering ford did own aston martin for a good 10-20 years, im not surprised if both shared the same design language…

• Lenny on Apr 23, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Oh god this so manly looking car! , to bad I still gonna end up buying Camry or Accord for sake of resale value because that’s Malaysian away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • Thats your way dude, modern malaysian dont realli look at RV anymore judging by so many “cold-door” car on the road. open up ur mindset and accept new things. otherwise, u will not improve.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 23, 2013 at 2:53 pm

This is one photogenic car. Performance is outstanding too. But the major problem is the Aston Martin wannabe grill. If they replaced it with the Focus ST grill, it’s definitely a great car

• valjean on Apr 23, 2013 at 2:54 pm

If it is a 1.5 (even with ecoboost) the price should be sub Rm140k to attract buyers. For some strange reason malaysia car price are set according to CC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • SDAC have to beef up their after sales support

• hyens on Apr 23, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Polo sedan looks better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
  • Smarties on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:52 am

My only wish is for Ford to introduce Mondeo Energi Titanium here in Msia.

• gerald on May 04, 2013 at 10:33 pm

I like . 2.0 or 1.6 Ecoboost so that not underpowered and good for long haul

• gerald on May 14, 2013 at 9:54 pm

when coming To Malaysia?

• gerald on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:52 pm

nice, hope Sdac reads this page. get it here next year and price it good and package it titanium Trim and I think I would get it. service centers better be ready for this hi tech car

• KangKungMan on Mar 08, 2014 at 9:46 am

When can get good price for such car? Even our justice department also like that – latest news!!! Kekekekeke…. Only Malaysia Boleh :)