Volkswagen Santana: 2nd-gen appears in Shanghai

Volkswagen Santana

The original Volkswagen Santana can be considered a Chinese icon, with over three million units built in the republic. Many can still be seen on the roads today, and despite numerous updates throughout its three-decade lifespan, the ubiquitous Santana pretty much stuck to its three-box shape.

Late last year, the Volkswagen Santana finally entered its second generation with all-new sheet metal. Sitting on a lengthened PQ25 platform (VW Polo, Skoda Rapid, Audi A1), the sedan is powered by the EA211 four-pot petrol unit in 1.4 and 1.6 litre displacements, making 90 and 110 PS respectively. It’s a cleaner car too, with 28% less fuel consumption and CO2 emissions than in the previous model.

Wheelbase stands at about 2.6 metres, while the boot can swallow up to 480 litres of luggage. Safety features include ABS, front, side and head airbags and ESC. Depending on trim level, auto climate control, an electric sunroof, alloy wheels, parking sensors and leather upholstery can also be had.

The car is a product of the Shanghai-Volkswagen JV, who has been building Santanas since 1985.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Abg Long on Apr 23, 2013 at 9:42 am

lots of old santana as taxi in sz, china..

• Ah Beng Kia on Apr 23, 2013 at 9:52 am

Stupid ppl buy cheap VW and then want to action ‘I drive German car’. Phuiiiii!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • amirad on Apr 23, 2013 at 10:25 am

Bro, not all VW owners like that. As VW owner myself, I really get pissed off seing youngsters and yuppies driving gtis and rocs like cockroach that loses its legs. Peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • asdfg on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:23 am

LOL… Childish and loser… I think you are just no money to buy better car.

• VW Fanboi on Apr 23, 2013 at 7:19 pm

My VW golf can beat all the car on the highway.

• Actually is a real German car. those Vivas and Myvis r just jealous… pity them.

• ben yap on Apr 23, 2013 at 10:12 am

No TSI and DSG? that’s not the real VW as it is low tech and doesn’t carry the VW heritage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Looks like a mini Passat, decent but I think it’s seriously underpowered.

• gavin on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:15 am

comes with free guitar and guitar lessons book?

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:34 am

If you all can recap, VW santana used by one chinese to make his own Lamborghini

• rally_fan on Apr 23, 2013 at 3:28 pm

finally, the santana has a new model.. if im not wrong, i believe the santana was also the first model introduced into china by VW. Im guessing this will replace all the old santana taxis eventually..?