Proton Perdana replacement model could use Honda Accord chassis and Petronas engine – reports

honda-accord-sedan-front

Here’s a break from our Auto Shanghai 2013 coverage, and the topic is none other than our national carmaker Proton. The Star reports that Proton is expected to reveal a series of announcements in the next 12 months, including updates on the collaboration with Honda and the launch of new models.

Besides the expected arrival of the P3-22A Preve Hatchback, of which disguised units have been spotted testing frequently by our readers, the report touches on a Perdana replacement model (PRM). The PRM will be a fruit of the Proton-Honda collaboration agreement that came to surface last October.

UPDATE: The Honda Accord-based Proton Perdana Replacement Model (PRM) has been spotted on the road, see all the spyshots here.

The daily’s unidentified source said that Proton has plans to use the Honda Accord chassis as the basis for PRM, but the Proton model would look different. There was no mention whether the Accord in question is the new one recently launched in Thailand, or the outgoing Accord currently on sale here.

proton petronas engine

“The PRM, though based on the Accord, would still entail cosmetic changes, and the engine could be based on the 2.0 litre Petronas engines Proton bought last year,” he said.

In December 2012, Proton acquired all of Petronas’ engine technologies as well as the associated technology patents at a cost of RM63 million. The deal encompasses seven engine technologies as well as 117 technology patents.

Back then, Proton chairman Datuk Seri Khamil Jamil was quoted in a Bernama report as saying that the acquisition gives his company immediate ownership of a family of normally-aspirated engines and turbocharged 2.0 litre engines, as well as a 2.2 litre turbocharged version to complement its existing Campro engine line-up. Click here for the full story.

proton honda

The newspaper’s mystery source adds that Honda’s expansion in Malaysia will need a higher degree of localisation, which in turn will include the stamping of parts, and there are only a few companies in the Malaysia that are capable of doing so. “It is natural for Honda to choose Proton as a partner based on the long working relationship between Honda and DRB-Hicom,” he added.

Before Proton and Honda decided to work together, the national carmaker entered into a MoU with Nissan in March 2011 to conduct feasibility studies on areas of cooperation, including the potential use of Nissan platforms and powertrains. It was also rumoured that the Perdana replacement model will be based on the Nissan Fuga, but that, and the wider Proton-Nissan relationship didn’t work out.

The aborted Fuga-Perdana deal was said to be for high-level government official use only, unlike the earlier Lancer-Inspira deal with Mitsubishi. So if there’s truth in the Accord-Perdana speculation, we might or might not be able to buy a “Proton Accodana” with a cheaper price. Time will tell.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hvannees on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:44 am

U R honda user? Oh No!…………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 16
    • So will Honda be another Mitsubishi? Proton Civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:55 am

while other makers are struggling to come up with pure new models, our J/Kg#2 is busy with finding ingredients to make new rojak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 58
        • lanbaiklah on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm

new projak? keh keh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • Sun Wukong on Jul 15, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Wonder where the recoupment from the AP system goes, is it not supposed to “help” our local automative maker flourish and thrive in the open competition? Why keep on searching for such “copy’ when millions have been spent on motorsports too.

• Oh man on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:11 pm

hhahahaha….. lammmeeeeee…. lammmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee……….

• Jimmy on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Vote wisely and you get authentic new Accord at current Perdana’s price, remember ya 5.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 28
      • P(kay)R on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:04 am

Somehow I don’t support removing the tax on vehicle. Not due to any political issue but environment and economy. They say to remove the tax so that people can save the extra money to buy house or property. But ask yourself, when u have 50k for myvi before the tax remove, after the tax removed, myvi become 25k and vios become 50k (let’s say), will people still ever consider to save the 25k? I think many people will go for vios and still pay installment like slave every month. By then, rich get richer (buy cheap car), poor get poorer (dint bother to save money cuz can get better car). As for environment, nowadays already jam like parking lot. Imagine motorcyclist all change to cars and each people also have a car. That time u midnight go yumcha also got heavy traffic. The carbon dioxide needless to say, earth gonna die faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 53
        • matrxe on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:28 am

I disagree.

1. Tax itself is a large portion of the car price. When you take out loan on car purchase you also have to pay interest on the tax amount. Lesser amount of tax the bank will get less interest. Do you know who owns CIMB?
          2. Status quo people still pay installment like slaves. With less tax they are slaves with better cars.
          3. Many people can get a car for as low as 5K. Motorcyclist are there by choice. Besides why can’t the motorcyclist have cars if you can help it? Their lives worth less than you?
          4. Modern cars are more efficient nowadays..perhaps with lower car price they can afford to change and help the environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 16
          • squall_shinoda on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Sorry but I disagree with you. P (kay) R has very strong points to support his stand.

1.) True, those stupid taxes form more than 50% portion of the car prices in Malaysia. Even though I hate those taxes that will only make ministers and cronies to become richer and fatter, simply slashing those stupid taxes is not the best solution. Why? Simply because it is those rich fellas, ministers and cronies who will get all the benefits, not the rakyat. Instead of slashing the taxes blindly, it is better to provide tax-cutting incentives for the rakyat to buy the first car for the family which is fuel-efficient and environmental friendly, and then kasi ketuk taxes kaw-kaw to those rich fellas, ministers and cronies. That’s what we should call as justice.
            2.) If it’s just to buy a first car for the family, then it’s ok la. But the problem with us Malaysians is the “biar papa asal bergaya” attitude. Everyone wants to drive cars solo without even bothering to carpool. Do you even bother to know that it is the tons on CO2 being dumped by our cars daily that becomes the real culprit for the more frequent flash floods nowadays? Therefore, they’ll only become slaves of their own lifestyle. Me? Pergi kerja naik motor la… kereta simpan pi jalan2 with friends and family. Cheaper, more fuel-efficient, time-efficient, no need to worry about toll, petrol price an parking… but only suffer when it’s raining.
            3.) Yes, cars are more fuel-efficient than several years ago. But still, they are not fuel-efficient every time being stuck in traffic jams, no matter how fuel-efficient those cars are. Litres of petrol being burnt for nothing, what a waste. The only exceptions are electric cars, hybrids and cars with idling-stop function.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
        • dugong on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:00 pm

You are terribly wrong!!! I see lots of old junk, more than 20yr old on the road. Many ppl cannot afford to change new cars because its too bloody expensive.

1.) Old junk is definitely worse for the environment. A 1500cc old junk produce more CO2 than a 8.0L V8 modern engine and probably comsumes fuel like one.Have you ever seen old kapcais that produces more smoke than a bus?

2.) An old junk surely tends to break down more causing traffic jams which again will cause more pollution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • OMG….Honda Accord design not nice lah + somemore Petronas engine + expensive…Sorry lah…balik kampung tanam jagung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
  • bonbon on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:49 am

Proton Anaconda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 8
    • Owh, Proton u r gonna be to destroy the company. I thought DRB will be improve the company after they terminate the DSZ. The project will be not realize after GE-13.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 41
      • First I thought DSZ was the problem, turn out that I was awfully wrong.

Getting rid of the lemon parts supplier was a good move from DRB. Replacing them with DRB’s own (lemon or not) parts supplier… That’s definitely anti-competing. =_=

Problem lies in the entire Proton higher higher up (the boards). It was Khazanah, now it’s DRB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Conclusion is if Proton still head by Dato Seri Khamil the company will be gone. He is not automotive person.. DSZ is much better than him. We can see very much improvement after DSZ take over the seat from Tengku Mahaleel.

• Peter on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:44 pm

DRB has record in selling car, so so in assembling car … but no record is building/designing car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • DRB not selling the car but the car is consider ‘TERJUAL’. If they know how to sell the car why they still keep the old stock of VW under dealer Hicom Auto.

• Peter on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Anaconda (= predator) … who’s the victim then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Prevet Sapu on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Guys, remember in Dec last year they said they are going to ANNOUNCE a major plan March this year… now what we all Paultan dot comers got is just an ‘overdue’ of the said announcement of another few coming announcements! PROTON, WHAT A SHAME! Now, this is another clear indication that Proton now is in a wrong hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • From positive side, I think it’s ok if Proton is going to use Accord chassis only, in fact lots of manufacturers are doing platform sharing. If I’m not mistaken, Waja is based on Volvo S40’s chassis, as long as the body is totally new, not a rebadge like the Inspira.
        With Petronas engine, a powerful high-revving NA engine would be nice. Paired with an efficient CVT transmission and optional manual gearbox.
        But if it’s like some of commentators has stated, if this is just a rumours from anonymous sources just for the sake of showing ‘progress’, it’s a total shame.

• Najib on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:03 am

Inspira use Mitsubishi platform. Perdana use Honda platform….!! Proton, what else can you have?? just close shop better

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 124 Thumb down 163
    • Anwar Juburi on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:49 am

Perodua only know to rebadge car… go dai plis

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 14
      • Rebadge yes! and some ppl think they r driving those high quality Passo lolx very action but at the end it’s just a Myvis…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Volvo use Ford platform for S40, S80, XC60, etc. Chrysler use Mitsubishi platform for their Dodge cars. Peugeot and Citroen use Mitsubishi platform for their compact SUVs. Rover used Honda platform for some time. Kia used Mazda platform before, and Hyundai was based on Mitsubishi platforms for a long time.

If you don’t understand the automotive industry, just shut up and drive instead of pretending to know about cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 7
      • Prevet Sapu on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Can you make yourself clear between platform sharing and rebadging? Then you should be able to digest what these people are talking about. Ok, some laymen maybe just can’t differentiate between these 2 terms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Yeah the term rebadging and platform sharing should be understood first.
        From my understanding,
        Rebadging: Lancer into Inspira, Passo into Myvi.
        Platform sharing: Audi R8 and Lambo Gallardo uses the same platform, even Porsche Cayenne uses the same chassis as VW Touareg.

Platform sharing is a proper win-win situation, improve risk-sharing in developing a whole new model.
        I hope Perdana replacement model would be platform sharing with Accord, not just simply a rebadging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • Drive Your Way on Apr 25, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Well said. Rebadging works only for short term and targets for limited market while platform sharing will grow the company and envision for global market.

• U r right. Proton is suffocating all Malaysians . pleaaase close shop, we don’t need u around. Crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 49
    • Still missing a Lotus platform Proton car. Ahahahahah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • zenx80 on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:22 pm

P2 also close shop better, all models copy from toyota or daihatsu…no designer, unable produce an engine still can operate until now and called the product is national car with higher price…very dislike this brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
    • hygiene on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:56 pm

please google up word “rebadging”
      you don’t want to stay in cave forever

• imran on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:05 am

I want to see how the petronas.. no.. how this proton’s new engine performs… :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 6
    • probably with the label “Petronas Gas Only, Shell will cause damage to the engine”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • ABTguy on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Drop the project, and stop the company please.

New Govt only need to reduce import duty and remove excise duty and the nation will be happy.

The job loss from Proton can be released to many other industries which are crying for manpower shortage anyhow, even foreign workers from certain are frozen at the moment.

Stop all these bull & cow project, focus on other area where Malaysian can do better, maybe it’s better deal for the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 68
      • taboogen on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:02 pm

if only that will happend to your company..how do you feel bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
      • pirlo on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm

we know that you are working for a world-wide company, ABT. but please, dont be too selfish.

• Farhan on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:07 am

Just wondering, if they can make the Preve, why can’t they make the new Perdana themselves? Why use other car’s chassis? It would be really disappointing if the new Perdana is like the totally rebadged Lancer/Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 57
    • Preve use Exora chassis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • seat-belt on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:53 am

creating new platform will cost a lot of money and its better to take other car manufacture platform as it will be more cost effective.in this case, to build a luxury sedan from scratch will cost proton more and from economy-wise, it is not good as luxury sedan sales aren’t good enough to cover the cost to built it form scratch.

not only proton, there are many other cars manufacturer who do the same. did you know that Aston Martin Cygnet is actually a toyota & Peugeot 4007 SUV is actually a mitsu?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 4
      • Fredo on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:31 am

Well said bro, many here don not understand automotive business in a bigger picture

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
      • i agree….even hyundai and kia also sharing their platform n engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • sepul on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:40 am

Well said. To be precise, Peugeot 4007 is a Mitsubishi ASX underneath.

I do hope the PRM just share the platform, not rebadge like Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
        • 4G63T DSM on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Just to nitpick, while closely related

The 4007 is technically the Mitsu Outlander and its previous incarnation was the SUV version of the lower riding Airtrek.

The current ASX is not the same car. The ASX is a 5 seater while the Outlander/4007 is a longer 7 seater.

• Vyseus on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Well said. I just hope that proton really take opportunities to really learn and upgrade their capability accordingly. There is so much proton can learn from this. maybe the next Perdana will be Proton home brewed? only time will tell~ just hoping that they dont go beserk on the price.

• JustWannaShare on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:56 am

might be they wanna cut cost of R&D for the Chassis development…but if u sew now it’s a trend for car manufacture to use other for their car development..for example Subaru BRZ is using Toyota FT 86…Peugeot(forgot the model) using Mitsubitshi ASX…Think Positive..CHeers!! =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • thedarkside on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:49 pm

economies of scaleee

• alldisc on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:08 pm

bear in mind, preve was designed by Bertone

• NAHRAF on Apr 26, 2013 at 9:04 am

DEAR FARHAN…
      DID U KNOW ABOUT CAR MANUFACTURER?
      AND ONE MORE THING DO U KNOW WHAT MEANS CHASSIS?
      …………………………..

• dewaSemut on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

Let it be a reality this time… tired of waiting already… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • tishaban on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

For all the amount of money and research poured into engine development and the PRM, I’m still annoyed that we can’t get the same specced Proton in Malaysia that can achieve a 5-star safety rating in Australia. Proton please take care of your buyers in your own home country!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:43 am

Now we can’t blame UMW/HM/ETCM gave us car with lousy safety. Even our own car treat us like nothing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • jolly_idiot on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

Means that proton will scrap the campro engine and replace with the new petronas engine? Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • WTF !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Dumbass detected. Luckily no mention of resale value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
      • cskiat234 on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Donkey Kong! 42 likes with no dislike. Sam Loo must be twitching and rolling on his bed! I hope his bef got HIGH RV.

• cskiat234 on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Donkey Kong! 42 likes with no dislike. Sam Loo must be twitching and rolling on his bed! I hope his bed got HIGH RV.

• Joe Radzif on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:13 am

Interesting…

Bring it ON!

can replace my car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • mystvearn on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:20 am

This will be some time off. Maybe will only be able to purchase nearer to next gen election

• honda joker on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:27 am

tunggu sampai berjanggutlah proton woiiiii …
    senang bungkus sajalah! habis cerita!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 75
  • if this is true, i believe honda will only allow p1 to use the out going accord, p1 got to face-lift the out-look, just like the first generation of saga which modified from lencer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • diamjer on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:33 am

i’m just curious about the E01e, how will it perform on the road?

• frenzyaustin on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:48 am

“Up to the level of K20A, 204PS and max torque at 5400 rpm”-Paultan.org
      It’s a very good engine considering it more than 10 years old developed in Malaysia! But it only meets Euro 2 emission standard.

• fishermn10 on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Nothing spectacular about that.
        20 years ago, Honda too had a 200+bhp engine in their JDM version of 3rd gen Accord. B20 engine, 2000cc.

• Not spectacular too, the turbocharged version might be derived from this engine. It’s yummeh. Not honda’s but proton’s

• Here goes the quality…………………………..i would not wish to see proton parts in a ckd melaka Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Garry on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:39 am

Why…Why….rojak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • phahmeen on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:42 am

Enough with proton………….. after election just close shop lar…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 57
  • works on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:46 am

this kind of news just to goreng the ‘saham’ of proton. don’t put so much hope on this type of news. i don’t think honda will simply give their technical knowladge if there is no win win situation. Happy Hoping malaysian…prftt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • tokmoh on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:23 pm

syok sendiri news, biasalah! read the news like reading harian metroll. “the source” said this, “the source” said that, bla bla bla.

nampak kan permainan The Star? insaflah, brapa lama lagi kita nak dipermainkan, ini curry lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
  • john doe on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:47 am

The chassis in this car has one of the best safety features as well as a very rigid construction. It is the best car in the world regarding the 25% collision test (which is one of the most common and overlooked type of crash). I hope they do change the aesthetics so it doesn’t resemble the Honda at all. Most of all I just want to see how the engine can perform, please tune it to 280 hp!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • ben yap on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:12 am

tune to 280hp? you think this is Evo or Imprezza is it? might as well you ask them tune to 1000hp to compete with veyron.

even if proton tune to 280hp, you will be complaining the price is too high and poor fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • suarez is a vampire on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:46 pm

other petronas engine line up – 2.0na, 2.0t, 2.2t

• john doe on Apr 25, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Have different models lah… Lancer has evo and the other non powerful ones as well you know…

• “a series of announcements in the next 12 months,”

Like what? Like …. JV announcement with whoever and then cancelled?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Expatriate VN on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:52 am

Good luck to our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 never ending story …… keep on talking NATO – No Action Talking Only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
  • Polo Saga on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:52 am

Sh*t!
    I’m going to trade in my honda and change to Ford Focus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
  • Expatriate VN on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:00 am

PRM – Now our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 biz plan is making rojak car – bought over Petronas 2.0 engine, acquired Honda Accord chassis (likely old model) plus Lotus Handling, etc. cut-here-and-paste-there ……. Accordana!

or Chancellor Neo …….

What happen to their much love Chancellor aka elongate Waja launched in 2006 with price tag of RM 130 K ++!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • farghmee on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:26 pm

cakap banyak.
      cuba ko buat 1, ramai org nk tgk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
    • zamer on Apr 24, 2013 at 6:50 pm

lol…u still copy and paste during your work and study..everyone the same.

to me the thing is alright as long they price it right. doesnt mean they come out with new perdana and force u to buy it. simple as that..
      why do u need to hit them left and right. it wont affect your life and salary also..who cares

• Malaysian on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:00 pm

hahaha… this guy know nothing about building a car. Almost “all” car manufacturer these days do share something in other car manufacturer.. Mazda & Ford, Toyota & Daihatsu, Isuzu & Chevrolet to name a few.. So what wrong if Proton do the same.. Do some research laa..

• kensomuse on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:05 am

I know, I know …. everyone is blasting Proton for being a copycat, for being unimaginative and despite being in the business for over 30 years, the best it could do is take someone else’s design and chassis, bolt some local engine and badge it under its own brand. At first glance, it does make Proton look like its good for nothing more than rebadging other people’s cars.

But I don’t quite agree.

Proton is a business entity and despite whatever we say about it being mismanaged, it is still trying to survive in today’s ever competitive automotive industry. This is more so with DRB changing it to privately owned and the government has less reasons to enforce protective measures on the industry. Having said that, Proton needs to diversify its portfolio of being a B/C segment seller to other segments to increase sales. And in business, you don’t just wake up one day scratching your arse and decide Lets make a Camry killer without sufficient volume to justify it. Think about the cost of R&D, distribution, marketing, etc to sell just those few thousands in an environment where there is a huge anything-but-a-Proton base. It’s not as simple as taking a Preve, widen and lengthen it to D segment category, plonk the E01e engine and ta-da! Your new PRM!

Rebadging bypasses the huge expenses related to developing a new model while utilizing a locally developed engine gives much needed exposure and experience in refining the engine further (hmmm, that kinda makes early adopters guinea pigs, no?). I am guessing the PRM will handle well given the improvement on chassis and suspension Proton has gained from Lotus … next step is to maximize the investment in the Petronas-developed engines. It all comes back to the age-old question: How reliable is a Proton?

For its future’s sake, I hope they don’t screw themselves up by implementing too many “new” technologies that they have little control over, particularly in the after sales area.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • synzz on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:28 am

If its so,
      leave the business to the experts.
      PROPER car makers.

simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
      • It’s very simple, don’t let an accountant minded ppl run the company. That’ll solve half of the problem. Oh wait, they did that and they sacked the guy.

• farghmee on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:27 pm

pls define “proper”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Why do they need to take so many years but still not seeing good result? How much $$ we as “Rakyat” need to continue to suffer? If they can’t perform, please at least produce something better, cheaper, better service, more friendly staff and don’t waste our money. Otherwise, this brand should become a “history”….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Terryble on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I agree with most of your statement except the cost of rebadging~~

Dude…do you think rebadging comes with no cost? you think Mitsubishi or whatever that incurred the cost will wanna let some1 else just take over and copy the model? The cost will ultimately charged back to the customer and i do not this it cost any cheaper~~how much is Inspira 2.0 selling? 90k? you call that cheap?

The only MAJOR advantages is that PROTON will save time in R&D and come out with a model in a relatively short time~~

Whereas Mitsubishi can tagged on “LOCAL” car’s advantage and incur much lesser excise duty and 0 import duty~~

But come back to the point, if Mitsubishi is selling hot in Malaysia, do u think they wanna give Proton a piece?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Go on with your whining and ranting how good and hope you have but the reality is still Jaguh Kampung No. 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Dru-Zod on Apr 26, 2013 at 11:33 pm

The Engine is out of date lah. Ask Nanjing

• ridzhas on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:08 am

This is what happen when Proton be own by other company. Has lost identity now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • TurboMax on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:11 am

Sounds promising !

• pak jabit on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:13 am

awesome! soon PM and all his cabinet minister will know how rakyat feel when driving car with vibrating dashboard…perdana will always be gov fleet isn’t?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • What??!!! Wtf is this man? Initially was talking about using Infiniti M based sedan from Mitsubishi now Honda? lol.. Proton. when oni will you grow up and develop your own chassis and engine? Im not saying sharing chassis is bad but proton u r copying ppl stuff since day one and expect rakyat to bail u whenever u make losses. Y not proton just scrap off car making and focus on car assembly. I mean we all can have CKD instead of CBU. with lower price. and Proton can be the company to in-charge all these project since they have a large assembly plant. win2 situation. Rakyat can have a lower car price and Proton is still runing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
    • ducati on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:53 pm

woi bangang. preve, waja tu semua bukan buat chassis sendiri ke? campro bukan engine sendiri? and what’s wrong with Proton using Petronas engine later on? they bought the whole patent, and they have the right to use it, dont they? plus, it is not only the engine patent, they also own the petronas engine facilities in bangi.
      seriously, i think u are a person only know how to drive, but know nothing about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Platform/chassis sharing is not rebadge. Peugeot 207, Mazda 2 and Ford Fiesta are sharing the platform but they are not identical each others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • AlexK on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Peugeot 207 is not having the same platform as Mazda 2/Ford Fiesta. =). But I do agree, platform/chassis sharing is not a rebadge. It’s a rebadge if the car looks the same with minor changes here and there (e.g. the bumper/lights).

• It’s been a long long time, since the last time they wanted to use a certain Mitsubishi model from Australia, and until today, accord. Just make it happen laaaaaaa……

• Fredo on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:42 am

what is wrong with some of you guys?
    just like Inspira, this rebadge Accord is actually an opportunity to own the Accord at a cheaper price.
    U think Proton will spend much money is changing the already good accord and sell? No! they wont. They will just do some minor trick here and there to differentiate it from the original accord. By the time new accord arrived on our shore, new Perdana will be launched using the current accord with just skin differentiation. underneath, its the same current model accord. There you go, value for money there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Expatriate VN on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Yes, Inspira-rize Accord to become Perdana, good cut and paste job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Peter on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Yes. This’s what we want.

• ae101 on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Taiko, just think how the current accord owner feel la if proton not only sharing chasis buy rebadge. You know how many lancer owner suffer when they come out inspira?

• why PRM (Program Rosmah Mansur) must have collaboration with honda? we still cannot have 100% originality malaysian made?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:21 pm

If made in Malaysia, you bash it for lack of quality. When JV with a foreign partner, you bash it for not being original.

Typical Malaysian. Nothing but complaints but zero understanding of the real world and zero solutions offered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Dr Cooper on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:59 am

I would like to think for proton to just came out with the car without saying its base on what or its origin and lets people judges themselves. More like the old days.. Proton should just shut up and continue whatever their work discreetly until it succeed…Shouting rumors or half-finished plan just cause inviting uninvented bashers only. You’re not those German marques or Japs big boys who can always teased their upcoming models.

• cosmothegod on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Chassis only maa.. you can’t even see it. They’ll redesign the frame and exterior. They’ll upgrade the Petronas engine to meet any requirement in any market wo. How you want it to look? Just tell them build it like a toned down Rapide. Exciting, izzit? Uncles won’t buy maa.. They want kotak design one. Strong torque oso don’t want, car very jumpy.
    So how you please everyone? Yew motorheads want to buy D segment car kah? All yew people want is some hot hatch with twin scroll turbo and 230hp for RM65K. Why bising about this car maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • This report suddenly makes me think that Proton, being a car manufacturer for so long, with all the facilities, is still incompetent in terms of producing a fundamentally good car engine for the mass market, people buy it becoz they hv little choice in pricing, the best they could do is to add a turbo to the campro… Now they are taking engine from a non-car manucturer-petronas (yes, the petronas is involved in car racing,but they dont make engines for the F1 and mass market) yet they manage to come up with better engine technologies).
    Yes , borrowing/taking technologies from others is the logic move at the moment due to cost efficiency and effectiveness issue, and also when they dont have a solid foundation, they need “allies” as a stepping stone, short term wise..
    Im sure the management know what to focus on for long term growth…but pls dont repeat past mistakes which treats Proton as a “family business”, real talents (local or abroad) are overlooked..Failure to avoid these issues, Proton will still be “borrowing” technologies and sell cars in malaysia only for the coming 30 years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • seat-belt on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:32 pm

its a shame that its already 30 years proton is in the industry but does not have a big range of car segment. hopefully under the new owner, DRB-HICOM, it can lead proton to the brighter future & by acquiring all this petronas engine technology, its actually a good start where all this petronas engine is 100% designed & built by our own malaysian citizen hand. unlike the campro that use the facility in lotus. i always hoping that one day we can have a car that is fully 100% in & out made & designed by malaysian.

• Expatriate VN on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Being Jaguh Kampung No. 2 symphatizer. This is the best you can imagine! Yet you are expected all local consumers have to bear with this incompetent low quality car with inflated price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Proton bodoh on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Brainless, better close down la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 38
  • “newspaper’s mystery source adds that Honda’s expansion in Malaysia will need a higher degree of localisation”
    Well shit

but with all Proton news, and almost no news or word from Minato, Tokyo, I’ll take it with a pinch of salt. Tokyo,

• Enhanced Vehicle on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:23 pm

1)The Petronas engine was developed a few years back, you will need to do something to comply current and future emission standard…. Of course at this stage we do not know how extensive the modification would require, how much it would cost….

2)Again, If you can’t sell by a certain volume, it is also quite stupid to use this Petronas engine… You can argue that you can sell this engines to China car makers or Indian car makers or etc to make up the volume, but if it is really that good, I am sure Proton would have already strike some deals at this time…. So, I think this engine is either not good enough or it is only good for track, not really for street….

So, I think using Honda chassis is quite a brilliant idea, but petronas engine would make the whole idea very much less brilliant….. You will end up have to sell the PRM at higher price…. The story of pressuring govt to save a national pride will again come back and you all can guess how this story will develop…. same old same old….

• TurboGuy on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Fuyoh.. Proton Accord Hybrid.
    I’m sure lots of ppl will buy this car cuz it is hybrid car (Perdana + Accord).

• talk is cheap

• Terryble on Apr 24, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Whatever new models and new upgrades to the engine~~
    we want it NOW~~not 20 years later~~

Please proton~~whatever changes it is~~take it to the current models~~make your cars more exciting~~

• policeman on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Honda chassis, Petronas engine, and whos’s gearbox?

• policeman on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:13 pm

In 5 years time this car will cost more than a brand new Accord. Thanks to PR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • pak jabit on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:28 pm

for the sake of quality, please assemble it in honda plant then just stick the proton logo only…don’t let even one part from proton supplier to be put inside unless the logo only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Peter on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:38 pm

As long as consumer is concerned, I think Accodana sell better than Perdana. BTW, I glad they use Honda (out going model) chassis but Petronas’s Engine? Low torque efficiency? Fuel Economy … (all questions derive from Petronas engine) … it has a long way to go. Don put too much hope on it. Campro CFE anytime can be better than that (everyone need the 1st step which usually consist of failures).

• atoyot on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:06 pm

no SUV from proton?

• sharing platform is the way to go, yes, agree.
    But there’re so many companies already, Skoda Octovia(if you ever remember) or Passat last time, Nissan Kuga, Mitsu – and now Honda.
    When someone said ‘rojak’ well I agree. Forget who manages proton, the point is where is it (Proton) heading?

• thedarkside on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:58 pm

if use petronas engine with petronas fuel can get discount ha?? hehe..joking only

• gOOsh on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:49 pm

alarr… kalau PROTON produce its own D-segment car pun bukan korang nak beli pun… kutuk ada larr…

• mamamia on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:07 pm

some people not using the brain to their comments…or I must say stupid comments…please understand about automotive 1st…

• syed abu on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Proton only good at having affair with
    MMC/Citreon/Renault/Nissan and now a new
    romance in Honda. Please DRB just offer an equity
    stake to Honda and make this a lasting marriage.
    Not another one nite stand and producing bas****
    off springs. Smart guys won’t buy this !!

• ducati on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:59 pm

i believe the good affair only with MMC throughout Proton history. The collaboration with Renault/Citroen IMO, was totally a failure.

• ducati on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:01 pm

i believe the good affair only with MMC throughout Proton history. That’s why in Proton still practice Japanese working culture. The collaboration with Renault/Citroen IMO, was totally a failure. Look at savvy and tiara. the CBU powertrain of Renault in Savvy is more 1-sided to Renault.

• C14man on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Proton will do to Honda Accord what they did to Mitsu Lancer. Then Honda accord RV will drop like stone. Toyota camry will be laughing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Leong Chia How on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Build own engine, basher complains dare not purchase. Get from others, complains that it is not from Proton? So fellow bashers, what you guys want? Just close it down right?

• hippo on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:30 pm

This is bad news for current Accord owner, resale value will plummet immediately. Better sale it off asap. hhm, but proton civic is not that bad also

• what a waste of taxpayers money

again no innovation
    use honda to design car
    buy petronas engine which is obsolete and was intended to be sold to proton years back

what do the designers and directors etc. of Proton being paid for again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • roptr on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:28 pm

It’s now under DRB, you don’t read news or only know bashing here and there without facts?

And again after so many repeating above about rebadging…shame

• infinity on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:48 pm

From the write-up above, it sounds to me that Proton will only be using Honda Accord chasis. It will be a new design, i.e., not Honda Accord look-alike (unlike Lancer-Inspira), with new engine, possibly new transmission, and surely new suspension system.
    To be fair, this is the common practice, especially on low volume segment.

• too many up there concern on protons !!! they are still supporting u proton…go ahead..the most comments thread than others

if no comment, people dont bother u = people dun no of proton existence

• Jaja Barns on Apr 24, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Honda provide the chasis, Petronas built the engine…mmm…Lotus will do the handling job. Where is Proton.? Aah…the DRB Hicom is busy signing the MOA under the glimsed of light

• Sharon on Apr 24, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Lots of people thinking they are like expert in manufacturing cars. What a shame!

If you think you are so good, try to build a factory and make car with your own brand and see how many people will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • nones on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Ready made engines and chassis, oh please, this ideas is rubbish! If proton not come out with innovative products..electric vehicle and hybrid etc…better close lahhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • pirlo on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:05 pm

please enlighten us, how well the market of hybrid and EV perform in Malaysia? do you know how much the R&D cost? do you know how much the hybrid battery cost if it runs out? do you know how many electric charging station in malaysia besides bkt bintang and putrajaya?

• jeffrey on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:42 pm

I fear for all Honda user. If i see rebadge civic in proton i’ll sell my car. Come to think of it better sell before its too late. My friend used to have a lancer GT and when inspira is launch,,his lancer gt price just tumble..

• proton on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Just close shop already if you can’t produce cars.

• national car maker on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:16 pm

You can’t produce a car with copying? Come on…where is your creativity?

• Tell that too to toyota, daihatsu, pug, aston martin etc coz they are rebadging too and do plaform sharing

• say who on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:43 pm

uzer… sometimes…it is useless to talk to somebody that think they know all about car business… better we shut our mouth… but in the bad side of it. It will not make the stupidity stop by itself…it will continue to spreads

• “Hang Dah Potong Nenas” @ Honda_Proton_Petronas

• Real Malaysian on Apr 25, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Great Job proton. That’s a great idea. Just don’t listen to these bashers, just do what you need to do. I strongly support you guys.

Regards,
    Real Malaysian living in Canada

• tycoon88 on Apr 25, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Kempen Turunkan Harga Kereta.

U can make a difference on 05 May 2013.

Pandai-pandai “X” lah

• NIEKO on Apr 25, 2013 at 7:29 pm

i think its a good idea for Proton to take the Accords chassis for the new Perdana Replacement ,but proton please make sure that your not just rebadging the whole car,you have to change the whole design of the car and be creative

• Proton + Honda = Proda = Proton Proda

• wth , im driving a honda accord, will the selling price of used accord be affected after the launch of this model ?

• Mazlan on Apr 26, 2013 at 12:26 am

Perdana Replacement Model @Proton Suprima can’t be developed from scratch because lack of scale and require huge investment. It is good to collaborate with Honda but please don’t blindly copy the Honda. At least give us different face and rear so people won’t condemn Proton so much to be copycat of other carmakers.

• It’s all well and good making cosmetic changes to the car, but I won’t bet on mechanical revisions. Shoehorning the Petronas E01 engine in the Accord’s chassis is possible, but I’m betting it will be prohibitively expensive and the car will definitely not be ready for launch this year. Rebadging happens everywhere, and not just Malaysia. The Accord’s mechanicals are proven anyway, so I think Proton is better off recycling its mechanical components wholesale, and focus on refining the E01 engine for its future models that would arrive at later times.

• HGarage on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:52 am

Hell yeah! get the CL7 platform with the Hi-rev NA engine.. place it between 100-130K.. (M)6spd or 7spd(CVT).. Malaysia boleh.

• danial on Apr 28, 2013 at 4:36 pm

@squall_shinoda i agree with what i say, i never about carroces anymore, for the being i drive proton 7 year old one, nvr have big problem, just small ones here n there.

I could have afford a new Toyota Wish 7 years ago but I made the right decision, i bought a house at that time was 260k, now only in 3 years the value soar to 390k , i will wait another 3 years more n will increase to 450k n then will sell n get 200k net profit.For the time being i rent out the house fully furnish at rm2500 per month, netting rm1700 from the monthly instalment of rm1200, after that will buy another 2 house n rent them out.

then in 6-7yers time i will get them sell and will get net profit around 300-450k.
    in 10-20 years i will retire and have 600-700k in asset, cash will benture into solid business and some invest in ASN . Then i will plan to go overseas for holiday, all with saving n investment by not living the style ‘biar papa asal bergaya’ Car is just a tool… don’t be a slave to your car by paying more from what you should pay, even this tab i use to post to Paultan i pay by cash.

I know many of my friend are into debts for the lifestyle such as branded car, card credit etc

Now every 2 or 3 days i laugh all the way to the bank deposit cash money from my investment n business in house rental properties. All rewarded by not buying high prices imported car. Haha..Thank God for guiding me to the right choice.

• Noname on Apr 30, 2013 at 6:54 pm

U sounds just like my dad.. Person w 30k salary/month but using inspira.. Most exp car ever bought naza ria for family use in travelling.. Wish my dad just like u.. Invest money in properties..

• ubah lah on Jul 06, 2013 at 5:39 pm

No model chg 4 last11 years for perdana from Proton. How do they run a car maker? Proton only buy parts from crony connected to the insiders.

Malaysia run 4 umno cronies w AP.

AP is the world’s easy way to make money” to quote a GM executive .

AP for connected unmo kaki .

Msians have suffer 4 more than 20 years with nothing to show except continue high price cars . Cars with low quality and low spec. Cars with premium prices but lowest of the low spec car and poor quality.

The car margin is soooo sooo high that BMW. & Daimler Benz say it is a very very good market to make abnormal profits and to slaughter the stupid msians.

The govt run 4 umno cronies. No regard 4 rakyat. Just close the rakyats eyes and continue run the country as usual.

• Laurettw_sweety on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:54 pm

I’m very disagree with the displacement! Honda are known as their luxurious and I think Proton aren’t suitable for the displacement. If everyone buy the new Proton Perdana, then it will be a common car for us who are driving Honda Accord. We should keeping our elegance as Honda users. I think they should replace the new Proton Perdana with other cars that aren’t in Malaysia like Infinity, Acura or Saturn.

• mahadzira on Sep 30, 2013 at 7:15 am

when will the proton perdana will be available? hope to see it soon and rumours sadi it is copying Nissan Fuga

• Bob Cr-X on Nov 06, 2013 at 6:35 pm

stop using a car,Buy A Superbike!

How Cool Its that?

but still suffer when raining…. nasib la…hehehhe