Proton Suprima trademark filed – future Proton model

Proton-Suprima-MyIPO

Proton filed for a trademark for the name ‘Proton Suprima’ with the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO) back in January 2013, as eagle-eyed reader Ooi pointed out to us.

UPDATE: We now know that the Proton Suprima name will be used for the Proton Preve hatchback.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aiyaaa then it will be proton naming contest anymore!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • What!?? I thought it’s gonna be named Proton Anaconda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 26
    • Proton 1 Malaysia is better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 38
      • alldisc on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:14 am

that SUPRIMA sure has 1 Malaysia trademark there…

supr1Ma

supreme maa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Peter on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Proton memang pandai pilih nama. Kita ada
      Proton Sah kah? (Saga)
      Proton Sa wi (Savy)
      Proton Exhaust-lah (Exora)
      Proton Villa (Wira)
      Proton Bersunat (Persona)
      Proton Jual~la (Juara)

Proton Bertina (Perdana)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
  • Aiyaa then it will be no more naming proton model contest!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Sgt Scoop on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:37 pm

They can still have the competition and award the prize to some datuk’s son. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
  • Matchy on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Suprima? Proton must be running out of names… ^_^;;;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • much better than using numbers, those people are not human because don’t understand words

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Jimmy on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Malayanised word; Suprimo, Supremeo, Supreem, …. Sukarela.

Haha, BTW, fortunately they seemingly gonna use Accord.
      If MB is used, innovative sounds will be much more obvious.

• junaidi on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:28 am

poor Mercedez and BMW, ran out of names since …forever.

• shawn on May 02, 2013 at 12:36 am

They did not run out of names =.=

What they did was familiarize the world with their model types and made it easier for them to introduce new class (series)into their line up ie now : 3 sedan = 3 | 3 coupe = 4 | as well as the upcoming 2 series and their hybrid which will be the i8/i3. Now the world just needs to hear new model and they’ll know exactly what it is.

Also avoids the possibility of losing sales over rubbish names ie Suprima. Anything proton touches turns into a burning pile of shit. Why? It’s still overpriced.

I’d rather buy a BMW even if the initial tax is high, I can show my lack of love / support / trust / confidence in the shit hole we call Potong Edar.. I mean proton edar (doesn’t even deserve any caps)

Sitting down in a proton will leave you wanting to get out. In a BMW (especially), being in that seat no matter the traffic condition will leave you calm and relaxed.

And yes I have a kelisa as well as a 3 and a 5 series.

• policeman on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Proton Sperma?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Pororo on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Suprima?? what a rojak name..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
    • mspfaz on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:30 am

Su Prima in spanish means your female cousin… At least is doesn’t sound indecent in other language

• Supreme on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Lotus Handling Honda Accord…nice..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • Mat65 on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Preve still a better car…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 59
  • Luckily it isn’t SUPR1MA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Funny that it is not following their latest names which are more “English-ised” or foreign language words, i.e.

Preve, Persona…

Suprima sounds like a modded Inspira name, Rearrange all the characters, swap m for n, and bingo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • nabill on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:09 pm

if its using local names means it wil be sold locally only same like the perdana

• BawaKereta on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Suprima = Sup + Harimau.
    Locals in Terengganu call Harimau as “Rima”. To conclude, Sup+Rima. = Suprima. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
    • That sounds so similar to Ligar. Lion+Tiger. LOL

• spectator on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Sup Rima! Haha you got one BawaKereta. That words makes me laughing loudly! Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • cskiat234 on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Wow! I like. Tiger soup. I can imagine how the advert going to be. I bet the theme song will be something like THE EYE OF THE TIGER.

• I think proton should just name it Supreme outright, just to show the confidence they have for the new flagship. I remembered Skoda unashamedly named their flagship Superb although at that time the czech is not exactly a well-known carmaker. Gotta hand it to them for having the balls to do so.

On a lighter note, Suprima sounds similar to subprime too. Hope the end product is not subprime but supreme (or at least it should be up to japanese standards given its rumoured donor car).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Why not Proton just use the “Perdana” name

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • Support.. Perdana used to be a good car, v6 Eterna
      It was a legend… Proton should have continue the legacy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • Jab, Strong, Fierce! on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:49 pm

They are revamping to make the name toward internationally favorable. The direct translation for “Perdana” to english resulted in the word “Prime” and it make sense because “Suprima” has a ring to it. An alternate translation would be “Inaugural” and it’s awkward for the spanking new model to be called a Proton Inaugural, it’s way too difficult to be pronounce as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • pirlo on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:34 pm

indeed. dear drb, please retain the name of Perdana. The name is already a trademark of D-segment car for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Sgt Scoop on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:59 pm

They may have burnt the legacy with their window and gear box problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • gOOsh on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:15 am

100% agree with you Ken… baru la ada continuity… kalau tak, market will get confused…
      btw, i think the name Suprima has less USP…

• thedarkside on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:28 pm

yep…i dont see anything wrong with the current name

• juann on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:36 pm

sounds like food menu.. pizza hut super supreme

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • IsItJustMe on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Er, sounds closer to SUBPRIME, actually!

• mengmeng on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Look like is Surprise ma. suprima.

• Lets campaign for change………..its name haha

• Autaton on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Rebadge coming soon?

• Green on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:43 am

It’s not rebadge. it’s redesigning a Car from a metallic shell of Honda.

hence, end up, dashboard, exterior, interior looking, lights.. everthing looks different.

just like Mazda 2 vs Ford Fiesta.
      totally different car based on same chasis.
      or.
      Mazda Pickup vs New Ford Ranger.
      Same size, but totally different design and engine.

• moha774 on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Just like Lancer to Wira…same chassis with different look…

• abahko on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:26 pm

what the name?

• Come on…stupidity is not a crime

• mystvearn on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:38 pm

If there is a satria neo, saga blm, why not just stick with Perdana.

• Unforgiven on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:42 pm

My word: yucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
  • Shame_Loo on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Doesn’t benefit or bring any impact at all. Why bother so much? Another junk to be born…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • darker on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:15 pm

naming the car is secondary..

Make sure the car is good quality, likable, relevant and affordable to Malaysian.

No point calling it even Super-Duper-triple-Suprima- Ultima if the quality of the car sucks, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Terryble on Apr 25, 2013 at 2:18 pm

There is a point actually~~

u can call it a Super-Duper-Triple-Suprima-Ultima “SUCKS” car if the quality is not good~~

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Suprima…? So they cannot use the word Supreme or Supremo, now have to use Suprima…?

Might as well Subprima… Sub for Substandard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Khairi on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:40 pm

I think having new names is bullshit. They should follow other car manufacturer’s style of naming. Say for BMW, keep it being 3 series, 318, 320, 325 but differentiate them by the generation chassis name like E36, E46, E90, F30 etc. Like what has been doing by Mercedes. Even Honda and Toyota are doing this.

• alldisc on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:34 am

agree. there is nothing wrong by using the name Corolla over and over again. or Camry, or Celica (Silly car?). or Crown, or Estima.

once in a while maybe ok to change names, maybe under rebranding exercise like what Mazda did from 323 to 3 or 626 to 6 but not every model.

Proton really show its fears the stigma of using names like Juara, Tiara or Savvy and in this case – Perdana when they can show confidence by re-using same model names.

• jijie on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:41 pm

proton supermarket also can be maaa…

• teksi drebar on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:55 am

Proton Suprima Donna?
    According to the dictionary, Prima Donna=a person who takes adulation and privileged treatment as a right and reacts with petulance to criticism or inconvenience.

• Norman on Apr 25, 2013 at 6:04 am

2.0 is confirm and since they will share technologies with Honda why not built Limo edition 2.4?

• Proton SUPrima? r u kidding me..
    pls proton..maintain with ‘proton perdana’ like u did with proton saga (blm)..there is no such thing u change the name but the quality will be ugh!..dont confuse us with new name anymore..at least we can see the development of new model compare to previous model..after SUPrima is what? SUPbunjut?..dont say ‘rakyat’ make fun of ur idea proton..period

• SUP RIMAU. Yum yum.

The harimau logo.

• apexg2 on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:07 am

S=Sesuai
    U=Untuk
    P=Penerima
    R=Rebet
    1=1
    MA=Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Apr 25, 2013 at 2:43 pm

disebabkan KAU… proton terus tak jadi guna nama Suprima tau… frust aku! kah kah kah

• gOOsh on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:16 am

suprima & supir (aka driver) kan lebih kurang sama… :)

• van diesel on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:41 am

chill la guys..just support it lahh..national car what..of course laa there will be a lil bit of a 1malaysia sound..quality is much more important rather than just a name

• I prefer Malaysian name. Not bashing or condemning anybody/ anyone.
    Wira, Satria, Perdana – nothing wrong with that.
    Kizashi, Tiguan, Passat – well, so what?

• pak jabit on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:59 am

pakai keta proton supr1ma…tinggal kat pr1ma…cukup masa dapat duit br1m..aaa! sekian tr1ma kaseyy!

• sepul on Apr 25, 2013 at 9:24 am

Proton Subway, as in Subway sandwich.

They should just call it Proton Prime.

• dewaSemut on Apr 25, 2013 at 9:28 am

Subprima in foreign language means:
    Portuguese : v. obliterate, crush; cut, prune; dissolve, fade away; eliminate; quash, quell; stop; suppress
    Spanish : v. suppress; remove; annul, cancel; delete; omit
    French : removed
    (Source : http://translation.babylon.com/)

After looking at the definition, the name felt weird to me.. :P

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Apr 25, 2013 at 9:39 am

Has anyone notice proton used ‘A’ at the end on EVERY MODEL they had until Preve came out??now its going back to use the end-‘A’ again??

• taboogen on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:22 am

gen2 and savvy doesnt have A at the end..

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Apr 25, 2013 at 11:05 am

hehe,thought so..just realized,so its a dud theory,sorry

• Terryble on Apr 25, 2013 at 2:22 pm

call it Proton Rosmah~~
      Ended with the A sound also~~

You can start saving your money from age 12 and buy it when u are 21 when the car comes our~~so perfect~~

• Perhaps they should call the new car Sperma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • johnny on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:03 pm

lol..that would naturally increase our nations car shagging addiction.. the cops are going to have a field day..

• keretamahal on Apr 25, 2013 at 9:55 am

Proton Supir Maa.. hahahahahaha

(supir means driver in bahasa indonesia for people who don’t understand the language of our brothers next door)

• shawal on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:19 am

rebadged car with funny name and an unproven engine reliability , proton have their work cut out for them..
    Wishing all of them success, saga, persona , exora and preve has been well received so far…

• I wonder why they wanna trademark this Suprima name in the first place. trust me no other company is going to use this name on a car hehe.

• krs189 on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:26 am

Why not call SuperBR1M.

more cathcy.

• nabill on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:34 am

Proton submarine?!

• VoidDance on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:36 am

I think car makers should stop giving their cars a name or classification. Just let the buyer call their vehicle anything they want.

Easy.

Now, where is my Proton Banana Hammock..

• powerpondei on Apr 25, 2013 at 11:02 am

Just use “Perdana” instead la.

Stick with “Saga”, “Wira”, “Perdana” la. Tengok polo, golf dah lama pakai nama tu. diorang tak fokus nama pun, diorg fokus kualiti. Pening kepala nak fikir nama je, fokus kat kualiti hilang pulak.

• They could just maintain the name of PERDANA.
    it was a good legacy, though, if we exclude the gearbox and power window thingy.

Suprima is too 1 Malaysia – PR1MA & Co.,

Or else, call it Optimus Prime.

• apexg2 on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Just call it Proton Su. More girly…then put bodykit a bit…call it Proton Gwiyomi..cute..hahahahaha

• Fagly on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Proton Apanama is better name

• KL Stray Cat on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:05 pm

easy lor…since Petronas involved – the name of their fuel must be included !! Make sense to me – but it is still a lame name. IMHO.

• policeman on Apr 25, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I’ll get this car i it come with a manual gearbox and without a stupid DBW system.

Curse the people that invented DBW!!!
    Electric power steering. What’s next, electric brake system?

• What is the Class 12? as what i found on Mr Google, it shows there a Race Desert Car. If it’s that so, Proton must be involving in new Motorsports, maybe?

• If this is true, it must be one of the worst names ever. I think though, it is the name of the PETRONAS-sourced engine. As far as I know, the name Perdana is to be retained, becoming only the second PROTON to have this “trait”, after Saga.

• What is the point? Put labour onto a more expensive honda accord to make proton and sell for lower price?

• my name? on Apr 25, 2013 at 3:07 pm

no idea ar proton? aiyoo.. suprima or supreme sounds more like “mmmmm…” why not just put proton sedap..? u guys just never changed..

• Proton SUPR1MA?

• suprasastimalaya on Apr 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

it is better PROTON SUPRAMANIAM..

• kenot on Apr 25, 2013 at 4:35 pm

haiyooo…the car is not ready, but already bash the name…i dont care about the name…as long as the car is really good quality and worth for money.

the question is now, can proton produce their flagship model with high quality at all round??hehe

• cosmothegod on Apr 25, 2013 at 5:06 pm

PROTON PEGASUS
    a revival

• Abg Long on Apr 25, 2013 at 5:15 pm

for me, they should just maintain Perdana. hmmm.. anyway, do lah whatever JV/ partnership/ collaborations with other automaker, but please, FASTER PROTON!!!!!!

• PROTON SUPRIMA with Accord chasis, Lotus handling and VW DSG 6 speed wet clutch transmission!

• the driver on Apr 25, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Don’t care what you call it, just make sure the car performs. However, in terms of respect, just don’t expect too much of that considering it started as someone else’s car (Accord). Am sure they won’t attempt to sell in overseas markets for sure – more hilarious comments will sure follow (Top Gear)

• Tok Kok on Apr 25, 2013 at 6:47 pm

I will be a old generation Accord with slight changes on the front and back… nothing new by Proton. What else can they do?

• actually its short from proton SUPER1MALAYSIA

• Khairul on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Proton Prima is better name than Proton Suprima

• Capt Love on Apr 27, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Try google image of Suprima…see what you get…among them…tengok la sendiri…ROFL…

• Haha camni nak sebut nama kereta kat orang pun malu.

• Aiyo sht have to sell my accord alrdy…posting on mudah now

• syieda on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:30 pm

syarat letak nama max 6 huruf. tp dia bg nm lebih dr 6 huruf. mcm tipu je. nmnya pun mcm keindoan ckit.
    appada.. nm x universal