Volkswagen Polo Sedan: CKD coming soon from India

IMG_8053b

The Volkswagen Polo Sedan is set to be locally-assembled in Malaysia in the near future. According to a report, Volkswagen India will begin manufacturing and packaging assembly kits for export from its Pune plant, with Indian content for the car – to be assembled by DRB-Hicom – being about 70%.

The automaker says that the export line will create 215 new jobs in the company’s parts and components unit as well as at suppliers. It added that while VW cars assembled in India currently feature 70% local content, the company is aiming to increase this percentage by building engines and gearboxes, if volumes support the move to do so.

Currently, the 1.6 litre MPI Polo Sedan is sold here as a fully-built imported vehicle from India – the introduction of the CKD programme for the car should translate into a cheaper price tag from the RM99,888 asked for the CBU unit now, but by how much remains to be seen. The move may be significant in driving sales volumes up for the car, which hasn’t quite set the market alight.

Volkswagen India also exports its fully-built cars to Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh and South Africa.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 85k?

• encik boss on Apr 24, 2013 at 10:59 am

Tax reduction from CBU to CKD is only ~20%. But that’s only on paper. In reality, you wont get the much of reduction due price control.
    I prefer excise duty to be cut or abolished.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • cloudstrife07 on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:00 am

Good. Now please make a 1.2 TSI version yah DRB-Hicom :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • ABTguy on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Yes, they should bring in 1.2 TSI to bring down the excise duty further. But VW please pair the 1.2 TSI with the conventional 6 speed auto, I don’t mind as it is less problematic.

Hopefully :)

• VW will never pair a TSI with a Torque Convertor..
        In some market, they even pair their 1.4L NA with DSG..

They will only pair their DSG with TSI or NA, but Torque Convertor only pair with NA..

• Paul Tan on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Actually the Tiguan and Passat CC started with 6-speed torque converter, later only became DSG.

Volkswagen Touareg Hybrid with 3.0 TSI also uses 8-speed torque converter.

• ben yap on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:08 am

sure the quality will suck big time. local contents are never long lasting. already a budget VW, this will be the most cheapo VW with low quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
    • Reeboot on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:49 am

That maybe true if the cbu is from german.but this cbu is from india.most vendor supplying for vw india was rated mediocre by vw gmbh. Not up to par with their standards.but since its cheap to produce in india,so….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Can’t really know for sure as prestigious cars like the Audi A4 is manufactured in India. Even Mini is joining in the Made In India campaign soon.

• Er .. VW us not a GmbH. Its an AG. GmbH is like Sdn Bhd.

Also, whether you buy a VW from Mexico, India, Brazil, South Africa or Germany, they are built the same. Variance is so minimal. The only difference is the type of materials used for seats, plastics, etc. Built quality is on par, though.

• RajaKing on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:10 am

dream on with 1.2 TSi.. however, VGM should introduced the 1.6 TDi with M/T. give us choice apart from the 1.6 petrol..

• honda joker on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:32 am

they will reduce the price to 95K. dream on if you think you can get this entry level car at 80K.

• It is about time a bare-bone economic car be cheaper. 99k is just a bloody ripoff.

• bystander on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:36 am

India is not an ASEAN country, so don’t expect same tax tariffs as other CKD vehicles from Thailand etc.

• Xefron on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:40 am

RM58,800 ? if DRB dare enough.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Reeboot on Apr 24, 2013 at 11:41 am

I was one of the engineers doing the CKD project supplying for this CKD sedan.The cbu units from india was rated at Note 3,which is mediocre.VW Gmbh was pushing for note 6 for CKD project.the plan was to have a cheaper polo sedan with higher quality.next phase is to CKd the polo hb but running the 1.6 mpi instead of 1.2 tsi.so we can assume a cheaper polo sedan and polo hb after this.and by early 2014,they plan to produce CKD jetta.i hope drb and vw malaysia dont mess up the plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • That sounds great but the the local VW has to really walk the talk. For instance, Kia and Hyundai are respected brands overseas but the quality of their local CKD models have not been up to the mark. What’s more, some CKD models suffer from a detuned specs such as the Honda Jazz Hybrid.

• amirad on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:49 am

Can always get RCD310/510 and ori centre armrest for a few hundred bucks. Can also put LED foglights, polo gti front grill, paint the roof black and shod it with 17 inch rims. The car will sure looks nice and sporty.

• umnokakipitnah on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:54 pm

great!..planning to get it if its meet my requirement..babai vios,city

• sudonano on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Paultan needs to hire this guy!

What you are saying here seems possible. Thing is, VGM is placing their cars ABOVE the Japanese. 99888 for a really poverty spec car, is like what UMW is doing, saving grace is just the 6 speed tiptronic.

I hope VGM won’t do what Honda did with the CKD Jazz Hybrid. Cause now, the best value is still the Fiesta Sedan. Though both, this and the Fiesta Sedan don’t have nice rears imo…

• VGM just need to put in few more items to make the car perfect:
      1) ESP – important
      2) 2-Din Audio – enhance the look of interior
      3) Center arm rest – good to have but not very crucial

Otherwise, this car is perfect for affordable conti-car.. no headache about TSI engine, no worries about 6 speed torque converter (source from Aisin – Toyota).. this could be the most reliable VW that VGM offers

Longer legroom then Polo hatch
      Bigger boot space
      Reliability should be good…

Place it at 80k+, Vios, City, Fiesta Sedan, Mazda2 Sedan, Almera, Rio, 208 will sure scared until laosai…

• Do it like BMW. Drop the price and up the spec.

• i dont mind if the price remain the same but with new engine 1.4 tsi :p

• policeman on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:06 pm

India’s QC is horrible.

Pity the fool that buys this thinking he’s driving a German car when in fact its an Indian car. trololol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • Only a fool calls others fool. Care to tell us what car u drive genius?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • policeman on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Definitely not an Indian car.
        Are you looking forward to the new car smell when you get this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
        • Simon Lee on Apr 25, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Hey policeman, don’t be a racist. The VW Polo from India smells the same as the one from Germany. The same can be said about its build quality.

Looks like you are the smelly one here ..

• citizen on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:30 am

says the guy who drives a non-german car I bet? you drive the PS and compare it to a Jap car in the same segment and tell me you dont feel the difference. Go for a test drive before opening your trap.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Not sure they will bring down the price or maintain as they profit more. VW still sells anyway with ridiculous price as it wear “German Engineering ” badge.

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:05 pm

boring looking car mcm Sam Loo’s favorite….

• kimchi on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:20 pm

With rm90k++ price tag and a dull design, consumers have a lot of choice. It will be tough battle for this car to sell with the upcoming K3 by mid year. The korean car quality nowadays is much better than yesteryear and it even surpass the japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • helmi on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:33 pm

People, please boycott this car. 3rd class car for 3rd world country but with cut throat blood sucking pricing. Personally I start to hate the Germans for this insults. For them Malaysian only deserve the 3rd class cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
  • helmi on Apr 24, 2013 at 3:41 pm

This model is available in Sri Lanka,Nepal, Bangladesh, Malaysia..bla..bla.. only in a 3rd world country. ha..ha.. Bloody hell Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
  • ernie on Apr 24, 2013 at 4:00 pm

well i got mine with a 12k discount in december. no regrets. awesomely smooth engine and refined ride. cannot sit in a non conti car ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • amiazmi on Jun 30, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Ernie, is the car good? Pick up ok? Can you share more please?

• anybody know what plate number GIM stands for coz it looks weird….

• More & more VW on the road soon.
    Toyota salesman can’t “LC” anymore.

• Abg Long on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:27 pm

if this car is price at 90k n elantra/ vois/ city/ almera also around that price tag 80k-90k, i’ll sure buy this polo sedan!!!

• Conti Rox on Apr 25, 2013 at 10:51 am

Not sure now but VW did give 10k discount during last year end promo.

• hang tuah on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Please check the plant of Volkswagen in India before comment.
    http://www.volkswagen.co.in/en/volkswagen_world/volkswagen_india/chakan_plant.html

• Einstein on Apr 25, 2013 at 8:29 am

Coming from VW website, I mean how BIAS can the article be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Leong on Apr 24, 2013 at 5:51 pm

German engineering is great but the days Malaysian are literrally oblivious of outside world has gone,if VW malaysia continue to flirt with this idea of premium car,I think they should work very hard as the japanese would not simply let them chop and chop,go higher..I might as well buy BMW…the real premium car all around the world not only Malaysia,becasue i don’t see VW as premium brand other than in Malaysia.BY THE WAY,YEN HAS DROP TO RECORD LOW,HOW COME THE JAPANESE NO PRICE DROP?Malaysian are sucker!FACT.

• Thepoor on Apr 24, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Manual gear box please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • sILVER ARROWS on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:42 pm

hope the price will be reduced to a reasonable price with better spec as this car although being imported from India , the indian spec n malaysia spec have a vast difference.

1. To driver hand rest (like polo HB) but indian spec they have it

2. The audio system is ages old compare to indian spec

3. No rear aircond blower but indian spec have it….

Last but not least the price of polo sedan in malaysia is equivalent to price of Jetta in India.. Well done Malaysia. Even CBU also we are getting the worst one.

• CKD unit later priced at RM89888 but no fog lights, no esc, only 2 airbags, no steering control, no leather wrapped steering, smaller rims and 1 din player.

• Jam Loo on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:31 am

i thought this car sold for RM 88,888 only ?

• honda joker on Apr 25, 2013 at 7:46 am

wait after election,maybe can get this car cheaper

• Norman on Apr 25, 2013 at 11:18 am

Dun get confused when I say this ckd Polo 1.6 is too expensive for a sub 1.6 car.So what if its a VW,Remember only the chassis and engine is from Germany and others are Asian made stuff.Its engine is not even TSI only a standard 1600cc.The acceleration from 0-100 is also sluggish due to its heavy body just like Proton cars.At least RM78000 is more reasonable.

• Goofy on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:42 pm

What’s wrong with ‘made in India’ ? You guys wearing Nike or using Iphone ? They are made in China. I bought my Polo Sedan with a discount of 10K and never regretted it. Go test drive first lah !

• TalkOnly on Apr 25, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Actually many of the guys here just criticize the car without even owning or driving one. I would rather belief people like “Goofy” who actually owns one!

• Been the proud driver for this car since Mac. Never regret it. Those that condemn it mostly making it blind. But hey! India made is getting better…

• Leong on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Nothing wrong with made in china or india.The fit and finish cannot even come on par with vios and city,mind you,i hate these 2 car to the core..total rip off,then you have VW trying to sell a similar product with lower quality with higher price….the 10 k you get has a reason behind it,dun you think so.this car is bare bone basic like vios and city,no fancy bell and whistle,it will serve those who wants care free a to b motoring minus the resale which is very important factor in this segment,people who buy vios and city put resale value as very important,VW need todo market research,same cannot be said to large MPV buyer.hope you understand.be factual not emotional.

• Well weird thing is many ppl complained that india qc is bad.. and I don’t believe any of these guys actually know what’s the definition of quality. India might not have the best infrastructure in the world but they have great supply chain network for auto manufacturers. Dont you think VW is stupid to select a country with bad names in quality? I was a quality guy auditing manufacturer in india and I can tell you their qc may open up your eyes.. and I own a polo sedan.. which I tell you the driving experience surpass many cars of the same segment.. don’t critics before you get a touch on this car. And currently the car is selling for a 10k discount.. not many ppl know this since the many get deterred by the published rate of 100k

• At 90k it is my pick of segment B sedans.

• Driven on Apr 25, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Go & test drive before you make comment.
    For me, i have no complain about the engine performance even only 1.6MPI + 1182Kg body.
    The -ve thing is interior material can’t match with the price tag.

• I love polo sedan on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

Got mine in Nov. It has been 5 months & mileage now is 11k. Still good as new & it has not even gone for the first 15k service yet. So far so very good.

• Goofy on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:45 am

Depends on what you want really, Polo Sedan can only be compared to other segment B cars like Vios, City and Almera. I test-drove all 3 cars, Almera ? no comment. Vios ? It has more pick-up power and a lot more fancy interior gadgets to play with. Honda was ok, nice body and all that. And let’s not forget Mazda and Pug have very cool designs too. Personally i chose Polo because of the ‘feel’ of the car when i was driving it, even though it is a little under-powered due to its heavier (safer and more stable ?) body, but once accelerated it felt good, very smooth kind of. And, if i want more power, i can always switch to S(Sport) Mode or the Shiftronic Mode. It has 4 airbags at the front, safety comes first for me, that’s why i chose Polo. So it depends, if you want fancy, go for Vios or Mazda or whatever …

• Dob168 on Jun 02, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Does VW still hv rebate/discount for polo sedan?

• noname on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Beli dulu baru komen.. Kalau setakat tengok saja mungkin akan rasa harganya mahal tapi cuba guna setiap kelebihan yang ada pada polo sedan anda tidak akan menyesal

• Wei Kiat on Oct 19, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Volkswagen Malaysia already list out spec details and estimated price of the coming Polo Sedan CKD in their official website ….