Datsun brand to get world debut this July in India

Datsun India

Here’s an update on the impending return of the Datsun brand. Nissan’s revived budget brand is set to make its world premiere in India on July 15, reports Autocar India. Carlos Ghosn, head of the Renault-Nissan Alliance, is expected to unveil the first new Datsun, a five-door hatch priced below Rs 4 lakh (RM22,400). It will hit the roads by mid-2014.

India will be a major market for Datsun, along with other emerging economies like Indonesia and Russia. Nissan expects to sell around 150,000 to 200,000 Datsuns in India every year, using a blend of affordability and aspiration to attract a growing middle class.

“India is a tough market and it’s not going to be a picnic for us, but we believe Datsun can crack it with modernity and a superior product,” Vincent Cobee, corporate VP of the Datsun business unit, told the mag.

News of Datsun’s revival surfaced in March 2012, before it was revealed that Datsun’s budget models will be based on the Lada Kalina (the orange car below). In May 2012, the Renault-Nissan Alliance and state corporation Russian Technologies agreed to create a JV that will see the Alliance take over AvtoVAZ, maker of Russia’s Lada cars. Read more about that here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DAT SUN! So bright!

• Sam Loo on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Hopefully that CEO of Tan Chong don’t come out again to say that ALL Datsun cars should be high price and it is good to have high taxes. People have still not forgotten that Nissan supports high taxes and high car prices. And Nissan love to see 27 million people suffer in Malaysia with high car loans and repayments. Personally, if a CEO thinks like that for his company, on ethical grounds, I would stay far way from the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Dru-Zod on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

what is wrong with you? why would a company support high taxes and subsequently kill its sales. This whole buy and support Toyota at all cost is getting ridiculous.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Datsun 390Z Fairlady?

• policeman on Apr 26, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Please Datsun,

make a proper car without any computerised nonsense such as DBW, electric steering, BA, etc

Just put a reliable engine and a proper manual gearbox, or just make a replica of 120Y but with strengthened chassis.

I’ll buy one for RM60K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • agree,not all people want this sophicicated tech, they just need reliable car

• frenzyaustin on Apr 28, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Hmmm…. remind me of Vios..

• kentji on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:22 pm

as a former vios user, the power of manual box and 1nzfe is just ‘ok’, fc also just ok(similar like cps) but quite reliable actually as it doesnt give me any problem

• Black Dog on Apr 26, 2013 at 7:49 pm

More suitable for BRIC countries. Don’t bring it here!

But then again, with so many foreigners here, we’re like living in a third world country!

• Katak on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:42 pm

I want one Datsun 120Y. My father used to drive this when I was small. I happened to drive a while too after getting my driving license. Really miss the car.

• hope they come up with a rear wheel drive sports car which is affordable.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 28, 2013 at 9:52 pm

But when come to Tan Chong, definitely will follow UMW roads, RM150K can raised to RM250K.

• Gokul on Apr 27, 2013 at 10:51 am

My father used to own one during the 80’s.. Gosh memories.. Miss those days..

• kentji on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:33 pm

back in days when you purchase a new datsun and people always ask you bout FC, RV, pickup

• gOOsh on Apr 29, 2013 at 2:03 pm

remember my grandfather’s 120Y car… reliable… selamba jer angkat durian penuh kat bonet kat kampung…
    anyway, hope this version will perform well…