Mercedes-Benz CLA Shooting Brake in the works

Mercedes-Benz CLA Shooting Brake

Mercedes-Benz design boss Gordon Wagener has told British publication What Car? that the company is working on a shooting brake version of the Mercedes CLA, creating a little sibling to the CLS Shooting Brake.

“The CLA is a four-door coupe as well, so why not do it?” he said, adding that the rumours of a future small coupe of soft-top version of the A-Class were unfounded. “We don’t need a sports car, the market is declining.”

Of course, the Mercedes CLA is fresh out of the oven, having only made its world debut in January – but how does the idea of a shooting brake version strike you? Theophilus Chin helps you visualise with his speculative renderings here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Black Dog on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:29 pm

“We don’t need a sports car, the market is declining.”

Yes, very true. Sport cars are yesterdays. The future is SUV, increasing 20%-30% every year.

Proton, where are you? Tidur ke?

• Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Biasa lah, they only sleep, eat nasi lemak, look for government handouts and contracts.