VIDEO: See the Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse World Record Car Edition achieve 408.84 km/h

bugatti_veyron_grand_sport_vitesse_world_record_edition

The convertible with the world’s highest top speed is also very probably the car with the world’s longest name – the Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse World Record Car Edition was unveiled at the recent Auto Shanghai. Only eight units will be built, and they’re up for a cool €1.99 million (RM8 million) each.

The special edition commemorates the Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse‘s TÜV-certified 408.84 km/h achievement at the famed Ehra-Lessien test track earlier this month – making it officially the fastest convertible in the world. The Grand Sport Vitesse is essentially a Grand Sport with a Super Sport engine.

With an 8.0 litre quad-turbo W16 offering an otherworldly 1,200 hp and 1,500 Nm of twist connected to a seven-speed dual-clutch ‘box, the Vitesse takes an equally otherworldly 2.6 seconds to get to 100 km/h. In handling mode, it’s limited to a really-not-too-shabby 375 km/h.

“This was a very exciting moment. In our training sessions we exceeded 400 km/h but the fact that I could surpass this unbelievable speed once again and even higher has made me very proud,” said Anthony Liu, the Chinese racing driver who piloted the car.

“With an open top, you can really experience the sound of the engine and yet even at higher speeds I did not get compromised by the wind at all.”

This is actually a déjà vu of sorts – the first five Veyron Super Sports built were designated World Record Editions, in commemoration of the car’s record-breaking achievement of 431 km/h in 2010. And guess what – they were also in orange and black.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Syed Temin on Apr 30, 2013 at 2:08 pm

How about Lotus Venom GT Spyder Hennessy?…

• Never hear Lotus Venom b4…not famous brand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • khairulx19a on Apr 30, 2013 at 9:32 pm

if im not mistaken venom gt hold the speed record for fastest speed from 0 to 300

• flat_tire on May 01, 2013 at 2:54 am

Venom GT wasn’t made by Lotus.. it was developed by Hennessey Performance Engineering..

• Leong Khoi Yat on Apr 30, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Don’t you worry Don’t you worry car.See driver’s got a plan for you

• Tok Kok on Apr 30, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Too bad I’m not Dr. M’s son lah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Jimmy on Apr 30, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Audi TT is a baby Veyron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • GT-Rider on Apr 30, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Please, TT is a crap car
      veyron only sub 3s, even mine can come close

• Norman on May 11, 2013 at 2:21 am

With an 8000cc 4 stage turbo and a zillion horsepower and crazy torque if cant reach beyond 400kmh better throw the car into the sea.16 cylinders 64 spark plugs..Crazy