Proton Edar expects 20% sales increase this year

proton preve thailand

Proton Edar is targeting an increase in sales by 20% this year from the 141,000 units sold in 2012, says CEO Hisham Othman. Speaking to Bernama, he cited the introduction of new models as an important driving factor.

“We have indicated that we will be coming up with a C-segment hatchback model by the middle of the year,” Hisham said, adding that quality, safety and excellent customer service are “vital” to improve Proton sales. According to the report, Proton recently strengthened the body of the new Saga model (FLX+), added dual airbags and made other adjustments based on customer feedback, while retaining its price.

Hisham also told Bernama that the Proton Preve (pictured above) has benefited from adjustments to the engine management unit to improve engine response. The C-segment sedan was recently awarded a five-star Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) safety rating (see picture below).

proton-preve-ancap-1

Proton’s sales and service network now consists of 230 sales branches and 285 service centres nationwide, Sabah and Sarawak included. The report further states that currently 5,130 cars are serviced daily across the country; Proton aims to lift this number to 5,265 next year.

“We make sure every single outlet gives exceptional customer service and performs up to standard,” said Hisham. Improvements made include shorter waiting times, the provision of courtesy cars for repairs that take more than three days to complete (excluding accident repairs) and the introduction of SOPs for customer complaints in which every single complaint passes through top management.

Presently, 40 courtesy cars are available; by the end of this month another 30 will be added to the fleet and by the end of the year all outlets will provide the service, according to the Edar CEO. “After consolidation, our service is streamlined, with increased efficiency in areas such as standard adoption and spare parts management,” he said.

“It used to take about five to 10 days to receive approval to replace parts; now it can be resolved in just two days,” he added. Although servicing contributes a relatively low 10-15% to Proton’s revenue, Hisham bills it a “deciding factor” where sales are concerned, saying that retaining customers and making them happy were important.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• If 20% discount might be la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 30
    • Really hard to see this car on the road, only few of them, i expect 3 each day but…also i found this car is kinda ugly especially the tail lights and the front end! interior is ok coz it’s better than Saga FL so i think the interior is acceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Please make it affordable on May 02, 2013 at 11:34 am

Please make the Preve, Preve hatch & other offerings more affordable. Improve on the fuel economy through implementation of technologies such as brake regenerative system, start stop, dual vvti, etc. Streamlining the vendors should brought down the cost. Lower the price, hence, would spark more interest providing there is substantial quality to it eg. make the door close with the sound of solidity, not hollow sounding. The Preve hatch has the makings but the price is the deciding factor. Less is more.

• sulusuces on Apr 30, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Talking to the wall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 50
  • it can go up to 30% if you guys launched the preve hatch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 22
    • I like your optimism, but lets be realistic… The Prevé hatchback will probably be sportier and hence more expensive than the sedan, and sales volume will not be sufficient. However, I am pretty confident that the Preve hatchback will sell like hot cakes overseas, especially in Europe (if it is launched there anyway).

If Proton genuinely wants to increase sales, and sales only, they should make an A-segment, bajet car ASAP to challenge the Viva. The Viva has absolutely NO competition when considering its pricing. The no.3 best selling car in Malaysia for 2012 was the Viva (after the Myvi and Saga), simply because it is cheap. Remember when Proton sold the Saga LMST at RM27k in 2007 for our 50th Merdeka ? The 23 year old crappy, dying Saga shot up to second place, right behind the MyVi ! All just because it was cheap ! That, ladies and gentlemen, is how you do business in Malaysia. Malaysians love cheap and free stuff.

Don’t get me wrong, I am quite supportive of Proton, but I honestly believe that Proton’s top brass are incredibly incompetent when it comes to doing business. please Proton, bring back Syed Zainal Abidin ! He’s our only hope.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 9
      • Old Biscuit on May 01, 2013 at 8:52 am

Since when protong and sell like hot cake can put together in a sentence outside Malaysia ? Slogan and wish is not reality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • Well, did you know that Geely and Chery is ranked in the Top 10 best selling in Ukraine, Bulgaria, Belarus and other small (Eastern) European countries today ? GEELY. That Chinese company which rips off other cars ! If Proton can sell their new cars there, and if they are priced competitively, they will sell, no doubt about that.

How do I know ? Because Proton DID IT in the past. If you go to some European countries (not just UK), you will see some very old Proton Wiras and Satrias around. Feel free to check on Google Street View, or the online used car market.

Proton can do it…. but they’re just too lazy to be bothered, apparently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • no thanks on May 02, 2013 at 5:56 pm

well im not particularly agreed with your statement that they are just lazy..maybe its the same to what they did to lotus five models-
            insufficient of money

• I think you made a good point with the Viva. If they were to launch Emas, it would bring a lot of competition. They can make 1.0L and 1.3L variants and possibly a 1.6L to lure Malaysians that are interested in cars such as the Pug 208.

• Exactly, a bajet version of the EMAS would have been the best thing that ever happened to Proton… but after Syed Zainal left, everything slowed to a halt. Sigh. Anyway, there’s still some hope left. let’s keep our fingers crossed.

• Forza 5 on May 02, 2013 at 10:03 am

yeah.. uses the small capacity CFE engine.. like 1.0 0r 1.2L CFE.The cfe got powerful torque & can easily carry a A-segment car. People will buy because of cheap r.tax, powerful and economical engine. And of course looks & safety matters. If not people will say that the car ugly like savvy or car tin sardin like kancil.. you know lah typical malaysian.. always “kutuk” our product & “angkat” the japs bcoz our mind have long been “jajah” by them since WW2.

• R u sure or not Preves hatch can sell like hot cakes in Europe? they gt Peugeot,Renault,VW, Skoda,Kia and more… maybe the first customer is Jeremy Clarkson.

• I am fairly confident. Please refer to my above comments on the Eastern European market and Proton’s export history. ^^^^^

• Proton supporter on Apr 30, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Proton always said improve this improve that in the end still produced low quality cars to malaysian people. Proton is not rakyat benefit didahulukan, should be Kroni/profit didahulukan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 62
    • dfire on Apr 30, 2013 at 11:26 pm

There are still wiras and sagas ‘tank’ on the road running good. That’s for sure not low quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
      • proton supporter on May 01, 2013 at 1:12 am

Of course its still running on the road but did you count how many times they have to services/repairs their cars in order to continue running on the road compare to the good quality cars. But anyway not all proton car low quality. Buy proton car also depend on luck. My point is proton should put priority 1 on quality not focus on new models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • Well said dude. People tend to forgot about that.

• We can still saw wira on the road because the car is using Mitsubishi’s Engine..

• Forza 5 on May 02, 2013 at 10:12 am

Ya lah.. unlike the exotic italian fiat, alfas.. all jadi tukun. Im not saying that they are not good. Sure alfa 155 got racing history on touring car.. some more on the boxer 1.6L 146.. gives headdick one. but thats the reality.. don’t believe me.. go to kuchai lama.. there a alfa expert workshop & a lot of alfa not road worthy.

• Dru-Zod on May 07, 2013 at 10:24 am

If you run the Wira 2000 km/ month on average, every month sure masuk workshop because some part wear out and must replace. No choice but to repair, if not car cannot run the next month. Waste of money. Might as well use the repair money to pay instalment of a non-Protn

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 30, 2013 at 6:10 pm

That is certainly a step in the right direction…

While you are at it, perhaps train your service personnel with better manners and personality traits.

If Proton can improve, I’m expecting a other marques to follow suit. Yes, i’m looking at you, Mr. Naza and Mr. Sime Darby.

Now, can I have my Preve hatchback with 6 airbags please…and while you are at it, perhaps a nicer interior that is not dated back to the 90s.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Sales increase? sales for spare parts kot. Maklumlah kualiti buruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 86
  • gOOsh on Apr 30, 2013 at 6:18 pm

yela PROTON kan… mana korang nak beli… kalau kualiti tip top mcm germans marque pn korang takkan beli punyer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 25
    • Sick&tired on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:54 pm

what nonsense are you talking !? If protons quality is on par with the germans, not only malaysia, they will also do well in other countries. My advice to proton is follow what hyundai/kia is doing, hire someone who knows how to design cars, not some ahole whose main credential is that he is related to some politician. And his nationality does should not matter. Anyhow proton is already privately owned.

I hate to say this, but if proton is not carefull, chinese manufacturers like cherry will soon overtake them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
      • What nonsense you talking. Before talk about design, they should replace the clowns with people that know how to manage a company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
        • Peyno on May 01, 2013 at 7:17 am

Yeahh enough with bumiputera ceo in perodua .. Just puppet to jspanese.. Just sell it to jsoanese.. Lets japs manage n they can sell lperodua cars cheaper like they did in indonesia

• Puppet or not, people are selling much more cars than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • gOOsh on May 03, 2013 at 5:08 pm

hahahahaha… now people start talking…

• Absolute Rider on Apr 30, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Proton has to push harder and come out with new models faster and meeting all the future EU regulations and also not only ANCAP rating but also Global NCAP and EuroNCAP rating standards. Proton has to equip same equipment levels for domestic market too.

EuroNCAP has announced that starting from 2014, Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) will be included in EuroNCAP’s overall star rating. It is compulsory for Proton to install this system for all the models including facelift models and of course for the all new models to archive the 5 Star Rating.

If you launch model late, for sure you will not meet the regulations. Preve archived 5 star rating in ANCAP recently. But in November 2013 and the latest January 2014, it will not get five star once it hit the road in Europe such as in England. So, this Preve have to install AEB to archive 5 star rating.

Make sure (Proton) also install this system for domestic market including the upcoming P3-22A Preve Hatchback (at least for high line variant at first). This system should be ready and in the list even on November 2013 for domestic market. Proton, are you ready for this?

Proton should always keep updating what’s next for EU regulations and NCAP and other automotive standard for year 2014-2016. Some already released by particular organisations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • GrammarNazi on May 01, 2013 at 12:04 pm

It’s achieve not archive. I know you were not misspelled because you did it 3 times. #GrammarNazi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • nones on Apr 30, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Meaningful R&D first !!! Number come later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • this is PROTON EDAR…..proton edar is distributor n service company for proton car…of coz they will talk bout sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • if, i say if, after election the import cars price drop 20%, i think proton’s sales will drop 50%….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 42
    • whitwfox on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:48 pm

majority car import from asean already 0% import tax so u will only see minority price change on certain modal only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • green on Apr 30, 2013 at 8:09 pm

PKR say, 20% reduction on Car Excise Duty each year, for 5 year.

Not 20% on import duty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
        • then after 5 year only, we’ll see a real care sales. Before that happened, people will stick to their current ride.

• celicazz on Apr 30, 2013 at 8:28 pm

sure ka?

excise duties affects all…

if others drop 20%, proton cheapest will drop too… you know how many ppl are in that price bracket that proton can hook up to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • pirlo on Apr 30, 2013 at 10:36 pm

local and asean made cars sold in malaysia can be elaborated as shown below:
      BOM + excise duty + sales tax + profit
      difference with import models outside asean:
      BOM + excise duty + sales tax + profit + import tax
      please correct me if i’m wrong

• Preve 5 star ANCAP on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:45 pm

kalau tak mampu buat kerata berkualiti.. TuTup SAHAJA PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 37
    • Anti CO2 on May 01, 2013 at 12:01 am

No need to tutup one. Just sell it to VW. Most people will keep their job including part suppliers. In fact VW can bring up the quality of local part suppliers. Only THOSE who can’t meet the quality will have to worry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • dsgsuk on May 01, 2013 at 6:12 am

have you heard about problematic DSG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Anti CO2 on May 01, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Yah problem DSG. But VW golf is car of the year for how long odi? Which car sold the most units in EU? Let’s talk business. Have you heard of Skoda?

• dsgsuk on May 02, 2013 at 11:22 pm

asians go for reliability, europeans go for tech. have you learnt marketing?

• Bobo 13 on Apr 30, 2013 at 8:30 pm

I dont understand this proton mentality, despite the current preve not really laku have they conduct post mortem , or did malaysian give a rat ass on 5 star austrailian ncap , which area in their annoucement mention about quality, even the big sedan market oso cannot capitilized and yet make totally new model. Anyway they should change their styling head..their preve styling SUCKSSS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
  • pak jabit on Apr 30, 2013 at 9:09 pm

no point 0% import duty if excise n sales duty still like skyscraper…please proton, improve your quality don’t break ur customer’s heart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • how can they stated that preve is 5 star NACAP in malaysia?

the australia version come with 6 airbag, proton offers 4 airbags version in Malaysia.

Malaysia version has not been tested, should come with no rating.

this is not professional and ethic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • U want 6 airbags…dont dream lah….even BMW or expensive care only 2 airbags …now u want proton use 6 airabgs…fuhhhhh bullshit comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • BMW sell brand even without airbag but it’s still a premium and popular brand! what about this? example look at those Korean cars now…

• Proton Staff on May 01, 2013 at 12:22 am

Having said that, all cars in malaysia are not tested except those few who ran through Asean NCAP.

You are basically correct about Malaysian version of Preve Premium should not equate to the one sell in Australia. However, we can only take that as the basis of how safe is Preve compare to other Proton cars, or even non-proton cars on the same price bracket.

Preve CFE is still the safest car in it’s price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Peyno on May 01, 2013 at 7:20 am

Sonif 6 airbags got 5 stars… N local preve got 4 airbags… Then how many stars for 2 airbags, vios, civic, camry, avanza??prffthhhh 0 star??

• Steve on Apr 30, 2013 at 11:21 pm

The Best car in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Johnny on Apr 30, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Last night I drove Preve overtake a Golf Tsi on Kuantan Highway! like drinking water.!!! very powerful car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • amokio on May 01, 2013 at 12:54 am

At what speed please?

• yamada on May 01, 2013 at 1:52 am

last night i drive a nissan 120Y overtake the PARKING GTR like eating Banana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • in the end of the day, it is still a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Proton staff on May 01, 2013 at 11:48 am

Of course. At the end of the day your Honda will still be Honda. Not BMW. Perodua still Perodua.

• pak jabit on May 01, 2013 at 11:47 am

i’m cfe owner too…but never feel too much proud when overtaking powerful and bigger cc car…i only think that maybe the driver just stepped off his foot from gas pedal and relax a bit…

• Johnni on May 01, 2013 at 6:20 am

Yeah,I saw that in your dream. Maybe overtaking an Aventador next time.

• mastermind on May 01, 2013 at 7:28 am

hybrid car no excise duty also mahal ma….
    proton without excise duty same price…
    toyota n honda please make sure u car price reasonable
    hybrid car should around 40k only….so taxes not the main factor but
    company really big suckers…

proton preve hatch….is coming…cvt drive by wire…esc ebd abs…….bla bla bla
    about quality suzuki swift got steering rack issue…honda also got ecu trouble….waiting parts for japanese cars more 3month proton 2-3 days only more chepest.
    about.quality. let we compare…bangla n local …bangla also got more quality than local workers…bangla durability more than 15hours a day …local. workers 8hours works….only less energy…..so local=low quality than imported workers like bangla or indonesian…

• Preve is as bad as the government…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • hope proton can rework the interior design , such as door padding especially. recalculate the steering reach. and other refinements.

• I have no problem so far with proton cars. And, I have owned quite a few before, wira, satria, Perdana, neo and currently inspira. So far I have not encountered the problems mentioned, and believe it or not, even the legendary power Windows problem.
    And if you ask me, I would say proton quality is good, and the price is cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • That’s the different between people who know how to take care of a car and those who know how to blame the manufacturer when they them self doesn’t do the basics of owning a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Peter on May 02, 2013 at 9:51 am

If that’s the case why Proton car don sell well (local & oversea)? Is that b’cse we bashers that trouble their sales? I admit some CKD car also got quality issues but why people complaint more on Proton then theirs? Is that b’cse majority of consumer or people who comments here don own proton cars or simply bashers?

• Johnny on May 01, 2013 at 11:43 pm

after overtaking Golf tsi….. i’ve been smoke by Nissan Teana 2.5L V6! Damn!

• fariz01 on May 02, 2013 at 1:51 am

Proton needs to step up its game. Cmon proton/drb. Give us what we want, and make that sooner rather than later . Give us newer engine tech. Cfe is a nice start, but even that is now more than a year old.
    maybe give us cars with incorporating technology derived from petronas e01 engines. Give us cars equipped with REEV (proton’s hybrid tech) . Perhaps the upcoming preve hatch will be launched with either one of these technologies. Give consumers like us something bold and pleasantly unexpected. Preve Cfe hybrid via REEV technology – let’s start with that. Give us that. Cmon DRB.

• Arelee91 on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:43 am

I do believe DRB hicom can do better…because before they own Proton…they manufacturing the military grade vehicle….nothing can beat the quality of military..

• Pak Mimpi on May 02, 2013 at 7:22 am

Proton Mat Jenin day dreaming again.

• J f kennedy on May 02, 2013 at 10:55 am

Rather than this prevee, better beli honda civic 2nd hand! Phuih ptoton.kroni sume mcm ni.bg rakyat gune kereta tak berkualiti.dah la suspension tak sedap jalan pun berlubang gile!haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • civic tak besh, takde turbo, takat wishbone tu kalau tuning tak power tak best gak, baik proton ada lotus/proton handling kah kah kah

• Faizul on May 02, 2013 at 11:17 am

What proton should do is to improve quality. Its quite a shame when a company of almost 30 years old cannot perfected the qc of their product. Mayb too much politicking involves in running proton.. Too much crony companies that can’ t be touch though they can’t cope with quality requirement set by proton.. no wonder proton is given to drb management..! Only drb can guarantee the fate of cronies from facing the stick.

• Arelee on Sep 07, 2013 at 12:56 am

Agree with you…Believe it or not ..DRB hicom have experience with the highly quality demand customer :

Royal Malaysian Army

How i know..because im half military citizen…
      even now they got a big contract from gov..the new gen. armored vehicle : AV8
      I do believe DRB Hicom have a military grade quality.

• sompua on May 02, 2013 at 5:26 pm

I am sure Proton’s target was 200K sales last accounting year as dictated by your EC. Now suddenly back to 140K? Why? You did not acieve it? Why ddid’nt you announce your sales figure?

• Malaysian Indian NOT Bangla on May 03, 2013 at 11:02 am

i can just say, all the best to Proton.

• NIEKO on May 03, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Proton all I got to say is this Just Lunch as many models as you can atleast two cars a year that will give you the sales ,also give your cars the best engine you can make ,The CFE,IAFM are good start and you must know how to make a high performence car ,will you can always make a new generation Satria Neo that can comply with any Eu Safety Laws ,why !!!because the whole world knows The Satria and that can be your helo car ..Always Remember That Your Satria,Preve,Saga and Exora Will be the cars that will save you ohh and Please try to enter as many Countrys as possible ..Cheers

• Samlok on May 07, 2013 at 7:34 am

Is there proton inspira still selling ?

• Dru-Zod on May 07, 2013 at 10:34 am

All talk only.
    COSE service centre in KESAS cannot keep to their time. Send car at 9 am. They tell car will be ready after 2 hours. Come back at 11 am, car still not even started service yet. Wait until 5 pm baru kereta siap. Wasted one whole day. Pirrahh

• Norman on May 11, 2013 at 2:27 am

Dun talk proton pls prove it by slashing your vehicle price,Improve your quality and vendor issues and most of all educate your service centre staffs to be more proactive,Initiative and courteous.Have the IAFM issue being solve?First gen Campro is much reliable than the IAFM.Dun blame the plastic Bosch sensor and you should know plastic only goes well for 4 seasons countries not tropical climate like Malaysia.Fanbelt and engine bay flooring can be improve.Prove to rakyat that u can sell a base model saga fl with 2 airbags,A proper audio with integrated DVD for under RM35k.