Volvo Flywheel KERS offers 25% improved economy

Volvo_Flywheel_KERS_02

We’ve covered much of the Volvo Flywheel KERS (Kinetic Energy Recovery System) when it was first announced in 2011. Now, after lengthy tests on public roads, the Swedish carmaker has confirmed that the technology offers fuel savings of up to 25%, even better than the theoretical 20% boost it initially targeted.

It provides a “light, cheap and very eco-efficient” solution to reducing fuel consumption. Fitted to an S60 with a turbocharged four-cylinder engine, the experimental car returned 25% better economy compared to a six-cylinder turbo engine at a comparable performance level.

With an extra 80 hp available instantly (similar to the output of present-day F1 KERS) and swift torque build up, the test S60 accelerates from 0 to 100 km/h in 5.5 seconds, 1.1 second quicker than a four-wheel drive, 3.0 litre turbo S60 T6 AWD. The performance advantage will be less apparent as speeds rise, as the system is at its most efficient in city traffic.

Volvo_Flywheel_KERS_05

The Flywheel KERS is fitted to the rear axle, away from the engine powering the front wheels. Under braking, the engine is switched off while the flywheel harvests the energy, spinning at up to 60,000 rpm. Rotational energy from the six-kilogram carbonfibre flywheel is then used to power the rear wheels via a specially designed transmission.

Despite having the same name, the system is not the same as those used in Formula 1 racing. This one stores the harvested energy in a rotating flywheel and not in electrical capacitors/batteries as per F1’s KERS. It is similar in concept to Williams F1’s stillborn flywheel KERS system from 2009, which was then used to good effect on Audi and Porsche’s R18 e-tron and 911 GT3 R Hybrid racecars.

The latter is said to form the base of a high-tech hybrid system for the upcoming Porsche 918 hypercar, which will go head to head with the Ferrari LaFerrari and McLaren P1, both equipped with its own KERS-like powerplants.

There are no such plans for Volvo of course, but the company is in the midst of evaluating how the technology can be implemented for its future road cars. Less exciting, but much more relevant to us mere mortals.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• munkay on May 01, 2013 at 9:39 am

Now THAT’s what you call R&D, proton could learn a thing or two from these guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • wah volvo also use solidworks

• Jimmy on May 01, 2013 at 10:47 am

Sounds promising.
    5.5sec, more than enough for those who are in a hurry.
    In Malaysia, it is either branding or maintainence; you must have at least either one.

• For your information,
      “Under braking, the engine is switched off while the flywheel harvests the energy, spinning at up to 60,000 rpm.”

So it probably does not work in traffic jam = does not work in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Dr Cooper on May 01, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Do you think Malaysia is the only country in the world have traffic jam ?

• Nope, but do you think it’ll work in the real world scenario? And not to break your bubble, manufacturer normally produce better result for display purposes.

If it really works that well, do you think they need to state this sentence – “There are no such plans for Volvo of course, but the company is in the midst of evaluating how the technology can be implemented for its future road cars.”

I am skeptical on this, doesn’t mean I am not impressed with what they come up with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Dr Cooper on May 02, 2013 at 8:51 am

The sentence you quote merely from the paul tan’s author not representing Volvo’s decision

And yes I think it would work in the real world I’m not a skeptical brad like you

• Do you not use your BRAKES in a traffic jam??

“Under BRAKING, the engine is switched off while the flywheel harvests the energy, spinning at up to 60,000 rpm.”

• Aaron Steve on May 02, 2013 at 11:26 am

So you are saying every single road in Malaysia is constantly 24/7 under massive jam?

• zamer on May 01, 2013 at 11:16 am

2 manufacturer that i like..volvo and mazda..they work independently to compete with the best..

although volvo is bought by china, but i dont see chinese mixture in their line ups.

• Latuk Bandar on May 01, 2013 at 3:28 pm

The chinese are just investors, just like how proton invested in Lotus, not own.

Lotus and Volvo can never transfer the technology out of the country without the approval from their respective government.

Thus I always thing it is a waste of money to invest, it is better for the car company to hire talents and do R&D. Good examples are Hyundai and Kia.

If money can buy technology, it is most probably an outdated technology.

• jilbaber on May 01, 2013 at 12:17 pm

i provably prefer this type of KERS than electromechanical counterpart.. it’s seem lighter coz no need to install any bulky cell for energy restoration, no hassle on durability coz degradation on the battery after several years and well everybody know in term of reliability mechanical is superior than electrical in many respects

• frenzyaustin on May 01, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Agree your point about KERS, but here, I would like to point out my point about conventional Hybrid. I consider Toyota and Honda making smarter choice making Hybrid vehicle. Yes, currently Diesel, Force Induction are proven more Fuel Efficiency than Petrol-Electric Hybrid. But don’t forget, in the future not far from now, we will have no much oil left or maybe no more oil. And one of the only and probably best way is EV. What they doing currently is attract company investing in development of more powerful electric motor and higher capacity battery in smaller and lighter form. Hybrid is filling the gap between Gasoline vehicle and EV. Toyota and Honda currently mass producing those battery and motor to further bring down the cost. And from Hybrid, they evolved to Plug-in Hybrid and set up more charging station, after few years, it’s not surprise to see a Prius running on a 660cc engine and slowly evolved to a full EV.

• jilbaber on May 02, 2013 at 9:42 pm

While I with you on the full EV (I whole heartily hope it will come true). I quite disagree on not-much-oil-left sentiment. To me that is just capitalist excuse on raising the oil price only meh…

But I think energy recuperation system is way to go in this era. i dream to see a car that could harness it own energy from surrounding.

• frenzyaustin on May 03, 2013 at 12:57 am

Although there are plenty of oil left currently, but we can’t guarantee for the future.

• armandd on May 01, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Nice, no battery degradation issue like conventional hybrid and EVs. I’m currently designing a simple KERS system for my bicycle. The trickiest part is the clutch and sprocket.

• Nice… has been anticipating this for a long time..
    this is the TRUE GREEN HYBRID technology with not chemical substance..

Volve pioneer in flywheel hybrid technology.. go green..

• Dr Kervokian on May 02, 2013 at 10:13 am

60000 rpm folks. That means a 6kg block of carbon fibre is spinning at 1000 revolutions per second!

In my head is a collision and this spinning wheel of death flying towards other cars, slicing it like a hot knife on butter.

Not to mention wear and tear of the KERS device. May even lower the 2nd hand value of Volvo cars.

The F1 capacitors although have a tendency to explode in high heat would like be an equipment easier to maintain and be replaced.

• Aaron Steve on May 02, 2013 at 11:19 am

First of all, it’s 6kg carbon fibre block spinning at 60,000 revolution per second [not 1000].
      Second, even the parts of engines and turbochargers rotate but why I have never heard of any accidents as such before?

• jilbaber on May 02, 2013 at 9:46 pm

actually Dr Kervokian got it right…the flywheel spin at 60,000 rev per MINUTES and it equivalent to 1000 rev per SECONDS.

and I think he just being skeptic on safety. Don’t worry Dr, Volvo is know for making the safest car int world ! They know what they’re doing.

• Flywheel KERS is safer, simpler, efficient and more maintenance free.

The container is tested to withstand high speed flywheel disintegration which due to the properties of the flywheel itself, is very unlikely to ever happen. On crash safety, all cars would be crash tested and nothing from the engine bay should fly off.

This flywheel KERS technology is not new. Originally commercialized by Williams F1 for commercial automotive use and already well tested by Porsche in their GT3 hybrid race cars and in the Audi R18 Le Mans hybrid race cars.

This device is virtually maintenance free and very efficient compared to battery flywheels

• There is no such thing as a ‘BLOCK of carbon FIBRE’ The material is fibrous of carbon filament wound around a hub. In similar fashion, carbon fibre shafts , upon disintegration for whatever reason, does no damage to its surrounding area unlike metallic shafts.

Imagine being hit in the head by a yarn of cotton. yes it hurts but if you take the yarn apart from its spool and throw the bundle towards someone head, it would hardly disturb his hairdo

• Zlanu on May 02, 2013 at 11:02 am

People who say Proton is not developing something similar has forgotten the work done by them under the Lotus Range Extender project as well as the Lotus Omnivore engine (CAN USE ANY TYPE OF FUEL), which has proven to increase efficiency to those rates.

Soooo yeah. =D

• Aaron Steve on May 02, 2013 at 11:23 am

The project name says it all…it’s all Lotus projects… just because Proton has share in Lotus doesn’t mean they developed it.