31 km/L, 85 g/km VW Golf BlueMotion on sale in UK

VW_Golf_BlueMotion_1

First previewed in concept form in Paris last year, the latest Volkswagen Golf BlueMotion was shown to the world in full production guise just recently in Geneva. It has now gone on sale in the UK (from £20,335) and we now have more details of the greenest Golf ever.

The vital numbers – 31 km/L, 85 g/km and a theoretical 1,500 km range – are each equally mind-blowing, especially considering that it offers more that decent performance. At the heart of the eco special is a 110 hp 1.6 litre TDI engine with 250 Nm of torque from just 1,500 rpm up to 3,000 rpm. It even gets five horses more than the standard non-BlueMotion car with the same engine.

VW_Golf_BlueMotion_2

It has been put through a 63 kg diet (26 kg less weight in the running gear and 37 kg less in the body) with various little mechanical tweaks to eek out the extra mileage. Other add-ons include trick tyres, longer gear ratios for the six-speed manual ‘box, lower ride height and a long list of aerodynamic modifications (10% less drag than before).

There’s an extra treat for UK customers too, as the new Golf BlueMotion is classified under Band A (based on its CO2 emissions), meaning their annual road tax bill is a big fat zero. Still think hybrid technology is the way of the future?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• mizan on May 02, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Terbaik…tapi sayang.kualiti diesel di malaysia x menepati standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Beng Kia on May 02, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 241
      • Theanswer on May 02, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Manual tranny bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • antaras on May 02, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Y U no read?!

• Tiuniaseng on May 03, 2013 at 6:16 am

Ah Ben Kia? Have you driven a VW before or are you just one of the angry car salesman? You keep talking about DSG, when it is no longer an issue. Grow up, kid!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 371 Thumb down 108
        • Ah Beng Kia on May 03, 2013 at 8:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 149
        • Car break down on road biasa lah, especially german makes. Buy expensive also tarak guna. If rosak mana mau letak muka?

• VW Warranty Sham on May 03, 2013 at 2:23 pm

The DSG is still a major major major problem globally. Only in Malaysia, it is not addressed. Tiuniaseng is just upset because 2nd hand value jatuh. nobody wants a VW after 2 years. Because 3rd year to 5th year, its insurance warranty. And we all know, it is super difficult to make claims then. Yeah man, to all VW owners, VW kelentong you all to the max with the so called 5 year warranty. Please keep about RM50k to replace the DSG box in your 3rd year!

• Ah Beng Kia on May 03, 2013 at 4:29 pm

VW Warranty Sham,
            Didn’t you hear, DSG no more problems liau. Ask any mechanic, never even heard of such and issue. So please update yourself.

Hahahahaha

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 03, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Lepas GE, new gomen, minyak lagi murah dan diesel akan lagi tak menepati high standard

• kingkong on May 02, 2013 at 5:00 pm

maybe VM msia can sell this in Malaysia but we need to use a higher grade diesel which is not part of any manifesto.

• DSG Fail on May 02, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Yes, the fuel saving figures are great. But when the DSG breaksdown or kaputs, all your fuel saving will go to the tow truck driver when he charges you few hundred ringgit to tow the car in. Also, when you don’t have the car for 3 weeks because DSG failures take about 3 to 4 weeks to repair, all your savings for fuel will go to the teksi man to take you to and fro work. Lets hope you don’t stay in Shah Alam and work in KL.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 217 Thumb down 208
    • glaze on May 02, 2013 at 6:06 pm

its stated 6 speed manual, not 7 speed dsg sir..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • DonkeyKong on May 02, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Understandable mistake. Right now people are slowly developing DSG-phobia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 67
        • rockshox on May 03, 2013 at 7:44 am

most prob this dsg phobia is just the desktop jockeys but in realities most ppl are buying vw cars in droves…in my office there lots of vw owners…gti,passat,golf,polo,tourans,cc & the big bosses using toureg as co car…few of my office mates are currently waiting for their mk7 golfs…furthermore, no complaints heard regarding their dsg’s….same goes wt how ppl bash toyota here, but in realities…msian bought toyotas in droves

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 395 Thumb down 270
          • ffghj on May 04, 2013 at 1:26 am

Of course at your office there are many vw. You are vw salesman!

• higher on May 04, 2013 at 7:32 am

Bored already with same design, same face. Better fire all the designers, so lazy to work. Are they sleeping?

• glaze on May 03, 2013 at 11:48 am

Im one of the dsg7 victim too, yet to fix my clutch pack..only software updates which does not fix a shit. Overall I would still say vw is a good car with this manual transmission, I really hope VGM bring in the manual transmission in Malaysia.

• Old Tech on May 02, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Come On Malaysia, it is time for us to enjoy the latest tech with reasonable price… n Bring in the euro 5 petrol n diesels to us….

Price in UK : avg 1.339 / l [Euro 5]
    (from http://www.petrolprices.com/search.html?search=northampton)

Price in Msia : RM 1.90 (Euro 2)
    { 1 to 1 comparison}

PAying more for old tech … WTF

Do not cheat us using comparison with others countries

Being High INcome Nation with High debts is not the way we should head….

Hope a better future lies ahead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • Johnny on May 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 344
    • Johnny, why so sien wan! Please show me one real proof of DSG failure that you are talking abt? Show me at least one “real” video, cause i dont trust photos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Johnny, My DSG failure too but i believe that the new Mk7 is improving…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • chillex on May 03, 2013 at 11:53 pm

brother, ive been driving vw golf gti mk5 for the past 6 years. never before fail. after reading most of the comments. I found out those who dsg koyak is front tsi model. that is due to batch prob. i believe those who kutuk about dsg are those who doesn’t even own a VW. sendiri claim ada vw and exaggerate it. sad but true.

• armandd on May 02, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Take note Toyota & Honda, this car eats your complicated petrol hybrids in term of FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Green on May 02, 2013 at 8:26 pm

I wonder our MK 7 bluemotion said to be 22.5km/L.

@Paultan team/ Hafriz Shah, did it acheive in City Driving style?

• Green on May 02, 2013 at 8:51 pm

it’s diesel engine.
      Honda also has it::::

1. Civic 2200cc I-Dtec
      150hp, 300Nm.
      100% city driving = 18km/L.

2. Brio Amaze 1500cc I-Dtec
      100ps, 200NM
      100% city Driving = 25.8km/L

this VW Golf Blue = 32km/L..
      1600cc 100hp 250nm.
      but, it’s combined cycle.. i wonder how it perform under 100% city driving..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • motorhead on May 02, 2013 at 7:03 pm

I like this car. Real eco friend. Oil burner. No toxic battery. If one day fossil oil finish. Can use palm oil.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • matmotor on May 04, 2013 at 1:21 am

Not pocket friendly la bai….everytime repair needs thousands. Better ride kapcai if like this. Lagi senanghati

• what is trick tyres?

• 1234567890 on May 03, 2013 at 9:02 am

While Protong still using fuel guzzler engine

• 10km/l is not bad for turbocharged 1.6l burner. Only noob will call it fuel guzzler

• I guess many Malaysians will need to re-learn how to drive manual, as many in the Klang Valley can’t drive manual to save their lives.

Anyway, I asked at a VW dealership before why they do not bring in manual cars – and the answer is – decided by management – we only sell what we have. So silly. I think customers should be offered the choice – since these are fully imported anyway.

• Pontiac on May 03, 2013 at 3:35 pm

If u want, u import urself la. Still thinking u are a king meh?

• crank on May 03, 2013 at 2:02 pm

FAITH IN ICE (Internal Combustion Engines) RESTORED!!!

• DonkeyKong on May 03, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Steam engines still the best. External combustion engines should make a comeback!!

• Please test it in kl traffic jam or it’s only a joke from germany

• repairshop on May 04, 2013 at 1:15 am

Oh my beloved vw
    I love you so much
    I dream of you every night
    I cannot ride you
    I cannot see you
    I miss you much
    You are not in garage
    But in service centre

• Carl Wong on May 04, 2013 at 1:49 pm

First things first, are they even selling it here and how much would it be??

31km/L? Sorry but I think in real world conditions & our cities here I think even 21km/L will be extremely challenging to achieve, hyper-miler maybe but normal driver NO. This is a Turbo Micro-hybrid with Auto Stop? So in the real world maybe I could still beat this with my Hybrid & some hyper-miling skills…….

• Rocket on May 05, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Today is the day we say enough is enough, let’s change.

• Ah Beng on May 05, 2013 at 2:22 pm

VW is the best in the world.

• sama lu on May 06, 2013 at 1:18 am

It cannot beat reliability of toyota 4 gears and decade of old engine