Volkswagen recalls 6,000 DSG-equipped cars in S’pore

volkswagen-polo-tsi-review-11

Volkswagen is recalling a total of 6,181 cars in Singapore – accounting for 35% of its car population in the island nation – due to a DSG-related problem that, if unresolved, might lead to power loss, reports The Straits Times. The marque is the third best-selling car brand in the republic.

The recall is voluntary and not a safety issue, a Volkswagen Group Singapore spokesman told the local daily. The replacement of the affected parts will be free and the whole recall exercise could take a few months.

According to sgCarMart, the repair work involves the replacing of the gearbox’s mechatronic unit, which could take up to three hours per vehicle. The mechanism hydraulically operates the gearbox and clutch.

In April 2012, around 8,000 Volkswagen owners in the Lion City were asked to bring their cars in for a software change while in 2010, Volkswagen Singapore replaced more than 1,000 cars’ mechatronic units after the quality of parts were found to be unsatisfactory.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• What about those new golf in Malaysia? No recall exercise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • VW Sad Man on May 02, 2013 at 4:29 pm

The 7 Speed also they cannot sort out, now, they want to now come out with 10 Speed. See previous VW post. The current 7 Speed DSG breaksdown so often and that is why the service centres are so overwhelmed with so many customers that they cannot even handle the normal daily service requests. Everyday, so many cars come in with DSG failures. Ask any service centre people and they will tell you, 1 in every 3 VW’s with DSG has failures. And these failures are not one off. It keeps on happening until you get fed up. So, you can console yourself thinking they give you 5 years warranty but when each failure takes about 3 weeks to repair, this alone will test your patience. I am a VW Passat owner and I can confirm one thing with you, stay away from dry and dual clutch gearboxes. It has broken down on me at least 4 times. When I speak to other people in the service centres when I go to get my car repaired, they ALSO confirm gearbox failures. So, VW, please do the honourable thing and go back to 4 or 5 speed gearboxes. At least, we can sleep in peace. Do also the other honorable thing by making a global recall. Malaysian customers are facing so much of problems but because our consumer laws are so weak, there is no avenue of complaint or redress.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 6
      • sudonano on May 02, 2013 at 6:03 pm

No need to go back to 5 speed! better solution, use the ZF source 8 speed la. BMW is using it, Audi uses it for the Hybrid A6 and even VW uses it on the Touareg. It is reliable, fuel efficient when needed, razor sharp and able to shift properly and rapidly in S mode. So why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
        • Just Another Dude.. on May 02, 2013 at 8:02 pm

ZF makes the best automotive parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • DonkeyKong on May 02, 2013 at 9:40 pm

The ZF 8-speed 8HP family of transmissions are meant for longitudinally mounted engines with either AWD or FWD.

The correct model that should be proposed to VW would be the upcoming ZF 9HP transmissions for transversely-mounted FWD and AWD applications.

• VW Warranty Sham on May 03, 2013 at 2:31 pm

The DSG is still a major major major problem globally. Only in Malaysia, it is not addressed. Tiuniaseng is just upset because 2nd hand value jatuh. nobody wants a VW after 2 years. Because 3rd year to 5th year, its insurance warranty. And we all know, it is super difficult to make claims then. Yeah man, to all VW owners, VW kelentong you all to the max with the so called 5 year warranty. Please keep about RM50k to replace the DSG box in your 3rd year!

• Pontiac on May 04, 2013 at 10:59 am

No la. Tuainessiag said dsg already a past story and solved.

• DonkeyKong on May 02, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Trouble is, many VW owners drive a twin-clutch box in ways that you’ll never treat a manual or regular auto box. Some think that it’s really an F1-standard piece of machinery.

Twin clutch is what it is – two clutches, engaging a single flywheel at different positions. Each clutch has lesser surface area than a regular clutch and yet it’s supposed to handle the full torque output. Obviously clutch wear will be an issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • VW Mk7 Kong on May 06, 2013 at 9:08 am

My cousin just took delivery of a mk7 Golf in the UK and his assessment is this…the DSG still is problematic. It keeps on jerking and has already stalled once. So, VW can come out will all the goreng that the mk7 DSG is sorted out and all that, it is pure bull.

No point addressing the issue in Malaysia when VW global don’t want to admit it. Funny, you buy German but it kong all the time.

I have no idea why people even buy VW. You buy problem after problem. You might as well just use a Jepun and if you want to show off you have made it, go buy a Mercedes or BMW.

To all those accusing there is a lot of keyboard warraiors, well, at least its out in the open. Go to VW Facebook page and see the thousands of complaints against DSG. You all say keyboard warriors because you are VW owners and don’t want to face the facts. If China can recall 390,000 VW cars, there must be some serious serious problem with DSG.

• Beautycontestant on May 02, 2013 at 5:27 pm

What about the dual clutch box found in Audi? izzit same supplier as VW branded car?

• seancorr on May 02, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Hopefully the VW owners in Malaysia will get the recall soon. VW Malaysia will have a lot of work to do to get those parts down here since they don’t even have enough spare parts! I’m saying this because my relative has to wait 2 weeks for a door window glass replacement!

• Now they should recall all DSG cars in Malaysia too and we can stop the ranting about DSG reliability. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • DamnStupidGearbox….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
  • DamnStupidGearbox….know problem since day one and up til now mk7 still can’t rectify….how many generations needed to fix this bug?? heck juz bring in 6-MT….problems solved and lotsa enthusiasts overjoyed!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
  • Deenana on May 02, 2013 at 1:13 pm

It seems that all the ‘anxieties’ over the DSG is now really REAL and TRUE. Not many months ago, VW recalled thousands of its cars in China due to DSG related issues too. Sooner, in Malaysia the recall is inevitable. VW, as the 2nd largest car manufacturer should and must overcome the gearbox issues or else people will be reluctant to buy VW cars no matter how tempting the models/designs are…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • VW Sad Man on May 02, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Yes it is real and true. See what China government has done. http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/bizchina/motoring/2013-03/20/content_16323553.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Beetle Nut on May 02, 2013 at 2:14 pm

I really sad as owning a German brand is my dreams. So many people tell me German car are good to drive but expensive to maintain, I belief them now. I’m 16 and will get my driving lisense next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 61
    • underskinned on May 02, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Finish your SPM first child.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 6
      • Beetle Nut on May 02, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Yes thank you, i will study hard to get into form 6. Dear sifus, my dad’s Wira gaerbox has no problems after 10 years, but why VW DSG is so bad?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
        • not just form 6 but until uni/collage…..

ps: thats why i said before paultan full of skool kiddies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
        • frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 5:36 pm

This is the difference between simple mechanism and complicated mechanism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • I always believe that ultimate perfection is nearly impossible to come by. German cars come close but like all cars, they are not all round perfect. Work hard bro.

• frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Learn to drive manual 660cc viva first before talk about German car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • Is there any problem if he has a dream car? Don’t you ever dreamt of getting a nice car when you are young?

• Show your respect please on May 08, 2013 at 4:16 pm

I second that, what is wrong with you guys? This is a website which share information with car enthusiasms at all age.

• Koh Neck khuat on May 02, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Go study la..

• sepul on May 02, 2013 at 2:19 pm

VW should just keep the DSG as option only. Standard would be manual transmission. Save the maintenance bill to the consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 3:03 pm

When VW Malaysia refused to bring in the manual version of this car, the fault is on us actually. We, Malaysian showed no interest towards stick shift these days. More than 90% of people prefer automatic and the rest of 10% are people like us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • The stats speak for themselves. Honda recorded that of all the CRZ sold, 10% is manual, and the manual is cheaper and faster. And I have seen many Toyota 86 on the road, but none of them are stick-shift, and like the CRZ, the auto is slower and pricier. If Malaysian are willing to buy fantastic driving car in Auto-form, do you really think they bother selling stick-shift, to people that are getting it for only their daily drive.

• frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Now I know more about Malaysian car market. The reason why Vios and Camry is top selling is because they are the lowest running cost in the segment. Outdated technology, terrible driving, fu*k that sh*t, we want a car with 4 wheels and bring us A to B. This explain the passion about car is ridiculously bad in our society. Those who buy good car are usually for showing off, not really enjoy driving. CR-Z and 86 are the car with most crappy auto box in sporty car, but still tops the market. If E100, 510i, GS100 exist, it definitely sell like hot cake as majority looks car for size, logo, not performance. And when we open up the newspaper, driver died in crash in a Porsche, GT-R, Fairlady Z is very often. This translate those people has tons of money but no skill in driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
        • Just to add about the Fairlady Z, it is almost impossible to find a good fairlady Z33 or ,even a RX-8, in a manual box every time I go to the use car section of the net. Just sad, you can see why purist company like Porsche and Ferrari are also killing (or killed for the latter) the manual box. Here’s a beautiful and nostalgic video when Hypercars still has manual http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=D8NNC5nu_9A

PS: just a little information, the first thing that came to my mind when you mention E100, is a WW2 tank.

• my rocco 1.4tsi…2 years old…having problem with mechatronic…ignition coil pack…jerking on low gear…shaking while reversing..gear shift up not possible via auto option..lost power while driving on the PLUS highway..this and that…just feel bit lucky bcz having the unlimited 5 years warranty.

But minus all the issues…my car is completely osem to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • dextromth on May 02, 2013 at 4:31 pm

same here bro, 1 year plus cross touran, jerking on low gears..its that transition from 1st to 2nd.gear to be exact, especially at low speed and hill climbing..but otherwise ohsem car all round..a trip to KT to and fro only a tank full of fuel

• Biskut Kembang on May 02, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Mine too. Mecha unit, software upgrade & new clutch pack. It’s heartbreaking but I wouldn’t trade it for any other ride. If there’s anything, I wish it comes with a manual transmission option.

• frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Volkswagen has improved a lot since 10 years ago in performance and looks but not durability.

• isuzuki on May 02, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Even the Chinese in China says it is hard to beat the Japanese in terms of quality… like it or not.

• frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 9:45 pm

You can’t compare China’s goods with Japanese goods. German can build durable things but maybe they want to market DSG faster, so they skipped the durable test which tooks very long time. I hope Toyota is developing a new tech years ago which may came out these few years to compete their German rival without sacrificing “Toyota reliability”.

• DonkeyKong on May 03, 2013 at 3:30 am

Fat chance. Vios and Camry 2.0 are still using pretty much the same engine + gearbox combination for 10 years. New technology? Not while there are still plenty of suckers who will pay a premium for obsolete Toyota tech. Toyota has the crappiest engine and gearbox tech compared to the other Japanese auto companies. Their only strength is the relatively higher reliability.

• my rocco 1.4tsi, almost 2 years old and mileage at 19,000km, started to have the jerking on low gear issue about 3-4 months back. ( yes, transition from gear 1 to gear 2).
      car is now in VW SC. Was told it will take at least 3 visits with the same problem logged in to be able to get the warranty claim (if any).
      But i was told it is probable clucth pack issue (not yet confirmed).

also VW Glenmarie service center’s service level is appalling!! and the whole area is filled to the brim with vw models, many units with a thick layer of dust and a lot of accident units as well…

• golf for life on May 02, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Go to VW Setapak lah bro, newly open in Jan, not many car! I just sent my car last week for the clutch pack change, took 2 days only!! Now my car is superb, as good as new..!!

• stuart on May 02, 2013 at 5:49 pm

You are still ‘OK’ for first 2 years as its still under manufacturer warranty. Now coming to 3rd year, this is where your dilemma starts. I’ve read the tiny terms and condition. From 3rd to 5th year is the extended warranty which means you will have a hell of a time getting your claim done. Its done by insurance company and we all know how difficult it is to claim from them. Good luck bro.

• Johnny on May 03, 2013 at 9:15 am

Sell your Rocco then buy Preve better.

• better buy proton la kalau macam ni..
    eventhough proton is “low quality”,, but proton never recalled their unit for the main component eg transmission and engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Jordan Foo on May 02, 2013 at 5:45 pm

VW malaysia, please do the recall right now and solve the mechatronic issue. What are you waiting for?? I really don’t want to carry a time bomb around.

• Johnny on May 02, 2013 at 5:55 pm

No wonder that day my Preve can overtake Golf Tsi in high speed 200Kmph. His gearbox DSG. haha….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • RyanS on May 02, 2013 at 6:11 pm

China RMA extended 10yrs for DSG.
    SG recall DSG.
    Malaysia ?

• We Msian very patient one, slowly till kingdom come also no problem haha. That’s why people like VW take their own sweet time:- )

• DonkeyKong on May 02, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Malaysia is a nation of miraculous QC. Global Honda and Toyota recalls, but somehow none of the models sold are affected by the recall. VW recalls, but no news about it in M’sia. Ford recalls? Same thing. Malaysia is a totally recall-free country. Manufacturers must have a soft spot for Malaysia and give us preferential treatment with only Grade-AAAAA cars being cleared for sales in Malaysia, unaffected by any problem that may plague the same models all over the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • isuzuki on May 02, 2013 at 6:11 pm

It started in China, SG…. then later Malaysia?

• How I going to bring this.
    All VWs has DSG now except for Polo Sedan.
    Polo sedan has normal Aisin 6 speed gear box. Serve many driver the best transmition ever, but lack of oomp like the DSG. After seeing all this DSG failures. Hey! Way to go for Aisin Gearbox! Thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on May 03, 2013 at 1:02 am

And Aisin Seiki is a partial subsidary under Toyota group, which famous in local for their indestructible 4-speeder

• DonkeyKong on May 02, 2013 at 7:43 pm

No wonder the Polo Sedan is using a 6-speed torque converter auto box! It would be a nightmare to fix the DSG in India and other emerging markets..

• calvin on May 02, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Hey guys, im getting my passat 2013 in 1 week time. Initially im quite hesitate to vw since DSG unsolve issue. Last 2 weeks i was at vw showroom. One of salesman managed to convinced me on a vw n told me all 2013 model DSG issue fixed. And passat is using Wet clutch 7 speed which seldom compare to 7 speedo dry clutch. Tried google it, can get a confirmation if passat indeed usong a wet clutch like Tiguan.

• DonkeyKong on May 02, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Haven’t heard of them moving to wet clutch design for their 7-speed units. The internals and mechanical designs are totally different.

That being said, a wet-clutch DSG will only have the added advantage of lesser wear, fast shift times and higher torque tolerance. Compared to a modern torque converter automatic gearbox, it will have similar levels of driveline drag and the mechatronics package will be more complex.

Therefore, it would make more sense for VW to just switch to modern 7-speed or 8-speed torque converter autos, which would benefit the consumer also. No more gear hunting at low speeds, and say hello again to the intuitive and “helpful” low-speed creep in forward and reverse gears..

• my friend,never ever trust those SA.always do ur research and get feedback from real owners.SA is there so that u can haggle for discount.

• torque on May 03, 2013 at 12:05 pm

http://www.volkswagenag.com/content/vwcorp/info_center/en/themes/2008/01/the_7speed_dsg.html

Click this site which is from VWAG itself. However, there is a 7 Speed “Wet Clutch” which is from Audi rated for 550Nm as seen in most Audi with AWD system and in the VW Tiguan. Please get a varified confirmation on the Passat as it is likely to come with the 7 Speed Dry Clutch rated at 250Nm since it a FWD. Remember friend, not all of the Sales Advisor is fully knowledgable and honest. I know this b’coz I left the group fully disappointed by the way my customers being treated.

However, if u do land a well “no issues” DSG VW cars…trust me, it will be the BEST experience driving one! Cheers mate!

• torque on May 03, 2013 at 4:33 pm

*sorry…its 500Nm codename DQ500, 1st to use is the Audi TT RS. Best of luck with your Passat bro!

• retard on May 02, 2013 at 8:51 pm

hyundai/kia 6speed gearbox is the best for vw..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • retard on May 02, 2013 at 8:52 pm

hyundai/kia 6speed gearbox pleaaase..

• jilbaber on May 02, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Oh my god so Bugatti Veyron owner also have to worried ke ? It also use DSG supply by VW what

• BlackJKX on May 02, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Remember my old selespeed gearBOXXXX!
    dasyat…

• firgh on May 02, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Kalau rosak je macam mana nak kejar preve turbo, baru 10km dah rosak berenti tengah jalan, kena potong dgn myvi, basikal pun boleh potong

hahahahahhh

• Johnny on May 03, 2013 at 9:13 am

why i didn’t heard Mercedes and Porsche have GEARBOX problem?

• jilbaber on May 04, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Mercedes is the best car makers in the world and the pioneer of automotive too of course all their make go no problem meh hehe..

who said Porsche DSG got no problem? go and check google..still got what..

• silvia13 on May 03, 2013 at 9:32 am

When I was in Germany my friend said that when people don’t had enough money they only can buy VW.
    What that mean…for me VW just only normal brand but in Malaysia its very popular due to our malaysian want to be different with others by buying another brand of car and they feel like they are rich….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on May 03, 2013 at 5:28 pm

What is so surprising about that? In most other parts of the world, cars are machines that reflect our interests or way of life. A person buys a BMW not to show that he’s rich, but because he enjoys driving and loves the BMW’s looks and performance.

It’s only in backwards countries that have been deprived of basic amenities for too long that they regard basic needs like cars to be a status symbol, and a tool to flaunt one’s wealth.

• Accept the mistake, recall the vw now.

• Last august 2012 vw replaced mechatronic n clutch plate . Yday sent my golf tsi for juddering diagnose n confirm clutch plate faulty again. Amazing dun even last a year as my driving is normal n i m not a speed kaki . Coz warranty past 2 years , service advisor say he has to write report to allianz insurance n the adjuster will inspect dun no when . Service centre need allianz approval before proceed to do repair job . I m expecting the worse probably take 2 weeks for repair to complete if i m lucky . The last repair last year took 10 days . My sincere advice to vw wanna be . STAY AWAY ! There will not be any recall in boleh land . VW sucks n irresponsible in this dsg issues.

• Golf kaki no more on May 09, 2013 at 6:51 am

Last august 2012 vw replaced mechatronic n clutch plate . Yday sent my golf tsi for juddering diagnose n confirm clutch plate faulty again. Amazing dun even last a year as my driving is normal n i m not a speed kaki . Coz warranty past 2 years , service advisor say he has to write report to allianz insurance n the adjuster will inspect dun no when . Service centre need allianz approval before proceed to do repair job . I m expecting the worse probably take 2 weeks for repair to complete if i m lucky . The last repair last year took 10 days . My sincere advice to vw wanna be . STAY AWAY ! There will not be any recall in boleh land . VW sucks n irresponsible in this dsg issues.

• Golf kaki no more on May 09, 2013 at 7:40 am

I have just reported to MAA on the golf tsi dsg issues n warranty after 2 years which by right vw should not be allowed to give under an insurance company very misleading as it is a hassle for consumers . For those having similar problems please complain to a body such as MAA hopefully they can report to relevant ministry and protect msian consumers from VW on golf tsi dry clutch manufacturing defects. We must change bolehland tidak apa attitude .

• Norman on May 12, 2013 at 12:51 am

Lucky for me i point out the dsg fault during my second service for my wife Polo 1.2 Tsi.Car was keep in workshop for 3 days and now running as good as ever.Thats the price for technology.

• genius on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:00 pm

is the new launched beetle also kena? i heard there is a recall!