Nissan’s VW Golf competitor to surface next year

Nissan Invitation concept

Nissan is working on a Volkswagen Golf rival that will have styling inspired by the Invitation concept (pictured) shown at last year’s Geneva show, according to an Auto Express report. The car is set to go on sale in 2014.

“We’ll start by not making any excuses for our car – in terms of dynamics and perceived quality it has to match (the Golf),” global product planning head Andy Palmer told the British publication, adding that “it won’t look like the Golf.”

“We can go after customers bored with the Mk7. We can be more provocative – that’s the advantage of the guys that come afterwards.” Referring to the Nissan Invitation concept’s bonnet-intruding V-shaped grille, he said: “The face is a little bit left-field, a little bit edgy.”

This one’s most probably meant for Europe only, since Nissan already has the Pulsar for the Australasian markets. The Pulsar is essentially a hatchback version of the Sylphy.

Palmer said the car will be built in Spain, and will have a recognisable name that’ll “evoke something from the past.” Is it Pulsar he’s talking about, or does Nissan have another ‘historic’ name in mind?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• frenzyaustin on May 03, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Wow! What a challenge. Toyota, this is how to build a proper car, use what you’ve learned from your GT86 and Lexus and civilized it.

• VW Salesman Are Bored. on May 03, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Please Nissan don’t waste your time trying to compete with VW. Nothing to compete with. VW’s are plagued with DSG failures and their quality is appalling. Name sake only German but in actual fact, even our Protons are better quality than VWs. Nissan on the other hand, should be proud because their cars are not the tow truck’s best friend. VWs are known as the Tow Trucks best friend in Malaysia. Pay so much of premium but spend your time waiting in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck to come and get your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 20
      • Ah Beng Kia on May 03, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • What happen to ur VW? our VW so far so good but i can hear some strange noise when changing gear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • DSG gearbox esp for 1.4 are easily failed… I got mine stall at roadside without any warning… imagine u driving on fast lane, and suddenly no respond on ur throttle.. change my car to other brand immediately. cant afford to risk my life and time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • Same experience here but me even worst, coz they still got mood to void my some warranty when my car is repairing! so make me so angry! not responsible at all and very lousy service! As a fan of VW b4 i get my first VW but now i’m very disappointment.

• You know what?

Keyboard warriors, look at all the keyboard warriors we have everywhere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • excss on May 04, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Hahaha preve turbo easily pass over problematic DSG. Belum apa-apa dah rosak

• Should buy the package of VW + tow truck…problem solved..hahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Yea everyone r Keyboard warriors except u, congratulation yea! Preve only one problem is the badge that’s all.

• limtayar on May 04, 2013 at 8:00 am

~VW Salesmen Are Bored~

Of course everyone wants to follow VW Golf. Which planet are you from? The Golf is the World Car of The Year and European Car of The Year 2013. They sell more Golf’s than any other car in Europe and Asia.

You write like you don’t really own a Golf. You will never ever find VW Golf’s on tow trucks. Thats because the ‘so called’ DSG problem affects the older DSG’s and even then, it does not cause the car to break down, unlike the brake failures of Toyota or their problems with airbags recently.

Even these older DSGs can be repaired without the car breaking down on the road. And please lah, don’t accuse me of being a VW salesman, just because I wrote this. I do own VW’s, but also BMWs and Merc’s. So far none of my VW’s have broken down in the last 6 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • Ah Beng Kia on May 04, 2013 at 9:54 am

limtayar,

How much does VW Malaysia pay you to support them here? Is it on a per comment basis or monthly flat rate?

People here are suffering. DSG failure happening halfway while driving is like us humans having a heart attack. Suddenly cannot breathe. Have you experienced it? Countries around the world already acknowledge this and VW do recalls. But in Malaysia, we get people like you telling us no more problem. It is a problem la. A quick google search will show you so many communities set up to address this issue. In Australia, ppl want to sue them already.

Please wake up. Every time I see a VW on the road, I am scared they will suddenly have DSG problem and cause an accident. 2nd hand value is getting worse too. Who wants to buy? People nowadays can read all this online. So please lah, either your sample is too small or you want to bury your head underground.

Inb4 people accuse me of being a competitor car salesman / jealous of VW / troll

• Then don’t go cucuk VW la ah beng kia! Drive like a real mother father gentleman!

• StopbashingDSG on May 05, 2013 at 10:30 pm

@Ah beng kia. U still talk like u don’t own a VW. But u talk like u are VW sales competitor or just want your 5 mins fame. Why don’t u just let us know which brand u r selling? Instead of wasting time BS here. Owing a VW is about passion, like owing an alpha romeo.. U dont care about its short comings.

• @limtayar, I can only say you are a man who takes good care of your cars. :) kudos.

Those who trample their cars should stick to Toyota, at least it’ll seldom let you down when you abuse it.

• Ah Beng Kia on May 03, 2013 at 4:05 pm

No need to try to compete so hard. Have a working transmission that is reliable and you will surely win :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on May 03, 2013 at 7:47 pm

VW marketing always strongly point out “German Engineering” in their ads. Nissan, you can use, Japanese Quality”, “GT-R cousin”, “Better performance, half the price” and “Under 3 second”.

• ben yap on May 03, 2013 at 4:11 pm

“a recognisable name that’ll “evoke something from the past.”

It’ll be called Nissan Sunny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Oblivion52 on May 03, 2013 at 5:31 pm

I disagree. I would be called the ‘GTR-Mini’. or Mini-Skyline.

• NihonJidosha on May 03, 2013 at 7:51 pm

And then BMW bring Nissan to the court for the word “Mini”.

• nissan note??? is that you???

• You don’t need a Golf rival if you can stop producing ugly cars. Really no clue on why most nice Nissan concept came out ugly in production.

• 7nitestand on May 03, 2013 at 5:18 pm

I concur. The final output designs as they are on the road are always appalling. & don’t get me started on the interiors.

• frenzyaustin on May 03, 2013 at 7:50 pm

From handsome 370Z, Gundam in thr form of a car GT-R to the most fugly car of the year Almera, what the heck is happening?

• mustafa on May 03, 2013 at 4:34 pm

not the sunny….SSS (triple S)maybe…

• benchot on May 03, 2013 at 4:46 pm

looks like a jazz to me..but kudos to nissan..

• jilbaber on May 03, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Yeah It so look like Jazz/Fitz only more handsome..Hope no change on this concept except maybe the light

• Don’t hope.
    Good design Nissan always not available by TC Malaysia.

• should be nissan pulsar!!

• nice car…but im in no mood to talk about cars, the voting day is near and the dirty tricks keep coming and coming, including the banglas…

• Jacksonkua on May 03, 2013 at 9:24 pm

It look weird if you wish to compete with 2013 product but u can only (maybe the latest) produce on 2014?

• Aiyoo, you copy also dun need to tell people you’re copying laa. Got shame or not wan wor…

Same thing when you go to a Mazda showroom. “We are at par with VW” “Lots of people switched their Passat booking to us” “VW got gear recall in China”

My summary is – VW, you’ve made it.

• retard on May 03, 2013 at 11:39 pm

nissan is the best- example : nissan skyline gtr can beat lambogini, ferrari … all the euros & us sportscar. even jeremy clarkson enjoy driving it..muahaaaaa….

• If only they carry that kind of attributes to the almera. sigh..

• Unfortunately for Nissan, buyers don’t seem to care what Jeremy Clarkson likes or not.

Nissan produced 1294 GT-R’s in 2011 and 1442 in 2012:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_GT-R#Production_figures

Lamborghini sold 1602 cars in 2011 and 2083 in 2012:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamborghini#Sales_results

• Who is Jeremy Clarkson? Oh now I remember, he’s an automotive joker from UK, lol

• ….and some people will get butthurt lol

• yogan on May 04, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Guys,
    After being silence for soo long, I need to share this. My first car is FD1, still driving it after 6 years. 2 years ago I start admiring golf gti.. Started going to all the show room for the sake of test driving it. Finally I made up my mind, I kaw tim with my wife and sold of her Myvi and took a golf gti MK5 2nd hand from Yap Bros. The car was owesome, 1st day I hit 260km, 2nd day I found the old recipt of the prevous owner. Called him, got shoked, he claims the he had to push the car away as the DGS was a total failure. I got pist, went back to the YAPs, they claimed that is was fixed, and they shall upgrade the warraty from 1 day to 1 month + signed me up for OPAL 1 year. 1 year passed by, had wonderfull time with my GTI. Bad luck hits me late last year, last turn to my housing area, I hit a bike at the speed below 40km. Minor cosmetic injury, sent to an ah beng shop, as VW claims they would take 3 months. Okay, they fixed it, 1st day, I took the car, had DGS issue. Ever since then it started.. Sold it off.. Its a fun addictive drive, but yes. DSG is screwed up..

• Mustapha Tharari on May 04, 2013 at 4:11 pm

I drive a golf now. Had driven a Nissan in the past. The philosophies of these two car manufacturers are vastly different. Notwithstanding the failures I’ve read of the DSG’s , I have no regrets buying the Golf. The Golf is made so differently. In short, my belief is that VW gives the consumer the latest technology and make that technology as reliable as they possibly can. Whereas Nissan makes cars using technology that is already reliable.

• The power of engine must compatibile to Gear Box Power. If not compatibile sure got problems. My advice is don’t go too powerful.Enough is better.