GE13 poll day is over – what about our cheap cars?

rm down1 logoIt’s polling day today. A lot of you would have casted your votes. Both the government and opposition parties have issued manifestos with points that concern motorists, and those who keep themselves informed would have already gone through them.

There is plenty to dissect and debate on in regards to what both parties offer in their manifestos, but since this is an automotive website in order to stick to the topic, we will only comment on the matters related to motoring. Here is a gist of the motorist related points from their respective manifestos.

Barisan Nasional [BN Manifesto]

• Revamping the National Automotive Policy to gradually reduce car prices by 20-30% and increase the competitiveness of our national cars.
  • Gradual reduction of intra-city tolls

BN’s approach is softer and more gradual. It doesn’t touch on issues like fuel price or toll, standing by their previous stance that reduction of subsidies are necessary because of inflating annual cost of the subsidy bill. There is however a mention of reduction of intra-city tolls.

These are some measures that have been already happening, albeit perhaps the feeling is that it is happening at a much slower pace than the people would like it to go. The most recent toll reduction that we reported is that of the KESAS Highway, an average drop of 20 sen.

Pakatan Rakyat [PR Manifesto]

• Petrol and diesel prices will be lowered.
  • Lower electricity charges (relevant to motorists using EVs)
  • The gradual abolishment of tolls
  • Abolish excise duty
  • Cars priced as low as RM25,000
  • Abolishment of AES and revocation of AES summons

The Pakatan Rakyat manifesto is sure to be popular with the people. They all involve reducing taxes and increasing subsidies, which means less revenue and more expenditure for the government.

Generally, the explanation given for how these measures will be implemented without bankrupting the government’s coffers is the reduction of corruption, which will result in more budget freed up by both reducing costs incurred by the government, as well as taking back many potential revenue sources that are currently now in the hands of private individuals.

What’s with our car prices and how can they come down?

No matter who wins (we’ll find out tomorrow), both sides have promised us cheaper cars, so we’ll just assume that we’re going to get lower car prices either way. It is very common for angry motorists to compare the prices of cars in Malaysia with that of the USA and Europe. Government officials argue that import duties for cars have gradually been coming down, and there have been announcements of the reductions of import duties from various countries.

However, the difference may not be as big as perceived, as car pricing works very differently in USA and Europe compared to the ASEAN region. In the ASEAN region, we buy whatever the product planners in the car companies dish out – specs are frozen. The OTR prices of cars in USA and Europe are very much variable, as the trend is to customise the equipment in your car.

2013_Toyota_Vios_ 001

To put things in a better apple to apple perspective, if you compare ASEAN to ASEAN, the recently-launched Thailand market 2013 Toyota Vios was introduced with price tags of RM59,117 for the 1.5J Manual model up to RM77,625 for the top of the line 1.5S Auto.

In Malaysia, the previous generation Toyota Vios – which is still on sale – goes for RM72,417 for the 1.5J and RM91,231 for the 1.5 TRD Sportivo. So that’s a difference of between 18% to 20%. So where does this 18% to 20% difference come from?

The reality is that announcements of reduced import duties have minimal effect on the prices of cars here in Malaysia. The duty contributors to the cost of cars here in Malaysia is sales tax, excise duty, and import duty. We get most of our CBU cars and CKD assembly kits from Japan, Indonesia or Thailand, and under the Malaysia-Japan FTA as well as the ASEAN FTA, import duties are already minimal.

Isuzu D-Max Artic 5

Excise duties are currently between 75% to 105% for passenger cars, 60% to 105% for MPVs, and 65% to 105% for 4X4 vehicles. Duties are calculated based on engine capacity, with the lowest band being engines with displacements below 1,800 cc and the highest band being engines with displacements above 3,000 cc. So basically, the high prices are because of excise duty.

According to Malaysian Automotive Institute CEO Madani Sahari, the average effective rate of excise duty applied to most major car brands here in Malaysia is claimed to be about 40%. This reduction of effective rate is said to be due to value added activities in the CKD process. Basically, the more of your car that you build in Malaysia, the less excise duty you pay.

Quite simply, companies basically have to take out their calculators and decide if it’s worth it incurring the additional cost of local assembly and sourcing versus the reduction of duties, and if it makes financial sense, they have the option of working on it. The Industrial Adjustment Fund that was established with the 2006 NAP review is one mechanism that allows rebates/credits to be given based on domestic content.

This is where national makes like Proton gets an advantage – despite an equally high excise duty, it gets rebates because its cars are developed locally. Supposedly, anyone who meets the fund requirements are able to get the same incentives, but it’s safe to say only companies like Proton and Perodua are that much invested in the Malaysian auto industry.

Driven_Web_Series_2014_Honda_City_vs_Toyota_Vios_vs_Nissan_Almera_004

It’s still possible to work some magic here though. I was told the Nissan Almera is ‘kicking ass’ in terms of localisation and that’s how ETCM was able to price it at RM66.8k to RM78.8k, which is quite comparable to how the Vios is priced in Thailand. I can’t find a reference price point for the Almera in Thailand because it’s only available with a 1.2 litre engine there, priced between 429,000 Thai baht (RM44k) to 599,000 Thai baht (RM61k).

So in reality, while Proton’s 50% excise duty rebate was removed when NAP 2006 was announced, in a way the income lost thanks to the 50% rebate was converted into the IAF mechanism, and naturally Proton (and Perodua) qualifies since a lot of the manufacturing and R&D are done in Malaysia. In Proton’s annual reports, R&D grants received from the governemnt amounted to RM297.7 mil in 2011, RM143.7 mil in 2010 and RM80.6 mil in 2009.

Long story short, the only way for car prices to come down is to significantly reduce excise duties, and even then, it’s not a guarantee, because policies only open the path and industry players have to walk down the path opened for them. Let’s turn the clock back to 2006’s NAP announcement, which reduced duties. The government opened the path for CKD car prices to be lowered but Datuk Seri Najib Razak (then Deputy Prime Minister) said he was not happy with the extent of how much the prices had been lowered.

At that time, Toyota prices dropped by between 5.6% to 11%, Proton prices dropped by between 2% to 5%, Perodua prices were cut between RM800 to RM1,500 per car (except the baseline EX660 and EX850 models), while Mercedes-Benz CKD car prices dropped between 6.5% to 10% – for example, the E240 price dropped from RM428k to RM388k, and the C180K price was revised from RM256k to RM234k.

Perodua Axia launch

After Najib said the government was dissatisfied with the level of the price drops, further price drops were made – Proton cut prices further between 5% to 7.2%, while Perodua extended the price cuts to its baseline EX660 and EX850 models. Hyundai prices dropped between 1.42% to 10.73%, with the biggest price cut being with the Sonata, with RM13,555 slashed off its price tag. Volvo announced price cuts of up to 7%, which represented RM10k to RM20k off various models.

Nissan slashed prices up to a massive 15% – the Sentra had a 5% price reduction, while the Cefiro had a price tag reduction of about 12% to 15%. Mitsubishi reduced its Lancer 1.6’s price by RM2,000. BMW reduced prices of cars like the 320i from RM278,800 down to RM249,800, the 530i from RM472k down to RM438k, and the 530d from RM579,980 down to RM438,000.

The 2006 price drop across the board caused a furore with existing car owners as well as used car dealers. Banks were also affected as the value of the cars under hire purchase loans dropped significantly lower than the outstanding amount, putting them at higher risk if a default happened.

As you can see, automakers certainly need a little coaxing to drop the prices of cars even when the duties levied on them have been reduced. There is a matter of stock management, as well as taking care of existing customers resale value, and we all know how important resale value is to certain people.

It’s certainly not an easy thing to do, and I think if you ask anyone in the decision chair, if a price drop across the board is not imposed, they’d rather keep prices the way it is and use the new margins obtained to simply increase their coffers or make their products more competitive by increasing equipment levels.

In fact, I think that’s exactly what’s going on now, or else I wouldn’t have any other explanation for the huge disparity in equipment levels at similar price points between products from different brands in the B-segment.

There is also the matter of investor confidence. The Malaysian NAP policies are still seen to be somewhat volatile in this region, which is why investment opportunities are going to Thailand and Indonesia instead.

But it’s not to say that there hasn’t been any investment here. Honda finally set up a hybrid assembly line and have started CKD-ing the Jazz. And of course, there’s the Nissan Almera, which underwent heavy localisation under the rules set by the NAP – that localisation investment will be meaningless if tariffs are removed. I think Volkswagen still hasn’t started any significant CKD operations in this country because it is adopting a wait-and-see approach in terms of any policy changes after this elections.

There’s a lot of frying pans and fires to choose from here, and the trick for the new government, whether it is from BN or PR, is to pick the best route to take. It would certainly be very nice for new car prices to drop overnight (overnight in reality probably means in a week or two due to the recalculations needed), but I think it’s really not going to be as easy as it sounds.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fear_us on May 05, 2013 at 5:33 pm

damn those cheating cheaters! damn lot of tricky tricks!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 383 Thumb down 93
    • Chill bro, the more trickery they use, the more united the true Malaysian will be.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 349 Thumb down 23
      • droll on May 06, 2013 at 7:21 am

exactly. if there’s one thing GE13 has taught the rakyat, it is that we are now more united than ever. change will come and BN/UMNO will not be able to stop it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 38
        • KINDY MAN on May 06, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Please just reduce inner city toll specially LDP and Kesas, car price can reduce slowly, most important improve your public transport !!!

that a reason i vote PKR for change

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 21
          • Setiapaduka on May 07, 2013 at 12:39 pm

huaaaa my 5 AES summons kena bayar ke..aku simpan sampai 5 hope PR menang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 18
        • Sam Loo on May 16, 2013 at 1:20 pm

There should be a law. Anyone found buying any car RM300,000 and above IRB/LHDN must open a file and investigate. How did they get such money. This will curb corruption and tax evasion which BN cronies are famous for. It is a known fact that, besides land and houses, cars are the best way to wash dirty money. That is why all those crook and thiefs AP holders are able to sell their cars easily despite cheating in every car they sell by downclocking the odometer.

• VW Mk7 Kong on May 06, 2013 at 9:15 am

Now BN has won, we are all going to suffer with high car prices for the next 5 years. BN will never abolish taxes nor abolish their AP cronies lah. So, please, don’t dream of lower car prices. Malaysians WILL NEVER have any say in car prices nor anything to do with cars. And the worse part is, Malaysians are still bodoh to keep on buying BMs, Mercs and Porsches just to show to their neighbours that they have made it. MAlaysians just love to keep up with the joneses and no matter what price it is, just to show their neighbours and office peers that they have made it or a success, they will get all the loans in the world to buy their luxury car just to prove a point. In overseas, the Mat Salleh, even though he may have millions of pounds in the bank, you see he got one small flat and dives his Ford Focus or Vauxhall Astra. Pity Malaysians are not evolved as the Mat Salleh. To us, its all about proving to everybody we have got money. Very few car enthusiast out there who buy genuinely for the pleasure of driving and technology. Majority of Malaysians buy to lagak. Time to change our attitude. Go back to buying cheap cars and make the luxury car manufacturers feel the pinch and force them to drop prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 446 Thumb down 43
        • OK what on May 06, 2013 at 9:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 199 Thumb down 467
          • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 10:14 am

Then compare our wages to Singaporean wages. Compare our public transport to Singapore’s public transport.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 349 Thumb down 114
          • Moores on May 06, 2013 at 10:42 am

Compare apple to apple then don’t compare sing dollar with ringgit you moron. A Singaporean wage is double of a Malaysian IN SING DOLLAR.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 156 Thumb down 126
          • adrian on May 06, 2013 at 12:52 pm

You wanna compare apple to apple? lets compare then. since you are the genius, tell me this.

what is the price of VIOS in Thailand as compared to malaysia? what about the price of the BMW’S, the Merc, the Bentleys in singapore as compared to here? dear genius, please inform us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 26
          • And pls Singapore is smaller so the price of the car is expensive! they can use public transport but here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 9
          • driver on May 06, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Org nak kasik kereta murah pn tak mau. Lepas tu buat perbandingan dari 1 aspek jek. Temasek tu besar mana la sangat, sbb tu nk kena kawal kuantiti kereta. Lepas tu gaji dorg kt sana bukan sama kat sini.

Aaahh.. kang cakap ko ni bangang abadi ko marah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 23
          • thepolygon on May 06, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Wah… Temasik… dah lama tak dengar nama itu :D
            Yea… gaji memang lebih tinggi jika kita convert to MYR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
          • Bongcs on May 07, 2013 at 7:22 pm

can consider compare
            Singaporean Chinese chicks
            with
            Malayisan Chinese City Chicks too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • amokio on May 12, 2013 at 1:49 am

then i will compare you and a faggot..seems legit!

• exodus on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:44 pm

dont compare our salary with their salary, instead you can compare the daily living costs vs income, then u’ll know, which one is better.

• unforgiven on May 06, 2013 at 11:57 am

Unfortunately, when we watched the news on some of the interviews “if I’m the PM”, most of them are still expecting free text books, free money br1m, etc. those rural folks won’t have the advanced knowledge to change yet. They may not understand corruptions or Lynas.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 25
        • skiborne on May 07, 2013 at 6:24 am

HEY HELLO. im now studying in the UK, grass is NOT greener here. Most of them and I’m telling you this are PENNILESS. They always percieve Asians as wealthy irrespective of which region. Go to Harrods shopping centre in London. who goes there and purchase things? Most of them are Asians. Who drives phat cars along Edgware Road, Kensington, Mayfair, Belgravia and Knightsbridge area in London? They are Orientals / Arabs! Why are mat sallehs broke? Because they dont have any resources, lazy, heavy gamblers and their government had to impose heavy taxes like around 50% of their income. Proof why are they broke? Most of them go to food bank for sustaining their lives. This has increased two-fold since last year of the same period. and another reason why they drive cool cars is because their cool cars are cheap. So please you shouldn’t be saying “i want to evolve to be mat salleh”. Just hates it when we’re so into them. and yes I’m aware that Malaysia is getting worse than before.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 8
          • Bongcs on May 07, 2013 at 11:12 am

Earn 1000, Spend 3000

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
          • UK vs Malaysia on May 09, 2013 at 9:06 am

What rubbish you are talking. The GDP per capita of UK as well as Singapore is about 5 times that of Malaysia. It is also called Purchase Parity (PPP) or the Big Mac Index. What this means is literally, the UK or Singaporean earns 5 times more than the Malaysian. So, the BMW or Porsche is ACTUALLY cheaper for the Singaporean or the British man. You are a student, you don’t know much. All your peers in university just drink and jolly. I worked in UK for 10 years. Even a kuli there has lots of purchasing power. A kuli can earn about 10 pounds an hour and cars there are not only cheap, but 2nd hand cars are even cheaper. All cars, on their 3rd year lose baout 70% of their value. So, you can get a very good Mercedes or BMW for about 5000 pounds. So, even a kuli can buy a BMW or Mercedes with one months pay. By the way, cost of living is also cheaper. What I spend 30 pounds in the UK supermarket when I was living there as a working adult cost RM500 in Malaysia. Same groceries and same food items. So, you campare and think lah who has more purchasing power. A person who earns 2000 pounds or a person who earns 2000 ringgit. I go 4 times to the supermarket here already my RM2000 monthly pay is finished. I go 4 times to the UK supermarket, it only cost me 120 pounds.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
          • Bongcs on May 09, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Sandwiched between two parties :-(

• Malaysians are still bodoh to buy Beemers and Porsche? mind you.. have you driven or own one before? Nobody buy means price will drop? LMAO.. comm’on..

• Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 3:59 pm

We are divided by the PM remarks on “Chinese Tsunami”. What kind of racist PM is that? I hope that Malaysian can work together for better Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 57
        • Lemonguy on May 06, 2013 at 5:47 pm

I think should use Malaysia tsunami instead……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 15
        • looks like our PM is the biggest racist person. there are lots of malay also vote for opposition becoz they fed up with the govt corruption, as simple as the AP issue. Car price mayb expensive in BolehLand but AP issue is unacceptable coz it does not contribute to the society.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 15
        • rickyll on May 07, 2013 at 11:40 am

Malaysian Chinese has always been easy scapegoat. Our prime minister should analyze the results thoroughly before jumping into conclusion. Take a look at the Selangor state election results, Pas has almost double the number of state seats it won the last time around, all of them are Malay majority seats. The same goes for Kuala Lumpur Parliamentary seats. I would call it “Urban Tsunami”. If our respected leaders would refrain themselves from uttering unbecoming remarks, our nation would definitely be a better place to live in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
    • It is also possible for excise duty axed overnight with ‘minor’ tweaking to the financing systems: perhaps much higher entry level for downpayment, lesser years given when taking loans etc, whatever it is, I am happy that we MIGHT, just might be able to afford good cars at low prices!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 9
      • rickyll on May 06, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Well, let’s pray hard for miracle. We can’t blame the rural folks because they seldom drive, seldom pay the tolls and may not even know what PTPTN is all about. No one can make them understand the real meaning of corruption or crony enrichment policies. It’s even harder to make them realise that the hand outs like BRIM1 or whatever are government’s borrowed money that our cucu-cicits have to pay back in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
    • Mandarin on May 06, 2013 at 5:05 am

Lesson number one. Cheap cars in Malaysia, there is no such thing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 10
    • carlos on May 06, 2013 at 3:12 pm

the writer should also look at the cost of ownership – meaning fuel prices and financing, which makes it cheaper here in bolehland. Those who frequent to thailand knows – fill up before crossing to land of smiles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
      • Moron, if u drive Altis with RM60k in Msia, and our petrol is RM5 per litre, still v are unable to pump RM50k petrol in total for 5 yrs(means every mth RM833 for 5 yrs). So v dun mind petrol to go up if car price reduce by half, sum more lots of hybrid car available which help to save petrol. Use ur brain to calculate la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • INI KALILAH!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 204 Thumb down 51
    • Jimmy on May 05, 2013 at 10:37 pm

We want free healthy competitions.
      We want no monopoly.
      We want no spoon feeding, the worst is tube feeding, directly to the stomachs of AP Kings.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 13
    • armandd on May 06, 2013 at 3:39 am

LAIN KALILAH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 136
    • Ah Beng on May 06, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Janji dicapati.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
  • On the BN promise, that’s simply not enough.
    On the PKR promise, that’s sounds too good to be true

But whatever is it, this topic will definitely be hot debate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 7
    • I am more interested in the overall living cost barang naik or price reduce.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 7
    • frenzyaustin on May 05, 2013 at 6:06 pm

We don’t know how good PKR is but we all know how MFBS BN (Bangla Nation) is. Import people overseas to vote for them and dump leave them all here without shelter and jobless. Feeding a bunch of samseng to fight opposition. Damn, please all people here, no matter how you hate Toyota or jokes about DSG, please, we should united as one and fight against the evil!
      http://1.usa.gov/16D2YiO
      Please, everyone, sign this petition to the White House, no matter you are T&H salesman or what, just, please.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 131 Thumb down 182
      • carlos on May 06, 2013 at 3:16 pm

There is no evidence of Bangla voting – obviously you are not a lawyer nor scientist to understand the real meaning of criminal or scientific evidence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 70
        • Ah Beng on May 06, 2013 at 6:19 pm

If they let you catch them so easily, they would not be the crony right?

Malaysia now = BN(Bangla Nation)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
      • Lemonguy on May 06, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Common.. You expect US come to help us?? I think they more interested to sapu our bolehland…for them to sapu our army is easy like 123…their army definitely advance than sulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • Joe Radzif on May 07, 2013 at 8:36 am

Why should invite US to interrupt here?
        I am PR supporter but if you really want US support then better leave this nation and get a living there…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 2
      • Kelvin ng on May 07, 2013 at 10:01 am

No need lah, u think that obama want to help? He even cant take care thier own yard, u just put Malaysia in shame in world eyes, PR dont have prove and US will still trust Bee End since it was goverment of malaysia now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • NO, i love my peaceful country

• tokmoh on May 05, 2013 at 5:56 pm

It’s not just us voting. Today’s fb is about banglas, banglas everywhere toystory.jpg

And some Myanmars, Indons. Janji 1Banglasia akan ditepati ini macam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 41
  • mystvearn on May 05, 2013 at 5:57 pm

If PR win, I can imagine that people will not buy cars for the next 6 months until confirm price drop. It happen before just slightly before the NAP was announced.

If BN win, car sales will be like normal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 11
    • frenzyaustin on May 05, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Even though PKR really win, car price won’t reduce immediately, they should consider those 2nd hand car seller. It might reduce year by year not sekaligus.
      And please guys, sign your petition here, hope it can break a million sign, thanks.
      http://1.usa.gov/16D2YiO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 95
      • mystvearn on May 05, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Yes. It be reduced year by year. That is why people will hold off buying new cars for the remainder of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • people need car, still they will buy it, just like currently market TAX still 100%

• Kimi Raikkonen on May 09, 2013 at 1:50 pm

I’m a banker and I can tell you that there will not be much impact. I did not say no impact but not much.

It will only impact on people who as of today does not own a car and plan to buy a car soon – because those who already own a car will change if they want to. If they don’t the value will drop anyways.

Push Economics 101 – if the linkage of the chains move, the chains will move in unison.

• mystvearn on May 10, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Correct. However, if it is perceived/expected price drop, those without cars may buy used cars instead. 6 months using 5 year old saga is totally worth it since I can get a RM50k Preve CFE later. People will still buy cars, that is unavoidable. However, how they choose to negate the problem will worry sales agent – especially new car sales agent. New cars will still sell, but most definitely will be affected.

• Joe Radzif on May 07, 2013 at 11:51 am

You better leave this country and live in US under Obama la bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • say NO to austin power

• Anticipating…

• kelvin on May 05, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Just done my vote this morning! Whoever win, better workout what they have promised!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Cakehut on May 05, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Its about time the industry support the new government. All along it was to protect the Banks and the Insurance fraternity, albeit Capitalist Democracy. This is part of the Corruption System the new government had to (must) deal with. Down with paid holidays to Tokyo, Berlin and Detroit for the CEOs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • ubah3x on May 05, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Is there any Plan B? What to do if both coalitions cannot fulfill the manifesto in 2 elections?

???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • bigbang on May 05, 2013 at 6:33 pm

‘Gradual’ reduction my bottom. Gradual as in 10 years? 20 years? How about another 55 years?

It amazes me how there are still people supporting these cronies. Wake up ffs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 23
  • Karipap on May 05, 2013 at 6:57 pm

U guys here in this forum are much more rational than lunatics out there in facebook. Thumbs up to everybody. Keep on a good & healthy debates that are not based on emotion & feeling. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • lembu jinni on May 05, 2013 at 7:44 pm

no price reduction on 250cc & above bike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • jolly_idiot on May 05, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Bro. Above 250cc bike are mostly for leisure.

Are talking bout basic needs of life. Which is more important to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Give me back my days of roti canai kosong – 60 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
      • Jimmy on May 05, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Do you know what he is really talking about?
        Sila memberi perhatian pada komen orang lain, jangan simply anggap dia iq rendah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Dr Cooper on May 06, 2013 at 7:43 am

Well do yo Jimmy ? He does not even mentioned anyone’s iq at all. He only said about priority

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • the driver on May 05, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Wait a minute, lower petrol and diesel prices? I would expect that to go up if you want better public services. However, the (ex)government subsidized fuel for purely political reasons,…yes better later but get used to higher fuel prices. If we gain (cheaper cars , etc) from more transparent tender exercises, etc., we lose elsewhere – think S’pore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on May 05, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Should we continue to stay di atas pokoks, menikmati kecantikan burung kenyalang?
      Jangan-jangan ayah dibunuh orang pun tak tau musuh siapa, terus tari-menari di bawah bayu di kaki Gunung widow cina.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • frenzyaustin on May 05, 2013 at 10:45 pm

1st thing to do after PKR become our new government, abolish AP, all people can import any car they like and pay suitable amount of tax to government. Let Naza go back kampung menanam jagung! 2nd hand car sell more expensive than new car in our own country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
  • Gurmit on May 05, 2013 at 11:29 pm

If the new car price goes down than what happen to second car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Green on May 06, 2013 at 12:57 am

If New car price drop, u can get new car even cheaper..
      and old car even cheaper.

hence, it’s benefiting u, either way..

unless, u are a 2nd hand car seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
  • kev414 on May 06, 2013 at 1:22 am

Carry on to buy expensive n low spec vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • kev413 on May 06, 2013 at 1:24 am

Darkest day in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 46
    • Rinnegan on May 06, 2013 at 9:25 am

@kev413,.. This I agree. Like it or not , BN is expected to win. How can they lose, when we can see clear proofs of “import voters”? I shudder to think what BN (Bangla Nation) will do next. They have spent a colossal amount of money to win in GE13. I won’t be surprise to see the return of AES and GST, just to name a few,….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 26
      • Hadi75 on May 06, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Yes…huge sum of money being spent for GE13…so now it’s time to collect back that huge sum…????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 10:19 am

That’s called “Magic”.
      BN have porn star, karaoke singer and now magician. What they need next?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr on May 06, 2013 at 11:25 am

Those electrical blackouts during counting of ballots are a load of bull crap. We all know that the opposition was in the running to win then suddenly magic started to happen and then the PDRM who are supposed to uphold the law started carrying extra ballots from God knows where into the polling centre.

Its going to be the same for the GE14 unless drastic changes are done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
      • sepul on May 06, 2013 at 3:00 pm

That I just being told from my office mate a while ago. Darn the BN people and them assistants!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Sigh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • meng meng on May 06, 2013 at 2:22 am

Now we see the BN got janji ditepati or not. 20-30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • thats for luxury car only..

• meng meng on May 06, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Are you really belive their promise will come true?
      Ohh… pls maybe until near GE-14 they promise again.

• nighttrain on May 06, 2013 at 2:44 am

Everything shot to hell. We’re back to square one, folks. Household debt is status quo. Plan your finances carefully. Be prepared to be underpaid and overcharged, well at least for the next five years. Dang!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 4:13 pm

If there is no fair election, we will continue to be like now for the next 50 years. Continue to pay the toll, my dear Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Greasemonkey on May 08, 2013 at 9:08 pm

They will tell you to migrate back to your country if you are not happy in banglasia.As you all know,we export talent, and import rubbish from Africa,Bangla,and many,many more.Damn fedup!

• kelantanboy on May 06, 2013 at 3:22 am

i just want to have a better gov,without any obvious cronies favouritm,like policy of the **** mass AP permits..which mostly given to cronies weststar,naza n etc…,i still cant trust new elected gov if the drop price of cars as they promised cant b fulfilled…dont know y malay voters cant c this and yet again vote for 58years old gov….hope BN-new gov can show us a glimpse of light of ur ‘Better Nation’…plz..5 more years,hope the opposition can check n balance the new BN-goverment..drop the price to an affordable level…im full of frustration,sorry for mumbling here…Malaysia Negaraku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • idaho on May 06, 2013 at 1:41 pm

There are more important issues than cars and tolls for the Malays when they voted bn. Dont believe? ask the Chinese…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • there are reasons beyond that…now the malays knows after polls results…will be united in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • along on May 06, 2013 at 3:58 am

Enough with waiting the politicians to come up with a viable policy… This is our problem and lets solve it ourselves. If we let them solve it, it always about, the AP kings, the manufacturers, the bank… what about the consumer, the boss, us?

I will maintain my current rides and refused to by any new cars until we have a viable price and policy… I hope you guys will be doing the same and convince others…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    When we work together, we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 7
    • rickyll on May 06, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Let’s give it a try, say don’t buy new car for the next six months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • You’ll never see me coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Rocket Man on May 06, 2013 at 2:57 pm

I’m not afraid of you. No politics here. Just good old fashion revenge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 06, 2013 at 7:06 am

Janji BN. Lihat apa yang dia mampu buat setelah didesak oleh rakyat.

Janji PR. Apa yang rakyat nak, itu yang dia nak bagi tak kira mampu atau tidak. No offence sebab manifesto bukan janji.

Kesimpulan: Saya nak insuran lagi murah/tiada kenaikan lagi, loading dimansuhkan dan kereta selepas 20 thn masih layak amik 1st party

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
  • vincent on May 06, 2013 at 7:21 am

I’m sorry mate. You might have to come to Australia to buy your ‘cheap’ car, cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • pkr lose on May 06, 2013 at 7:56 am

AP kings lives on another 5 years n worst of all rosmah is gonna have fun shopping for the next 5 years T.T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 20
  • Barisan Nasional is cheating during the election. Bringing in Bangla and cut off electricity. Stupid TNB. Fellow Malaysian, we dont need to pay for electricity bill. And worst of all, Police!! damn those police, protecting bangla to vote instead of citizen’s welfare. Next street demo, we dont need to give face to them. No wonder they gt slaughter in LD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 59
    • MrDDR on May 06, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Pity you. Did you donate any money to police family member who died at Lahad Datu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Yes.. a decent amount of money. Im saying they gt slaughtered is not im happy. Its that they had died in vain. We all know LD is just more than an small invasion. i cant disclosed more, i just can say luckily they attacked 1st and got retaliated by our PDRM and Army. If they stay put till GE, all Malaysian regardless of race are doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 4:21 pm

I think both of you is arguing something that both of you are not fully understood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Gavin on May 06, 2013 at 8:46 am

They basically have been given mandate to continue to rape the country , why do you think the rakyat is in their minds?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
  • No Toll? Sarawakian n Sabahan doesnt pay toll. Cheap Cars? Dont say rm25k, even rm7k motorcycle they cant afford. PR should includes free boat for them to cross the river

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • dmaxkp on May 11, 2013 at 5:45 am

Orang tak main la pakai motor……orang sabah sarawak pakai 4×4…..prado,ninja king,harrier,hillux,navarra….jangan ingat org sabah sarawak miskin….

• as latest result shown, PR won the most urban votes due to we are objecting unreasonable car prices which most of the money goes toward cronies and nothing to improve our infrastructure.
    We rejected toll because they are pay for nothing but jam and frustration!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
    • Wisdom on May 08, 2013 at 9:53 am

So when u dont have to pay toll, u expect the jam to disappear too?

• Will not buy new car in next 3 or 3+ years as nothing will happen before next election…wait long long lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Cheated Car Buyer on May 06, 2013 at 9:32 am

We rakyat just want to see Proton close shop. That’s all. Enough of this clown that causing the rest of car buyers suffering for far too long.

It’s ridiculous to see Proton keep on being bailed out, given 2nd chance, taken over by another Crony on behalf of Khazanah, if failed then govt keep on buy over again and again.

Why punish ordinary rakyat with 75% car excise duty just to buy reliable quality, fuel-efficient cars at fair open market competitive price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 36
    • Dru-Zod on May 07, 2013 at 10:08 am

Proton cars are a waste of time and money. Rakyat kena punished so that cronies can enrich themselves with our hard earned money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • gradually reduce car price? gradually? 10 years? 20 years? or 100 years later? what a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • wakaka on May 06, 2013 at 11:56 am

Maybe our great grandchildren will be having the same debate as us in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • old dog on May 06, 2013 at 9:51 am

Dreaming….dream dream dream…

What care price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • damn, my heart still aches after the G.E’s result..still hoping for fuel and car price reduction..hopefully there’s drastic changes in all these matters..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
  • Faizul on May 06, 2013 at 10:18 am

Whatever dissatisfaction regarding election should be tame down bcoz the rakyat have spoken n decide who will rule for the next 5 years. The problem with malaysian on both side of the divide is the lack of tolerism. Yes there are issues that arise and still lot of improvement can be done.. Its useless of blaming others as cheating as we can see that several bn big names also suffer losses. If the ruling party cheat. Than it is impossible for this to happen. Think again.. You all may want it but majority have spoken. Accept with open heart and let us celebrate another achievement in our practise of democracy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 153
    • sam loo junior on May 06, 2013 at 12:00 pm

I am samloo hailat, and I find you write with reasonably sound English, but your mathematics need polishing, how is BN’s 49% being the majority ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
    • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Democracy? Are you stupid? Suddenly pop up a box after blackout.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
    • well spoken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Einstein on May 06, 2013 at 10:18 am

Ok time to implement GST. Campaign for GE13 is not cheap you know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 9
  • lower car price? Possible.
    How much is low? Not that straight forward.
    How soon? Definitely not so fast bro.!
    Anybody in automotive should know this even those in ‘kereta potong’ shop..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • unforgiven on May 06, 2013 at 12:14 pm

The rural folks will not be able to see what we are seeing. It’s a matter of time when they have the knowledge, they don’t even care about corruptions, once the knowledge is there, it’ll be Malay tsunami instead.

The rural folks are still hoping for free text books, proper roads, free rm 500, they do not have the knowledge to think of the future yet, foreign FDI, deficit, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • Actually its not about Chinese Tsunami. I strongly urged my fellow Malay brothers to ignore what the cheater said. We, the mighty Chinese as u all speak, only consist of 26% of the total population. Pakatan popular vate is 50.6%. Let say if 100% Chinese supporting PR(DAP), it wont generate 50,6% of popular vote. However, we chinese do have MCA anjing liar. Therefore, the optimum voting percentage for Chinese is only 10-18% of the total 50.6%. Hence, the fact is clear. Its actually Rakyat Tsunami. Or ‘Urban-Malay” Tsunami. Majority want to change. Those in FB sending out racial sentiment are from Umno cybertrooper. Talk alot. But when riot 1st to run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 30
      • Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 4:32 pm

John, I do support your comment. When you are the commander in chief(PM) of this multi-racial country, you fail for blaming a certain ethnic group for your failure to capture 2/3 of majority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • mastermind on May 06, 2013 at 8:38 pm

I disagree with ur statement ….fellow Chinese voters just thinking about the UBAH strategy..
        Malays looks on different side …Your opinion on the Chinese tsunami not like Malay thinking brother… You have study the Malay characteristic first before posting any issue related to Malay ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
        • Kelvin on May 07, 2013 at 12:21 am

We try not to blame any ethnic group.

We does not think about UBAH for nothing, we really want Malaysia to change for better.

Anyway, the PM has successfully create the race disharmony with his racist remark, and blame the Chinese for his own failure. Now the team b might want him to step down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • there are truth and liar John…but even as u said as Mighty C… now we know what your ‘truth’ means..

• Sorry but i dont get what you mean by your perspective of “truth”

• unforgiven on May 06, 2013 at 11:53 pm

The newspaper advertisement from BN stated clearly that a vote for DAP = a vote for PAS, it means we are all ready too.

• jason on May 08, 2013 at 2:54 pm

But its not only the Chinese people realize that submarine costs about 500 Ferraris extra

• Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Next time around it should be a Malaysian Tsunami. We are not like the racist PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Abg Long on May 06, 2013 at 12:25 pm

so this month car price reduce a little bit or not? this May reduce la 5%. people wants to buy new car for Raya maa.

• Corruption & robbery is (again) now legal for the next 5 years. We like being screwed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
  • Alex Chan on May 06, 2013 at 1:37 pm

No worries my PR fren..times will come!..at least my favourite party DAP won more seats!..hahaha…come come show ur support to PR in next 5 years…let more seat come to DAP!..and we will show u the true democracy – no more status quo B****t ..and cheap cars..especially the pretigious brand such as toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
  • Wilson on May 06, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Frankly, it’s a MISSION IMPOSSIBLE for gov to reduce car price. Just see what’s the price for Proton Preve, almost 70k !!
    Even Proton car itself is selling MUCH MUCH HIGHER price than other country’s foreign car.
    Then we still dreaming of getting foreign car like VIOS with 40k+ ? Then you think how much they want to price on Preve ?
    Don’t dreaming lar.. face the reality. cars, food, house, petrol, electricity, semua pun harga naik. Only price reducing news coming out just before Election. Now election sudah menang, we all wait long long lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • Winston on May 06, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Cakap besar. You sendiri ada support beli Proton?

Even if BN reduce a bit car tax later, still you go buy Toyota 9 years loan. LOL

So how’s Preve sales in Australia so far??? Global car pirahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • Washington on May 06, 2013 at 4:57 pm

You want to support the company made by crony, for the crony?

• Wilson on May 06, 2013 at 9:04 pm

How u know i never support Proton ? U sure u know ?
        I bought Proton Waja, u know how many time i claim Power Window ? Claim until the SC said, this is very COMMON issue for Proton Waja.
        WTF ?! If common issue, go and improve it, not just simply dump COMMON issue and assume the problem is settle ?

• kopisusu on May 08, 2013 at 4:52 pm

i own proton saga year 1989, and also proton waja year 2003. until today, both are work perfectly without any issue. for power window, both are no issue. i always use it because i pay toll in cash.

• Wilson on May 06, 2013 at 9:12 pm

U own proton before ? If u think paying 50k+ for Proton Waja is worth, then i understand why Proton never improve all thus years. It’s a shame

• Dru-Zod on May 07, 2013 at 10:15 am

Tak laku punya Global Car.

• ShiokSendili on May 06, 2013 at 4:47 pm

You should know by now that BN gomen always aim high – High car prices, high house prices, high commissions, High priced handbags, High income tax, High maintenance mistresses. They won’t lower excise duties without increasing something else to get these money lost back..trust me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Ladies, children, sheep… Some people call me a crony. I consider myself a teacher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Rocket Man on May 06, 2013 at 5:00 pm

You’re not a man. You’re nothing more than a maniac.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • NeoLover on May 06, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Yeah right…(Spoilers!) even Mandarin himself is a phony. what a shame…

• jilbaber on May 06, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Well 20% to 30% reduction of car price is not bad thing. If I bought car valued RM100k, I’ll save up to RM30k..can buy new accessories (hantaran for new wife) ha ha ha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • meng meng on May 06, 2013 at 3:17 pm

I think 5.5.13 is not darknest day in malaysia
    Is DIRTYEST DAY in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
  • Car price down? Petrol Down? no tol? i can’t afford to let my income tax to increase from 87++ this year to help to reduce all that plus cooking oil, sugar, medical for lower income group and pay PTPTN for lazy students who fail to finish their study. Well, i claim for my traveling expenses from my employer with my not a dream car. Sudden car price drop? must compensate to all second hand car dealers too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Not anytime soon. Now pm have to defend his backside from umno people to keep his job. If new pm needs backing from warloards. Warloads say…give us AP, car prices stay. Rakyat taken for a ride again….not in a ferrari tho

• Screw the car prices. They can leave the prices as high as they want. What WE as a country really need is an efficient public transport system. If such a thing existed, more and more people would use it. This would result in fewer people buying or even needing cars! Then car companies would have to get even more competitive and find better ways to lower their prices, something that will occur naturally, no government needed.

• “..and we all know how important resale value is to certain people.”

Taking a poke at Sam Loo? lol.

Jokes aside, the rakyat are the ones to keep the existing government in check. They can’t make empty promises now, not with the rakyat being much more sensitive to such information, not just from an automotive standpoint.

• Janji Tetap Janji on May 06, 2013 at 4:53 pm

A mere reduction of 10% car excise duty will cause:
    – estimated Toyota sales up 15%
    – estimated Proton sales drop 20%

So BN, janji dicapati kah???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • LAIN KALI LA.... on May 06, 2013 at 5:04 pm

LAIN KALI LA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 53
  • hopefully the price of cars will decrease without any increase on other aspect such as loan interest, road tax etc2..im afraid bn will increase all of that to encounter back the reduction of car price..they afraid to lost money ma..

• waiting for the fuel price going up soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • i expect the same. from what i’ve heard, this GE13 election use lot of Petronas money. so, time for use to pay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 11:40 pm

PETRONAS Money, what else do Malaysia has? EPF?

• Pencilok on May 07, 2013 at 7:52 am

Ada lagi. Khazanah, Tabung Haji, LTAT, Felda…all of them ready to bail out any failed crony companies…as and when needed…

• cosmothegod on May 06, 2013 at 6:07 pm

I can see these exact same arguments in the next millenia.. 5.6 million vote for PR, 5.3 million vote for BN. It’s the segregation that made them win.
    I dream of free and open market. Regulated, of course to control monopoly. There should be a no monopoly policy in place. Don’t delay NAP with idiotic reasons that scratch my brain.

• Felix Chong on May 06, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Don’t be fool by BN government! The gov. suck your money for more than 25 years, do you think it’s gonna stop without changing new gov.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • thepolygon on May 06, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Wait a minute… I thought they were in power for 55 years? Well.. gonna be up to 60 years until the next election

• Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 11:46 pm

They are one of the longest-serving governments in the world, and one of the corrupted one too, anyway they have win the election, so good luck for them and their cronies, and Malaysian… What can I say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Disagree... on May 06, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Please don’t reduce car price. Reduce petrol price or improve public transport is a better choice.
    If everyone able to buy cheap car, every road will be flooded with car. It will be worst than now in KL.
    Drive cheap car but stuck in traffic jam, u will end up paying more on petrol. U will spend more in long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 102
    • Night on May 06, 2013 at 7:25 pm

I give you a like.

• Albert on May 06, 2013 at 10:11 pm

I would disagree with you.
      I think the best way is
      REDUCE CAR PRICE
      REMOVE SUBSIDY FOR CAR FUEL
      REDUCE MAX LOAN to 5 years and minimum front payment 5-10%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Night on May 07, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Hmmmm. Removing the subsidy for petrol would cause higher operational costs for all industries resulting in more expensive consumer products.

Well, while i wanna own a better car than my current Proton Saga, having the thought of more cars on the already-very-jam-road. Urghh…

• nighttrain on May 06, 2013 at 11:08 pm

it’s not ALL about KL.. there still the 15 million people living outside cities that want cheap cars.

• VWowner on May 07, 2013 at 11:13 am

Good one Disagree…. i agree with Disagree….hahaha sounds funny, do u agree, Disagree???

• So u prefer increase car price to reduce traffic jam?? Tak logic.

• kentji on May 10, 2013 at 6:26 pm

flooded with cars? HAHAHAHAHA
      you one people can drive 2 cars?

• Ah Beng on May 06, 2013 at 7:00 pm

PROTON, WHY U STILL OPEN?

• Kelvin on May 06, 2013 at 11:55 pm

The Bapa of Proton still alive and happy, with his son being the Kedah Menteri Beasa, and the other son awarded continuously with billions of projects from Pteronas for years t come. His baby project Proton will be kept Malaysian for paying more. So it is all good. God bless him, Malaysian voters saved him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • I think we Motorheads should form our own political party. There are no racial lines as we all share a common passion for cars and driving. We would be bigger than BN and PR. But coming up with a name would be difficult. United Motorheads National Organization would be a bad idea………… Any suggestions?

• Ah Beng on May 06, 2013 at 10:10 pm

UMW(United Motor Works)?

• Motorhead on May 07, 2013 at 2:00 am

Anything as long as Sam Loo is our president.

• Kimi Raikkonen on May 09, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Sam Loo for President!

Party name: Party Resale Value (PRV) – also can be made an abbreviation for Proton Preve.

• Tengku Adnan on May 06, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Thank you all folks in Putrajaya who voted for me. Now I can brighten up my 5 storeys mansion at Jalan Duta. Before this I cover line takut hilang undi rakyat jeles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Korrek Korrek Korrek on May 07, 2013 at 10:07 am

Even with Nik Aziz perform a prayer at Putrajaya masjid, UMNO already wetting their pants in panic mode gelabah quickly calling Dr M and Daim to pooh pooh talk crap campaigns against Husam Musa.

• pak jabit on May 07, 2013 at 11:51 am

aiyoo datuk? tara takut itu rumah besar terbakar lagi ka?

• Hang Kebun on May 07, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Don’t be so proud. You don’t know when God will call you back. Better repent bertaubat.

Just ask that KTM gatekeeper with big istana in Klang.

• meng meng on May 06, 2013 at 8:03 pm

You really belive their promise will come true??
    Oh… pls. I think they will masalah teknikal until next GE-14 and promise you agian.
    Forget it reduce car price. They are super rich, they no need discount for themself.

• Visitor on May 06, 2013 at 9:01 pm

I personally tempted with cheaper car prices regardless of brands (who wouldn’t want to?). But, I think in the long term traffic jams will be worse, and any governments can’t keep holding on to fuel subsidies. We must invest in good public transportation system for intra-urban travel. I hope in the future, Malaysians that enter the workforce for the first time do not have to worry about having to resort to monthly installments, yearly maintenance cost and fuel. Cars probably will be priced cheaper, but will toll rates increase? Will fuel subsidies be gradually reduced? Will road widening budget be tightened and be channelled instead for public transport use? I want to live in a house that is less than 400m from transit stations. :)

• Truman on May 06, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Tell u guys wut…BN will guarantee lower the car price..how? here’s the step:-

1.) trade-in your old car.
    2.) then choose Proton cars
    3.) get discount rm5500.
    4.) the rm500 from rm5500 above not cash, but claim at BR1M.
    5.) Free RM50 petrol voucher (lower fuel price mar)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • it was never about the manifestos.. they just want to retain as government because too much money politics involved

• I ‘m going to offer you a choice. Do you want an expensive car or an expensive fuel?

• Dr Khutty on May 07, 2013 at 7:55 am

I prefer Porsche than Proton.

Expensive fuel? Nahh big joke for me lah

• Ah Beng on May 07, 2013 at 5:15 pm

If i can afford a Porsche, expensive car is a joke to me too.

• Pg Kia on May 06, 2013 at 10:03 pm

BN….. Get lost. Go keong kan.
    We rakyat want both cheap fuel & market price cars, not your highly inflated car prices, to feed yr wife’s shopping spree & buy aparts for cows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • daothersideofme on May 07, 2013 at 11:46 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 150
      • meng meng on May 08, 2013 at 1:19 am

Only UMNO and Perkasa supporter will like what you said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • nighttrain on May 06, 2013 at 11:16 pm

89 parliamentary seats, they’re there to represent us and fight for our demands. GO FIGURE! We are the boss, people. We elected ALL of them in, ALL 222 seats.. what are you waiting for, bitch, do as you’re told.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Kelvin on May 07, 2013 at 12:00 am

Why you use the word “bitch”, please give some respect. Sure they will do the job.

• nighttrain on May 06, 2013 at 11:49 pm

What if 150 parliamentary constituents demands to abolish APs, they work for us, right? They have to table it. That’s why we put them there. To do our bidding.. That’s more than a two third majority.

• Ah Beng on May 07, 2013 at 12:12 am

For the bangla, by the bangla.

http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-967755

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Kelvin on May 07, 2013 at 12:28 am

Win with cheating, how proud can you be? If I support BN, I am ashamed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peu3Cxq8Nwg

don`t judge people by their looks

• Dru-Zod on May 07, 2013 at 10:37 am

AP Kings rejoicing. 5 more years of Gaji Buta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • VWowner on May 07, 2013 at 11:05 am

Well….i can only KESIAN those who think they can change other people n things that are beyond their control yet they dont bother to change how they see at things happened….hopefully our mentality will be of first class n everybody should enjoy the Life…..such a short period.

• zubairauto on May 07, 2013 at 11:13 am

more mindless comments coming in… don’t even bother to read and understand paul well written article…

“and we all know how important resale value is to certain people.” <– paul, this is one is a gem… hahahhaha… damn sarcastic…hahaha

• Boon Wee on May 07, 2013 at 11:25 am

Even before the GE13, Govt already announced that they will bring down the price of car directly import from Japan & Aust via import duties slash. Seems that this is not being rationalize via the latest Mazda6? Can someone pls confirm this? Still waiting for the M6 price to drop

• I wondering why people in Malaysia put more considering in car price rather than property price. Our gov. should put more effort to control local property price. No matter how expensive you think of proton and perodua in Malaysia currently. As for you, you still affort to get like Viva or Kancil 2nd hand easily. But for house, even 2nd hand also expensive like hell!

Honestly said, Malaysian didn’t gain anything. You can’t sleep inside the car. Car just for transport. We should ceased the housing speculation spike

• Visitor on May 07, 2013 at 2:01 pm

I have the same opinion as yours. Cars depreciate in value while real estate appreciates in value. I rather own a house. The problem now is, Malaysians are stuck with two major commitments – house and car. Our urban planning policies need to be improved to reduce our annual cost of living.

• I suggest BN must give duty-free MotorHome car (RV van).

No need to buy house, just live inside your car. Park it next to your office too. No need pay more tolls.

The money you saved later is enough to pay flat downpayment and rent it out instead. Extra income. But still you live in your car lah.

In that way, your flat appreciate in value enough to lelong and buy bigger better flat. And yes you still live in your car. Until when? Well perhaps until you retire 60 yrs old, withdraw EPF only to find out in year 2050 your entire money just enough to get a flat with extra one bedroom.

So what? Keep live inside your car lah Ha Ha Ha

• Jimmy on May 07, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I want to take money legally from your EPF, how? You must know how ya since you are so clever, supporting me.

• tok kok on May 07, 2013 at 3:19 pm

The Gomen will say .. reduce 25%??? Lain Kali lah!!!

• black mamba on May 07, 2013 at 3:43 pm

20cent discount on kesas toll?? i willing to pay them extra 20cent to feed those dog on street.

• Anti Toll Cronies on May 07, 2013 at 4:12 pm

It’s very illogic for BN to give concessions 30 years, 66 years for toll operators. If toll collections already recovered the highway costs, then hand over back to JKR. As for highway maintenance cost, it is irrelevant issue. The amount of business growth would outweigh the highway maintenance cost in long run (if the highway handed over to JKR).

• Jimmy on May 07, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Budaks samseng cakap: want to pass by my house? pay me duit jalan. Mahu buka kedai di tepi rumah aku, bayar yuran perlindungan.
    I didn’t mention who samseng besar is, and perompak besar also, the largest legal gangster. Who is that?

• will the 6% GST effect car prices? :( so worried!

• meng meng on May 08, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Sure they will do this.
      Gst = gov servis tax

• Ah Beng on May 08, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Give them service tax but they don’t service the rakyat? Let us give them a tsunami.

• Car no GST lah. See Spore. Already other taxes so no need GST

• HAHA ! Joke of the year..

• Pardon me dear readers, but isn’t the current fuel price based on the octane rating is considered good? Not to compare with other countries but some of them run on lower octane rated fuels but with a hefty price per litre/gallon. Plus, knowing how Malaysian drivers tend to speed and being caught up in traffic, no wonder we, the people, tend to finish up the fuel on our cars easily. I know it’s easy to show dissatisfaction but it’s another thing to look at a wider picture. I’m not saying I’m siding the current government but let’s not try to blame them for every single thing and be optimistic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • BraderPET on May 08, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Mohon kempen gagasan 1Malaysia teruskan lagi 5 tahun dan dilebarkan skopnya ke 1PersenCukaiKereta. Seluruh rakyat Malaysia yang mampu beli kereta akan merasa. Camtu takyah saling tuding-menuding kata masyarakat berpecah-belah ikut kaum. Semua kaum dapat, semua merasa kan?

• Dechet on May 09, 2013 at 10:45 am

Mana boleh. Orang miskin mesti pakai Proton saja. Kroni dan konco-konconya saja boleh pakai Porsche. Jangan memandai tak tentu pasal OK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Cosmo Artemis on May 09, 2013 at 1:06 pm

kau kerja keras, rajin menyimpan, melabur, berniaga macam Chinaman; jangankan Porsche, anak dara tawkey Porsche pon kau boleh sambar.

Tapi itupun kalau kau sanggup kerja keras lah.

• Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Aha.. Handwork.. I’m doing that and will “Sambar anak tawkey”… Doesn’t matter virgin or not… This year buying new car before “sambar anak tawkey”…

• Tok Kok on May 09, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Najib : Car price goes down?? Lain Kali Lah!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • kelvin on May 09, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Gone… We need to back to reality, complain and living with high cost of lifestyle for the next 5 years. Thank you BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Polo Saga on May 09, 2013 at 5:48 pm

I dun think the car price will drop as BN has no integrity at all. If a government can promise you to probe illegal immigrant in Sabah yet import tens of thousands of illegal foreign voters into Malaysia to vote, what do you expect they would keep the promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Abg Long on May 13, 2013 at 5:26 pm

that is why LKS won. thousands of illegal foreign voters vote for dap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • budlee on May 11, 2013 at 1:20 am

thanks paul, for the article and thank you for not adding kerosine to the frying pan ;)

• Tsunami Kereta !!!!!!

• Norman on May 12, 2013 at 12:48 am

Well as the manifesto stated is gradually meaning it will reduce slowly bit by bit months by months not that they say if we win we will reduce all car price right?Im sure most of us are patient people right?About national car to be more competitive got a lot of meanings.1st price reduce?2nd more features added?3rd more choices of hatch,Sedan,SUV,mpv?World economies is bad now with lot of countries occur inflation so it’s quite impossible to reduce fuel price.They can do otherwise like reduce toll charges.

• irwan on May 12, 2013 at 11:36 pm

BN will reduce the car price but only for veru=y expensive car (above rm200k only). or, reduce the car price, but the insurance or roadtax, will be much2 higher. just like what BN has done to motorcycles insurance. or… bn will cover their “loss” with the AES summonses

• where is Rafizi !!! let s starts with Selangor lahhh…reduce car price in Selangor first…not just shouting for voting only. The most rich state, you can do with state strong economy revenue !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • makeitreal on May 16, 2013 at 10:54 am

owh..i wish car dealer in selangor are willing to reduce the price and absorb the differences of the cost…

• Polo Saga on May 16, 2013 at 5:40 pm

This fellow is so stupid that doesn’t even know all the car taxes are controlled by federal government, nothing to do with state government. Helpless stupid.

• Nilam Sari on May 17, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Hi TOM, I think you are one of the BN’s cyber troopers/trolls. Please stop this nonsense once and for all. This is not about politics. This is about people’s demand. Stop calling for Rafizi this and Selangor that. Do you think if people hate BN/UMNO, automatically they support the opposition? The people support what is good for the majority of the people. In this case it is the reduce of the car prices. You and your family are also going to get to buy car at a reasonable price. Unless you are a 2nd hand dealer, then I have nothing to say to you. Just ask your government in case you are afraid that you will suffer losses.

• I can’t wait to get a new foreign car, when the car price reduction magic will happen?

• Nilam Sari on May 17, 2013 at 1:01 pm

It has been 2 weeks since the GE, so far the answer is no.

• Nilam Sari on May 17, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Forget about the resale value, just think about the price of the new car. Think about the future generation, your kids, your grand-kids. Casualties from road accidents are getting higher by each year. Does not anyone think if car with better equipped car with more safety features can reduce this number? How much longer do Malaysians need to miss better equipped car at a reasonable price? I think if we reduce price of the car, more people can buy cars equipped with more safety features.

• Nilam Sari on May 17, 2013 at 1:17 pm

So who should responsible for the losses of 2nd hand car dealer, you ask? The answer should be in a form of another question, so whose idea is to tax the car between 80% – 120% of the price in the first place?

• Sam Loo on May 19, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Whichever party rules and whatever auto policy comes in, kimchis will still have poor RV

• kelpa32 on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

thai vios rm55k
    Malaysia vios rm75k
    petrol subsidies rm0.70 per liter
    taxes rm20k = 28571 liter
    average usage 100 liter / month
    more than 20 years of fuel subsidies.

• industry insider on Sep 22, 2014 at 2:27 pm

To the author of this article: This article you wrote is detailed and accurate, so hats off to you. But as an industry insider in the Malaysian automotive industry I wish to clarify something: An automotive product planner for non- national auto companies in Malaysia is just a glorified chauffeur for the engineers of the particular company he or she works for(e.g. product planner for Japanese auto company is a chauffeur for the Japenese engineers when they come down from Japan). Other times they perform market research, and try to write reports on future specs that really benefit the Rakyat, but gets thrown out due to high cost as a result of high tax on tax duties and unfavorable currency exchange. In the end, high car prices are also a result of the non- national companies themselves wanting to maintain high profit margins. This is made worse by the fact certain non-national Asian auto companies really dump all the old technology on us Malaysians, and you can clearly see this from a certain truck coming to Malaysia in 2017/ 2018 because its no longer competitive in its largest market. And they are not the only ones. The biggest culprit starts with a T.

• Auden on Sep 08, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Good