2013 Toyota Camry 2.0G and 2.5V finally gets VSC

toyota-camry-vsc-1

Good news for Toyota fans! UMW Toyota will be updating the specs of the 2013 Toyota Camry offering to include Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and Traction Control (TRC) in the mid-range 2.0G and top-end 2.5V models. The most affordable 2.0E basic model will continue without it.

VSC is Toyota’s brand name for electronic stability control. Electronic stability control essentially uses sensors and brakes to help stabilise your car in a situation where you might normally spin out of control. We’ve stressed on the importance of safety features like VSC before, in a length story published in 2012.

If you have not read our story, I suggest you go read it and spread the word to your friends and family to help them be more aware about this important safety feature, so they can look out for it when it comes to their next car purchase. The story includes videos and infographics to explain how the feature works.

LINK: ESP Stability Control is a must – Malaysian motorists deserve better active safety in our cars

toyota-camry-vsc-2

So now when the Camry 2.0G and 2.5V with this added feature rolls out, it can be included in your list of cars to consider if you value the inclusion of electronic stability control in a car’s equipment list. The teaser image also shows that the 2.0G and 2.5V will be available with a black interior.

The improved Toyota Camry 2.0G will go for RM158,915.30, which is an RM1,015.30 premium over the model without ESP. Other than VSC, it also adds keyless entry and start, a feature previously only available on the 2.5V.

The improved Toyota Camry 2.5V will go for RM180,917.10, a mark-up of RM17.10 for the addition of VSC, which is a very small price to pay indeed.

Interestingly the 2.0E model has also had a tiny price hike – it was launched at RM149,900 and is now priced at RM149,915.30.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hansap on May 06, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Its about time

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Beng Kia on May 06, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Will this improve Toyota’s RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • No, RV for Camry without VSC will drop shit. VSC worth RM17.10 only? Hmm.. guess someone treats your life as RM17.10 only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
        • Jimmy on May 06, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Well, it should be viewed positively. No price hike with the resumption.
          Inilah kepentingan parti pembangkang.
          Well done, sooner than expected.
          Next, 6 airbags.
          By 2020, 7 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
          • The Golf has 7 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
          • Jimmy on May 08, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Despite the good efforts of parti pembangakang, I have to requalify my statement. On a principle basis, every single Malaysian should refuse to buy the Camry because UMW had on an initial basis taken out the VSC jeapordizing the lives of Malaysian people all for reaping more profit. Yes, more profit at the detriment of people’s lives. Now, the don’t have the choice. Too many online condemnation about the lack of VSC. So, they decide to put it in. Personally, I would not want to deal with such an unethical company on a principle basis. Complete disregard for consumer safety. Globally the Camry all had VSC. Only in Malaysia it was taken out to cut cost. So, please let it be known, Toyota now put VSC not because they care for the lives of Malaysians, they put VSC because the online condemnation was so strong that it affected their sales and they have no choice now but to put it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 33
  • Chris on May 06, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Even without VSC there are many idiots buying this piece of sh*t

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 23
    • NihonJidosha on May 06, 2013 at 9:23 pm

You can’t call those people idiot actually. Everyone has their own reason for a car. I once asked my parents about Mazda 6. They say they don’t like it because it looks too sporty to them. They don’t trust French Peugeot quality, Ford’s after service (Parts are ridiculously expensive) and afraid about infamous Volkswagen problem. They say only Camry and Accord for them and after I keep complaining about ugly Camry, they say upcoming Accord is perfect for them. They don’t want a car that fun to drive because it’s too exciting for them. They want a car that cause less trouble and very comfort to drive. They also said cars these days came along with too many features (Auto Park…etc) that they don’t know how it works. (They don’t know how to use a smartphone even an iPhone). That’s why every car got it’s own selling point but I still agree, Camry is too rip off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 249 Thumb down 9
      • Damn your comment is spot on!

Like my parents, when looking for a B-segment 3 years ago, they say Fiesta/Mazda 2 is too small, Forte spec isn’t much different(still with 4-speed at the time). The Vios to them looks perfect, but of course, I objected mainly on the design of it. So we ended up on the City, still don’t regret much thou it has it’s flaws; poor NVH and CVT-like Auto.

I really like the upcoming Accord even thou it looks too grown up(less sporty)for a Honda to me, but it does get a really good EarthDream engine thou still with the 5-speed auto, but still a good alternative to the 6 if the price is the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • NihonJidosha on May 07, 2013 at 12:25 am

From your comment and mine, we can assumed that. People usually put Toyota as their 1st priority. Then when the looks is too unacceptable, they moved to Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • dugong on May 07, 2013 at 1:12 am

Agreed, A tin kosong should be priced like a tin kosong….not like a high spec conti.

On, the other hand, didn’t the Jap yen drop by 30% in the past year? I don’t even see a 5% drop in jap car prices while umw can still have the cheek to increase prices bcos idiots continue buying them at premium prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Dr Cooper on May 07, 2013 at 7:46 am

When I argue with my old folks on buying car, I always stress out on the price-spec because they looking too much on resale value. My point to them is it worth gambling your life over some sheet of money you make selling the car back. Generally all car are design to look sporty and most after sales in Malaysia is expensive and suck anyway so why bother…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on May 25, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Your parents are smarter than you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • wat car r u driving?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Abg Long on May 07, 2013 at 10:46 am

for me, any comment shud b made with manners. calling other people idiot is inappropriate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on May 18, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Well, at least a much better choice than Sonata or K5.

Try selling off the 2 year old sonata now. Can’t even trade in for 75k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Alxdacrow on May 06, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Paying 150-180k vehicle which doesn’t comes with the most important equip feature. The buyer is a sucker and now they became even more sucker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
  • Well is about time……….to find other reason to bash Toyota (joking,joking….trying to liven up the mood)

Anyways, I still find toyota asking a bit wee to much for the 2.5V, with that spec, and please don’t bash the RM17 hike. As for the 2.0, I have no complains on the old power train and I have sat in it and is does the job well, cruising around comfortably. And now with additional feature, it starts to get more competitive. Well done UMW (?)

PS: The last time I checked, the Thailand petrol-going Camry makes do without VSC. Did they also get the upgrade? If no, is there a chance that the upcoming Malaysian-spec new Vios will get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Yup, it isn’t that bad actually, quite comfortable to ride. But it is a Toyota! World largest automobile maker, it should done much better.
      And I don’t understand, why Asian country get that terrible front fascia but Japanese get this front for their Camry Hybrid (Only Camry in Japan).
      http://goo.gl/1gXdb

• It is because they sell stuff like this thats why they are ‘world largest automaker’. They know what their customer want on their Camry, a dull, non attractive car that does the job, thats what Toyota want. like Japanese car(Nihon Jidosha) above says, like my parents, his parents dosen’t want a car too exciting that attract too much attention. When I got to the point on the Auto-park and safety system on the Ford Focus, all my parents has to say, “the rear is cramp”(which is sort of is). What most people want is a car that has does the job, A-B, and does it well and long, sort of like an AK-47. The AK does not shoot as well and(personally) not as good looking compared with the M16. But hey it does the job reliably, and people love it for that….that’s Toyota, an AK.

And on the subject on looks, yeah it’s not as good looking as the Japanese Hybrid version, but the one of the few tthings I like about the Camry is the back, I personally think is one of the most decent design in the segment while the others look either overdesign or weird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • frenzyaustin on May 07, 2013 at 12:33 am

Yes, Camry’s back looks quite nice and preserved in JDM Camry Hybrid.
          What I like about Toyota group is, they got a car suits any individual. Want a dull car, there’s a super dull Camry. Want a fun car, there’s a super fun GT86. Want a good looking car if you are rich, Lexus is there. Only thing they don’t have is, cheap, good looking and fun car. And mostly all Toyota Group product have “Toyota reliability” that nobody will hate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • AK-47 is cheap but TOYOTA is OVERPRICED…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • I honestly feel bad for those who already gotten their Camry as these system can even save lives in an emergency situation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Moon cake on May 06, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Maybe they didn’t even know it there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • DonkeyKong on May 07, 2013 at 2:37 am

But seriously though, 99% of Camry owners will never drive their cars to the point where the VSC kicks in. Vios drivers on the other hand will take their cars over the limit and think those are pocket rockets although the Vios is just a piece of worthless junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Super agree. Those flying Vioses really dunno their cars can actually fly off the road wan.

• albag on May 06, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Haha those who already bought the current Camry should butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • akulah on May 06, 2013 at 7:33 pm

When asked last time, they said no need for vsa as the car is so strong. Now can assume that the car is not strong enought so they need vsa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • Heskey on May 06, 2013 at 7:45 pm

it still does not have sunroof like its european competitors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • seancorr on May 06, 2013 at 7:45 pm

FINALLY Toyota decided to include VSC in. The price they’re asking for isn’t bad either but one has to remember that when this generation was launched, the price had a hike too.

• no la…its a TOYOTA mah…anything else matters?
    Din stop many people from buying it despite the awful design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • 中山郎 on May 06, 2013 at 8:02 pm

any free vsc upgrade for buyers who jus got delivery of the high SPEC 2.5v?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
    • 9M2YGC on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:33 pm

It is good to know that vsc has been installed in the new camry. I just bought my 2.5 late last year and one of the items i looked for was a vsc (after driving a friend’s civic with vsa). But, it didn’t come last year. I really need this because i travel between Kota Bharu and Alor Setar on a frequent basis. After owning the car for 10 months, Toyota decided to fix the item in their new Camry. How about giving us a chance to have our cars fitted with vsc? Personally, i don’t mind paying a little for that. I really feel cheated here.

• Motorhead on Aug 08, 2013 at 7:55 pm

That is the reward umw gives to their loyal customers. Blind loyalty costs money

• Miow Miow on May 06, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Still having 4 speeder?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on May 06, 2013 at 8:22 pm

this new camry performs poorly on IIHS small overlap test…
    accord performed best…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • You are right. Paul tan should highlight iihs small overlap crash test & side curtain airbag. It was discovered that small overlap test has high occurance & curtain airbag safe rear passenger.

Paul your review is incomplete and misrepresented without any mention of this rating. Or any of iihs rating. However your highlight of VSC is highly commendable. And we now have umw responding.

• mystvearn on May 06, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Koreans offering this long time ago. Ini baru catchup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 8:57 pm

It used to has it long time ago too…

• The have VSC since the first Altis laa. And the price for that VSC chip/module is actually and really RM17 only.

• moots on May 06, 2013 at 8:26 pm

I remember commenters predicting this would happen when this model was first released.
    Mark-up of RM17.10.
    Shows you how overpriced this car is.
    Shows you how much they really care about your safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
  • xflow on May 06, 2013 at 8:31 pm

customer power prevails!

• is it just me or the car really ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 8:58 pm

No, not only you, this front is ugly and kitted up is nightmare.
      This front is 200% better.
      http://goo.gl/1gXdb

• Even UMW had to Ubah finally!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on May 06, 2013 at 8:46 pm

We want to Ubah our government. But we also want to Ubah our Toyota seller. UMW is just totally rip off Malaysian. Camry should priced around RM130K for it lacks of features, Camry sales are quite bad compared to previous generation because customers aren’t idiot. And then, Prius. Dude, no tax on Hybrid car below 2.0 litre but RM135K? Prius C too, should be around 70-80K and last but not least, CT200h, RM200K? Those tax free suddenly become profit for them. If price reasonably around RM150K, upcoming A-class definitely is not a competitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • I mentioned before, If they put the price to low for the Hybrids, it will cannibalize the sales of their ICE car, Vios and Camry 2.5v respectively, which price cannot be lowered (that part is up for debate). Furthermore, both Prius C and CT are imported into Malaysia while the other ICE cars are manufactured in nearby Thailand, and if I’am not mistaken there’s a quota imposed on car entering our ports. Their current strategy is sort of a win-win for the distributor, still get to sell ICE cars in numbers while getting large profit for every hybrid they sell.

PS: CT200h starts at RM 160+k….only the F package is at RM200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • frenzyaustin on May 07, 2013 at 12:37 am

Hmm, you got a point that I agree too. And sorry for the Lexus part, I remember it used to be RM190K+- or maybe I’m wrong.
        And still, UMW can’t offer better spec car compare to it’s competitor.

• “win-win for the distributor” but we lost.

• Katak on May 07, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Lost? I’m lost too. Unless your bought the car already, you are not losing any money. Or you lost(lose) because you love so much the car but the price tag just killing.

• jolly_idiot on May 06, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Don’t tell us this is the janji from bn of the 20-30% price drop? Spec up price remain consider cheaper 20% bullshit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano on May 06, 2013 at 10:13 pm

THEY ACTUALLY WANT TO CHARGE @.@

If Toyota cares for it’s customers, recall all the 2.0G AND 2.5V units sold, and install VSC for them. After all only RM17.10 what!

Suzuki did it for the early batch of SX4, where they “recalled’ the units sold to install foglights at SMA’s cost, cause they said they forgot to tick it on the options list. No cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Magic on May 06, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Extra Ballot suddenly appeared…Car Spec disappear and reappeared this how BN treated rakyat in his Magical Land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr on May 06, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Haha I like your comment! Houdini working his best here!

Back to the topic, while its a good move from UMWT the Camry is still lacking in terms of airbags…c’mon the rear passengers need airbags too…especially when its a D-segment car!

• Jimmy on May 06, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Who are the owners of UMW ?

• small price increment is due to many parts being localized.but I wonder why the lowest spec also got increase in price?..

• People will always buy this car because its simply a TOYOTA. and to read that they did not include this as standard spec because they deemed the Malaysian public ‘not requesting for it’ …what do they take us for…? idiots?

Anyway…did anyone actually notice how awful the design it?

• YeapyEvo on May 07, 2013 at 1:01 am

RM has appreciated significantly >20% from 27Yen (Dec 2012) to now 33 Yen for RM1 , but Toyota still increase price

http://www.x-rates.com/graph/?from=MYR&to=JPY

• BNmati!!!!! on May 07, 2013 at 1:44 am

Camry scores very “BAD” in crash test!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUspIO-QobY

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2013 at 9:43 am

I’m no fan of Toyota and have fervently believed they are giving malaysians a ride in terms of poor specification and high prices.

But, in fairness, most cars are built to do well in crash tests, and introducing a new test, means changing the goal posts. No car would be built to take any possible crashes..as they would be too expensive and too heavy.

I would give positive points to Honda and Suzuki instead of taking points off Toyota.

That said, VSA and a full complement of 6-7 airbags should have been standard from day 1. Its inexcusable for Toyota (and many others) to omit these safety features. We are in 2013. Not 1993. Especially given that even if you remove excise duties, the Camry here sells for much more than the Camry in north america meaning UMW is reaping in fat profits at the expense of its buyers.

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2013 at 9:52 am

In fact if anything, I would rather have side and curtain airbags instead of front airbags.

This is from personal experience. I have been on both the receiving and giving end of a side impact. While in a frontal impact, you have 4 ft of car and crash structure and the additional of seatbelts to protect you, you have nothing but 6 inches of air and a small impact beam to protect you in a side impact. It is not sufficient. if you look up the criteria for side impact test, you can see why the test is insufficient to replicate a real world side impact (ie. a car jumping the light and hitting you at 60kmh)

Curtain and side airbags saves lives. More so than front airbags.

• Moores on May 07, 2013 at 11:35 am

Yes, Honda did good but unfortunately not our CKD Honda that’s not even Euro 5 star Ncap. What they tested are Hondas that are build in US. While Kizashi should be good in US as well as here in Malaysia as these are the same model exported to US and Malaysia.

• Suhairi Shamsuddin on May 07, 2013 at 1:53 am

The King Of Blood Sucker aka Dracula….!!! I thought it was in Romania only..???

• Joker on May 07, 2013 at 2:08 am

What a Joke!!!
    price hike !!!
    i suppose UMW celebrating after GE 13

• Dr Cooper on May 07, 2013 at 7:40 am

I see this kind of scenario among automakers selling their car in our country..first they came out, underspec but selling premium and after a while then install back few features and making more money out of it…I eying on the Kia Rio, if my observation is true Naza will came up with 6 speed model after while..

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2013 at 9:53 am

Or in case of Honda.

Take spec out…like the CKD Jazz hybrid.

I like how Kia does it for the Optima. One spec. Fully loaded.

• Bumper Engineering on May 07, 2013 at 10:13 am

If Proton rebadge Honda Accord, then should Perodua rebadge Camry too???

• keit lau on May 07, 2013 at 10:32 am

toyota !!! a going down brand in the near future !!!they are selling the backward technology car in malaysia !!! vvti ???? what else in engine technology ???? how old is vvti engine ???? profit margin is ver high !!! brand value ??? their suspension technology are older than proton history !!! just done know why people still buying it ??? better buy proton than toyota !!! car buyer now are looking for the ingredients and driving feel for the car!! unfortunately toyota do not have both !!! toyota !! better pick up or pack up !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • keit lau on May 07, 2013 at 10:39 am

toyota !! you do not provide a good product to malaysia consumer for what we are paying like what u use to do !!!!

• It’s nice to see Crony make big & nice profit immediately after GE 13th.
    Only in magical land car’s prices consistently increased and safety comes in last place!
    Enough is enough, we have options to give in to UMW or give up and choose others, and the choices are ours.

• ben yap on May 07, 2013 at 11:34 am

UMW still wanna charge money for VSC? It should be free! It’s Toyota’s obligation to provide safer cars and not to for consumer to “buy” our lives by paying you money.

Money sucker!

• sen yap on May 07, 2013 at 11:58 am

It’s only extra RM17.00 lah brader…You cannot afford Camry go buy Perdana lah tak payah bising2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • ben yap on May 07, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Perdana x main la, brader…. kurang2 pun beli kereta conti la…..

• Anonymous on May 07, 2013 at 2:07 pm

The review made above shows human stupidity is unlimited. Yet driving his own perdana

• old dog on May 07, 2013 at 2:30 pm

4.5 years later, we will start to talk about the reduce price for car again….LOL

• Thethinkingman on May 07, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Sam Loo would be very happy to hear this!

• Richard on May 07, 2013 at 10:22 pm

My friend told me that Japanese Yen dropped > 20% to current RM3 for 100 Yen. And he bought one re-cond machine with 20% discount compared to previous year.
    But as a consumer for Jap cars. We do receive any discount. However, if the yen value increase 20% the price will hike more than 20%.
    If our importers do not response to the market forces and keep bullying us. Why can’t we team up and demand for fair pricing policy. if no response we wait for the BN govt to fulfill their janji by reducing car price.
    If both sides do nothing then we delay our plan to change car.
    Believe me, we can demand for 100% financing 0% interest for our new car in the near future if we consumers can work together as a market force.
    Don’t only think we drive new car others drive used car. Together we make the car more affordable. Copy from Air Asia – new slogan — “Everybody can drive new & safe car”.

• mazda 6 on May 08, 2013 at 1:08 pm

The new camry really looks ugly and the interior design also looks dated. Totally cannot compare to the new Mazda 6. In terms of performance, Mazda 6 totally smoked the Camry in acceleration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Price for normal ct200h is 200k for high specs. For F sport, 206k.

• DapPasPkr on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Luv the government. No dap or per or pas gomen can deliver people inspiration.
    Manifesto not promise ma !

UMW should get praise for doing this BUT Toyota should be drop from having business in Malaysia.

• VSC&TRC on Jul 20, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Any recall or special invitation to the existing 2.0G and 2.5V owners to re-install the VSC and TRC for FREE or at a reasonable price?

How much would that be if at a price?

Please advise.

• Any recall or invitation to the existing 2.0G and 2.5V owners for the installation of VSC and TRC for FREE or at a reasonable price?

If not, what would be the price of installing the VSC and TRC?

Please advise.

• happydeepavali on Oct 18, 2017 at 4:43 pm

now no more RV even for toyota la..dont be fool by those sale person..year 2015 camry 2.0G is asking less than 80k….50% drop from new price…