Volkswagen Scirocco Million celebrates milestone

volkswagen scirocco million 01

The Volkswagen Scirocco has reached the one million unit production mark, and to celebrate that milestone, VW has come up with a special edition of the third-gen car. The Scirocco Million, as it’s called, will go on sale only in Germany and China.

Black’s the only colour of choice, and to help the edition along, the version gets R-Line bumpers, R-Line side sills, smoked tail lights, ‘Million’ stickers on the wings and dark tinted rear windows.

Inside, there’s black leather upholstery with orange contrasting stitching, as well as other orange highlights, plus ‘Million’ decals on the door sills. For anoraks interested in numbers, the third-gen Scirocco contributed 204,350 units to the million milestone, with the earlier 1974 and 1981 versions making up the rest of the total.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ah Beng Kia on May 07, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Does the Scirocco have any DSG problems?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • kentji on May 07, 2013 at 1:46 pm

every dsg in the whole world got dsg, confirm they kapuk after 5k mileage and kong at the roadside, included those in audi and bugatti veyron

dont believe me? nevermind, soon this reply will get alots of likes anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
      • kentji on May 07, 2013 at 1:46 pm

dsg problem*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • awww, poor ppl butthurt becoz can’t afford expensive cars :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • They are simply asking about reliability, seems to me the only one butthurt here is you.
          Don’t worry, judging by how petty your reaction is, chances are you can’t afford one either.
          Btw a scirocco is not a ferrari anybody who drives an accord could afford one.

• Jimmy on May 08, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Many VW owners refuse to admit there is a DSG issue for fear of losing market value or RV. But according to VW Malaysia, one in every 3 VW cars with DSG has continuous DSG failures. Infact the whole range has so many DSG failures expect for the Polo Sedan which uses a non DSG gearbox. Every wondered why the Japanese, who are far more intelligent than Europeans still stick to the single clutch wet gearbox and refuse to go for dry gearboxes?

Ask any tow truck driver and they will tell you VW’s are their best friend. I am amazed at why VWs being the same company as Audi have so many problems but Audi got no problems at all. Simple. VW gives the pariah faulty DSG gearboxes to the VW cars because they consider VW as mainstream low down cars and give the better gearboxes to the Audi boxes because they consider Audi to be the luxury segment. Unfortunately, VW owners in Malaysia think their car is of the luxury segment and belong to the same class as Audi, BMW and Mercedes. Just because you were ripped off with high car prices, does not equate to you buying a luxury car lah.

• My car is around 3 years old…break down first time but after the VW solve the problem of the DSG until now, i drive it like a truck but my car is still strong and i love it!

• Muddy on May 07, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Been driving my 1.4 rocco for almost 3 years now, up to Genting via Ulu Yam for our Sunday drives… Well all i can say is its exceeded my expectation!!! All original except the tyres!

Btw, the ‘m1llion’ design looks more timely during our election! And to us, it has been overly used!! :)

• frenzyaustin on May 07, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Between Honda CR-Z and Volkswagen Scirocoo, is the price gap worth it? And which is more fun to drive?

• chillex on May 07, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Crz is diff with scirocco. If u like manual driving go for crz but if u like better looks and dsg and turbo feels. Go for scirocco.

P.s for those who says dsg got prob is the person who cant afford to buy 1. Ive been driving my mk5 for 6years. Smooth like butter. ;p

• So which service centre it will go?